0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Zoom R8 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Zoom R8?

Questions about the Zoom R8?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Rick Irwin
    from Cape Girardeau, Mo. April 17, 2016Music Background:
    REtired pro keyboardist/ radio production

    Great R-8 Recorder

    I have used my recorder for a little over three years and I produce national radio broadcasts and also produce and arrange original music for others. I use the R-8 an average of 30 hours per month for radio alone and after learning the master levels that suits FM radio acceptance I casually do the work without need of a major tool or tools. The more time you use the unit the easier to produce a top product. Being a retired pro musician I want things lightweight and durable. The R-8 has earned me thousands of $$ and I will buy another. Also it does not require the highest dollar SD cards. Using SD cards repeatedly can cause errors but it's the Card, not the R-8. Learn the Tool settings and checks and balances each time you restart as the cards hold the memory. Levels can change even if sliders haven't moved. I master all radio programs at 123 on the master level, as well with music cds. Thanks Zoom Co.

  • Mike Martish
    from Sellersville, PA March 11, 2014Music Background:
    Playing, Recording, Bands All of it!

    Zoom R8

    My review my be slightly off since being away from music for about 20 years. That being said, when I decided to get back into it, I purchased the Zoom r8 and a set of JBL's for some home recording. Holy cow have things come along way, my old recorder was a yamaha cassette 4 track it was as big as table. This Zoom is small enough to fit anywhere and sounds "Professional" is the word that comes to mind.

    Technology is now an asset to creativity.

    Mike

  • Dan Chapin
    from New Hampshire January 10, 2012

    excellent tool

    I received this as a christmas gift from my wife and I love it. I have owned several 4 tracks over the years (all them analog that use cassette tapes) and using the R8 has been awesome. It is easy to learn, use and is portable. The effects that are available for post production are very good and--although I do not use them--the drum kits are very good and do not sound synthesized. The built in Microphones are far superior to any stand alone mics that have owned (of course I never spend much money on them in the past) and do a very good job of capturing depth. When used in conjunction with a direct instrument input the mics have added a nice bright quality and capture the sound of PLAYING the guitar, not just the internal elements that the pick-ups transmit. I would recommend this for anyone who is looking a fun, portable machine to do some quality home recording or even if you are looking to take it in the field.

  • David Dean
    from NW Missouri November 4, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Singer-Songwriter

    Great value for a starter multitrack

    First plus: This offers 8 discrete tracks of recording, plus unlimited virtual tracks. No ganged tracks 7/8 like with the old HD8CD.
    Second, the use of SD memory cards. While I was not initially enthused about this, I've since changed my tune. No more annoying hum in the background because of a noisy hard drive. Plus when a memory card is full, it's a lot easier to swap out a memory card than it is to swap out a hard drive. That and given the small size of SD cards, I can probably archive more recordings in a smaller space than I could with a hard drive.
    While the construction is not as solid as, say a Zoom A2 stomp box, it is sturdy enough if one uses reasonable care. This embraces the Portable studio concept pioneered by Tascam over 30 years ago with better execution than anything Tascam has brought to market to date.

    If there is any drawback to this, it is that it only comes with a 2GB SD card, and 1/4 of that capacity is taken with drum machine patterns, leaving the user with roughly 3 hours of mono recording time at 24-bit/44.1kHz recording resolution. If one uses all 8 tracks plus mastering, that amounts to less than 20 minutes of total time per track. Packaging it with an additional 8GB card would be an improvement.

  • Dwight Polk
    from Memphis, TN USA October 11, 2011Music Background:
    Song Writer, Musician

    Amazing Sound.

    I cant believe that a recorder bought for under $300 dollars could sound so good and be so easy to use. The 8 track 24bit stand alone recording is great, but it is even better as a 16 channel control surface for Cubase LE (included). Super easy for song writers.

  • Caetano Scatena
    from São Paulo-SP, Brazil October 15, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Excellent cost/benefit!

    I have a TASCAM 4224 PortsStudio, so I'm not completely new to mutltitrack recording, so the main deal here was to get used to digital technology.

    It takes a while till you get used to the functions of the R8, but there's the pot of gold in the end of the rainbow: great sound, reliability, tons of effects for acoustic and electric instruments and very good final results.

    I definetely recommend the R8: fair price, compact unit (take it wherever you go) and a great sound!

  • Jeff Hufnagle
    from Greenville,OH USA January 20, 2014Music Background:
    Professional performer& teacher

    great intro to desk op ecording

    first of all high qualitysound
    Easy to set up and use.
    Igot this unit to replace a FostexVf16 16 trak hard disc recorderand the Zoom does evrything the Fostexdid Even the effects are top notch Iwas pretty much recording full projects within days of breaking itout of the box.

  • Shayne McElhoe
    from Fort Wayne, IN. USA November 26, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Zoom R8 purchase

    Love the zoom. Sound quality is great. Little bit of a learning curve for a novice like me but overall a great product!

  • Rusty Sena
    from Los Angeles, CA August 24, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    works well

    The produce works just fine as advertised. No bugs or hiccups. I'm new to the recording process so I had to refer to the manual a lot. But once I got the hang of it, I was able to lay down tracks quite easily. The sampling features were useful if somewhat limited. The effects were nice (delays, chorus, flange, reverb etc...) but the guitar sounds weren't that good. I just used my Line 6 combo amp and went directly into the R9 and it recorded it well. I would definitely recommend this product based on my needs.

  • SLP
    from Edmonds, WA December 20, 2016Music Background:
    Studio Musician, Engineer, Producer, Composer.

    Love this, but one BIG problem for me...

    I mostly really love this unit, however, one BIG problem for me, that was not at all clear from Zoom's descriptions, is that you can't track while using the effects if you are recording in 48k! You can only track and use effects at the same time while in 41kHz. For me, this almost defeats the point of buying it, which totally for the 48k recording ability, and the ability to record some songs when traveling away from my studio. Yes, I know its "better" to record dry, but its also not much fun! I'd at least like to be able to hear some reverb while I'm tracking...

  • Band Leader of Frustratred Musicians.
    from Greensboro, NC USA June 4, 2013Music Background:
    20 year Musician and 18 Year Broadcaster

    Much Patience Required

    I really hesitated buying this, because for a family man on a budget, even $295 is a LOT to shell out ....but I thought..."Well, at least with the drum track features, I am getting 2 machines in one....recorder and rythm section all in one. That might be the case if you have the patience of Job to program the 70 steps for every song. It is supposed to have a "beat recognition" feature for when you play original stuff, but we could never get it to work. So we have an extremely overpriced 2 input at a time only recorder with Casio level drums if we want to make the next big 80's electronica hit. I would have been better buying a radio shack "Digital Recorder" for $30 bucks and played a $50 casio toy into it and gotten the same quality for 1/100000th of the frustration. Consider me SCHOOLED.
    Oh, and by the way, I was a recording engineer in the Military and a civilian broadcaster for 18 years. I DO know how to run electronic/computer equipment. Just found this beyond frustrating.

Questions about the Zoom R8?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway