rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Korg R3 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 7 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    Korg has done it once again! A lightweight, multipurpose, affordable synth that sounds great. The vocoder in this unit is top-notch and will breathe life in to any song you create. Korg has been coming out with amazing products for the past 30+ years and I don't see them stopping anytime soon.

  • Mike Hammond

    The R3 synth provides a lot of great sounds at a really nice price! I use my own R3 at home for many of my bass and lead sounds, but it's cool for pads and more. Of course, it's a great vocoder as well!

  • from Santiago, Chile June 16, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist with pro knowledge

    Great little machine

    I didnít expected too much after having a Virus in my set, but I get surprised when I heard this machine. For the price, a great purchase, no doubt about it. GREAT sounds, vocoder (not so great as other I have heard, but decent), great tweak ability and top notch effects. I am totally happy with this.

    :-)

  • from Winston-salem,North Carolina July 10, 2008Music Background:
    Musician, R&B singer, songwriter,Producer

    The r3

    I got the korg r3 about a week ago and the sounds on the device are out of this world. They bring a hole new meaning to the word VOCODER!!! You have got to get your hands on one of these!!!!!

  • from Colorado November 22, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great Vocoder

    Wonderful sounds

  • from Dallas, TX USA September 14, 2008Music Background:
    studio and giging musician

    What a Beast!

    This thing has so much potential! Out of the box, it has some great sounds pre-loaded, but they can be a little to "dance music" for my taste. The real fun in the R3 is editing! With so many options including fm synthesis and the option of using the vocoder on any of your programs, creating sounds is endless! Using the R3 live is a keyboardist dream! Your get four knobs and pitch and mod wheels, all fully programable! You can't go wrong with the R3, it'll do anything and everything you'll ever need!

  • from North Texas October 1, 2007Music Background:
    Composer

    Great Value

    I bought one for the vocoder, but have fallen in love with the clean sound and endless potential. This "Little Sythn That Could" is completely under-rated. It sounds like a million bucks and performs, performs, and performs!
    You can't go wrong with the price either. Get one fast!

    Only reservation is the included software does not set this up as a vst/au capable synth. Otherwise it rocks.

  • from Boston July 17, 2007Music Background:
    Original recordings to feed obsessive hobby

    Exactly what the doctor ordered

    The only thing that'd make this a 5.0 rating is aftertouch. The vocoder is very nice and the synth is killer. It's intuitive. We were creating deep and unique sounds out of the box...even with the included mic. Shipped fast Indiana to Boston...couldn't be happier!

  • from New York City February 10, 2012

    Korg R-3

    I have a Yamaha Motif 6 and recently added the R-3. I'm a guitarist so the keyboard and synth are for adding sounds in the studio and ease of use is paramount. The R-3 is simple and easy to use right out of the box. Sounds are diverse, unique, and basses are booming. I was looking at the Micro-Korg and Mini - glad I got the full size keys, especially when you're playing next to another full size key unit, makes it easy to transition. I'm sure I'll never tap it's full potential, but I have found it a great tool for the studio.

Reviews

  • Jon Gillespie
    8-16-2007

    The Korg R3 is an AMAZING sounding keyboard! It is great for the experienced keyboardist who wants to add a completely new palette of textures to his keyboard rig. It's also perfect for the electronic musician creating complex compositions in a multitrack environment. The range of textures from vintage analog sounds to motion synths and bell-like tones, coupled with an extremely powerful arpeggiator, make this a MUST-HAVE.

    It's also a great add on for a gigging musician playing those classic rock tunes from the seventies and eighties that use a vocoder. The R3's vocoder is incredibly easy to use and has an incredibly accurate vintage feel.

    The ease of use of this keyboard is incredible as well. Right out of the box, I just plugged it in and pressed a key and I was sounding great! The editing knobs on the front made it so easy to alter the sounds on the fly while I was playing, adding wave sweeps and tweaking the sounds.

    As soon as my wife lets me, I'm buying one for myself!

    Jon Gillespie, Sweetwater Sales Engineer

Questions about the Korg R3?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway