rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Samson R21 Microphone 3-pack Reviews

4.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Samson R21 Microphone 3-pack?

Questions about the Samson R21 Microphone 3-pack?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Jordan
    from Scranton, PA, USA January 26, 2014Music Background:
    12 year guitarist, 5 year audio worker/DJ

    AMAZING

    totally blown away by these. They sound great, they are built well, and they are VERY inexpensive.

  • Charlie Milliron
    from Southwest VA November 1, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Bluegrass

    Value for the buck!!

    Figured I'd give the 3 pack a try as we needed extra mics for large jam sessions..............could not believe the way these mics sounded compared to the high end mics we already had. Try some! You won't be sorry!

  • Herbert T. Warman Jr.
    from Whitley City, KY. August 22, 2010Music Background:
    Live Pro Sound

    Rating

    My company purchsed the R21 mic package back in 2002 when we first started our gospel group. The first day we use them, we were over whelmed at the by the suburb sound that the R21 produced. We had (5) shure 68 mics before we purchased the R21s and we decided to purchase (6) more R21 mic packages. Wouldn't trade them for nothing. Rating these mics 10+.

    Herbert T. Warman Jr.
    Victory Harvest Productions

  • Customer
    from November 11, 2015

    Great for drums!

    These mics are a huge bang for the buck. I'm on a limited budget to record drums, and borrowed 3 of these from a friend. I put one inside of the kick, and the other under the ride, and it sounded great! I'm giving them 4.5 stars because honestly they're by no means a great vocal mic and don't deal with proximity well, but they're perfect for a jam session or talkback mics.

  • Bruce H. Voge III
    from Baltimore, MD February 18, 2013Music Background:
    DJ/Entertainer and Podcaster

    Great Mics for the Price

    I use these mics for a multi-mic podcast. Our main problem was trying to get the sound of the room out of our podcast. This mics are great for what we do and are very focused, and keep the room sound out. I am not sure how "gig-worthy" they are, but I do know for a podcast (especially with folks that do not normally use mics) these are great. Their one main drawback in my opinion is the lack of an on/off switch, however since I am working with people that do not normally use mics, this means I will never have a moment where a person that fidgets turns a mic off during the show, which is a plus for me. So for the price, a fantastic mic.

  • Louis DeSomma
    from November 21, 2010Music Background:
    Indie musician.

    Great MIc

    This an overall great mic for the studio. If you're going to live track, this is a great way to go for vocals. I would even recomend these for condensing. I stuck one over the drums, in-front of my guitar cabinet and one in-front of the bass drum. If mixed properly, they sound fantastic. I've even taken the bottom heads off the toms and stuck a mic inside and they sounded great, no distortion or anything. I haven't tryed out these mics live yet but a mic that's this good in the studio probably wouldn't be the best sounding live. It would probably be better for backing vocals rather than lead vocals. I now have two sets of these (6 mics all together) and they're used everytime my band and I record.

  • Customer
    from Ct March 20, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, live sound

    Great purchace

    Love them i can get alot of volume out of even the shyest singers that back away from their mics

  • Andy kastrinelis
    from July 5, 2008

    grat for the pricw

    good mics but don't use as hand held mics but if you have the money get 3 sure sm 58s or 3 sm57 (whats the diffrence?) but overall they are good mics. i use them to mic bass drums, snares, amps and vocals and they sound great and they don't distort when things get rough.

  • Nikolai
    from RVA September 27, 2006Music Background:
    Amateur industrial musician, live sound engineer

    Great package deal, good mics

    These mics are good for the price. They have a bit of handling noise but with enough experimentation this can be avoided. I would highly recommend them for backing vocals rather than a main singer. They are good if they are held up by a stand rather than held up by a hand.
    They also come in a carrying case that is very durable.
    If you are on a budget, get these. They are a great deal.

  • Charlie Davis
    from Boulder, CO May 14, 2012Music Background:
    Live and studio engineer, pro musician.

    Not bad at all

    These are no 58's, but they did get the job done and they were quite inexpensive. They worked well on both amps and vox. Minimal feedback hassles, no stress about energetic musicians knocking over a stand ('cause they were so cheap). These were used all weekend for multiple bands at an outdoor festival with no complaints--although nobody raved about the awesome mics and asked where we got them either.

    They are not as robust as other reviews made them sound; they are shorter and lighter than mics pros will be used to, although they are by no means flimsy or cheesy. The clips are inexpensive (think Radio Shack), and the case looks cool in the website images but it's really pretty much just for show--like a tackle box with a foam insert.

    Still, they really did sound surprisingly good; they have a nice little high-end bump that give a lot of air without causing too much sibilance. And for fifty clams for THREE of them, I am not concerned about their longevity.

    I can recommend them freely, mostly because they are so affordable. I'd rate them higher, but I don't want to mislead someone looking for serious pro gear (which you won't get for this price anywhere).

  • Dan
    from ca October 24, 2010Music Background:
    pro musician

    Samson r21 vocal mic

    These mics are absolute Crap. You have to get right on it for your voice to be heard. Move any where left, right, or back just a little bit and the volume is gone. I know good mic technique but these do not help. I mean total volume drop.
    The reason they give you three is they are very fragile and BREAK. One got knocked over by an enthusiastic fan, hit the stage and exploded! Then, one pin inside the XLR broke. Then the last one took a dive and came a part. Basically, you get what you pay for. Oh and the latch on the cheap plastic box broke too.
    Pay the xtra coin and get a shure 58, They sound great and are solid.

Questions about the Samson R21 Microphone 3-pack?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close