0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Apogee Quartet Reviews

4.0 stars based on 37 customer reviews
Questions about the Apogee Quartet?

Questions about the Apogee Quartet?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Enrico Castagnetti
    from Katy, TX October 8, 2016

    Best audio interface for 2.1 or 5.1 speaker setup

    After deciding that I needed a subwoofer (Rythmik Audio L22) for my home mastering/editing system I decided to update my Apogee Duet to a Apogee Quartet to be able to easily integrate it and I was no wrong. I tried for two months splitting the outputs out of my Duet interface but got a lot of static noise form time to time and I knew it was due all the adapters and splitters. So decided to pull the trigger on the Quartet and man, this thing rocks. Now I'm using outputs 1/2 to send signal to my Dynaudio BM5 mkIII studio monitors and outputs 3/4 to the Rythmik Audio L22, then you have to select 5.1 speaker configuration and voila, the volume knob controls all the outputs simultaneously. This is not even explained on Apogee FAQ. So if you are looking for a great audio interface capable to run a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker system then don't look more and get the Apogee Quartet!!

  • Michael J.
    from April 25, 2016

    Outstanding recordings interface

    This Quartet is easy to set up, simple to use and provides professional level recording capability.

  • George Selsky
    from November 11, 2015

    Great solution!!

    I am downsizing my home studio and wanted an audio interface that would work with the rest of my existing gear. David Hess my salesman associate helped me find the right solution and as always his suggestion was spot on! He presented a number of options and thought the Quartet was the right choice. It works great, sounds awesome and was a breeze to get setup, thanks to David! Once again David and Sweetwater proved why the are the best, hands down!

  • Ted Yoder
    from Goshen, IN August 20, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    So much more than the specs.

    I've been an apogee user since the first Duet but when my needs expanded I thought since the Quartet had been out awhile, maybe there was something better or more versatile that has come along. I tried a couple of items and I wasn't blown away by anything "better" than what I'd had through Apogee so I came back to the Quartet. This interface was so well thought out that it can suite many configurations and be very useful for years. You can even use outboard pres if you wanted too and still use the Apogee converters. So quality is quality and Apogee made this so good and well rounded that it will be "relevant" for many years. I probably will not need another main unit for the rest of my days doing music. Even if I stopped using it as a main interface, it could still be used for a monitor station for a bigger studio.

    One last point. With all the onboard buttons and readouts, they made looking and using the digital GUI mixer obsolete. This is a great mix between analog and digital interface. I never had to look at Maestro to setup or record. This baby operates at such a high level. You know how they say in sports that "this guy or girl plays outside the numbers". This unit operates outside the specs. It will blow you away how easy tracking can be.

  • Guy
    from Los Angels CA USA September 13, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby

    Great gear

    everything you need to start recording with 4 instruments at the same time.

  • Yolchie
    from West by God Virginia May 19, 2014Music Background:
    Multi-Instrumentalist, Songwriter, Producer, Home Studio, Gear Fanatic.

    CAKE!

    Pfft...this thing is worth every penny just for the AD/DA conversion alone!!! The other 10+ things that are awesome about it are just icing on a beautifully sloped, lighted, aluminum cake! Best piece of gear I bought all year!

  • Sam
    from Los Angeles, CA May 17, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Composer

    Pristine sound, ignore bad reviews

    The negative reviewers are kind of clueless. How is requiring USB a con? These days it's like saying it's a negative that your LCD monitor requires a video cable.

    This thing is amazing. Great amps, really pristine sound, and cool user interface too (customizable!). Love it. This is top quality engineering.

  • Marsman
    from IN January 15, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Freaking Awesome

    The preamps in this thing are superb! Stellar sound!

  • iFLOSS
    from New York, NY December 2, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Love has been found

    I absolutely love my new Quartet... The stereo imagining is immaculate, preamps deliver clear and robust vocals. I was blown away at how much of a difference there was between the quartet and my old mBox pro3... The extra cost of the machine is worth the purchase. The audio quality this unit delivers makes the extra investment that much more worth it.

    A great hub for your studio

  • Rico
    from Florida August 12, 2013Music Background:
    DJ

    Apogee Quartet AWESOME !!

    All that it is and more... Truly a plug and play with Mac and the interface is simply. A must for small home studios. Great mic preamps!!!

  • TM
    from LA, CA July 31, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer, Home Studio Owner, Producer

    Surprisingly good preamps

    Everyone knows Apogee converters are great, I don't need to talk about those. But I'm actually very surprised by the preamps on this guy. I'm a mic and pre snob like many of you out there. To me built in pres are last resort. They're for what's left over. Maybe this comes from the old days of mbox's, 003s, etc. where all the built in pres sounded lifeless, boring, and even if you turn them up they still seem to quiet. Opposed to 1073's, Putnam style, ISA's, API's, etc. which all had unique flavoring and brought to life whatever you ran through them. So earlier today I had a vocalist come in and I was doing some shootouts. We settled on the SM7b for the mic, and when we shot out the preamps I decided to add the Quartet's for a control. Well I'm sure you can guess what happens next... it won. Hands down. It went against the usual suspects; ISA430 (which came in 2nd), Vintech 73 500 series, Solo 610, and a P-Solo. In that order of which worked best. I'm not trying to say that the Quartet's pre's are going to replace all those pre's for everything. But it's nice to know I can actually use them not as left overs, but as the right choice for certain applications. Very big, open sound on the SM7b. I'm probably not that great at describing preamp sounds, but you know that feeling you get when something works so well that you think to yourself, "this is going to be sooooo easy to mix"? Where you basically think "there's nothing I really want to fix in that", that's what we got. I'm really excited to do more shootouts now and find out what else these pre's shine at. Get one! What are you waiting for?!

  • Michael Romkey
    from Bettendorf, Iowa May 15, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, show producer, amateur recording engineer

    Apogee Quartet

    More great gear from Apogee. Awesome converters. Having four inputs/pres instead of two (I also have a Duet) creates lots of flexibility. Two channels is a little limiting if you move beyond the simplest recordings in a home studio. Being able to run four mics is a real plus. Sleek design, small footprint, well built, easily portable. Won't replace a 24 channel -- or bigger -- console, but it'll do the job for lots of smaller projects.

  • LB
    from Hartford, CT April 17, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer

    Excellent

    The best purchase I ever made I can't complain.

  • CP
    from San Francisco, CA April 8, 2013Music Background:
    Musician / DJ

    Coming from Metric Halo and this thing is amazing!

    This is only the 3rd or 4th thing I have ever reviewed online because I generally think it is a waste of time. However when a product is this great it deserves recognition. I had been using a Metric Halo interface for the last 6 years and needed something new. I wanted it to be easy to use and not a lot of clutter or extra software. I rather use 1-2 quality plug-ins and outboard gear than 1,000 software bells and whistles I don't know how to use well. I like making music not reading manuals and talking to people on forums. The quartet is easy to use and I love their maestro mixer software. Very straightforward. I like it much better than MH mixer even though the MH is more powerful in other respects. The quartet sound is incredible. I make everything from dub to psych rock to house in different projects and the sound out of here and into the quartet is incredible. The touch surface is also brilliant with very good displays. I was worried about the lack of hands-on controls but the touch surface is really fluid. Apogee deserves some serious recognition for making this. And the outputs are set-up in a way that makes sense for me. Easy to use outboard gear or have multiple monitors. I am getting another one soon to have some more inputs. And use one on remote locations and one at home.

  • Alex
    from Lexington Park , Md March 25, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    I Love it!!!

    I had doubts spending all this money at first, but after using it for a couple of months....I'm glad that I bought it. Best upgrade to my aging M-audio fastrack interface. Simple, reliable, great quality in build and sound,preamps are amazing and now it is compatible with IOS. I can't wait to try it on my Ipad mini once I get the cable from Apogee.

  • Marcus Polo
    from Memphis March 5, 2013Music Background:
    Creative Enthusiast

    Worth Every Penny

    The sound quality is amazing and the functionality is better than any other interface I've ever used. It's big enough to have a presence in the lab, but small enough sit on my Avalon and still allow it to breath. I bought it as a backup and mobile solution when my Avid Omni went in the shop for repair and it hands down holds its own in comparison. It's also extremely stable. I have to reinstall Pro Tools HD to find my Omni and thunderbolt interface quite often, but I've only had to do one install with this box and its ran flawlessly ever since. I buy equipment all of the time and this is the first review I've ever been this compelled to write. I love my Avid Omni, but us creative enthusiasts tend to appreciate when a product has a solid price to quality ratio, and this box hit the nail on the head in that regard. The Quartet lived up to the hype and exceeded all of my expectations.
    It is truly a beast....

  • Customer
    from January 5, 2013

    Awesome

    It's not a toy. It's a real monster ~

  • Todd
    from IL October 9, 2012Music Background:
    Freelance Musician/Producer

    Love it!!!

    This unit is worth every penny. I upgraded from a Duet 2 to the Quartet largely to gain the two extra Apogee mic preamps (which sound excellent) as well as the ADAT inputs. Money well spent. My only pre-purchase concern was that this is still a USB unit which is obviously a fading format, however there will likely be Thunderbolt-to-USB adapters for years to come since Thunderbolt is still in its infancy. That being said, this Quartet runs smooth as butter at very low latency levels of 64 samples on my 2011 MBP...No complaints there. It's fast and furious. Also this unit is built like a tank and has some decent heft to it and I love how the I/O connectors are all on the back of the unit itself versus needing a breakout cable like the Duets. Also worth mentioning is the addition of dedicated touch-sensitive buttons that can be assigned to various tasks and add the ability to configure your workflow accordingly. I did have a little trouble figuring out how to set-up the buttons for switching between multiple monitors (Page 21 in the Quartet User's Guide) but once I read said manual instructions it was a cinch. All that being said, I'm really glad I bought this Quartet and the price was right for a unit of this quality. It sounds like an Apogee...

  • Matt
    from USA October 6, 2012Music Background:
    Professional musician, 6 years experience in engineering, and 15 years experience playing in studios.

    Exceptional

    This interface is exceptional. The pres and converters are crystal clear, and the functionality, build quality, ease of use, and features are all outstanding. If you have a budget interface, you WILL notice a huge difference with this piece of gear! I had it up and running in minutes, and it has performed flawlessly ever since. The assignable touch controls are a real blessing for those of us who don't have more feature-packed consoles, and the Maestro 2 software is a wonderful tool for managing signal flow - very easy to use. The addition of ADAT connectivity will allow me to use this interface to expand my little home studio in the future as well. I've tracked acoustic, electric bass, and electric guitar with this box and all of the tracks FAR surpass anything I've accomplished before in terms of clarity and overall sonic quality. My monitors sound better as well! I have been truly impressed by the clarity I've achieved when tracking electric bass with these preamps, and my acoustic guitar tracks have never sounded this good. The quality of the pres and converters have helped take my mediocre mics and extend their usefulness, until I can afford higher quality pieces in that department. This was a great purchase, and I'd highly recommend it for anyone with a project or home studio that wants to achieve exceptional results. Thanks to my sales engineer, Andrew for yet another wonderful recommendation! I feel like I can always count on the people at Sweetwater for honest recommendations to get the most out of my limited budget for gear. Thanks!

  • Ali Mustafa
    from Lahore, Pakistan October 2, 2012Music Background:
    Music Producer

    Clear as Never Heard Before

    Justified, you will feel a true difference. you will hear what you were lacking don't think here and there just go for it !!!!! it worths your single penni !!!!!!! The converters are so damn good i don't believe that this small Machine can turn you Mixes Big ..........

  • Mac
    from September 29, 2012

    A GameChanger

    Coming from the Motu 828mk2 the Apogee One sounded amazing. However, mid day we received the Quartet and swapped out the One and was completely shocked at how detailed the low frequencies were. From top to bottom the Quartet is detailed, punchy, and super clean sounding. Operation is a pleasure with the touch screen, stereo to mono, dim, and much more. Worth every penny of the $1295. Apogee is quality!

  • TC
    from Dallas December 28, 2016Music Background:
    Former studio engineer

    Outstanding

    For professional-quality home and portable recording there is nothing better. Easy to use - sounds great. You will be limited only by your abilities, not by this piece of gear.

  • Lucas Pimentel
    from Riverside November 29, 2013Music Background:
    Record Producer, Pro Musician, Songwriter, Recording Engineer

    Worth Every Penny

    There is absolutely nothing on this price range that beats the Quartet.
    Most of the bad reviews are really unfair. Apogee support is great. You get to talk to an actual person and you don't have to pay for it(like AVID).
    Preamps are clean and transparent, conversion is excellent and it's an easy to use interface.
    Come on people. You're upset because your old midi keyboard doesn't have connectivity on the Quartet. Just buy a damn USB Midi Interface. You should have had one by now if you're so much into older sound modules. Read the features and specs before buying a product like this. This is cutting edge technology and sometimes the latest product won't be the best for your needs, specially if you can't read specs.
    Anyway, I am very happy with my Quartet. It does work perfectly and I recently used it along with a Duet on a drum session. Sweet deal.
    Buy it and you won't regret. Just make sure you know how to read before pressing "buy it now" :) Cheers!

  • Customer
    from San Francisco February 25, 2013Music Background:
    Music production and composer

    Is product sounds excellent better than the avid mbox pro 3

    I had an mbox pro 3 and had many connectivity issues. I traded up to the quartet and have never looked back. The sound quality is way better and it is worth every penny more. I cannot emphasize he differece in quality enough and despite all the forums you will read going both ways, they are all right about the sound quality of apogee.

  • Aaren
    from Lawrenceburg, IN December 2, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Sound Designer

    Don't be put off by the cute, small form factor; this is no toy.

    I admit I was a bit hesitant at first to take this interface seriously. I liked the concept of this all-in-one interface, but ultimately didn't think it would deliver the high end conversion and functionality I was wanting for my setup at home. I talked with my sales engineer (Jason x1389) and was assured that I'll get the same high quality conversion that people have come to expect of higher end Apogee products. The pres are great, and the simplicity of set up is absurd. Really does compliment an iMac functionally and visually as well. Very sturdy and well built product; made in the USA. Paired these with the Focal CMS 50s and it really is pristine, honest and transparent. Your mixes will be revealed! The price is very right for this as well.

  • Mikey Micheletti
    from Seattle April 10, 2015

    Sounds lovely, but can be a little bit tipsy with lots of cables plugged in

    I like this audio interface quite a bit. It sounds good. It doesn't act up.

    I have noticed that when I fill in all the ports in the back with sturdy shielded cables, they tend to tip the device up in front a bit. The wedge-shaped back is just so much heavier than the slender front is, and connecting heavy cables makes it more so. This may not be a problem for you if it rests on a table with a lot of room in the back, but it's something to be aware of if you're planning to keep it on top of a controller keyboard like I do.

    Latency is fairly low over USB, but I do frequently wish this had a Thunderbolt connection that could halve the lag.

    I get a better sound out of electric stringed instruments if I place a Radial direct box upstream of the Quartet's preamps.

  • Justin Green
    from United States July 2, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer/Producer/Guitar for O Conqueror

    Yellow Car Studio (Austin Texas)

    I love the Quartet for the studio. We do pro projects and the Quartet's quality is among the best. The only down side is thew touch screen Sometimes have to tap a few times to make the selection I want.

  • Pedro Tavares
    from June 9, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great interface

    Quartet is a great interface for project studios. The only product with the same quality is probably UA Twin Apollo, but it has little less i/O than Quartet. Great sound and nice pres.

  • Alexander Jenkins
    from Spanish Fork, UT June 7, 2014Music Background:
    composer, sound designer, 5.1 engineer - 3D motion ride film

    Professional interface for the contemporary studio

    First things first,

    I purchased the Quartet to serve as the main i/o for my writing/mixing room where I score, create sound effects and mix in 5.1 for 3D stereoscopic motion ride film.

    I give the Quartet 4-stars overall, but first, here are the areas where it ranks a SOLID 5-stars:

    1) The converters and mic pre's are without question top shelf-professional and compare directly to any gear I have used as an engineer in any large commercial facility. Definitely no corners cut here. To make it any better would only impress test equipment. I actually felt the smile form on my face when I heard sound pass through it the first time. For some reason I was under the mistaken impression that because of its form factor, limited i/o, cost and iOS tie-in, it was going to be a Digi003-ish type sound. Having owned a Digi003R for years (and liking it), I was wonderfully surprised at the upgrade in overall sound quality and imaging. I don't know if this will make any sense, but the sound coming out of the Quartet sounds effortless. I just mixed a film through it and it was very noticeable that I didn't have to work as hard to get a good mix. Also, my ears didn't become fatigued as quickly as I'm used to with the 003R. It's also a boon that it provides 5.1 surround master volume control. Because I use a 5.1 monitoring system that already provides that, the Quartet offers an option in Maestro to be set at "line level", and I control my 5.1 volume from my monitor controller. It's nice to have the option though if someone is using the Quartet as their final monitoring stage running to powered monitors without central volume control.

    2) It's a nice plus that the pre amps have ample gain to drive ribbon mics too. (the Symphony offers even more if you need it).

    3) The free Maestro app provides software control over the Quartet. (setting levels, routing, phantom power etc) - It is well thought out and very easy to use. Because most people use their computer for both music creation and playback It would be cool if Apogee offered a software adjustable variable "dim" setting in Maestro so I could in one button press, lower my monitoring to a level I choose when listening back to music that has been mastered and is extremely loud coming from iTunes, Quicktime, YouTube, Spotify, Pandora etc. This way my system which is calibrated for creation could also easily be used for playback of mastered music without having to touch the master volume control. I asked Apogee about this and their tech manager said he'd actually look into it. Cool.

    4) An engineer friend of mine created an in-the-field battery pack for his Quartet and it's working great! I mentioned this to Apogee during NAMM and they said they were producing a video actually explaining how to do that exact thing. How cool is it to be able to have the Quartet running into an iPad in the field (or in the studio) all on battery...with zero fan noise!

    5) Native integration with iOS devices. Can you say professional recording using a mobile touch screen device!


    Now, here is why I rated it 4-stars:

    1) The OLED metering is very clean and easy to see, but I wish it could be a little larger since there is plenty of space available to work with. I'm sure it was a cost consideration and with Maestro on screen metering they probably thought it would be ok to go with the smaller metering. The problem is, I actually use metering from time to time and with my screens already being used for my DAW, larger onboard meters would have been cool.

    2) The Quartet is only bus powered and turns on and off automatically with the computer. This means the Quartet is NOT designed to be used as a standalone monitoring device/control like the Presonus Central Station, or other offerings from Mackie, Dangerous or Coleman. Oh well.

    3) I'm bummed that Apogee didn't provide 8 analog inputs. I know it would have raised the cost a bit but I would have paid it. Maybe Apogee was worried it would take sales away from their Symphony. I don't think it would have though. I see these as two completely different devices built for different reasons. I have a gorgeous 8-ch mic pre that just sits on my rack now that I used to use with the Digi003R for mobile recordings. The only way I can use it now is if I buy an 8-ch analog to lightpipe converter box, which I am grateful the Quartet does have connection for if/when I decide to expand my analog i/o which seems inevitable for the ensemble recordings from time to time.

    4) The other thing that irks me is there isn't any form of digital out (!)
    Although I don't necessarily need it right now or I would have had to get the Symphony, I'm feeling quite limited from a "connect with older gear" point of view which makes me nervous resulting from years of being compatible with whatever comes through my door in larger studios. (Apogee, I would have paid the extra hundred dollars for S/PDIF digital out).

    5) The MIDI over usb is only compatible with Device/Class compliant devices. In speaking with Apogee about this, they said that the only workaround is using a MIDI to USB adapter that creates a device compliant signal. It's not an officially supported workaround, but they said they have tested an Alesis midi adapter that worked fine but there are no guarantees.

    Although I'm bugged by these few things - thus the 4 star rating - I knew going in that the Quartet isn't an "end-all, be-all" box. I get that, but because of the price I will allow myself a little indulgence to wish for a few extra things that I've mentioned already. Apogee clearly had a specific customer/workflow in mind when they designed the Quartet. I just wish they would have spoken to a few more people first for some perhaps simple improvements. If your needs fall within this design you are in for a real treat. If the design doesn't cater to your studio's needs you may feel like you're wearing a shoe that doesn't fit right and I'd recommend something else instead.

    So, to summarize, the Quartet is unequivocally professional sounding but is designed for a more contemporary in-the-box producer/engineer who uses Mac and/or iOS and is as close to plug-and-play as I've ever seen in the actual "pro" arena. So, I'm keeping it. But...Ted Hunter, please add an 8-ch analog to lightpipe box to my wishlist.

  • Chris
    from Destin, Fl USA September 26, 2012Music Background:
    Writer, producer, Artist

    Very Happy.

    You know, the only issue I had with the Duet was the lack of functionality incorporating outboard gear. The Quartet does this super easy as well as deliver the sonics I've come to enjoy from using the Duet 2. Worth the money? For me, of course. That's all I'm concerned with...me, myself and I.

  • Raul Henriquez
    from Arkansas January 6, 2016

    AC Hum

    Sounds Great but when not playing back sound it has an AC hum. I tried everything from line cleaners an nothing works. my mbox 3 is silent so I'm returning this and picking up something with thunderbolt 2.

  • Angryman
    from October 24, 2013Music Background:
    All kinds

    Does not support Legacy Midi

    The quartet seems to be a great device yet it seriously lacks support for midi. It supports USB keyboards but if you have vintage gear or you favourite gear, then it WILL NOT WORK via midi cable (midi to usb).

    Be fore warned

  • time and again
    from September 22, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Musician

    Overpriced for what you get

    This was a poor purchase on my part. I got roped into the idea that the sounds on this would be superior. Completely False. This thing should be like half the price and be much more versatile. But it does look cool. Several of the buttons are kind of useless, although if Apogee has something called a forum and not some terrible Knowledgebase it might be possible to make suggestions for an update to this oversized thing. For example, It would be nice if you could mute the inputs instead of having to hit the button and turn the knob down each time.

    I thought this would be easy to expand with ADAT, but actually, it requires your Expansion to also have Word Clock input. It's also much more fragile than I expected, so I would never take this around with me, so I may as well have gotten something with 8 inputs.

  • Brent
    from Hawaii December 14, 2016

    Quartet Interface

    Having been with Apogee Digital for many years (Original first genertation Duet, which still rocks), I have been frustrated no end with the Quartet. It's not the hardware, it's the software interface (they call it Meastro... as if). It's the least intuitive set of 1's and 0's I have seen. I have had multiple sessions collapse around me because of fighting this application. Frankly I'm ready to move back to my Duet. I'm really disappointed, because, for such great hardware, Apogee obviously did not put the time in on the software (aka Digital) part of the product.

  • Kevin
    from Boise, ID January 30, 2017

    Great! Don't Expect it to Record Anything!

    I bought the Apogee Quartet so I could put together a small recording studio for myself. I bought this after looking at all the positive reviews thinking this would be a snap to set up and use. First of all you can connect everything that is touted (mics, instruments, etc) but if you want to record this is where it becomes a pain, especially if you are interfacing with an iPad. You can download the Maestro app from the Apple Store and this has a bunch of settings to adjust your input levels and set your routing between two mixers and let's you select if you are outputting to headphones or monitor speakers. THERE IS NOTHING THAT ALLOWS YOU TO ACTUALLY RECORD YOUR VOCALS or INSTRUMENT. If you go online and search you will find out that if you download some more apps you can "easily" interface this to record. I bought several apps like Audiobus, Garage band, ASUS, and several others. There is a 2.2 version of Garage Band that has a GUI different that any of the guides out on the internet. I'm not sure how anyone uses this device but it sure as h*** doesn't allow you to set up a home studio very easily. Apogee support has not been helpful (they were the ones that told me to try Audiobus). Now I wish I had gone another route!

  • wren
    from Washington DC November 24, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Musician

    Terrible Audio Interface, but looks cool

    I made a terrible purchase of an expensive lackluster audio interface. Hopefully this will prevent some others like me from buying.

    Pros
    - The design on this looks great.
    - The preamps have large gain with little noise

    Cons
    -The device first of all will not work without a USB Connection
    - Device constantly loses connections via USB port on various macbooks, back to the first con, this is annoying, as any music you have playing will stop and require you to reconfigure quartet. Sometimes requires reboot of computer
    - sometimes the device mutes and adjusting the button/volume for volume to turn mute off will not work and requires power cycle of device
    - no power button, so i'm constantly unplugging/plugging the device
    - the A B C buttons are practically useless, and barely configurable. If they could do such things as set the type of input or unmute certain items when configured, that'd be useful.
    - item gets very hot
    - ADAT requires not just the ADAT connection, but the word clock, so not easily expandable.
    -Apogee does not have a forum, so tons of bugs with this device never get reported or FIXED@!!

    I wish I would have purchased a more reliable interface, but now feel guilty to use this because of the money it cost. If this were a 500 dollar audio interface, I wouldn't have bothered with this review, but this device is Shenanigans

  • APogee quartet Sucks so far
    from canada November 10, 2013

    It sucks and they lack support

    Plain and simple.

    It crashes all the time. Needs to be reset all the time (unplugged and plugged back in). Does not handle being the dedicated audio device for your computer (if you desired this functionality). Forget itunes playback without unless you want to stand next to it so you can arm the power cable (you're going to be restting it a lot)


    Does not support legacy midi (so your old school midi keyboard.. sry.. )

    poor poor product.

Questions about the Apogee Quartet?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway