0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Blue Microphones Quad Cable - 20' XLR-XLR Reviews

4.0 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Blue Microphones Quad Cable - 20' XLR-XLR?

Questions about the Blue Microphones Quad Cable - 20' XLR-XLR?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Mike Harris

    Get the most out of your microphones! This (4-22 AWG) quad-conductor cable gives you maximum frequency resolution with extended lows and crystal clear highs. I highly recommend this cable for use with every mic in your locker.

  • Rusty
    from March 1, 2017

    Hearing is believing

    My 3' Mogami Gold would not reach when connecting my studio monitors to my sub so I used a typical premium balanced xlr from the sub to the right monitor as a temporary fix. The right monitor wasn't shutting off automatically so I listened closely and could hear the faintest crackling static from the tweeter. It was quieter than the fan from my iMac so it went unnoticed until I paid close attention. I ordered a pair of Blue Quad Cables and, as soon as they arrived, I replaced the right monitor speaker with the new cable. The crackle/static is gone. Auto-shut off working as expected.

    I never would have noticed the cracking if the auto-shut off weren't indicating something was amuck. Once I heard it, though, it was unmistakable. I can only imagine what information might have been lost if the cable was picking up noise. I actually wish they made this cable in shorter lengths! However, having invested in Mogami Gold and then finding they were too short when adding a sub, I felt it prudent to purchase a cable that had plenty of slack until I'd settled upon permanent monitor placement. Eventually, I'll likely move to a matched length cable and I'll still have excellent mic cables for other uses.

  • dan
    from CO May 5, 2016

    Blue Quad are NICE

    These are REALLY nice high quality cables - I do wish they came in 25'

  • Franklin
    from Miami February 26, 2016Music Background:
    Singer, Performer, Songwriter, Producer.

    Really really good!

    I used to record with a normal cable, had to use a different settings on the Preamp (Apollo's plug-in) in order to capture the sound and gain I wanted for Vocals and guitars, not anymore! No need of lots of tweaks going on!! plug it, set the desired Gain, press Rec on your DAW and you'll have a great quality Vocals! Garanted!!

  • Edward Selph
    from Monterey May 9, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, singer, student, amature recording artist.

    Good cable

    Good cable. First off its pretty. And because of the color you'll never lose and somebody won't accidentally take it after a gig or whatever, that seems to happen a lot with black cables.

    Second it's pretty durable. Somebody stepped on one if my connectors while I was setting up for a show and it isn't bent at all. It never comes unplugged when I jump around.

    And maybe it's placebo but I've used this cable in recordings and I swear it sounds clearer than all my other cables.
    The price is a little much but I got a deal because I bought a lot of stuff which was nice. So for me totally worth it.

  • P-diddy
    from Arlington, TX March 15, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur recording engineer and mixer.

    You can't beat it for the price.

    This is an amazing cable! I have like 10 of these and they perform flawlessly. A true test for a mic cable is how it represents high freq's and transients. These do it very we'll. Very good build quality as well. You just can't beat these for the price.

  • Dave Percell
    from Corona, CA June 2, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer

    Excellent Cable

    When wiring my studio I chose Canare. For my mic cable, I chose the Quad Cable. This cable is top of the line. Super clean. Monster is not in the same league with this cable as tested.

  • Derrek Clay
    from Nashville, TN February 16, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Amazing cable, dont listen to the critics. Here's why...

    I recently purchased several of these cables, and I must say that I am pretty impressed so far. I really do not understand the negative reviews. While it is true that the cable does not have gold connectors, I haven't seen it advertised anywhere as having them in the first place. I've actually compared this cable to a Mogami Gold Series XLR Cable, which is arguably the best cable out there. I was extremely impressed and suprised when I compared the two and the Blue cable sounded identical if not a tiny bit better than the Mogami cable. I even used 2 more of the same Mogami cable and I switched out the Quad cables in several more tests, just to make sure there wasn't some fluke. I tested them on a few different high quality mic preamps, all with the same results. And for the record, the Quad cable does not contain "cheap Chinese Neutrik knock-offs". I actually spoke with a representative of Blue who told me that they are custom made connectors, designed by Blue, not cheap rip-offs by any means. Unless you have the right equipment to properly test things like this, and you are coming into the process with an unbiased opinion, then please don't review a product. Just wanted to clear these things up! I would definitely recommend these cables to anyone, whether they're being used to record home demos, or an album in a studio. These are probably some of the best cables available, so please don't let the nay-sayers convince you out of buying a very high quality product.

  • Charles
    from Georgia January 17, 2011Music Background:
    Working Pro

    AMAZING!

    I have to assume the person below had issues due to user error, or got a very rare bad batch. He probably doesn't realize that these are built using Canare cables and Neutrik connectors. Much better than the Monster 1000 and a lower price.

  • THOMAS HANKINS
    from MERRIMAC, MA June 25, 2016

    GREAT QUAD CABLE

    BLUE is best known for it's studio condenser microphones. When the XLR cables were first introduced, they were designated with the same monikers as their three most popular microphones, Cranberry, Blueberry and Kiwi. This cable is formerly known as the Kiwi and at the top of the line. With the expansion in to stage, podcast and other USB microphones, the fruit names went by the wayside. This particular, quad-conductor, microphone cable is designed for studio use. That said, I use them for live, stage performances. There is nothing held back on quality of materials and workmanship with these. They hold their own, on the sonic level, against other premium brands and actually exceed others in durability having better braided protection that resembles competition grade motorsports and automotive brake lines.

    The two issues you may find as possible limitations are the 20" length where 25' is needed. The uber rugged construction does make for less flexibility. Hence the 4.5 star rating.

    As mentioned I use these, have since their days as the "Kiwi" cable. These represent one smart product; top performance and quality, at a price point that beats it's competition.

  • Dave Percell
    from Corona, CA March 21, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Misician

    Great Cable

    These are incredible cables. I have tested against these cables, and they are clean. My studio is wired with Canare. This Quad is a top of the line cable.

  • Jeffrey Crook
    from Highland, IN May 5, 2016Music Background:
    Rock, blues

    Quality cable

    No doubt this is an affordable, quality cable. Only 4 stars because it is a cable but a really good one.

  • Worship Media Ministries
    from Knoxville, TN February 15, 2013Music Background:
    Recording and Live Sound Engineer

    Good quality, not so flexible

    Great sound quality, but the flexibility leaves a little to be desired. I'm sure I have to give up something for the better quality, but I'd rather not give up the flexibility!

  • Matthew Rosenblatt
    from Boca Raotn, FL USA September 14, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer and Musician

    Well Built, High Quality Cabling

    The Quad cable has proven itself to be a high quality cable. I wouldn't put it up against Whirlwind MK when it comes to durability, but the overall build quality is very high. The only reason I gave it a four star rating is that the cable is rather stiff at times. I've already had one cable that needed a connector re-soldered because of the stiffness in the cable.

  • Angel Vazquez
    from San Diego, CA September 3, 2011Music Background:
    Worship Band in Church, Home Studio Engineer.

    Great Blue Cable For a Blue Mic.

    It is a great value for a 20' cable for the price. It provides enough length and helps to sustain those clean tones. The only reason why I gave it a 4 not 5 is because the green outer shell is plastic and sticks to itself. Other than that it works wonders against the Monster cables I used in the past

  • Eric Downing
    from Miami, FL August 23, 2011Music Background:
    Musician and Audio Engineer

    Good cable however...

    Love the cable. I regularly run it behind my rack where it sits next to and parallel (GASP) to many power cords. This cable effectively rejects the interference I detected with other cables.

    However keep in mind that the cable is surrounded by a thick green plastic that is not as flexible as you may be accustomed to. I suppose this could be a good thing as it prevents some tangling.

  • Matt R
    from Vancouver, WA USA May 3, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar Hack & Amatuer Producer

    Check with a good multimeter

    Bought 4 of these. A meter across pins showed leakage of 600 kohms that varied as you flexed the cable near the connector. Two were fine and two were returned as defective. The wire (quad conductors and braided shield) appears identical to Canare star quad; a very nice wire for a decent price if you get one that is not defective.

  • Brian Wilkinson
    from Bowling Green, Ky January 7, 2011Music Background:
    live sound

    Learn to wire an XLR

    5 out of 13 of these were wired incorrectly to the ends. For $50 each you would think they could solder the wires on the correct terminals.

  • Drew Carroll
    from Wall, NJ December 5, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Disappointing

    Bought six of these cables and only two of them work. Junky connectors. The cable does sound good, but does not quite compare to the Monster 1000's that I use and not even close in terms of build quality. I would not recommend these.

Questions about the Blue Microphones Quad Cable - 20' XLR-XLR?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway