rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Allen & Heath Qu-16 Chrome Edition Digital Mixer Reviews

5.0 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the Allen & Heath Qu-16 Chrome Edition Digital Mixer?

Questions about the Allen & Heath Qu-16 Chrome Edition Digital Mixer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from AR January 15, 2017Music Background:
    DeeJay

    Best of the best

    I was just like you deciding on a major purchase to improve my entertainment business. I read many reviews of many different mixers. Finally started my hands on journey .

    Presonus 16.0.2 : A fine little mixer, takes about a day to learn coming from analog. Firewire 400 connection, confusing effects, not what i would consider a Live performance mixer.

    Presonus 16.4.2AI : Huge upgrade to the 16.0.2. easier to learn than the 16.0.2, firewire 800, effects were nice, but with everything I tried the vocals were thin, I really wanted to like this board, the size is huge!, took it to a live gig, nothing but feedback problems from the get go.

    Zed12fx : So after that, I was really hating the idea of a digital mixer. So I tried the zed12fx analog. Probably the best analog mixer I had ever used, if the USB connector hadn’t become unstable, I would probably still have it.

    Than I read a review of the Allen & Heath QU-16C, as a matter of fact I read many. This mixer took all of 3 hours to get acquainted with and performed flawlessly. Vocals were spot on, effects are easy to manipulate, USB connection, qu-drive makes quick recording simple. Build quality is second to none. Did my first LIVE gig with it over the weekend, gave myself an hour to setup but only took 10 minutes.

    Conclusion: I ended up learning that what I wanted in a mixer were, Clear vocals, Great Effects, Compression, Equalizer, Build Quality and Easy Recording. My decision ended up costing more than I had wanted to spend, but my peace of mind was worth it.

  • from Netherlands November 27, 2016

    Qu-16

    In December 2015 I bought a Qu-16 to use as an audio mixer in a small church with a small band. For operation of the mixer we work with a team of volunteers. Not all volunteers go in depth with sound engineering. We had to replace our old Spirit Power Station 1200 after more than 20 years. We were looking for:

    - Number of Channels 20-24
    - Recording via USB (multi-track)
    - Easy operation for volunteers !!

    We have hesitated a while choosing between digital and analog. Analog was clearly cheaper and often easier to operate. Ultimately, we have chosen to go for digital (all functionality in one relatively small device - far more configuration options - etc.). With respect to the competition the choice of the Qu-16 had to do with: relatively simple operation (fairly close to analog), alleged good build quality.

    On the Internet, I could find lots of information, reviews and video instructions on Qu-series. Generally this gives a fairly accurate impression. I type below additional informative according my (our) experience.

    I started "playing" for a few evenings (going through all of the manual and tryout almost everything) and did go live twice. I made a couple of multi-track recordings and took the time to play with them for one evening together with the team. Everyone was enthusiastic about the Qu-16.

    Operation is indeed quite simple (if you’re used to an analog mixer). There are only two (or three) layers of functions for the faders. That all 16 inputs faders are available on the same row is especially useful if you do not often work with such a device. The operation also remains fairly intuitive if you select a Mix output. All frequently used functions (e.g. PEQ, Phantom, RTA, GEQ) are found quit easily. All fairly intuitive. For functions such as routing you have to think more, but that is in itself quite logical positioned as well. We ourselves work with certain pre-settings (obviously put in a scene) and therefore do not often use to the deeper settings. For most volunteers this is fine.

    Where we are definitely satisfied with:

    - RTA / GEQ: You pick easily which frequencies cause feedback. You can correct this easily with the GEQ of the concerned output (though in practice we use the PEQ of the channel). The RTA is also useful to determine which frequencies of a sound source needs to be adjusted (an expert technician should be able to do this without of course :))
    - PEQ: Operation on both touch screen / screen-rotary as the super strip is excellent.
    - The Apps' Qu-Pad 'and' Qu-You’ to operate the mixer remotely via Wi-Fi. However, it requires a reliable Wi-Fi network connection (is not up to the Qu-16).
    - Multi-track recording via Qu Drive:
    o Making a mix afterwards,
    o Virtual sound check (for the purpose of training / testing).
    - The philosophy of the user interface (fits perfectly with our team).
    - Many options and settings. There are more than we likely will ever need.

    I would configure the App for musicians in advance. As a second technician you can also use the Apps to adjust a Mix for recording purpose real-time without constantly having to operate on the mixer itself. Even though the workload is not such that a first technician couldn’t handle this al well. Our old laptop can’t handle the screen buildup with a multi-track recording via USB. The buildup of the tracks is not (real-time) visible. The recording itself is going well. We use the laptop only for mono / stereo recording. For multi-track recording we use Qu-Drive. By the way, this works excellently with a large memory stick (don’t need a hard drive for this). Some brands / models memory stick are not recognized (easily).

    About the build quality we are satisfied. During the research period I did read a review that mentioned a lesser physical strength of the faders as disadvantage. I myself see no issue here.

    The only (minor) downside for me is the size of the touchscreen. This could have been one size larger. If your fingers are not too thick, it may not be a problem for the operation. Only the smaller characters and graphic details are not always easy to read from a standing height. But I can imagine that the designers can’t create room for a larger screen on such a small area easily. I myself don’t need the Qu-16 to fit in a 19 "rack.

    Ultimately, after 11 months we are still very satisfied with our purchase and do recommend this unit if the user interface philosophy fits your needs.

  • from November 16, 2016Music Background:
    Sound Technician - PA Co owner

    Great little desk

    I've had one of these for a long time now. Found it very easy to get up and running - in many respects it's not that far removed from an analogue desk. However, gates & compressors on all the inputs are fantastic, as are graphics & and compressors on the outputs. The iPad & phone apps are very useful and work well (not tried the Android tablet app yet).
    Regular firmware updates keep adding new stuff to the desk & apps!
    These days, I'm making multitrack recordings directly to USB & using some quite complex combinations of features. Also finding the automatic mic mixer is a useful addition for conferences etc.

  • from Virginia November 14, 2016Music Background:
    Recording hobbiest

    Excellent

    I was a long time mackie onyx user and needed something that would send and return a lot of channels and just wanted an all around upgrade from a 1620i. The specs on this board were good and word of mouth about A&H products has been good so I went for it. Being a digital mixer it took a little while to understand the flow but after spending some time with the manual and some basic videos online I pretty much understand the mixer. It sounds absolutely awesome. It is great having so much processing available on every single channel. The eq is easy to dial in with knobs, the faders feel great. The built in effects provide plenty of options. I use an out to get some strymon pedals in the mix to round it out. I really can't think of what else I need in a mixer so it will be a keeper for me for a long time. I'm just a hobbiest so use it to run little shows in my house, along with karaoke and sound for a friend's wedding, and use it for recording. It's a really versatile piece of gear and tons of fun to use.

  • from November 9, 2016Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    QU 16, Well worth the money

    Allen and Heath have delivered a Simple yet greatly efficent mixer with multi tracking capabilities, great onboard effects, user friendly set up and mix capability. I've had my QU16 for a while now and use it on 80% of my work, I also have a GLD 80 (bigger brother of sorts) but use it only occasionly as the QU is so convienent to use and get around. Whether you are only starting out in Digital Consoles or are an experienced user this Desk should not be overlooked, in my time with it I find it great, hence the star rating.

  • from Jackson, MI November 3, 2016Music Background:
    Engineer/Musician

    Awesome & Affordable Small Format Digital Mixer

    I love my Qu-16! It does everything you could expect for the price point. The only minor quibble I have is related to using it as an audio interface, where it is fixed at 48kHz/24-bit, but if you can work with that (or don't use it for recording) I highly recommend it.

  • from November 1, 2016

    QU-16 - fantastic desk

    I've been using the QU-16 for over 2 years. In that time the feature set has been enhanced by firmware upgrades.
    It sounds great, is easy to use, and is very flexible.
    I use it live every week, often redording direct to a USB hard drive.
    I have also used it several times in a studio situation, recording to a DAW running on my macbook.

    Very pleased with the desk.

  • from Destin Fl. October 26, 2016Music Background:
    http://zep962.wixsite.com/gunner

    Simply Awsome

    I have been using the Qu-16 mixer for over two years now. What an amazing mixer. Coming from the Presonus Studio Live the A&H is leaps and bounds easier to navigate. It is laid out more like a traditional analog mixer. The Qpad app. is great also. I also use the Qu for an interface for my DAW and it also works great for DAW control. Allen & Heath have done several free upgrades over the last few years which have greatly improved the package. I highly recommend this product. Mine gets used at gigs 3 to 4 nights a week, year around and has performed flawlessly. I record every gig, multi track to hard drive. I could go on and on. Great product, great customer service. Free upgrades. WOW

  • from October 24, 2016

    Love This Mixer

    We have a Qu-16 in a road case and do a lot of setting up and packing up every week. It is an awesome mixer and sounds great. Due to current constraints our mixer has to sit on stage with the band, but I love the iPad interface which we use a lot for our mixing of FOH and various monitors that incorporates almost all the functionality as the mixer does. I also love the multi-track recording to Qu-Drive which is very easy to plug in a drive and do the recording without needing a computer there. An awesome, good value, digital mixer from Allen & Heath that I recommend to anyone and with Allen & Heath bringing out further firmware updates, it keeps getting better all the time.

  • from Otego NY October 24, 2016Music Background:
    Studio and sound operator; Singer/Guitarist

    Easy to Operate and Great Sound

    I have owned and used my QU-16 for several years in many different situations and it is a pleasure to work with. I've used it with Bose L1 MII systems for my own performances, where I really appreciate the logical layout and great sound. I work sound for a local 700 seat concert venue and have worked with anything from a one-woman musical to duos, quartets, acapella groups, and the Air Force Heritage Band. The QU-16 has come thru every time. It's great hearing concert listeners comment on how natural the sound is when used with my Bose F1's. I'm an old analogue guy who turned digital and the QU-16 has made the transition easy. Of course I have to mention the great service I get working with Mike Conyers and Sweetwater.

  • from October 24, 2016

    Allen & Heath QU16

    I got the QU 16 early this Year. It is just great. After a short time of investigation it is easy to handle. I viewed some Youtube Videos , so I got in to the details very easily. Once You are used to it, it is perfect! I added the AR2412 and it makes even more sense. The high quality pre-amplification rounds up a solution for midsize bands on stage during live events and for recording in my little studio. The in build recording facility is really good. After recording 16 tracks in parallel. I can mix them down on my IMac using Logic X. It is a way better than only stereo recording. You can remix the full recording from a live session to a much better result! The in-house effects of the QU16 are perfect. There is a wide variety of adjustments that can be made and a full set off " software" - effects that can be used. Beside the given functions in the channel-strip You get a professional digital Mixer with Gain, HPF, Gate, Compressor and a graphical EQ that is outstanding.
    The QU16 can play in top group of Hardware and will cost You a fortune to fine better equipment. The only thing that could be inside in the future is a WLAN Adapter for the remote controlling via IPAD.

  • from Boston, MA October 22, 2016Music Background:
    Pro Sound, Guitar Player

    Great Mixer, Great Value

    I've had my Qu-16 for almost 3-years now, still blown away by how great it is.
    I have a small sound company doing weekend gigs for wedding bands and club acts. I come from the analog world, had a MixWiz for smaller gigs, then upgraded to the Qu-16.
    First, I was able to dump my racks of compressors, gates, and EQ's. Then I dumped my 24-channel analog snake (all 80-pounds of it). The Qu can do all of it.
    Started with a single AB168 dSNAKE (16-inputs/8-outputs) then added a second one. I am still limited to 16 mic ins, but I split them between the 2 dSNAKE's and have one front stage and one at the backline, running a 20-foot Cat5 cable between them. Allows me to keep the cable runs as short as possible.
    I have my Qu-16 mounted in a slanted rack case (Gator) which mostly sits side-stage. I mix most of my shows from an iPad out in front of the band.
    The mic pre's are great, very useful EQ (4-bands fully sweepable), and a decent pallet of effects. You are limited to 2 dedicated FX sends, but you can also use the Mix sends if you don't need them for monitors. I use FX sends 1 and 2 for vocal effects (reverb and delay), and Mix 7/8 for vocal thickening (ADT effect) and Mix 9/10 for drum reverb (snare and toms). I also use a SoftKey to set tempo for the delay (tap tempo).
    Recording works great, either to a USB key or directly to a DAW. Not a feature I use often but it is there.
    I also have the head-only version, the Qu-SB, which gives you a few more features, but no physical faders. I can use 32-inputs with my 2 AB168 dSNAKE's, and it has 4 effects sends.
    If there was any negative point about the Qu-16, I would say I'd like more Mixes. You get 4 mono, 3 stereo, which for most of the bands I mix, is fine. But it would be nice to have a few more.
    I understand that there is a limit to what you can fit in a console of this size at this price point, and I feel A&H have hit a home run with the Qu-16.

  • from October 22, 2016

    Little beast

    It's 100% the correct decision to migrate from DL1608 to this digital mixer. The sound quality is very good and USB multi-track recording is very stable. It's feature packed and is a much deeper digital mixers than those simple ones like touchmix or DL1608. Now I just wish they have a new GLD for me to upgrade to.

  • from October 21, 2016Music Background:
    Pro audio company

    My go to desk.

    I have many mixers in my pro audio company I mainly use A&H and Digico. The qu-16 gets used the most it has been everywhere.
    The qu is on the road at least 3 times a week for years and has been flawless it really is a bullet proof console. Sounds good, plenty of sends, usb multi track recording, Good fx , iPad control (fully featured now days with updates) thats the other thing allen and heath unlike many other companies actully continue to improve on the firmware. For the price you just can't beat it . I'm actually thinking I will buy a second one soon. Just can't say enough good about this desk, its like a Toyota gets the job done easily and goes for ever!.

  • from October 21, 2016Music Background:
    Sound engineer

    Amazing

    I am a seasoned sound engineer and I have never come across a sound console with this much bang for your buck. This compact little mixer is jam packed with features that rival large digital consoles. Everything about it from the user interface to the hardware interface is among the best quality in the business. As of yet I haven't found a single fault.

  • from October 21, 2016

    Quality

    After many years of semiprofessional PA / recording work using a number of "quality " desks, I thought it was time to go digital ! My first digital desk was a used Soundcraft and I loved it, so much in a fairly small footprint.... but I needed it to do a bit of everything, live multitrack recording / PA and transportable in a small car (mx5) I needed a lot of outboard gear.
    After reading a review on the Allen & Heath QU-16 this ticked all the boxes
    Its proved to be far better than expected, ok it's 16 channels but for a small band doing pubs and clubs it's fine. I can multitrack on USB at a practice, quickly set it back up in my studio (box bedroom) connect it to my MacBook Pro and daw then send the mix to band members via Dropbox
    As a PA desk it sounds great, has great sounding fx in fact all the tools you need, add an iPad and your free to move around and adjust anything you want from stage to foh.
    The list goes on, but if you compare what it can do, how easy it is to do it and the fact that it really is built like a tank, it really is quality

  • from August 21, 2016

    Five star

    First of all, this mixer does have some limitations you need to take into account. It is only 16 channels, which is great for standard bands, but some groups may need more. Also, there are no subgroups on the Qu 16 (but there are on the 24), so no drum or vocal subgroups.

    If you can live within those limitations, this board is a beast for live use. I just switched from a presonous studiolive 16.4, and I couldn't be happier. The preamps sound crystal clear, and the actual desk interface is a piece of cake to learn compared to the presonous and berhinger competition, in my opinion. The board runs off layers of motorized faders which control all the main and aux mixes. The onboard effects engine sounds great, if thats your thing, but i only use a touch of reverb. The built in hpf, gate, eq and compressors are top notch and adjustable per channel and mix. While the iPad app isn't the flashiest, it runs effectively off any old generic router, and the desk can record direct to a usb hard drive.

    I'm not a paid endorser, just a working musician who needs quality gear. This desk is fantastic for live sound and easy to learn for an entry level digital desk. Are you still using analog? It's time to upgrade. This is the best desk in it's class, and I feel like despite some feature limitations, it sound as good as pro digital desks costing much more.

  • from Anaheim CA August 3, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter, Producer/Engineer, Multi-Instrumentalist

    Cadillac

    What can I say about this mixer. It has all the connectivity and functionality that you could possibly want or need in a compact package. It sounds clean, punchy and is very solidly built - like you could drop it off a building. It's like slicing a piece from a big pro mixer so you could put it in a bag that you can carry with one hand.

    Allen & Heath states: "Qu provides much more than just a mixer. Qu is an entire ecosystem with Remote AudioRacks allowing I/O to be placed where its needed, ME Personal Mixers expanding monitor mixes and enabling simple, time-saving local control, Qu Apps for complete remote setup and wireless mixing on stage or anywhere else in the venue, ProFactory Mic presets to speed up preparation time and ensure the best sound, plus USB recording and DAW integration for powerful workflow optimisation from one centrepiece device."

    Also worth noting is that Allen & Heath have been providing regular firmware updates to the QU series, and it has matured into a very stable and powerful operating system. Needless to say, I'm extremely happy with this mixer.

    I have never regretted spending a few extra bucks to get a very nice piece of audio equipment, and the QU-16 is no exception. It is truly the Cadillac of compact mixers.

  • from Compton, CA April 27, 2016

    Owner

    I had a 24 channel, it was too big for 50% of my events. This one is great.

  • from Oak Island, NC April 20, 2016Music Background:
    Keyboard player

    Amazing Board!

    This Board is amazing! Just the fact that you can actually recall previous settings saved from previous venues played is incredible. Definitely a learning curve, but very doable and Allen & Heath technical help has been great. Favorite part is the Qu-Drive. Actually, record multi-track to a USB attached compatible hard drive, and actually tweak the faders during playback (thru the board) for a corrected export of the recordings. You can even use that feature to adjust a recorded sound check tune to the venue, while the band takes a break. Love it!

  • from CA January 27, 2016Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer

    Amazing flexibility, and great preamp sound.

    I researched and researched, and finally after talking to Dylan at Sweetwater decided the QU-16 was worth the money for what I needed. Boy am I glad I did it...I'm beyond happy with this purchase. It's my first digital mixer, so there was a bit of a learning curve. Manual and Youtube tutorials helped right away. I use it for live sound when our band plays shows, and am currently using it as a DAW interface to do some recordings. The ability to record all of the inputs to separate tracks either on a Laptop or directly to a USB drive is what drove me to this mixer, and I'm not disappointed.

    What really surprised me is how good the built in preamps, eq, effects, compression, and noise gate sound. Really high quality, very low noise board.

    The flexibility to send a different mix to each monitor wedge on stage, and another one to the FOH mains is a dream.

  • from June 1, 2016Music Background:
    Bassist and part time Sound Engineer

    You won't be disappointed.....

    When I first started doing live sound reinforcement for our group, I bought a used analog Yamaha EMX 5016 CF. After seeing the advantages of a digital mixer, I bought a used 2003/04 Yamaha 01V96 to learn digital mixer work flow/layout etc. While using the 01V96, I started looking for a NEW mixer as sort of a 'wish' item. It was between the Qu-16, Soundcraft Expression 1, Soundcraft UI-16, Behringer X-18 and QSC Touchmix 12. Although the other mixers were comparable, I found that I was attracted to the Qu-16's features, relatively easy work flow, physical/motorized faders and lay out at this price point. There was something about mixing PURELY on virtual faders (UI-16, Touchmix and X-18) that I didn't like, but that's just my preference.

    After about a year and a half, the 01V96 started having issues and decided it was time to update/upgrade my mixer. I finally took the plunge and purchased it. Since then, I have had no regrets. I am totally happy with this mixer. As with any digital mixer, you just have to get used to the layer structure and mixer layout. I've been using this mixer for about a month and a half and I don't think I've even used a all of the features that it is loaded with although I did try recording multitrack to usb. I was pretty impressed with the quality of the recording and the 'virtual soundcheck' feature. The more I use it, the more I start learning/using the features that its equipped with. I've also used the wireless control with the android app and found it to be very useful as expected when performing a soundcheck. I use this mixer in conjunction with my Bose L1 Model 2 and the B2 bass module and other gear from Sweetwater (thanks to Devin) weekly and I am always getting compliments with the quality of sound from the audience vs the 01V96.

    I have to say that at this price point, you get your money's worth and more.

  • from Oklahoma city December 8, 2016Music Background:
    karaoke and music band

    Allen and heath

    It's too noisy when its power is on?? When it was nothing playing, its sound as windy....I don't like it

Questions about the Allen & Heath Qu-16 Chrome Edition Digital Mixer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway