rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

EastWest /Quantum Leap Symphonic Orchestra Gold Complete Reviews

4.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews
  • Keith Smelser
    from Dallas/FW Texas August 18, 2014

    Symphonic Gold

    Awesome sounds. Was surprised to find a Steinway B patch in the percussion wood area.

    With my SSD Drive, loading times are very acceptable ( 2-5 seconds)

  • Brad Confer
    from Georgia July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, producer, teacher

    Find another company.

    These samples never. Ever. Ever. Ever work. Scratch that. They worked three years ago. Now? Well. First no Glockenspiel, Steinway, a couple of strings, and half the silver percussion. (I have Gold) New update recommended for all users as per their support page. Now? No Strings. No percussion. Nothing but woodwinds. Yay woodwinds. Mind you I have thousands of dollars worth of plugins. East West sold me the only ones that don't work.

  • Stephen Peterson
    from Marshalltown, IA July 29, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Excellent Library

    I was a little nervous purchasing this software because of the many negative reviews I had seen dealing with failed or malfunctioning installations. But let me assure you, as long as you follow all of the packaged instructions, you should be in really good shape. Don't just pop the DVDs in the computer and run the normal installer. Download the updated installer using the link in the box, and everything should go smoothly,

    I'm running a Pro Tools 11 rig with the libraries, and the Play AAX plugin works well (couple freeze-ups, but that is to be expected). The samples themselves are very well done.

    I definitely recommend this product!

  • SBonner
    from Philadelphia, PA July 16, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Hobbyist

    Solid Gold

    Quite simply, the East West Symphonic Instrument - Gold Package, sounds absolutely amazing. I have a few virtual instruments in this category, and this one completely blew me away. The sounds are incredibly realistic and the instrument choices and articulations are huge. It is a beautiful piece of software.

    Do not be discouraged by the reviews that speak about installation issues. Just make sure that your system meets the system requirements. Mine did, and I had no trouble with installation. Be aware that the installation process is long, simply because you receive five 8 GB installation DVDs. Each one takes about 35-45 minutes to download, but it is well worth the wait.

    The reason that the software comes with a note that says that the DVDs are out of date, is simply because they want you to have the most current "PLAY" engine, so that you get the best experience and so that it works with most current DAWs (Including Protools 11). Most of the data on the DVDs is from the sound libraries, they are not out of date. It's just the PLAY engine portion that needs to be most current. At the end of the installation, the system guides you through downloading this part, and also goes through the authorizing process and the linking to iLOK. My installation was long (2 1/2 hours), but seamless. Just get a cup of coffee, take it slow, follow the screens and just let it do its thing. MIne worked 100%, no issues.

    If you persevere through the installation process, you will be extremely pleased with the quality of the sounds, and the quantity of choices. I am 100% satisfied with the GOLD version, and enjoy working with it. Just read the instructions, watch the online tutorials, and enjoy. It is really excellent. Don't be expecting a 5 minute installation and a 20 page instruction manual. This is a quality piece of software that requires a little bit of focus on your part. It is not difficult, but you need to read the instructions carefully before jumping into the installation and using it. It's well worth it.

  • Paul Sinclair
    from Scranton, PA March 29, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Instructor

    East West Symphonic Orchestra Gold Complete

    I received the kit already out of date, but with instructions on the updates-- a difficult install, but do-able. Once in, The sounds are AWESOME. Will find many uses for it.

  • BlueCreek
    from Balsam, NC January 30, 2014Music Background:
    Composer/Orchestrator, Recording Engineer, Guitarist

    Awesome!

    I was a bit skeptical after reading some of the other reviews and seeing how some people have had a terrible experience installing. However, I just followed the instructions and it all worked great! Didn't have any kind of issues at all and I am most certainly pleased with it! Incredible orchestral library, looking forward to upgrading to Platinum.

  • Dave G
    from Portland December 4, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Install is no bueno!!!

    I hate to be negative but I will never buy anything again from East West.

    The Install is a terrible, complicated process with completely wrong and out of date install documentation.

    Just a total pain to install. The sounds are great but that being said save your money and your precious time on something better.

    It's important to note that the sweetwater people are the best and I highly recommend buying through them. If you have questions problems with software etc they'll help you through it. A pleasure to work with time and time again.

  • Kev, write me a song!
    from MA July 8, 2013Music Background:
    Composer, Recording Engineer, Musician

    EWQLSO Is AWESOME!

    The installation is kind of a pain, but East West's website is more than enough to get you through it!

    I LOVE this product. The sounds are incredible and the PLAY engine is very useful to get the most out of these instruments.

    There is a slight learning curve if this is your first time using a professional sample library, but that's part of the fun!

  • Samantha Foster
    from United States June 13, 2013Music Background:
    Composer

    Works really well!

    I was expecting to have lots of issues installing this software. However, EWQL Gold works fine! I don't any issue with the iLok either. I use Windows 7. The violin & viola sounds are amazing!

    I just bought EWQL RA yesterday and I can't even get the installer to run on my Windows 7 machine. Gold works great.

  • Kevin McNally
    from Los Anageles May 15, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Sweetwater Outshines East West Gold

    Once again, the guys at Sweetwater came through with flying colors! Even though East West Gold turned out to be a cumbersome, awkward and outdated piece of software, Ted Hunter and Chris Braman were able to talk me through the download and get me up and running. BTW - the virtual instruments sound great, but the download was a bit on the nightmarish side. Thank you Sweetwater for taking away the pain!

  • RWS
    from S.E. PA. April 4, 2013

    Cirque du Installation

    I believe this is the first review I have ever done. But, I feel that this is necessary for anyone interested in this product. I had read the previous reviews here on Sweetwater as well as many other music sites. There were several concerns mentioned about the installation process. Obviously this was not an isolated instance from just one customer. I figured I would take my chances and make the purchase based on the quality of the end product. Maybe the installation isn’t really that bad. Quite right, it was much worse.

    I will not run through any of the details of the 5 hour installation, part of which was trouble with the iLok authorization. All that needs to be said is that East West Quantum Leap must (read: mandatory) update their installation process for this product. The user’s manual, over several pages, flaunts the talents of those who created this product. Is it not far easier to create an up-to-date installation disk with a dedicated installation manual?

    The disks provided show a copyright date of 2008. In the box is a paper stating that the software on the install disk is out of date, then taking the user “through a 3 ring circus” in order to complete a proper install. This should not be!!! Imagine buying a new car, and before you drive it off the lot the salesman tells you, “Sorry, we have to replace the transmission first. It’s five years old and does not work”. WHAT? And then everything goes wrong with the replacement. Would YOU recommend this car purchase to anyone else?

    Once the program was installed, copying the instrument/sample files was a breeze. That only took an additional 1.5 hours. Relatively quickly compared to other’s experiences.

    I, without any question in my mind, CANNOT recommend this product. The day EWQL updates their installation process is the day I will gladly say, “Yes”, go ahead and buy it. But, there are plenty of other high quality products out there in the mean time.

  • Mark
    from New Haven, CT May 16, 2012

    Fantastic sounds, but why the ancient auth process?

    It's true that this is possibly the most effective and beautiful collection of symphonic samples at this price point, and certainly is hugely popular with good reason.

    HOWEVER

    Asking honest customers who fairly paid for their licenses to visit the support website to download updated authentication software immediately upon receiving the product is simply unacceptable. It's bad enough that the authentication process demands network connectivity, something hardcore DAW enthusiasts disable for performance tweaks. The software seriously comes with a piece of paper that says "THE SOFTWARE ON THESE DISCS IS OUT OF DATE" (caps original) and lists two videos one must download to get instructions to rectify the problem. Which begs the question, what the hell is wrong with shipping more up to date software, or at least integrating these downloads into the authentication process?

    This is an unacceptable practice and certainly doesn't make a guy who just spent about $600 dollars on a piece of software feel terribly confident about how things are going to proceed. It simply serves to underpin the tactless and unfair approaches to licensing that DAW software developers are increasingly taking. There is nothing wrong with a hashed CD-Key. There is no need for all this bloat.

    I really do enjoy the software on the whole, but I wish the company would learn to appreciate their customers a little better. I have no problem paying for my tools, and since I am not a pirate, I don't like being treated like one. This makes an awful first impression.

  • Alex
    from Colorado Springs, CO USA February 3, 2012Music Background:
    X-pro turned Hobbyist

    East West Symphonic Orchestra Gold

    The sounds are amazing! This has been a great addition to my setup for film scores. The only down side is the sounds are pretty large, so there are some issues I have had with several instruments at the same time. But this is more of a user/computer issue than an issue with the product. Overall I am very pleased with the amazing sounds in this library.

  • Tim
    from Oceanside, CA USA October 6, 2010Music Background:
    Composer, Hobbyist

    THE Best Samples EVER

    I LOVE EASTWEST PRODUCTS. This product, along with Goliath, Stormdrum and all the others are amazing. Just go to Soundsonline forums and listen to the amazing songs from EastWest users that were composed using only EastWest software. I love the strings, the brass, percussion, wind and all the articulations. The quality is beyond anything I've ever heard. I play songs back that I composed in my free time and everyone thinks I hired an orchestra to play it. Buy this now and you wont regret it. I promise you.

    Goliath is also a good program to add to your collection, it has a little bit of everything from choirs, ethnic instruments and piano to new age, synths and guitar.

    Go EASTWEST!

Reviews

  • Tony Dayton
    7-16-2009

    The Quantum Leap Symphonic Orchestra Gold Complete blew my mind. When I first started playing with it, I couldn't believe the lush violin strings, the realistic winds, and powerful percussion instruments.

    This is a fantastic choice for those who compose for film, TV, or video games. I love the convolution reverb and convincing release trails, which gave this sampling software that big Hollywood sound. It totally made my projects for my Berklee class sound full and professional (even the little ones I that I threw together in Sibelius when I had a time crunch).

    I was also impressed that I could upgrade seamlessly to the Platinum platform. Plus, I could just change my 16-bit files created in Gold into 24-bit files by using the Platinum samples. That's great because my computer is too slow for the 24-bit right now.

    The repeating notes that change slightly to avoid the machine gun affect adds the realism needed for compositions. The keyswitches are also rad! I don't have to pull up a new instrument track to get different articulations going (from staccato to legato on the same track). I can switch on the track with a MIDI note, or play it and hit the keyswitches with my left hand to access the change in articulation. I used this especially for a flute solo in my orchestration. It made it alive (not the stale sameness I would normally use, and it was fast and easy).

    On the fly when I'm playing from my MIDI controller, it is great to just mess around and get some ideas of what I want to lay down. Not only that, it makes me sound better than I actually am, which is always a plus.

    You don't need to do a lot of tweaking to get Symphonic Orchestra to sound good. Many of the higher-end samplers require a lot of finagling, but this one is ready, right out of the box.

    Great price, for an amazing product. This is a definite must for media composers.

Questions about the EastWest /Quantum Leap Symphonic Orchestra Gold Complete?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway