0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Alesis Q88 Keyboard Controller Reviews

4.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Alesis Q88 Keyboard Controller?

Questions about the Alesis Q88 Keyboard Controller?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Joel
    from Lawrence, KS February 9, 2016Music Background:
    10 Years Violin, Guitar, Bass

    Fantastic Bang For Buck

    I am primarily a guitar player and I've been trying my hand at composition using software instruments (primarily piano and strings) using a MIDI controller. This keyboard has an incredible semi-weighted feel, and for only $200, it doesn't get much better. The on-board controls are minimal and effective. I'm not looking for too many buttons, presets, or pads on the keyboard itself. I just want a minimalist keyboard with a relatively realistic piano feel, and this controller delivers in spades. It is a bit of a hulk, but with 88 keys that should be expected.

    Highly recommended!

    As other customer reviews have said, THIS DOES NOT PRODUCE SOUND ON ITS OWN. You MUST connect this controller to software connected to a speaker/headphone output.

  • Mike Haight
    from Santa Rosa, CA June 16, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur pianist, songwriter.

    The best semi-weighted keyboard for Piano

    Finally I've found a semi-weighted keyboard that I feel genuine pleasure playing piano parts with. I have a Keystation 49(which has a very nice quiet synth weight touch, but not great dynamics for piano), and reluctantly got this keyboard because I wanted more keys and it was what I could afford. Since the controls are the same as the Keystation, I expected a similar touch. I was delighted to find a solid, very playable dynamic and a very pianistic touch to the keys. The keyboard feels very solid. A great value at the price. I almost want to buy a second one to have as a spare.

  • tim kimbrough
    from Dade city, florida usa May 4, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Alesis Q88 Power house

    This Midi keyboard is perfect!!! Setup was easy just plug and play. The volume slider worked with automation no problem. I am running Logic express 9 and not a problem in site. The keys are perfect for me. The long full size keyboard is well worth the money. This is a keeper. If your looking for a good midi keyboard without the bells and whistles this is it!!! I I love this monster!!!!

  • Adam
    from Omaha, NE November 10, 2016Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Pretty Decent New Controller

    I just got it and I imagine I'd deviate from the 3 star rating based on how this thing lasts over the next few years, but initially, it is really good. I was wondering what they truly meant by semi-weighted keys as there's a million things it could mean.... what is the pressure like, does it give the feeling of bounce and balance that you get between the key and hammer on the real thing, etc. The keys still feel like keyboard keys, hitting them and touching them, you still get the tactile sensation of the hollow keyboard key. The weighted feeling is replicated by pressure/resistance to pushing or striking the key. In no way does it feel like a real piano key, but it also doesn't have the light pressure touch of a standard keyboard key. Even with the extra pressure, the keys lean towards keyboard more than piano. So don't get your hopes up way too high, but it's still better than nothing!

    Otherwise this thing is simple, kind of a bubbly plastic retro looking not very flashy case that would still look somewhat dated sitting in a music store in 2002. Simple input controls, powered off the USB bus that you might use to sync midi with your computer, or if you choose to use the pinned midi ports then you need to pick up a separate power unit for it. If you plan on using this with a MacBook Pro and already have 1 of the 2 USB ports dedicated to an audio interface, and you need to keep a USB port free, then don't forget to get a separate power pack for this thing. (9VDC 500mA). Of course that's assuming you have the audio interface to hook the pinned midi cable through.

    Not a whole lot else to say about it! If you need a decent built simple controller to simply play the sounds on another device, this works perfectly.

  • Customer
    from October 27, 2016Music Background:
    Keyboardist/Composer/Producer/Studio Owner

    Worth The Money Because It's Inexpensive

    I needed a light weight 88 key controller with separate pitch, mod wheel, as well as sustain and expression pedal inputs for my new remote studio. Since I already have a nice controller at my main studio I didn't another beast of a keyboard. My salesman, Steuart, was hesitant to recommend the Alesis Q88 because he knew I was a professional keyboardist/producer/composer. After letting him know why I thought this keyboard might work me he sipped it the same day and I got it sooner than I expected.

    Pros: The Alesis Q88 has many features including programmable 2nd input which can be used for expression pedal among other things, is light, and inexpensive. Great for anything that's not velocity sensitive, like organ, synth, etc.

    Cons: Action is very light. Because of the mechanics of the action the black keys can tend to play slightly louder. Be prepared to do some midi editing after a performance (mostly velocity editing).

    I think it was a great choice for me.

  • Customer
    from January 27, 2016

    Q88 keyboard

    This is a really nice entry level full size keyboard, the keys are reasonably responsive to variance in force. It is nice that it is powered by USB, the controls are basic and nothing about the machine is overdone. The keys feel nice, anyone complaining about the keys action should have spent more money. It's totally worth 200, let's be real, we're not playing in an orchestra. If your looking for something inexpensive that gets the job done, this unit is great.

  • Jahmal Noir
    from Ca February 20, 2014Music Background:
    producer, vocalist, engineer, rapper i guess

    alesis q88

    Great midi controller. It's virtually all you need if your relatively clever with DAW's. Solid buid, keys coud be a bit more heavy, but for under 300 it is solidy constructed. Highly recommended for logic enthusiasts looking for a solid 88 key controller.

  • Din
    from Key West, FL July 5, 2013Music Background:
    Working Musician

    Ideal controller for my Needs

    OK, I am a guitar/bass player. That being said I was looking for a keyboard to practice my undeveloped piano skills, one that would run Kontakt on my PC. The semi-weighed action is so much more conducive to pianistic stylings that my Alesis QS 6.1 (synth action, better for organ,solo instrument, and the other stuff in NI Komplete). For the price, just what I was looking for.

  • Frustrated "Maestro"
    from January 2, 2017

    mechanics degrade quickly

    I keep my Q88 in my office to play when I need an occasional big break. I carry it to other rooms sometimes. I've played it less than 20 hours since I bought it. I have pretty much stopped playing it now, because it has gotten sketchy. The touch response was never as reproducible as my higher-end keyboard at home. But then one time in the middle of playing, I noticed something that was a show stopper. A high E flat was only playing at full volume regardless of the key velocity. That ruined the sound of any phrase I played including that E-flat. I haven't really had a session with the keyboard since then. When I put the keyboard away I noticed a rattling sound. When I tilted it back and forth the rattling repeated. There is a loose piece inside. This limited piece of equipment doesn't even last 20 hours.

  • Hank Welborn
    from United States February 23, 2015Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Ableton live is not ....

    Ableton live lite is not compatable with pc / alesis q88

Questions about the Alesis Q88 Keyboard Controller?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway