0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Zoom Q2n Handy Video Recorder 1080p Camcorder with XY Microphone Reviews

4.0 stars based on 33 customer reviews
Questions about the Zoom Q2n Handy Video Recorder 1080p Camcorder with XY Microphone?

Questions about the Zoom Q2n Handy Video Recorder 1080p Camcorder with XY Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from March 23, 2017

    Pretty nice little camera for the $

    Watching my first shots play back on the screen, I thought the sound was not that great. But, when I brought the file over to my PC-WOW! The on-board speakers leave something to be desired. Just note that my Windows 10, I-7 laptop (new) would not open the MOV files natively and I had to go searching for a codec pack (k-light) like it was still 2005. The only drawback is that, with no front facing screen, framing your videos can take a few tries.

  • Dan Beyl
    from March 21, 2017

    Amazing!!

    I have been using my I phone to record videos. I'm a bass player who plays some guitar. I have been spending time trying to improve my guitar chops. This does a great job, the video is great and the audio blows me away! Nice job Zoom!!

  • Victor Cortes
    from Phoenix, AZ March 21, 2017Music Background:
    Studio Guitarist

    Zoom review for Q2n

    The sound quality is more then expected. I highly recommend this

  • Don
    from California March 19, 2017Music Background:
    Drummer

    Zoom Q2n Video Recorder

    What a great camera at a very good price! I first saw it while watching a video from one of the great drummers, Peter Erskine, on Facebook. I thought, "I gotta have this camera"! I went out and got a 64gb micro-card for $20 and I can now record 5 hours of great video/audio at 1080p! So far, I've recorded live performances of my 2 bands indoors/outdoors and am so impressed with both video and audio. I do find however, that the battery life is not as long as I had hoped so I've been using a micro usb 10' cord with an iPhone AC charger and it works perfectly. Looking forward to many recordings in the future! Lastly, LOVE Sweetwater! I've been a customer for years and they are the best!!

  • Jake Kulik
    from Northern New Jersey March 18, 2017Music Background:
    Keys and Bass

    They finally got it right.

    I was a beta tester for Zoom when I bought my first Q3 - I wasn't really, but I felt like one after realizing that their idea of low light video and what happens in the real world are not the same. After a firmware upgrade, it still wasn't right, but then they came out with the Q3HD. That was decent and I still have it. I heard raves about this Q2n and liked the idea of a tele-wide angle variable lens (5 positions), so I took the plunge and I'm glad to say this one's a winner. Great video, great sound, and great price have put me back in the fold again. I do have some quibbles, but after watching some other YouTubes, the issues are all easily fixable. Battery life is horrible, but a hookup to a 4000mah power bank fixes that, and my son's 3 D printer turned out a few lens hoods for way less than the $50.00 USD accessory pack, so lens flare is non-existant. Having the Micro SD card under the bottom plate is a pain, but at least it's secured and can't pop out.

    One other issue is the maximum file length appears to be around 3.5 gigs, and then it starts another file without losing any frames. You can chain them together in post editing, but it's something to be aware of (to be fair, my other Zooms did this as well).

    Those are the only cons that I have come across. The various scene setting names are nebulous, but some experimentation helps to get the correct setting, and I would rather have them than be without any. The recording process is flawless: press "record" and just make sure your audio doesn't hit the red and you're fine.

    Well worth the money, and if it wasn't for Zoom products I wouldn't have any You Tubes at all, so the Q2n deserves it's place as the new successor to the Zoom video lineup.

  • Guitarjunkie37
    from Ohio March 2, 2017Music Background:
    Been playing for awhile and consider myself A fairly good player.

    Excellent video cam

    This camera is a excellent unit to video your gigs or to make videos for YouTube. Highly recommended

  • Victor Cortes
    from Phoenix, AZ February 26, 2017Music Background:
    Retired Session Guitarist

    Zoom Q2n video recorder

    I wanted to try it but am tired of returning products at G.C. so went with Sweetwater.
    I ordered it and installed smart card. It was simple to set up and I highly recommend it.
    Scott was my Sweetwater contact and he is a Guitarist also. Very pleasant to work with.

  • Dean
    from California February 24, 2017Music Background:
    Drummer

    Amazing.....

    This is definitely a must have for any musician who wants to create amazing video/audio recordings. I also purchase the accessories pack, 64GB card and power adaptor. The Mic stand adaptor mounts easily to the unit and fits any standard mic holder. Very easy to use and definitely worth the price.

  • John Bixer
    from Ohio February 23, 2017Music Background:
    Keyboard

    Quick recordings

    This camera is so nice. I have recorded music and non-musical events and it works so well with both. It picks up the most subtle sounds (especially low end/bass) without making the whole thing sound like it is in a cave. The volume control for input and a separate one for output is a great feature. Also the lighting scenes for the video recording gives me so many options for what kind of room I am in. I haven't used them all yet, but the ones I stumbled on to have nailed what I wanted to see on the video. It is quick to set up and quick to see what you are doing using the HDMI plug going into a TV.

  • Jason
    from Oklahoma February 16, 2017

    Awesome

    Awesome product the video and sound quality is great but it does drain the batteries quick hopefully they will make a power plug for it!

  • Jim Tavegia
    from Just west of Atlanta February 12, 2017Music Background:
    Singer/Pianist

    Great Video camera

    What can one get for $ today in a video camera? Quite a bit, actually with the Zoom Q2N.

    This was my first venture into video and wanted to try my hand at shooting some simple music videos and see how it went. With redbook to 2496 audio available I new the audio would be great as I use my pair of Tascam DR-40's, my older Tascam DR-2d, and my Tascam DR-680mk2 6 rack recorders all the time at 2496 and the sound is all one could hope for.

    I found out what a great teaching tool the Q2N is when I started shooting teaching videos for my middle school math class and started posting them on YouTube for my kids to view to help them rewatch classroom teaching on math problems they were having. It has worked out great as the kids have just started watching the videos I've posted on various topics to help them prepare for our end of year MileStone Tests for 6th, 7th, and 8th grade math. I am doing nothing more than shooting them off my classroom whiteboard using the room lighting and a tripod and the kids like what I've done. Now they can rewatch math work they are struggling with anytime they want off my youtube page. THIS HAS BECOME AN INVALUABLE TEACHING TOOL FOR ME. Every teacher should be doing this and really help their kids and the kids can watch them over and over until they get it, or they can ask me to post something new or re-explain something they still don't quite get. I'm glad to do it.

    Thanks Zoom for a great little camera. The only issue is a slight amount of fish-eye that shows up as curves at the top of my white board, but if I would place my camera higher much of that would go away for sure. There is nothing to complain about. Everyone should have one of these.

    This is 10 stars out of 5, even though that is not mathematically possible. lol

  • Eric H
    from Allentown, PA January 20, 2017Music Background:
    Just jam for fun!

    Simply Amazing

    This is probably the coolest piece of music equipment I have. Mind you, I own three great guitars, a nice bass, a great amp with modifications, a very expensive analogue pedal board, PA system, etc... When it comes down to it, this thing is on the cheaper side of all of that and it shoots crystal-clear video and crisp audio. It also seems to be relatively durable. I don't know what's not to love. Five stars all the way!

  • H2OK9
    from Jackson, MI. December 8, 2016Music Background:
    Overall gear monkey and bar band warrior still banging around just I'm too dumb to quit and too stupid to do anything else.

    Game Changer

    Ok, you gear Monkeys....straight up: This is just the first of it's kind. Yeah, it doesn't have Bluetooth, which would be nice to be able to stop/start record from the stage, monitor with Bluetooth headphones. Doesn't have wifi to transfer files, but........what it does have is the best ability to record your sessions or whatever with the amazing sound and video. I call this a game changer cause it's going to be able to let you document your performances better and easier than ever. I gave it 5stars because it is the first of it's kind, but knowing Zoom, they will improve it as the reviews come in. I'm going to use this in my business doing work demonstrations. This thing is ten times better than any video camera I've ever had. Now, I was a little disappointed they couldn't have thrown in a modest microSD card just to get you started. I went out and bought a 64gig card at Walmart for 30 bucks. It took me 3 days to figure out why using Windows Media I wasn't getting any sound. After contacting Zoom on Facebook, they followed up the next morning and told me that Windows Media only can handle 16bit setting on the camera. Problem solved. Once you figure out the settings and buttons which doesn't take long and is very intuitive, you're on your way. I mount this on my regular camera tripod, set it up and let it rip. The sound and video is awesome. I'm still trying to figure out how to be able to run the camera and use my Ipad as a video monitor. But, for now, I'm digging this thing. Also, a nice little padded case would have been nice. Meanwhile, as usual Sweetwater did their thing with class. The only way I could be happier is if they would put 3 packs of LaffyTaffy in the shipping box instead of 2!!!!

  • Randy Lewis
    from Southport, NC May 10, 2017

    Great camera/Great value!

    Excellent camera, awesome audio! A couple of downsides, batteries done in about 45 minutes and it's awkward/inconvenient to change batteries or memory card in the middle of a performance as the access to both are on the bottom of the camera which is normally mounted on a stand. I resolved this by using a 64g card and using a (20) charge cell phone charger. Much better than go pro in my opinion.

  • Merril
    from Bloomington, IL March 29, 2017Music Background:
    Professional sound and light tech, drummer, vocalist

    Good camera, great audio

    This an excellent piece of equipment for the money. The camera takes a nice wide angle, so you can keep it close to the stage and still puck up the whole band or out in front and get the whole dance floor. You can narrow the angle of the picture, but the lense does not actually zoom. Because the lense sticks out of the body of the camera, you may get some strange light artifacts in the video. You can buy a lense hood or put a piece of tape over the top of the lense to prevent that from happening. The stereo audio is excellent. I recorded a practice session and a gig from behind the drums, and while the drums are a little louder than other instuments, you can hear everything and it is nicely compressed - even the vocals sound decent, and this was behind the speakers!

  • Frank Barbalace
    from Illinois March 10, 2017Music Background:
    8476877048

    Happy choice

    impressed with the quality and lens angle which captures a good deal of the action.

  • Jerry France
    from California February 21, 2017Music Background:
    7144254445

    Zoom Qn2

    Easy to use, good quality audio, and easy to carry around.

  • Elwood
    from Toms River,N.J. February 10, 2017

    Zoom's Best,In Terms Of Video

    My first experience with Zoom's video products,was the original Q3(great audio,but terrible video.)So that said,I was very sketchy about the Q2,with it being cheaper than the old Q3.
    I was also on the fence,with Zoom's more expensive models in the Q-series,as the larger models seem to only have marginal and arbitrary differences...so I chose the Q2,due to it's great reviews,as well as for it's compact design,simplicity and of course,the incredibly low price!

    Upon first perusal when I received it,I was disappointed that there was no internal memory,no card,no power cord & no micro USB cable...however,at this price point...there are going to be compromises.
    This is not necessarily a bad thing,because as it turns out,Zoom's production budget was focused on quality were it really counts(i.e.,high quality microphones and high quality camera lens!)
    In that respect,Zoom did a tremendous job,in offering a portable video device that out performs any video camera under $500,in my opinion.
    Certainly...you'd be hard pressed to find this level of microphone quality in any camcorder under $600 and perhaps,anything this good,under $1,000....as there simply is no video recorder on the market,quite like this one!
    The depth,width & clarity of the audio has to be heard,to be believed and an SPL of 120dB's is insane,for this price point,as well as video recorders costing 5 times as much!
    Due to how ultra compact this device is,the LCD screen is too small to be of much use,in terms of accurately monitoring video while recording(unless perhaps,you connect to a tablet via an HDMI cable?)

    As for the memory card issue,I was fortunate enough to find a high speed,16GB PNY brand microSD for $8.55 and a 6' micro USB cable at Five Below for $5 and as for batteries,the Q2 came with 2 AA Maxell batteries,which are already dead now,so I will be looking into getting some Nickel Metal Hydride batteries,at some point.
    As for the audio issue with 1080p recording at 24 bit in MOV format,I was easily able to resolve this issue by using my Wondershare Video Converter to convert to WMV.
    as for the video end of things,well....the compact design is a bit limiting,but the video quality is better than any camcorder costing twice as much and in fact,the Q2's video quality puts my old Sanyo Xacti camcorder to shame!
    I really needed a video recorder that works well in low lighting conditions(without spending a small fortune) and in this respect,Zoom delivered admirably!
    The Zoom Q2,is also a spectacular alternative to android and apple phone users,who want a significant upgrade in video and audio,without sacrificing the portability factor!

    I gave this product 4.5 stars,instead of 5,only because Zoom only offers 2 AA batteries in the package,so without any included memory,you can't get started right out of the box.
    Zoom offers an accessory package,but it's $50 and you are better of shopping around for each accessory separately,as you'll pay about half that cost.
    Zoom's hairy windscreen accessory is absurd,as it makes your Q2n,look like a stuffed animal...but all things considered,the option of buying all of your needed accessories separately,is the way to go,if you really want to be thrifty.

  • Shackman
    from Albuquerque, New Mexico January 20, 2017Music Background:
    Intermediate drummer

    Great for home drum recording

    Works great as a single instrument for drum recording. Supposedly you can integrate it into a mixer (others have with Zoom), but I haven't tried it yet.

  • Ross
    from March 27, 2017

    Decent gig/practice recorder

    Brief summary after using the Q2n for a couple weeks:
    Things I like:
    -Cheap price, decent build
    -Easy menu system and having color VU meters is great
    -Good sound and OK stereo separation
    -AA batteries are universally available
    -Will run on external power too
    -Built in 1/8 mic and headphone jacks

    Things I don’t like
    -Horrible battery life – less than 1 hour by my experience. You lose power you lose your clip – like all Zooms except the newer F4 or F8.
    -Case is very sensitive to noise from any touch or vibration
    -Lens is decent, but flares easily
    -Accessory kit is another $ - ridiculous

  • Customer
    from March 21, 2017

    Works quite well

    This wont replace a pro level video camera or pro level audio recorders but I was surprised how well it works, especially in low light. I bought two to get different angles and am considering getting a third. Easy to set up. Best used for static video.

  • Customer
    from March 15, 2017

    Zoom Handy Video

    Works great has excellent sound & picture,use it Saturday mornings recording Blue grass pickin & grinin sessions at Comer's General Store LLC visit us on Facebook

  • Bob
    from Chicago February 24, 2017Music Background:
    18 years experience as a performing multi-instrumentalist / composer

    Versatile Recorder with Room for Improvement

    The features and price point of the Q2n made it a no-brainer to try out. I was looking for a video recorder with awesome sound quality, web cam / live streaming (for FaceBook Live), wide field of view, good battery life, and an easy interface.

    The Q2n delivers all of that (well, almost).

    The pros:

    Solid feeling 'tiny' design, very flexible audio options, gain knob, auto-gain profiles, lighting scene modes, high SPL ability, clipping light, micro SD card media, AA batteries or mini USB powered, 5 field of view (digital zoom) settings, tripod mount, bright F2.0 aperture, hdmi out, external mic in, etc.

    The cons:

    - Doesn't come with a micro SD
    - Very easy to get rainbow lens flares ( you'll have to get the additional accessories pack for the mini lens hood to avoid it, which should have been included for free. Check out YouTube demos and you'll see it.
    - The auto color scene mode is too blue, making it hard to get a natural white balance. Other scenes are rather extreme,
    - The preview window on the back is amazingly poor resolution, and is only usable to roughly frame up a shot.
    - Battery life of included AA generic batteries is really poor, use a quality brand for better lifespan.
    - Digital zoom (anything above the native widest angle approaching telephoto) reduces quality with graininess. Using the widest setting and cropping in post has better results, but with the expected fish-eye distortion.


    Other Notes:

    The web Cam will drop out after 5 minutes of use if the device is plugged into a USB hub. I was almost ready to return it because of this, ( and because I'm still not able to get FaceBook live working with it yet). Tech support emailed me back in under 5 minutes, and offered for me to send it to them for testing, which I have yet to do.

    Over all, for $ ( including a nice SD card), this is still a great option with considering. Regardless of the areas which can be improved on, is still a solid micro-sized Swiss-Army-Knife of a camera worth recommending.

  • Dave Javu
    from NC February 21, 2017Music Background:
    Drummer, sound man

    Nice for the price

    This is a nice little (and I mean little) camera for the price. Simple to use and the sound is excellent. I am disappointed that you must pay extra for the AC adaptor.

  • Robert
    from January 23, 2017Music Background:
    Guitarist for 50 years

    Zoom q2n

    Received my q2n about a month ago, was up and running in 5 minutes. Video and audio quality are excellent! Very user friendly. Here are a few things that could help make this better....they should move the video card slot from the bottom to the side, after recording, you have to remove the q2n from the tripod to access the card which is a pain. They recently came out with an accessory pack for this and it is missing the two most important items that are included for their other recording devices. A power adapter and a wired remote control. They say the batteries will last two hours, in my experience they last from 1 to 1 1/2 hours and you can go through a lot of batteries when recording. Don't let my negative notes keep you from purchasing this thing, I would but it again in a minute and by the way, the Sweetwater support is off the charts! You guys are the best I have ever seen!

  • Manomaine
    from Maine Woods January 2, 2017Music Background:
    Old Rocker

    Handy Little Recorder

    Easy to set up and the navigation screen is intuitive. I have used it to record mostly at open mic venues where the sound mix is not at optimum and the lighting situation can be challenging. I had a bit of a learning curve regarding getting the Zoom positioned in the sweet spot but once figured those things out I was getting some great recordings. I have a small Joby Gorilla Tripod that allows me to set it up on various surfaces or attach to to a stand. I also picked up a the little holder that is shaped like a mic shaft and I find that to be handy as well.
    I use Movie Maker for editing and it works well.
    The ultra wide angle is great for working close in to the stage but you have to be mindful of light sources to reduce lens flare. I see others have posted regarding battery life and I agree that it can go thru two AA Lithiums in a short time. I invested in a set of 4 Ni-Cads and that is no longer an issue. (Highly recommended)
    Overall, I am very satisfied with the Zoom Q2n for live recordings...get one... have fun....rock on!

  • Willy B.
    from Pittsburgh, PA December 19, 2016

    Groovy little thing!!!

    It's small, light, EATS batteries, but records very well!! Eats batteries?? I think you'll get about an hour with a new set of alkaline's... The camera is small and light enough to mount on a guitar. I'm thinking of getting a couple more for multiple angles... The wide angle is great! Was able to record a 4-piece band from ~3 feet away from the lead singer with the stage area being about 15 feet wide...

    Why only 4 stars?? No power adapter, no USB cable, no dust cover... It does have a little paper feeling cloth pouch that it comes in, but it's not going to last very long. I'll need to buy a little case for it.

  • Steve
    from Albuquerque, New Mexico January 15, 2017

    good video, difficult file transfer

    The video quality is great. Transferring files works easily, but I still do not have audio either through Windows Media or Quicktime. Fine audio played back on the Q2n. Should have been easier. Still trying.

  • Customer
    from March 29, 2017

    Zoom Qn2

    The scan disc 128 gig at 80mbs will not allow the camera to record at 1018. Camera says card is too slow. It appears only one 128 gig card will work. I had to buy a 64 gig mini to record at 1018. Wish it would zoom better. Also my iMac will not recognize the zoom camera. I had to use a windows machine to download.

  • Andy Alberto
    from Long Island NY March 22, 2017Music Background:
    Bass player, audio guy

    Zoom Q2n video recorder

    I read a bunch of great reviews but was very disappointed in the low light capabilities of this recorder. I used the best setting according to the instructions but got a very dark recording.

  • Customer
    from March 20, 2017

    Can't record at 1080.

    I bought a scan disc 128 gb 80mgb/ sec card. When I tried to record at 1080/30 the camera said the card was not high speed. I though 80mgb/ sec was fast? So I'm not sure how well the camera works since it will not record at higher rates. Guess I'll have to buy a smaller card and try that?

  • David Skorupski
    from Tennessee March 16, 2017Music Background:
    6157396342

    Zoom Q2n

    Used my camera for the first time the other day. The picture quality was great. But there was no sound. I gave the SD card to a friend, who took it home and tried it on his Mac computer. Sound and picture were both working. So I am not happy with my Video recorder at this moment.

  • Pete
    from New Jersey March 31, 2017

    Almost...

    The device is amazing. Sound and video quality are totally pro! My problems occurred when attempting to download vids. Their ineffective software rendered the q2n totally useless! The tech at Zoom was extremely helpful, trying everything in his power to correct my technical woes. Alas, all items (I purchased accessory kit too) had to be returned. My advice, purchase another product if you want to "share" your performances (because isn't that why we all purchase these items anyway.

Questions about the Zoom Q2n Handy Video Recorder 1080p Camcorder with XY Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway