0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Electro-Harmonix Stereo Pulsar Tremolo Pedal Reviews

4.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Stereo Pulsar Tremolo Pedal?

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Stereo Pulsar Tremolo Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Kevin
    from United States November 1, 2014Music Background:
    stage performer

    Pulsar Tremelo

    Having been a longtime fan of the Fender Vibrolux amp., I needed that old school tremolo/vibrato that I thought only tubes could provide. As my need for amp sound change came around, I lost the trem. I bought all sorts of junk. I have moved to Orange Amps, but the downfall is "vibrato" .
    The Electro- Harmonix Pulsar , is the affordable answer to my problem. This (after 10 other tries) took the cake! No matter what amp configurations I use, Pulsar is in the line up.

  • Customer
    from Fort Wayne March 18, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    How Soon is Now: problem solved

    This is a great sounding tremolo. How good, you ask. Well how about this. I have 70's twin reverb, with an awesome sounding tremolo effect. If you know the Smith's song How Soon is Now, it was recorded using multiple twin reverbs with the tremolos working in opposition to one another. This pedal sounds as good as my twin reverb. It is absolutely silent and does not denigrate your tone whatsoever. It does, however, offer truly fantastic tremolo effects. It is incredibly versatile as well. Unlike some pedals, the nobs actually do something. In addition, the shaping switch also works, and really does give you two completely different tremolo sounds, something not even my twin reverb does. It is silly how good this pedal sounds for under one hundred dollars. As for How Soon is Now, on its own you can get a pretty good approximation of that pulsing vibe with the Stereo Pulsar. If you happen to own a twin reverb, or some such other amp with tremolo, you can set the pedal up to actually give the same kind of counterpuntal tremolo effect that the use of multiple amps in the original provided. Or, if you are really intrepid, you can a/b two amps. Either way, this pedal gets you there, smiles will be produced, auspicious events will occur, and all sentient beings will benefit from the grooviness that is produced.

  • David Wright
    from MA February 2, 2015

    EHX Stereo Pulsar

    Used with two amp's this pedal performed well. The stereo effect delivered a nice sort of 3-d feel to the sound. Typical to EHX pedals the pleasant sounds came from a narrow range on the rate dial. But extreme effects are clearly possible if you like that sort of thing. Lots of range of control with the depth and rate. I'm still getting used to the variations available with the shape control. I'm happy that I've made this purchase.

  • L Reed
    from Northern Michigan August 31, 2014Music Background:
    50 plus years of playing

    electro-harmonix Stereo Pulsar Tremelo Pedal

    This pedal works great when I'm looking to add a little tremelo to my sound. I do not use it a great deal but when I do it is completely silent, no buzz, just the sound with the adjustments made. It appears to be made like a tank. Durability should not be a problem. I also thought the price was fair for the quality that you get.

  • Luke Robison
    from Sunbury, Oh January 17, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    The Pulsar is Gr8

    Ehx has created a great product. If you are looking for tremelo, look no further. It is completely stereo. It has three different square waves as well as three different triangular waves, with an indication light when engaged. The pedal is true bypass. It does not kill your tone at all. The overall look of the pedal is really awesome. With all that, you can't beat the price, and it's anything BUT cheap. Any other tremelo pedall just doesn't compete. Have used other tremelo pedals but this one is surperior by far.

  • Alex Martinez
    from United States September 18, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist and Student

    Excellent Tremolo Pedal

    This pedal is everything that I was looking for. Simple enough to be able to tailor it to exactly what each songs needs and easy enough to make wild changes to any of the knobs on stage to add an extra touch. When engaged the pedal seems to add a little bit of gain to the signal which I personally like. It makes the clean tones sound awesome. I would recommend this pedal to anyone looking for a great tremolo sound for any genre.

  • Larry
    from S.E.TX April 3, 2014Music Background:
    25 years Guitar Hobbyist

    Awesome! But complicated....

    This pedal is great if you are like me and love to sit around turning knobs and finding new sounds. Problem is that the controls are so sensitive and so interactive that it is really tough to find a specific sound quickly. A couple of presets would have solved this issue, but I imagine it would also double the price.
    Great for experimentation and recording, probably not the best for live use.
    Interestingly enough as crazy and far out as this thing is, I have an easier time dialing in a vintage trem sound than a more modern stuttering sound.
    It is easier to get a bad sound out of than a good sound.
    If you are looking for a grab and go tremolo pedal, I don't think this is going to be it.
    For the price, I don't think any guitarist would regret having it in their bag of tricks though. Recommended!

  • John Fox
    from Gainesville, FL USA July 22, 2011Music Background:
    Musician: Guitar Bass and Keys

    Extremely versatile pedal

    This tremolo is loaded with features. The pedal comes encased in a quality and sturdy casing. It does feature true bypass switching. I have used the pedal to pan between two amplifiers and it sounds amazing. I have played the intro to "Rebel Rouser" using this pedal. The possibilities that one can get this with this pedal allow one to do so many different useful things. I enjoy using both the triangular and square waveform modes. I like to tweak the different knobs for hours and see how many different effects I can get using this pedal. I love this pedal so much and would never sell it under any condition. I encourage everyone looking for a tremolo pedal to choose this one because of the practically limitless possibilities you can explore with this pedal. Yes, if it was lost or stolen I would by another one as soon as possible.

  • Tony
    from SC March 14, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Try it first...

    I bought this pedal because i heard it was very versatile, I liked the looks and the price is great.

    PROS: Good sound, great build quality, extremely versatile, great price

    CONS: Ok, I've got several issues with this pedal.

    First of all, the Depth knob is pretty much useless. Once you go past 1 o'clock it goes into this doubler mode, which I find completely useless. Go far below 12 o'clock and the effect becomes mostly unnoticeable.

    Second the Rate knob is also nearly unusable. The range of speed is so great it really needs something more like a steering wheel to control it with any accuracy. I've tried many times but it's just impossible to use this on a serious recording where you need an accurate speed.

    In general the pedal feels like trying to fly a fighter jet with an NES remote.

    So in summary, I think this pedal has some potential, I just can't see using it seriously.

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Stereo Pulsar Tremolo Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway