rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Dave Smith Instruments Prophet '08 PE 61-key 8-voice Analog Synthesizer Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    A modern recreation of a classic! The dangers of buying an old Prophet are cost of repair and finding parts. The Dave Smith Instruments Prophet '08 is not an identical replica of the original, nor should it be. The new features, expanded memory (and the fact that this will not hit the repair shop after you buy it off eBay!) counts for a lot. Add the classic sound of a Prophet to your studio without all of the headaches associated with the vintage piece.

  • Nate Edwards

    I love the Prophet 08! You have heard this synth so many times on top-selling recordings, both classic and modern, that it's unfathomable. It can be everything from punchy and bright to evolving and evocative, and no matter what it always sounds good! And warm! And fat! Awesome. It's 100% of what the old-school Prophet was, and a lot more. And for a few hundred more, you can even buy a signed limited edition version! I wish I had five of these.

  • David Stewart

    I can't say enough good things about the Dave Smith Instruments Prophet '08. It has everything that the original Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 had (including its great string sounds, analog effects, and punchy analog basses) but adds more polyphony, a gated sequencer, a 4-mode latchable arpeggiator and MIDI capability! This is by far my favorite "modern" analog synthesizer.

  • from Delaware December 21, 2015Music Background:
    Jazz/Funk Musician

    The Prophet '08 PE Analog Synthesizer

    This is an exceptional musical instrument. I have flirted with synthesizers in the past that claimed to be analog but to actually own one with a completely analog path has blown me away. You have rich deep bass and biting leads. I'm probably not doing this synthesizer justice but I have no complaints. I'm sure it's going to take me many months, even years to discover the capabilities of the Prophet '08 but I don't mind. With so many knobs to change parameters on the fly, you can come up different sounds every single time. I've heard the Prophet 8 compared to the Prophet 5 but this is much more than that. You won't be disappointed. Lastly, the folks at Sweetwater as usual (Mark Stein and Elizabeth) treated me like their only customer. If you're considering this keyboard, buy it from Sweetwater.

  • from United States February 5, 2015Music Background:
    Musician/Writer/Recording

    Simply Amazing Prophet '08

    "Welcome back my friends, to the Synth that Never ends"..aka ELP... A real analogue synth..for guitar players who want to step up there game, this is it..I can't believe the recreational release of sonic sounds and ease to use..whether through emulation, simulation, or just plain recodeing something already recorded this syth has it all for that 70's, 80's, and 90's sound..DSI thank you for a well made, easy to play fine instrument..

  • from San Diego, Ca December 16, 2013Music Background:
    Keyboardist, Independent Music Producer

    Awesome Prophet '08 PE

    Over the years I have owned a few 'All analog signal chain' polyphonic synths, including a Memorymoog. I also own plenty of digital playback & Physical Modeling machines. This synth blows them all away for that full 'real analog' sound and feel, at the same time because it's a new polyphonic analog machine, it not only stays in tune but it is fully MIDI implemented. Actually this unit is one I may have for my lifetime! It goes beyond everything I need in the day to day business, but it is so intuitive and fun to play, I don't believe I will ever part with it.

  • from dallas texas December 16, 2013Music Background:
    professional musician stage and studio

    some folks SWEAR by it

    well, i was so excited about this synth. and it IS one of the easiest synths to program that i can recall in recent memory. ive heard it said before that there are two kinds of synth lover.....those who love the prophet sound and those who dont. I dont. i sold mine. its all subjective but i find it has a brassy honky sound which i dont like. it EXCELS at wierdness and dense Mix Cutting sounds but its just not my cup of tea. i like more sugar and cream in my tea. Id rather have a King Korg!

  • from Portland, OR January 8, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Fantastic Analog Synth

    As far as modern analogs go, this is about as good as it gets. Incredibly warm and very thick. Does pad sounds better than just about any synth I've heard, vintage or new, analog or digital. Also does incredible bass sounds. Very tight and very warm. Just put a little reverb on this puppy and you're golden. Drone sounds are also second-to-none as far as analogs go, thanks to the VCA Level knob, which gradually disengages the amplitude envelope.

  • from PA July 8, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Wow what a synth

    Eight voice pure analog synth. Need I say more. Fantastic synth. Make sure you purchase the PE version only or you will be replacing the encoders in one year. This one is a winner.

  • from June 29, 2011

    Amazing

    I own/have owned a lot of gear, but rarely write reviews. This synth has compelled me to do so. There is NOTHING else like it. It covers Vintage Prophet ground but goes into another level of which I've wanted but never achieved. It's warm, analog, and only limited by your imagination.

  • from WI October 17, 2010Music Background:
    guitar keyboard hobbyist

    A few surprises

    To start off I was surprised & impressed with the complexity & depth of sound generated by the Prophet 08...better than any online demo!..Next surprise the keyboard was tuned to "D" ..I was happy to find that tuning was an easy task..eventhough DSI recommends recallibration of the mod wheel to accomplish this..(WHY?) im not sure. Surprise 4..4 Voices in stack mode play very nicely in most instances..Surprise 5 ..the manual is totally minimalist ..I think about 300pages would be a good start..surprise 6..the operating system was not up to date..thot it would be.
    Ok enough surprises. The keyboard is smooth & buttery..the case is solid...editing is something of a mystery..though it is forgiving & easy to tweak. Yes another 8 voices would be helpful especially in stack mode..however it is capable of much more than seems possible from what the resources would indicate.

Questions about the Dave Smith Instruments Prophet '08 PE 61-key 8-voice Analog Synthesizer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway