0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Dean Markley 3010 ProMag Plus Single Coil Acoustic Sound Hole Pickup Reviews

4.0 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Dean Markley 3010 ProMag Plus Single Coil Acoustic Sound Hole Pickup?

Questions about the Dean Markley 3010 ProMag Plus Single Coil Acoustic Sound Hole Pickup?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • William D Gardner
    from United States December 10, 2013Music Background:
    Pro, retired, writer, producer,performer

    Promag

    Works great on all my acoustics

  • George "Howard" Sleeper
    from Monument, Colorado June 8, 2013Music Background:
    12 yrs lessons steel guitar, hobby writing songs singing

    Could mot ne more pleased

    First of all Sweetwater I found a great place to shop...After placing my order I thought, I hope it fits the 3 3/4" sound hole in my guitar, so I called Sweetwater back and they connected me to my salesman and after doing some checking he said it should fit nice and snug, and if it doesn't don't hesitate to call back....It fit nice and snug.
    I'd been using one for a number of years that was working fine, but at this price I thought I'd try a Dean Markley that some of my friends was using.....I was surprised at the difference. It still sounded like my guitar, that part I liked, I can't really put my finger on it but the sound was a little deeper sound if that makes any sense...My friends like it, lol.
    but it seemed the tones of my strings was maybe a little deeper

  • Duane C. Haney
    from LaGrange, Ga. December 26, 2012Music Background:
    Music is what feelings sound like

    The Perfect Compliment

    What more is there to say? I've been playing for 25 yrs now and this little piece of equipment has added the perfect touch to my sound. I have nothing at all negative to say about this pickup. Well worth the money.

  • Francie Kapono
    from Kansas City, MO June 26, 2012Music Background:
    Music Teacher

    Great Customer Service

    I purchased this item for my boyfriend's birthday and it's exactly what he wanted. What I'm most impressed with was the customer service. It was wonderful to receive a personal phone call about the order and the followup afterwards. As a music teacher also, I know where I'll be looking to buy anything else in the future.

  • Brad C.
    from Sturgis, MI February 21, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Quick and Easy to install... clear and smooth sound

    This unit slipped right into place. One of the only units of this type that I have used but impressive right off the bat.

  • Steve
    from Dayton,Ohio March 13, 2010Music Background:
    Hobby, Fun, meditation, 15+ yrs.

    Sounds good to me

    got it in my 86' Alvarez Yairi , I didn't want to drill or modify anything. slides right in. I'm sure there are better sounding out there, but for the money, its great. Not much hum, but it is a single coil, not dual, or hum-bucking. i prefer these over the bridge pickups also. I run it through a crate taos dsp acoustic 30 watt & a Peavey classic 50 4-10 & sometimes I get feedback through my tube amp, but thats to be expected. if your worried about noise, get a pre-amp pedal with noise-gate. this pickup has no pre-amp or volume control, it is a basic design, but I still like it, it is comparable to the seymour-duncan for the same price.

  • D Ward
    from Grandin Florida March 9, 2017

    Dean Markley Pro Mag soundhole pickup

    Works great. I would have given it a 5 star rating but I don't have anything to compare it too.

  • bryan graceland
    from juneau alaska April 8, 2015Music Background:
    professional gospel singer/guitarist

    promag plus pickup

    placing the pickup in different positions changes the sound, allowing you to taylor and fine tune the tone.
    in the 12oclock position the tones are balanced, in the 2oclock position the tones are warm and smooth, in the 10oclock position the tones are bright. also, setting the pickup further inward as far as it will go, or pulling it outward as far as it will go will allow you to adjust the presence of the tone. the instruction slip will explain all of this, a non advertised bonus that i was unaware of until i read the instruction sheet.

  • Customer
    from January 2, 2014

    Great alternative to banging your acoustic into a mic

    Actually bought this for an older gentleman at a nursing home that plays every morning during Bible devotion. He loves it! He had another that lasted for a couple of years before "the fix" no longer worked.

  • Johnathan Wilcox
    from Columbia City, IN USA June 21, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician and Hobbyist

    Awesome

    This acoustic pickup is great. It really helps for when I play at church because before it wasn't very loud. Also it makes it 1000 times easier to tune my guitar with an electronic pickup, (which I also got from you guys; it's great,too!) I think I'll be using this for years to come!

  • Messiah
    from Bloomington June 9, 2016

    Love this

    I bought this after doing some research and do not want to drill the guitar to install the pickup.

    Definitely didn't expect this great sound from the pick. I did a small recording to see how it sounds and I liked it. I sent the mp3 to Derek and we both smiled as both of us actually didn't expect this output.

  • Charles Farley
    from Chicago, Il November 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Buy

    I play a Takamine G series acoustic which sounds great, but due to its smaller size, does not have incredible resonance. However, when I plugged into a small practice amp with the ProMag Plus it sounded amazingly clear and resonant; and I was able to compete with a drummer only using about a ten watt amp I'd bought for ten bucks. No distortion or anything. Great sound and affordable. Worth every penny.

  • Doug
    from Spring, Texas December 19, 2012Music Background:
    Former semi-pro

    Markley Acoustic Pickup

    I needed a pickup for my practice guitar to pump my sessions through a 35 watt amp to my stereo speakers. This pickup is great becuase it sounds really good and it is a breeze to put on or take out. My practice guitar is 40 years old and I didn't want to do any drilling of holes or anything to damage the guitar from its pristine condition. And for me that was the selling point. Hope this helps some of you in making a decision.

  • Chris Beall
    from California November 30, 2008Music Background:
    Band Member, Hobbyist, Active Learner

    Jamie is MISTAKEN

    For the price of this pickup vs. the rest of the competition this pickup works great, if you're planing on pickin with Chet Atkins on the stage ot the Grand Ole Oprey then yes may not be suitable for all of us giggin' and playin' at home cant find a better deal! I've even strapped to a $50.00 Mandolin and WOW!!

  • Jamie Gaskin
    from Redwood City, CA November 21, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student, Band member

    No hum?

    It sounds horrible through the few sound systems I've tried it with, and it's really noisy as well. It says it's double shielded, but it was picking up some sort of magnetic interference. The hum got louder if I faced certain directions, and disappeared if the guitar was faced downwards. As for natural sound, part of the problem is that speakers normally make acoustics sound kinda "meh" but this pickup has no bass, no sparkly highs, just a lot of high mids for "clarity" but the dynamic range is very limited and sounds dead through many speakers.

  • Don Davis
    from Azusa/CA. USA January 21, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar player & singer.

    Acoustic sound hole pickup

    Unfortunely the pickup did not fit the sound hole on my hand made classical guitar from Spain I should have returned it but decided to sand down the edges of the wooden pickup to make it fit. Bad move The pickup did not work with the Fender Amp that I bought at sweet water Glad I didn't sand the sound hole. Lol. Well learned a $ 35 lesson. Return it. Bummed but life goes on.

Questions about the Dean Markley 3010 ProMag Plus Single Coil Acoustic Sound Hole Pickup?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway