0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Mackie ProFX8 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 35 customer reviews
  • Gene Mariani
    from Aston,Pa April 5, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Keyboardist

    Mackie Pro FX8 A Powerhouse Mixer

    I was seeking a rehearsal mixer for my keyboards after much research I was sold that this mixer was the ticket for me and at a great price. I found the mixer very easy to operate and also it was extremely quiet in such a compact package and works well with my Electro Voice ZLX-12P Series active speaker cabinet . If I choose to take it to a gig and I know it would be road worthy so its all good!!!!!! You won't be sorry if you purchase the Mackie Pro FX8 Go for it!!!!!!!!!!

  • Pastor Fred Quick
    from Bennettsville SC March 12, 2015Music Background:
    About 40 yr. in church, lot of travel

    Jackie ProFx8

    Blown away is agood discription for this small but powerful mixer. Easy control terrific sound. Very affordable . Get the sound I want with very little tweaking . Yes I would buy another if need be. I use it for singing an preacher an that's a great command to put on this box plus I run my voicelive 3 three through it no problem.

  • Robert
    from Franklin,La March 8, 2015Music Background:
    DJ/sound engineer

    Awesome

    This is an awesome little board,the fx works great,sound quality is out of this world,lots of headroom,perfect for doing small gigs,price is right,I own this and use it on all my gigs.

  • rick Simpson
    from fayetteville February 12, 2015

    Mackie profs

    It scawedome mixer effects reverb blows everything else away. Great mixer

  • Stan
    from Northern VA February 5, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Bass player, Newbie at Studio Recording

    Mackie ProFX8

    Excellent product, especially for the price. Still learning all that can be done with it.

  • Billy Pope
    from Houston, TX January 6, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Sweet, clean, top notch! I love this mixer! A+++++

    Needed a small mixer to replace my Behringer which began acting up after 6 years (on the gig nonetheless!) - my Sweetwater rep suggested this one and when it came in, I was like, "WOwwwwww!" - much smaller, well built, tankesque, very quiet, I put it thru the ringer the following night on a job and it worked SO good! I am digging this little baby!
    HIGH QUALITY in every way! The effects are great too! Nice quality!!!

  • Ken LaBrie
    from Silver Springs, FL October 4, 2014Music Background:
    Singer, Musician, Live & Studio Sound Engineer

    Great little mixer!

    This little mixer has plenty of headroom for gigs! It sounds clear and has all the extras. It has a very usable EQ design and USB (stereo) to play or record from a PC or Mac, This little mixer is a solo performers dream and when you consider all that is in it, the way it is built and the quality of sound, it's a no brainer! At this price, I bought a second one as a backup or for more channels when needed. I highly recommend this mixer!

  • Nick
    from Columbia sc July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Dj karaoke trivia

    Love it

    Wow is right. This is my second profx8 and it rules. Bought a different one bc it wasn't in stock and I immediately returned it for the profx8. Love this mixer. Lightweight and easy to travel with. Karaoke, dj, or whatever it's great

  • Michael Stephen McIntyre
    from Beaufort, SC February 22, 2014Music Background:
    Praise & Worship Leader

    Perfect For Recording

    This Mackie product is helping me to make some really nice home recordings. I am having the time of my life!!!

  • Bill D.
    from South Florida December 14, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Studio

    Great Little Mixer

    The Mackie Pro FX8 is perfect for a vocal soloist. It's very easy to obtain just the right mix of music, voice, reverb, etc. This was bought as a spare.

  • Joseph Fostek Jr.
    from Waynesboro, TN USA October 31, 2013Music Background:
    Long time hobbyist

    Mackie ProFX8

    I was looking for three things for my home studio. FX, USB and software so I could go from analog to digital recording. I got this with the Mackie. I'm a happy camper. Thanks Mackie and Tracktion too.

  • Bernie Bussard
    from Hagerstown Md July 28, 2011Music Background:
    old garage band guitar player

    A Company where the customer comes first

    I was surprised of the personal service that I received with this company, very little of that in todays market place. My order was processed and shipped the same day I ordered it. Free shipping??? Here comes the pony express, No Way, half way across the country in two days. You can't beat that with a stick. Good Price, Great service, and knowledgeable people. I have decided to make Sweetwater my first choice for any future needs.

  • Dave
    from London UK April 26, 2010Music Background:
    Singer/guitarist

    Another winner form Mackie

    I had the previous Mackie DFX 6 also a great mixer.
    The Pro FX 8 has a bit more headroom then the DFX 6 plus the effects are better then the EMAC ones that Mackie have in there older mixers.

    Very low noise and very smooth sounding, crystal clear sounding.
    My AKG C 535 condenser mic sounds amazing through this mixer.
    The good thing is that it is smaller and lighter then the previuos DFX 6.
    What I like about this mixer is for the price you get great features,
    a stereo 7 band graphic EQ
    added on in this price range, which I think is a real plus if you are playing live ..
    A real winner form Mackie

  • John
    from Stafford, VA. March 28, 2015Music Background:
    Play Trumpet, Drums, Guitar

    Ham Radioo Audio Mixer

    Use this mixer for my HAM gear audio, and features help control the audio and noise levels, very well.

  • Regan Scherencel
    from Next door to Yellowstone March 4, 2015Music Background:
    Live sound engineer

    A excellent mixer for smaller groups

    I have a 12 channel Mackie mixer which serves me well for larger venues. I purchased this Mackie 8 channel because I needed a smaller board for travel, and I had confidence in Mackie. I actually believe that the output from this mixer is crisper and cleaner than my older 12 channel Mackie. I also have inherited another brand mixer board in one of my churches, which gives me no end of trouble. Trying to convince them to scrap it and purchase a Mackie board.

  • Simon
    from United States February 20, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Sound Engineer

    Perfect

    It does everything as advertised. Perfect as my personal reference mixer for live performance. Got my click track, band mix, and midi synth sounds all with controllable levels. Clean as a whistle sound.

  • Michael John Hall
    from Santa Fe NM July 5, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Artist Solo Piano

    Love this mixer

    I am not a professional engineer, so I was relieved to see how simple it is to use this mixer. Pure sound, easy to adjust. No hum or background noise. I was up and running in less than an hour with great initial results.

  • Dustin
    from Las Vegas March 1, 2012Music Background:
    Voice Over Artist

    Another winner from Mackie!

    This is my 3rd Mackie board in 20 years. They still make the best boards for the money. I love the USB and effects features. Also, the Mackie EQ is great, not too much, just right. It's flexible and feature rich. Great value and bomb proof, like all Mackies.

  • Rico BArr
    from Massachusetts usa December 14, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician ,Songwriter ,Drummer

    A great product and lightweight to boot

    A great product and lightweight to boot

  • John @.
    from Mo. November 9, 2011Music Background:
    Plunker w/desire to play

    Great!

    NIce for what I needed ... ONLY drawback is you have to get your manual on line. I'm all for hugging the trees, but my printer isn't the best (okay it's acheap $38 Black Friday special at Sam's) ... otherwise great for what I do.

  • ES
    from North Carolina April 8, 2015Music Background:
    Podcaster

    Great Product

    Love this Mackie ProFX8! I just recently got into production so I didn't know a lot but this product was easy to figure out and it works great!

  • Arlan
    from Seattle, WA USA February 10, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur Recording Engineer

    Great Mixer with awsome features

    I love all the features, the equalizer and effects are wonderful. Some reviews I read from a couple of years ago said that the effects was noisy. Not this one! I have not tried the USB port yet but love having the feature. There are a couple of minor features I could ask for such as a attenuator for the output so they could be fed into a microphone input of another system, but that is pretty much do-able by turning down the gain. I understand that phantom power fed to the outputs would burn out the outputs. I wish it had protection for that so that it would not be one-more-thing-to-think-about. But the bang for the buck is tremendous and I am quite happy. My buddy, who is the real musician was super impressed with the results obtained.

  • Frank Nichols
    from Aurora, CO September 30, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Mackie ProFX8

    Everything works as expected. Very pleased with the unit although I've only used briefly.

  • Bill B
    from Brookfield, Wi June 14, 2014Music Background:
    Singer guitar player since electricity was invented

    Mackie Pro FX8 mixer

    I gave the mixer only 4 stars because I've only used it twice. I really like the way its built especially the 3 prong power cord. I think it will be a dependable mixer for a long time.
    I would like to give 5 stars to the folks at Sweetwater. From the time I hit the buy key on my computer, till it was delivered to my home was flawless. The follow up by the Sweetwater staff especially Clint was great. I don't think I'll ever purchase anywhere else.

  • steve
    from wilson, ks September 27, 2012Music Background:
    country and elvis p.

    mixer

    I really haven't got to use it that much, been busy with other stuff, but so far I really like it.. I just wish I could find the sound that comes out of perfessional studios, I also use the lexicon to record threw..It has a 8 track recording studio but maybe it's just I don't know how to use it all yet..

  • Lowell Wilson
    from S.L.T. Cailfornia December 26, 2011Music Background:
    Live performance, keyboards

    Mass production

    The first delivery was defective. Electrical shorts and static from unit. The second delivery after a quick exchange from Sweetwater was exactly what it said it was. Great clarity and that deep quality from Mackie you've grown to expect. One has to wonder though at such a great deal if Mackie isn't turning these mixers out so fast that a few of them don't make it to the inspection point. Otherwise, more than meets expectations!

  • Pat Owens
    from Baltimore, MD October 31, 2011Music Background:
    Working Musician

    Great little mixer!

    Does the job really well. I play a lot of duo gigs in small clubs and this mixer works great with a set of powered speakers. The built-in EQ is a nice bonus and the effects are simple and easy to use. It's the best mixer of this size that I have found in terms of value and features.

  • Jim Whitaker
    from United States September 21, 2011Music Background:
    AV Engineer, singer

    compact yet with many functions

    very good for small gatherings and music. this is a personal unit for me.
    not like my much larger units for work.

  • John Pence
    from Orlando, Fl May 24, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Mackie ProFX8

    This mixer packs a lot of power in a small footprint. While being small, it is built to take the knocks of the road and satisfies the home user as well. The effects are quality and after a little usage time you quickly learn the nuances and sweet spots of the mixer to suit your needs. Both Condenser and Dynamic mics are satisfied with it's onboard power. I'd recommend this to anyone needing a smaller mixer but still wanting quality.

  • Darryl
    from NC July 2, 2010Music Background:
    Live guitarist/vocalist

    Alright mixer fro the money.

    This mixer produces a good clean sound to the new powered QSC K 12's I have. More head room overall from the board on the Mackie 808s powered mixer I just retired. The board design has good quality with the knobs and sliders with the exception of the EFX selector knob, which seems of less quality from the rest of the board. The EFX are clean and clear, however my ear does not hear a distinct difference in several of the 16 selections. Overall though a good deal for the money. Note..This is the only board of it's size that has graphic EQ for controling Mains or Monitors..I checked several other brands for that feature and other than Carvin (8 channel only) this is it. If keeping a setup simple with good sound and a lot of features in a compact setup is important, then this is the main show in town. If not the only!

  • Russell Emerson Logan
    from Irving, Texas - U.S.A. March 6, 2015Music Background:
    I've been making music for over 40 years.

    Impressive board

    Really nice board for the price. Just what I needed for my JBL Eon powered speakers. It gives my JBL's more versatility, and adds some pretty good effects. Satisfied customer.

  • Tim MOnfort
    from Sidney OH June 8, 2014Music Background:
    Keyboard, And Remix Hobbyist

    Mackie PROFX8

    I would like to say that the Mackie PROFX8 is a great mixer for live mixing, However saying that it is not the best for Home recording just for the simple fact that it has no noise depression on it. I have used several different devices to try to eliminate the noise coming from it . I have a EBtech eliminator on it also a EBtech X plug into it but it still overcomes the noise coming out from the mixer. Mackie makes great equipment and this mixer is no exception it is a great mixer but I feel if your only using it for live staging. I hope this helps others out there thinking about buying this.

  • Customer
    from June 18, 2013

    Not bad but have seen better

    Good mixer but found I had to add more gain than I thought was necessary to get the input needed to record. Could have been the rocording device. Not a bad mixer for the price and usefulness.

  • Sal in Florida
    from Clearwater beach Florida September 10, 2010Music Background:
    Perfoming musician for 30 years [ www.SalLive.com]

    MACKIE PROFX8

    I don't know what the hell is up with Mackie these days. I have gone through three Profx8 mixers in two months and I'm now on my forth. On ALL the Profx8's that I've had and used for live sound: channels 3 & 4 preamps stopped working. On two of them the effects would drop out for a few minutes leaving only a distorted signal. I love the Mackie programmed effects so I've stuck with the mixer but this wil be my last attempt. I think a Chinese company "Loud" is producing these for Mackie. There must be a problem in the production or design. I hope they get it straight because it's a great live mixer when it works. Anyone else having these problems???

  • Jim
    from College Station, Texas January 17, 2015Music Background:
    Bluegrass band and sound for house of worship

    30 Minutes of Glory and Gone!

    Have had two ProFX8s this summer and both lasted about 30 minutes before the noise set in. Very distinct 60 cycle noise. Tried switching from stereo to pan left and right but noise would eventually catch up. I have a great ProFX22 for the band and never a problem. Bought the ProFX8 for my one man acts but I was forced to use my old, larger, but reliable Beringer. Sweetwater has been helpful but no good explanation of why this problem keeps reoccurring. I'm not sure about trying a third one.

Questions about the Mackie ProFX8?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway