rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Mackie ProFX12v2 Mixer and USB Audio Interface with Effects Reviews

4.5 stars based on 34 customer reviews
Questions about the Mackie ProFX12v2 Mixer and USB Audio Interface with Effects?

Questions about the Mackie ProFX12v2 Mixer and USB Audio Interface with Effects?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Jonesborough, TN May 24, 2017Music Background:
    Worship Musician

    Mackie PRO is a PRO

    Really fine little mixer. Portable, but with great features and sound. I can use this with my 3000 watt Behringer amp and 1000 watt mains and get awesome sound. I can put it on a music stand right in front of me for solo gigs. Great little addition at a great price.

  • from Florida March 21, 2017

    Mackie ProFX12x2

    A great mixer for a working musician. The Mackie uses a foot pedal for the effects shut-off. Don't know how anyone with only 2 hands and 2 feet can work with a mixer that does not have a pedal! This is my third Mackie; I wouldn't use any other.

  • from Florida March 13, 2017

    Mackie Sound Mixer

    Was replacing a Mackie Sound Mixer that was very old. Potentiometers were going bad. Thought I'd try a Behringer board. After arrival, decided that it was not for me. It's like a long time Ford owner buying a Chevy. Inquired about returning the Behringer and ordering the successor to my Mackie. Great service on the original purchase, the return and the replacement. Couldn't ask for a better team.

  • from Wisconsin July 8, 2016

    Great Mixer for your $$$$

    Clean Channels, Smooth Sliders, Built in FX's. Have always loved Mackie boards, but have only been able to rent huge ones for shows...until now. My Cheap 4 track Behringer mixer died after a couple of years use, got my $$$ worth. Bit the bullet and got this.. loving it since. Soft bag is a must if, you plan on moving a bunch. Nice amount of inputs, so never have to re channel a player (in our 3 pc). Built in tones add nice room/ depth to the mix. I plug a Guitar straight to track one , bass straight to board, Roland drum set output straight to board. And works great for headphone jam sessions. Have not tried in a live scenario yet so I don't have much feedback there. Great Mixer for you hard earned $$$

  • from June 3, 2016Music Background:
    Music coordinador

    Great

    It is the correct product. Lightweight, very convenience, easy to manage. Great Sound'

  • from Moultonboro, NH May 21, 2016Music Background:
    professional musician

    Mackie ProFX12v2

    I just bought this Mackie board this week. While I haven't used it for a live gig yet, I wanted to comment on what I have already noticed about this board just running it through it's paces in my studio. First of all, I am replacing a Behringer board that I have had for over ten years, and that mixer has been a workhorse. I have nothing but good things to say about Behringer, and I have always had great experiences with any of their equipment I have purchased. Now, back to the new Mackie board. I didn't need the owners manual, because this mixer is so intuitively laid out, that anyone who has ever used a mixer will figure this out in just a few minutes at most. I ran a balanced mic cord from one side into my Bose L2 system, and then plugged in a Samson wireless mic, a Roland AX synth, and a Korg M-50 . As soon as I turned up the master volume, and then turned up the channels for each keyboard and my mic, I noticed right away how much more power this mixer puts put. With just a little tweaking of the gain knobs, this board can get LOUD, but what I next noticed is the extreme clarity of the signal this thing puts out. AMAZING!. And at even really loud volumes, ( louder than I would ever have to play live ), it is incredibly quiet. I really had to push the master voulume way higher than I would ever run it , before I started to get that unwanted hiss that we all try to stay away from. This board feels incredibly well built. It is solid as a rock, and you can see and feel the quality of this mixer at every turn. It would seem to me that this board would be best suited for anyone from a single act, up to a four piece band, and there are enough inputs to route all your vocals and instruments with no problem at all. The 16 built in effects are quite understated, but I mean that in the best way possible. They are very useful effects, and you should be able to find something that would suit your taste for vocals, or anything else for that matter. The only effect that I wish they had included would be some kind of reverb and delay combination, but that is not a huge issue, as the other reverbs and delays will do most anything you need. I can't comment on the usb recording interface, because that is something that I personally will never use. but I'm sure it works well. I could go on and on about this little powerhouse of a mixer, but I will end with this. If there is another mixer out ther with this many features, and this type of quality, at this price point, I haven't seen it yet. And don't forget, Mackie is offering a $30.00 rebate up until the end of May, which brings the price of this incredible board to just under $250.00. If you are looking for the all in one mixer for your duo, trio, four piece, or for a single, buy this board now, before they up the price. This mixer is a true winner!

  • from April 24, 2016

    Mackie profx12v2

    Great addition to my set up. Get the job done. Thanks Nick

  • from Tampa, Florida April 9, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter / Studio Engineer

    Look No More.

    Excellent quality, the fx are just right.

  • from March 29, 2016

    The best

    I love it and very practical

  • from Harrison, AR March 1, 2016

    Very cool

    This is an awesome Mackie mixer, I run it for a 4 piece band , it's lightweight but very sturdy and solid construction. Very good mixing board at a very reasonable price. Get the carry bag with it too. I'm absolutely blown away, I have an extensive collection of mixing boards and now I've finally found the one I've been searching for for years! Thanks Mackie!! And as always Ryan Clapper and the sweetwater crew are super friendly and customer service is great! I recommend this 100%. Don't hesitate, get it now.

  • from Herndon, VA January 30, 2016Music Background:
    Keyboards and Vocals

    Versatile and Quiet

    If you're looking for something either for the studio or small venues this mixer has some great attributes. It's got nice pre-amps for the mics, plenty of headroom, and is super quiet - there is no noise from any part of the mixer that reaches the final mix. Good layout, very intuitive, easy to read and adjust in near dark situations. I'm a keyboard player and use it for sending my stage mix to the main board during live performance. I plug three different stereo outs (organ, piano, and synth) into my Mackie. It only has two dedicated stereo ins so I double up on channels 7 & 8 for my third board. At least one of the vocal effects is better than the one I use on the main board, so in theory, I could send my stage mic too. And this is a great price!

  • from Oak Island, NC December 22, 2015Music Background:
    Home studio fun-maker, former semi-pro bass player, guitarist, drummer, amateur keys player.

    Niiiice!

    Very nice, full-featured small mixer for my mini-studio!

  • from N.W. Indiana November 23, 2015Music Background:
    perfoming musician, home studio

    very nice

    The first time that I plugged this in was at a gig. And it performed great. Good sound quality. Will be using it to record some demos also.

  • from Rapid City, SD October 6, 2015Music Background:
    Performance and worship.

    Love it.!

    Wanted this for recording and gigs. Works great! I'm very pleased with it's quality and performance.

  • from Durham, NC August 18, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter, Guitarrist, Singer

    Great mixer for live and recording as well

    Great mixer for small gigs and home recording. Price is right and quality is superb. I highly recommend it.

  • from August 10, 2015Music Background:
    Hawaiian music

    Great mixer

    The ProFX12v2 is a great mixer for our trio. The XLR preamps are excellent and the effects are easy to set up. I love that we can mix 3 vocals and 3 instruments in no time at all.I recommend this mixer to any one who does live gigs for up to 4 members in the band.

  • from Denver Colorado August 7, 2015Music Background:
    Sound Guy for over 25 years

    Nice improvements

    I'm primarily a Presonus guy but like to keep a Mackie around for smaller gigs. The V2 is a great improvement on the original just for the pre's alone. I love being able to plug just about anything in without resorting to a DI box, super handy and much quicker setups. I don't use the effects too much other than occasional reverb on vocals - so far the "2" setting has also performed reliably and predictably. I've only had this a few weeks, but if the longevity is anything like the original then I expect to have this around for a few years - AND - as usual, the folks at Sweetwater got this right out to me with same day shipping.
    All in all, a great purchase so far.

  • from Austin July 21, 2015

    Jackie pro mixer

    Easy to use and great price!

  • from July 13, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar Player, Song Writer, Music Workshops

    Everything Mixer

    Used for a week as sound board for a music workshop....used for guitar, vocals, PA, Midi, MP3 music. Good sound effects; everything is positive and worked well.

  • from WV January 13, 2017Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Great Mixer

    Great mixer for the price. A lot of features and special effects and for a reasonable price.

  • from January 4, 2017Music Background:
    Guitarrista

    Excelente Mixer!!

    Es excelente mixer y suena muy bien. Tiene muy buenos efectos. El único detalle es que no enciende La Luz del Mute cuando lo presionas. Por lo demás, recomendado 100%.

  • from WV October 15, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Musician, Sound Engineer

    Mackie ProFX12v2

    There are normally some things you wish you could change about a mixer. This one has very few I would like to change. I just got it and set it up complete with powered mains, powered monitors, and music playback with my phone. This is a super sweet little mixer,, but if I can be picky, I wish I could change the following:
    1) I sure wish it had a light on the channel MUTE buttons, and especially on the BREAK button so you can tell they are pressed. 2) I wish you could choose the number of repeats on the 3 delay presets. There are too many repeats and no way to change it. The only slap back type effect is the ECHO and the repeat is too fast. That may not be a concern for most folks. The reverbs seem really usable, especially the reverb PLATE setting. Other than the 3 minor issues, I find it just as I would have designed it myself! Very cool mixer.

  • from Tiger, GA August 20, 2016

    good economical upgrade

    I was using a low cost 8 channel for my daw and it had passable to poor controls. this one was marked to well within my price range and it made a substantial impact on the input quality.

  • from Moultonboro NH June 27, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    ProFX12v2

    I have written two reviews already about this board after purchasing it, but I wanted to write about something that I really didn't pay much attention to until I did a larger outside gig recently. My Bose L2 system is used for almost every job I do, but when I need a little more impact for say an outside gig, I bring along my two Behringer B115's. I used this setup recently at an outdoor event. I run the left out of the Mackie to the analog input of the Bose, and then run the right output of the Mackie to one of the inputs in the Behringer's, and then daisy chain the two of them together. This system has always given me great control, for if I wanted the Bose louder or softer, I would just turn the left main volume slider up or down, if I wanted the Behringers louder or softer, I would turn up or down the right side main input. But lo and behold, when I got to the recent gig, I realized that the Mackie has a single main volume control for both sides, so you are not able to set left and right sides individually. I realize that in most situations, this would not be a problem, as most bands or musicians will probably be using one set of speakers , and will want them turned up equally, but in a situation where you want more control over each side, this could be a problem. In order for me to get the balance I wanted between the Bose and Behringer speakers, I had too make a few volume adjustments by going to the Behringers, and turning down the volume knobs on the back of the speakers. This wasn't a huge problem, but it would be a whole lot easier if you had a seperate left and right fader, so you could make those up or down volume changes right from the board. I just wanted to bring this to anyone's attention that is running any kind of system where you want separation between the left and right side, just remember when you buy this board, that the left and right sides are summed together with one main volume slider. This by no means changes my earlier opinion of this board, I still give it a 4.5 to 5 rating, it is a tremendous mixing board, I just thought I should point this out to anyone who is expecting to have a left and right main volume slider, you won't have that if you purchase this board.

  • from Conway June 12, 2016Music Background:
    professional musician

    Mackie ProFX12v2

    I have done one quick review on this board immediately after I got it, but I have now had the chance to use it in a few live situations, and I still feel the same way about this unit, it is a masterpiece of form and function. Easy to use and navigate, solid as a rock, and pristine sound quality, even at low to high volume settings. I simply am blown away by this mixing board, especially due to the fact that it is priced at only $250.00. I am rating it at 4.5, due only to the fact that I wish the effects were set up in such a way that you could combine them, ( like a reverb and delay together, for instance ), but that is just a personal preference, the effects work fine for live and studio use. Bottom line, fantastic board, fantastic price, buy it, and you will not regret it.

  • from nc October 25, 2015

    bob asheville, nc

    Love this mixer. Chris was extremely helpful with my whole order. Very happy

  • from Caribou, ME June 30, 2015

    Superb Product

    I had the ProFX 8 for 2 years and the board performed professionally with hundreds of hours logged into it. Upgraded to a ProFx12V2 and have to say that this unit is solid, has great effects and is about as rugged as they come. Sweetwater is amazing to deal with and I always love the candy they send with my orders.

  • from MN June 4, 2016

    Nice mixer..

    I purchased this for running an open mic gig.. plugged into my Line 6 L3t it sounds amazing.. Lot of great features for a mixer at this price.. v2 effects and mic preamp upgrades are awesome.. Can't imagine how Mackie has such a great mixer here and totally missed the mark on their disastrous Reach system..then again Mackie has always had a reputation for being a great analog mixer..Would have given 5 stars except : Furnished power cord is only about 24 inches long.. no mute indicator lights, no individual channel phantom power.. Channel faders feel a bit cheap.. Dont forget to buy the gig bag for it !, Other than that works for me..Sweetwater as usual fast shipping, great customer service.. Thanks Derek !

  • from Oklahoma April 19, 2016Music Background:
    32 years in a band and 18 years as a Dj

    No Mute led display

    I love this mixer and it sounds great! Why Mackie would not give the mute button a display light is beyond me. The larger pro fx boards supposedly have one. The OL led light next to mute button only displays an overloaded channel on the pro 8 and 12 boards. This is the only issue I have with this board. You have to look very hard at a mute button to see if it is up or down in dim lighting. I'm extremely disappointed in this and the main reason I have only giving it 4 stars. The board itself sounds great and the fx are awesome! It is very well made. I put rack ears on mine and mounted it in my Dj rack. I run the headphone signal to my powered sub. Works great!

  • from Alabama December 22, 2015Music Background:
    Professional musician.

    Mackie compact mixer

    It does what I need it to do. My only wish is that some indication on whether the mutes buttons are on or not esp. The master mute which is small and easily overlooked as I did the other night and wasted several minutes trying to figure out why I had no sound. It works great with my QSC powered speakers and my pedalboard for acoustic guitar. Great sound!

  • from Austin, TX July 31, 2015Music Background:
    Power Electronics

    Excellent mixer

    This mixer is really good for the price. The effects are very usable (the pan delay is pretty awesome) and the graphic eq sounds super clean with virtually no coloration. Overall it has a very transparent sound. The fader and knob action feel pretty smooth and aesthetically it is very pleasing!

    I will say the 2 in 2 out usb streaming/recording feature is a bit wonky. I have windows 7 and the mackie doesn't support ASIO so you have to use the direct sound or wave-out format. Not to big of a deal there. For live sound this 2x2 usb feature can be useful but for DAW recording I would stick with a dedicated audio interface. I've had the mixer for a few weeks and I'm still confused about how the usb thru/input works.

    That issue aside this mixer is awesome. I've been using it for my solo live performances and it has a great sound. Highly recommended

  • from May 30, 2017

    Some noise when on

    When I tested this out at my house. There is some noise when just on. I didn't feel like returning it and I still don't. I don't think the noise is coming from the Thump 12 inch speaker. I think it is the mixer. My house definitely has old wiring and probably some grounding issues. I don't know that much about electricity, just the basics. I used it for a wedding performance recently with three vocalists and one guitar channel. We ran sound check and then muted everything. When I unmuted right before performing there was pretty bad feedback which was embarrassing. We had to start the song over after turning each level down, which left my vocal part too loud in the mix. This is probably all my fault and not the mixer's fault at all. When I review the video of soundcheck, the sound is satisfactory, but when I review the video of the performance, I have to cringe a little bit. I probably just have some learning to do. I haven't owned my own mixer before this one. When music is being performed, I don't think the "noise" is that much of a problem. As far as Sweetwater goes, I am very satisfied. Brock is a good man. The fact that they take the time to personally reach out to people is pretty incredible.

  • from Spring Texas July 26, 2016Music Background:
    DJ/KJ Sound Engineer/ Electrical Engineer

    ProFX12 against X1832USB

    Bought this to compare against Behringer X1832USB mixer and also use with a pair of Mackie Thumps for a portable Karaoke system. I have four X1832 that get deployed about 5 times a week/ year around and they seem to develop issues with the sliders and pots after a year or two. But that's an entirely different story.
    So on with the ProFX12 Review/ Comparison
    1. Sliders feel chinchy, they have too much side to side play. I personally don't think they will hold up to constant gigging.
    2. Mute button has no indicator to indicate when mute is engaged on the channels. Note the master mute does but the Channel mutes don't.
    3. Has EQ but No Feed back detection( FBQ) like the X1832.
    4. USB is good and works as advertised, Ties here with X1832.
    5. Has Monitor, Mains but no Sub Bus. I like to use Monitor for the Stage Monitor and the SUB bus to drive a self powered Sub or feed a second amp set up for the Subs. Will need to use the phone out or something else down stream to control a Sub from the board.
    6. Like the FX unit as it is easy to use and intuitive. Ties here with the X1832.
    7. Has same number of Mic inputs but less line inputs than 1832. Not really an issue but more is typically better.
    8. Line Inputs have full -20 to +20 DB Gain Adjustment. Here Mackey beats the X1832 as it only has two gain settings on line inputs.
    9. One High impedance input on CH1. I sometimes run my Fender Strat though the board at least on the Behringer 1832 with no DIvso it is nice that I will not loose that capability.
    10. No individual parametric EQ on channel inputs. Not really a deal breaker as I do most of the the EQ in a separate EQ Unit or in the Amp( Inuke3000DSP).
    11. Clean and well though out layout. ties with the Behringer here. Good Clean Sound...
    12. Does not come with Rack Mounts like the Behringer does. They are an Option
    13. I like that they offer a factory case for this unit as I will most likely not mount it in a rack and the case makes lugging it around nice. Behringer offers no such animal that I am aware of.
    14. No Price advantage. Same price as X1832 at 250 bucks.

    General impression is it is a nice unit albeit less capable that the X1832. If it beats the Behringer in reliability I will of course consider moving up to the ProFX16 or Higher. The lack of the Mute indicators is a big issue on this unit that Mackie needs to address as any one that does DJ/ KJ work will constantly be using the mute button must rely on memory or very close inspection of the button to determine if it is engaged and that's a problem especially when dealing with clients in a Karaoke situation

  • from San Antonio November 25, 2016

    Don't buy -- not Mackie quality

    Had it for 14 months, used for 4 gigs and it blew a channel. Our of warranty, and it's not designed for servicing. The case is good and sturdy, but all the components are micro-mini surface mount and very hard to replace.

    The op amps are custom made so you can't buy replacements except from Mackie. I have been an electronics technician for many years and have serviced many of the older well-made Onyx boards. This is far from the quality you get with the legacy mixers.

    When it breaks in a year-and-a-day it's landfill material.

Questions about the Mackie ProFX12v2 Mixer and USB Audio Interface with Effects?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway