rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Mackie ProFX12 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 41 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Matt Kreager

    The ProFX 12 gets you up and gigging with little adapatation from the previous models. Its streamlined channel layouts give you only the buttons and indicators that you need to get your mix.

  • from Black Hills, SD June 26, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-pro, played since late 60's.

    Great small mixer

    I have used this mixer for two "acoustic" gigs. One in a small wine/beer bar setting and the other outside where the customer wanted us to project 75 yards to the birthday party! in both setting the mixer handled the challenge just fine. Easy and intuitive to use. Clean sound. I would give it a 5 star rating if the effects could be tweaked a bit. However, I knew going in to it what I was getting and the effects sound great as they are. in our acoustic group, we don't use much more than a little delay/reverb. I would buy this one again if I needed to replace it.
    Alos, my salesman, Matt recommended this unit. He was right, as usual.

  • from May 27, 2015

    mackie ProFX12

    Great board love it so far. It is doing the job.

  • from United States May 8, 2015

    No Matter What You Do, This Mixer is for You. Period

    Purchased this mixer to make recording a little less hectic as an indie artist (always unplugging one mic or instrument from my audio interface so that I could plug in and record the next). With this I can have everything plugged in and ready to go, all I have to do is switch instruments. But then I started playing around with the USB thru feature... And while most people would not like a DJ set up this way; I found I could DJ a whole event with just my laptop, this mixer, some good speakers, and some lights. The effects are of a great "trimming the fat" selection. No useless effects. This mixer is so versatile, I can't believe I've lived without it for all these years.

  • from Sacramento CA. April 30, 2015Music Background:
    Music Educator At High School Level

    Good But Misleading

    I am pleased with this mixer overall, however, I was disapponnted to discover that the majority of trim pots work for just the microphone and not line inputs... this limits the mixer in use as a submixer for multiple stereo output keyboards which is what I bought it for.

  • from Philadelphia, PA April 6, 2015Music Background:
    weekend warrior

    Mackie PROFX12

    I have been using a MACKIE VLZ PRO but I needed two additional XLR channels. I was told that the PROFX12 was the best mixer out there for my needs and budget. I do have to say that the sound quality is better than the VLZ and for the price, I couldn't ask for more. I've only used it a couple times so I really haven't utilized all of the bells and whistles that come with the mixer but I am satisfied and I would definitely recommend this product.

  • from Fort Wayne Indiana March 4, 2015Music Background:
    Music teacher

    mixer

    It's great! Works well and the service was so helpful and fast.

  • from February 21, 2015

    Just wish I could use it

    There's no simple fix for my problems, except, put it on the shelf for later. It's a nice product, but, issues are too dang annoying for my enjoyment desires. Don't let my discouragement due to technical problems, affect your purchasing choice.

  • from Las Vegas February 6, 2015Music Background:
    Music Producer, Arranger, Orchestrator

    Exactly what I was looking for!

    Mackie never disappoints! I was looking for a good sounding, simple, low-cost mixer, and that's exactly what this is! Perfect!!

  • from Northern Minnesota February 1, 2015Music Background:
    Working Guitarist

    Versatile, Great Quality, Highly-adjustable, and...They Bounce!

    I've had this board for a couple years, and I use it both for my solo acoustic set up consisting of a vocal mic, acoustic guitar, resonator guitar, and stomp box, and also as the primary portable mixer for my four piece rock band at smaller venues where it mixes 3 vocal mics, two acoustic guitars, a 57 for washboard and djembe on a couple tunes, and break music. For a lower priced unit, the mic preamps are high quality, and the EQ's on each channel offer a tremendous range of effective adjustment. Though only 2 channels out, the USB is crystal clear, and it's perfect for grabbing song ideas and recording demos using Cakewalk Sonar which is installed on my laptop. The onboard effects are of sufficient quality that I've yet to come across a room in which this unit sounded "weird." It's extremely versatile that way. Most amazingly, two years ago after a particularly "festive" gig, a band mate packed this board carelessly into my vehicle, and when I opened the back car door at 2 a.m. at home, it tumbled out onto the concrete driveway. The damage? A small scuff to the plastic case and a slightly bent post on the gain knob on channel one. The mixer still works perfectly! These PRO-fx mixers are amazing, high quality products for a great price.

  • from Absarokee,MT January 24, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer, Banjo, hobby recording engineer.

    Not really an audio interface.

    While this board does have a usb out, it is not really an interface. This is a live mixer. You cannot multi-track record with this board. All your input signals go to 2 main outs. Great for a live show recording. I am curious why this is in the audio interface category of the website.

  • from Ft Lauderdale December 31, 2014Music Background:
    Electrical engineer, amateur live sound engineer

    Strong Workhorse

    Pluses:
    Solid construction, decent pre-amp gains on all six miss (comparable Behringer mixer has 20 db less on two channels), good channel and master EQ, USB connection on ProFXUSB

    Minor foibles:
    Preamps slightly noisy (hiss) at upper gains
    Mute switches have no lights or other means to easily detect position
    USB input on rotary pot, not a fader

  • from Castle Hayne, NC December 10, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician, studio engineer

    small package Mackie

    love Mackie products, we have 5 Mackie boards from this small one to the 32/8, they are so versatile, there is so many ways to go to get what you need. we looked at a few others, we needed something small but something we could do more with, and this one fit the bill.

  • from Philadelphia, PA December 5, 2014Music Background:
    Music Teacher, Pro Musician, Recording Hobbyist

    Noise on USB Recording -- solved!!!

    I'm a HS Band director and I purchased this mixer for my school so I could use it in the band room to record the ensembles using the built in USB interface and my favorite recording software on Windows (Reaper, check it out!) The quality of the recordings was WAY BAD with a ton of noise, totally unacceptable. It sounded like there was digital interference in every recording, even though I had the levels set correctly.

    I was able to solve this problem completely by installing ASIO drivers for windows. My recordings are now pristine, and I am very pleased with the product. If you are having a similar issue, search google for asio4all and download their drivers for windows.

  • from morristown,tn. September 30, 2014Music Background:
    live sound

    mackie profx12

    great board has everything we need as a southern gospel group.

  • from CA September 26, 2014Music Background:
    Growing musician (bass) player part time engineer

    12Chl Board

    Like the FX well built great for our rehearsals when working late and doesn't bother my neighbors we put all the instruments and vocals through and wear head phones.
    Love doing business with Sweetwater.

  • from Jeannette, PA July 20, 2014

    I miss it

    I mainly DJ dance music at bars and clubs. A couple of years ago, a friend of mine asked me to provide sound reinforcement for an acoustic session at a bar. Since I didn't have the proper mixer for mics and a couple of electric/acoustic guitars, I picked up this mixer at a local music store and returned it the day after the gig. My business is now branching into karaoke and live bands and I'm now kicking myself for returning it. The effects performed nicely and were really easy to use. The USB is nice for recording sessions and can be used to play music from your computer during breaks. And speaking of breaks, it has a convenient "break" button so you don't have to mute each individual track. I will be buying this mixer again... to keep.

  • from Marion, In June 27, 2014Music Background:
    Singer, Guitar player

    AWESOME

    Stylish. Awesome built in effects. All the features and quality without the price!

  • from Green Bay, WI May 1, 2014Music Background:
    Church/Hobbyist

    Great equipment for a small budget

    This sound board is was quite superior to the outdated equipment that we had been using for several years. It is extremely easy to set up and use. It is also much smaller in size than our previous sound board which freed up a lot of much needed space in our sound booth.

  • from Columbus. Georgia March 7, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Keyboards Hammond Organs plus Yamaha Synthss

    Mackie ProFX12 Mixer

    Great little mixer for the money. Cool features for live play and light studio
    recording. It is light and does what it is suppose to do. I recommend this mixer for small gigs or church musicians.

  • from texas city, tx February 17, 2014Music Background:
    semi-pro

    I prefer my Behringer mixers to this

    I've been using Behringer mixers for a long time and thought I'd try this unit because the reviews on it were so good.
    I was pretty disappointed when I plugged this into my Bose Compact L1. I didn't think the sound was as well rounded/full as the Behringer mixers I've owned. The Mackie sound was very flat with no definition, no crisp highs, no clear mid-range or deep bass. Volumes had to be turned up quite high (infinity on faders to channels and main volume, with compressors 3/4 turned up with both mic and guitar lines) and left very little headroom compared to my Behringer (Xenyx 1832) that has a very full, rounded out sound with plenty of headroom and clarity of mids, highs and lows. I've never had the Behringer controls (volumes/faders on main and channels) up to the levels I had to use on the Mackie. This Mackie sounded flat to me. Sound had no depth to it and was a bit muffled/muddy. I felt this mixer had a Hifi like sound. The EQ helped a little but just didn't have the full punch/rounded out sound that I've always heard with the Behringer mixers. This mixer is very light weight. The fader knobs were a bit bent on the demo unit I had purchased.
    The Mackie promo video shows this unit surviving a truck running over it. I don't see this unit taking much abuse. It didn't feel as sturdy as the Behringer units I've owned and it is a much lighter weight.
    The USB recording with this unit was very disappointing. I had latency issues with this and my Macbook Pro. Using any effects made it much worse. I did exchange this for a Yamaha mixer. I'll post reviews on this after I've used it. For the money, I'd rather purchase a Behringer. The quality/sound is much cleaner, deeper, richer with the Behringer then with this Mackie. I've read all these reviews slamming Behringer and boasting Mackie and I just don't see it that way at all. The Behringer quality/sound is so much better then what I experienced with this unit for the same price.

  • from Texas January 27, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Great way to enter into live audio

    Awesome product easy to use.

  • from January 12, 2014

    Great for radio production

    So far, I like the Mackie Pro FX12. I like producing radio shows at home and recording them in real time vs. track by track. While it's not strictly a broadcast board, it's great for production. I haven't explored all of it's capabilities yet, but I may try recording myself playing or singing. I like the fact that the recording output is separate from the main volume. It is a step up from the smaller board I had been using. I've got lots of opportunities to expand my usage and learn new things about recording, so I'm very pleased.

  • from Boston October 14, 2013Music Background:
    Independent producer

    Studio center piece

    I have to say my studio is very happy about its new addition. This is my first mixer and I couldn't be more pleased. Before I was just using my computer but now I can record much more professionally and with higher quality than before. This thing is also very powerful, just level your gains-n-mains and you'll see how powerful it is with the proper speakers or monitors. My "sound" has only improved since i got this, mixing and full-ness.

    One thing I LOVE about this is that with the USB connection i can record and playback the audio from my computer simultaneously. This means that if I wish to record ANY sound that would normally leave my computer I can record DIRECTLY into my audio interface (Ableton). Very convenient if you're a sampler.

  • from Studio City, CA July 17, 2013Music Background:
    Broadcaster

    Awesomely Affordable`

    A remarkable 'live board' at an extremely smart price. We're doing remote radio broadcasts for the internet and finding this board to be much more solid than much more expensive units. Offering all the 'on the fly' speed of analog and that USB to the computer bridges the digital distance.

  • from Blauvelt, New York, USA June 20, 2013Music Background:
    professional full time musician, small studio owner

    Great little board

    This is my backup mixer, and I very impressed with the versatility it provides. There is plenty of headroom in the mic preamp section, the effects are very usable, and the entire board is laid out well. Having the graphic eq in the master section allows me leeway to use this mixer in smaller gigs with my Crown xti 2000 power amp, without having to worry about a rackmount eq, as in my larger and main rig. Great product!

  • from United States May 31, 2013Music Background:
    Bass Player

    Mackie Pro FX12

    It sounds awesome! I was impressed immediately. Fairly easy to use so much more headroom! Would reccomend this board to anyone who doesn't want a complicated board. Good price too!

  • from San Diego, CA May 19, 2013Music Background:
    Live bands until 1995, DJ since.

    Amazing piece of equipment

    OK a five is up there I know. I have been using a 15 year old mixing board and maybe that is why I an so impresssed with this unit. It is very similar to my old board except...USB input/output. Plugged in my MP3 device and my laptop Presto! Instant connectivity. Great sound too!. The 3 band EQ on each channel along with the 7 bandmain EQ give me limitless sound capability. I play bass and keyboard. The first channel allows me to plug directly in without a preamp. Killer unit especially when price is considered. I have to mention the great Sweetwater service as well.

  • from Ocean Springs, Mississippi May 18, 2013Music Background:
    Horns jazz, oldies rock, sound engineer

    Enjoying my new mixer

    This is a very good mixer for a small band. I play horns in a trio. We use tracks that our keyboard player lays out in his studio and they are very well done. The sound clarity of this unit is great. For the small cost of this mixer you get an easy to control system that works great on powered speakers. All the connections work good and are noise free. This is a great choice for a band that needs minimal hookups.

  • from Visalia, CA May 14, 2013Music Background:
    Amateur Church A/V Guy (not an expert)

    Great Board, Just Don't Buy it For the USB Connection

    Pretty happy with this board overall. We've been using it weekly for about 9 months now for a new church plant. We've grown into it and are now approaching the limits of its abilities (which is a good thing).

    I only have one major complaint; the USB connection is extremely noisy and introduces a hum that I've been unable to remove from the recorded track. We've since started using a stand-along recorder because the USB recordings were unusable.

    It's a great 'starter' board for the price, just don't buy it solely for the USB functionality (like we did).

  • from Portland, Oregon November 1, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very solid entry level mixer

    For under $300 this is a very good buy indeed. Has the typical Mackie heavy sturdy feel in every aspect and should last for years to come. If a person finds the USB is noisy contact Mackie and request the C01 board revision. They are aware of the problem :)
    I'm not wowed simply because of the lack of features that I find useful. If it had individual line "on the fly" level checking and integrated feedback destroyer capabilities like the Behringer powered mixers offer it'd be perfect. I do understand those are also more money but the power those mixers lack - well .... it's a trade off. I actually returned my pmp4000 for this mixer and purchased a QSC QX5 amp and the difference is HUGE. This combination is so much cleaner not to mention louder by a mile. This mixer is solid and if it fits your requirements "and budget" don't hesitate.

  • from CA USA October 17, 2012Music Background:
    SINGER

    Mackie ProFX12

    Very compact in size has a very nice build in effects, nice 7 band graphic Eq and very easy to play with. I had few mixers in past like Berringer and peaveys nothing like this boy. Buddy and I sing for hours, nice reverbs no complains @ this time.

  • from New Ulm, MN July 16, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician-Keyboards

    Fantastic mixer for the price!

    I just purchased the ProFX12 and have used it onstage four times. It is one awesome mixer! The sonic 'fullness' is amazing, and the seven band graphic equalizer allows for complete EQ control. The 16 effects are perfectly programmed for anything you might need (I like #16 for vocals). It is set up well for ease of use, and for the price it just can't be beat. I love it!

  • from TN July 13, 2012Music Background:
    Southern Gospel Musician

    Great Buy

    This does just what I want it to do--Sound Good.

  • from Florida Keys June 19, 2012Music Background:
    15+ yrs Entertainer

    Great Purchase

    Great product, of course, it's a Mackie. Quick shipping, fantastic price and and knowledgeable sales rep, what more could you ask for. You can take this mixer out of the box and be up and running within minutes.

  • from Albuquerque May 8, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    profx12

    Perfection

  • from Methuen, MA April 16, 2012Music Background:
    Home recordist/songwriter

    Good mixer for the price

    I bought this for 2 reasons: 1) to keep all my home recording studio instruments plugged in all the time; 2) to give me audio interface capability, using the USB output.
    As I only need at most 2 simultaneous separate tracks to be recorded at 1 time, the limited USB worked well for me. I have read some reviews tha tindicated that there is a noticeable hum/noise from the USB circuit, but I only hear that on the USB computer-to-mixer monitor/playback if turned up too loud, did not seem to be present on the input side.
    The slider knobs seem a little flimsy, but overall the quality of this unit is excellent. Note that the '12 channel' description is deceiving, but all manufactureres do the same thing. There are 4 mono input channels with mic preamps and 4 stereo input channels (2 of which also have mono mic preamps).
    I have found the mic preamps to be decent on this mixer, using both dynamic and condensor mics, and channel 1 can be switched for direct instrument input, as well.

  • from Minnesota December 26, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist, pedal steel player and other instruments; have played professinally since 1964.

    Great Mixer but not perfect

    I realize only so many features can be put into a mixer at a given price point. I would like to have seen LED indicators of when individual channels are muted. I also felt that the reverbs on some settings could have been a bit wider. These are minor nitpicks. The mixer itself is built like a tank and the individual channel EQ's put the "M" in musical. It has great punch and it is a very quick process to get my mix dialed in and ready to go. I'd buy another one of these in a heartbeat. It's too bad this mixer can't be made in the U.S.A. by American workers, but that's the way everything is these days.

  • from Dawson Pa. December 16, 2011Music Background:
    semi pro 40 + years

    Mackie ProFX12

    Great mixer for small shows . I use it for acoustic shows light and easy to set up to setup . I would till anyone looking for a small mixer BUY IT !

  • from Sandpoint, ID November 9, 2011Music Background:
    Engineer, 'Pro' Musician, Band/Choir Teacher.

    Buy one of these

    Unbelievable quality once again from our friends at Mackie. I didn't think this unit would be so solid, but it is. The price is a fraction of what it should be for gear like this. If you are trying to decide what mixer to et, this is the one. 1/4" and XLR outputs as well as USB. Cool stuff.

  • from Louisville, Kentucky August 25, 2011

    Great service,good selections.

    This was my first time buying from Sweetwater. My salesman, Jim Watson was very helpful. My first choice for a mixer was not immediately available but he came up with the ProFX12. I know Mackie makes a first class product. The only thing this console does not have is switchable mike/line outputs. This is not a major problem, I can use in line attenuators. I needed fast delivery and Jim and Sweetwater came through and they paid for next day delivery. I will be looking to them in the future.

  • from Boston MA area May 25, 2011Music Background:
    Drummer/ Percussionist 42 yrs

    Traded this unit in...quickly!

    Terrible sound. Terrible effects (for drum miking purposes). Those wishing to invest in this type of equipment for similar purposes would be wise to look into a Soundcraft EFX 8 with the Lexicon processor. 4 less channels and a little more money but 1000 times the product.

Questions about the Mackie ProFX12?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway