0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Radial ProDI 1-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box Reviews

4.5 stars based on 31 customer reviews
Questions about the Radial ProDI 1-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box?

Questions about the Radial ProDI 1-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Simon Picazo

    This is the best DI under $100, period. You will be amazed by the clean, powerful, noise-free signal it produces and kick yourself for not getting one sooner. Don't invest thousands in instruments and recording equipment and then skimp on a vital link in your chain. Houses of worship in particular have gobbled these up because at this price they can afford to outfit the whole worship band!

  • from August 16, 2016

    Radial ProDI -- Very Satisfied

    + Excellent,solid, tough construction
    + Does not pick up noise like some others do (great shielding)
    + Padded bottom helps it stay where you put it
    + That lip around the edge helps protect the little push-button switch from getting stepped on (the lip is a nice design feature, but maybe a better switch would also be a good idea - rocker switch))

    - This costs a little more than many other brands, but it is built like a tank and performs very well (you get what you pay for)

    Note: I purchased the passive version (I have no experience with the active, version ... that requires power)

    Recommend: Yes. I plan to purchase another -- when I next need one.

  • from El Cajon, CA May 29, 2016Music Background:
    Pedal steel player, live recording, professional musician.

    Solid as a rock.

    I've only used it a couple of times on a recording job recording a band. Used it on the bass guitar and it worked like a champ. I can just feel and see the quality of this unit. It was quite, no extra noise, clear tone. It just works, and works good. I'm stickin' with Radial. Marc Trainor.

  • from new york January 11, 2016Music Background:
    audio engineer

    redial prodi

    quality product, very pleased

  • from Houston January 9, 2016

    Nice!

    Another great solution recommended by my Sweetwater Engineer, Ed Nystrom! Have used less expensive Di boxes in the past. This one does not impact the quality of the guitar tone. Very nice! I will be getting another soon.

  • from December 21, 2015

    Beautiful brick

    Really outstanding bang for buck. I have purchased 3 so far. Yes, the Radial JDI is better though some debate as to twice as good per price. I own a JDI for its ability to handle a speaker level signal. The ProDI is at a very sweet spot for price/performance. Outstanding for church PA use as it is simple, hard to kill, and does not need phantom power. Its improvement over the usual cheap DI's folks get is painfully obvious once heard. Anybody can hear the difference! This is not some esoteric tiny audio nuance thing, the change is huge.

  • from July 25, 2015Music Background:
    Church sound mixer

    Outstanding DI

    The church already had assorted low budget direct boxes. One was used on a Yamaha electronic drums and one on the main Yamaha keyboard. After changing to the Radial Pro DI on the drums, the kick drum became punchier and the paper fwack was more realistic. The worship leader playing the Yamaha keyboard commented how the sound in practice was great. When asked, she said that the keyboard was clearer. The sound from these direct boxes is worth the extra cost.

  • from Decatur, IN USA September 11, 2014Music Background:
    Worship leader

    Great for acoustic guitar

    I had been using the ProCo CB-1 for my acoustic guitar direct. Switched over to the ProDI and was really impressed. Kind of like getting a new guitar for $100.

  • from Anaheim CA August 15, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter, Producer, Multi-Instrumentalist

    I'm Convinced

    I'll admit I was a little skeptical of the glowing reviews - I mean, it's a DI - what's the big deal? Is there a noticeable difference in sound?
    Lets find out.
    I recently put together a small, high quality PA system and I noticed that my acoustic guitar sounded a little thin and lacking through my otherwise excellent sounding speakers. The DI that I was using was an inexpensive unit that was about 15 years old, so I did my research and came across the Radial Pro DI. Now, I don't mind spending money for good stuff, but I expect to get my money's worth when I do, so I ordered the Radial Pro and A/B'd it with my other DI - and I was gonna be not-too-happy if I could not hear a significant difference.
    The result? When I plugged into the Radial, the sound was full bodied, and the difference was significant and obvious - I got all the sound back that I was missing! Lesson learned: don't play a $1000 guitar through a $25 DI. I will be buying more for the rest of my system.

  • from Bentonville, AR July 11, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Rough Road Ready

    These things are tanks. Great clean quality. I have repurposed all my whirlwind IMP's as doorstops.

  • from June 2, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Church Musician

    Best DI I've ever used

    I plugged it in and it sounded better then I thought it ever would. I was blown away. Perfect for just about anything I drop it on.

  • from Austin, Tx January 31, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, Bassist, FOH Engineer

    Tone Unveiled

    Let's face it, a DI box is not the sexiest thing you can buy. They usually get buried under a pile of cables or stuffed in a rack. A they're pretty much all the same, right? Especially passive DIs...there's just not that much going on inside them. At least, that's been my thinking for years.

    I've had a couple of Whirlwind Commander DIs I've been using since the 80's. They've never failed me, and I though they sounded pretty good. And at the time I bought 'em, they were pretty much the darlings of passive DIs.

    Fast forward to 2014. I had been loaning a band mate one of those Commanders for sometime, and had need for it back. He told me to order him a replacement and swap 'em out. After having previous experience with Radial gear, knowing that it's built like a tank, and seeing them on pretty much every major tour out there I felt good about using the ProDI.

    When it came it, I was impressed with the fit, finish, and heft of the box. The ground life and attenuation switches felt solid, as did the 1/4" connections. This thing could probably survive getting run over by a fork lift (note: I take no responsibility if you decide to test that theory).

    We got it installed in the bass rack, and at the next gig line checked it through the PA. Holy smokes!!!! Where did that bottom octave come from? I swear, it was like disengaging a high pass filter somewhere in the signal chain...we had never heard low end coming off the bass like that before. And not a sloppy, loose low end. Smooth, tight, defined...just the way it should be.

    Just goes to show you how much the transformer in a passive DI affects the tone. This was just night and day.

    Do yourself a favor next time you need a passive DI...spend a few extra bucks and spring for the ProDI. It's the best tone for the buck out there!

  • from Davis, CA November 4, 2013Music Background:
    Hack

    This is the passive DI...

    ...that other DIs fantasize about becoming when they grow up. If you buy a different one you're just gonna wish you bought this one. Solid, sounds great, simple to use.

  • from United States May 22, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Excellent DI!

    The sound quality that this direct box provides is impeccable. During rehearsal the church that I mix for found themselves short one Direct Box when we added another guitarist to the team. For rehearsal purposes only we had to have him plug directly into the input on the stage (using a 1/4 inch to xlr cable). The sound was awful! After purchasing a PRO DI and having the acoustic player plug into it the sound quality was drastically better. These DIs not only sound great, but the rugged design and durability is superb. Stop looking at cheaper DIs and buy this one. It is worth the money!

  • from South Dakota December 21, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Excellent! Pure signal thru and No noise!

    I have always used low priced DI boxes, because I didn't really understand what they did. I just knew I had to convert my guitar signal through one of these to run long distances through the snake... until the sound engineer at a show came up and said, "Use this DI box. I'm getting noise through yours." He handed me the ProDI, and what a difference! I still don't really know how they work, but I do know there is a huge difference. I bought my own!

  • from October 12, 2011Music Background:
    Soung Guy / Average Guitarist

    Absolutely Worth It

    Never thought our direct boxes were that big of a deal until I went to buy a new one. I thought the $30-$50 ones would give you what you needed. I was so wrong, professional musician friend convinced me to give thie a try, and I'll never go back to cheap DI's. The difference was startling, and actually made me feel really foolish for using the cheap ones for so long. Spend the money, it's a fraction of what your guitar cost and it makes all the difference.

  • from Philippi, WV July 14, 2011Music Background:
    Instrumental Musician, Instructor, Live Sound Engineer

    Excellent Quality! Worth the money!

    Granted, a DI is usually not considered a "cool" piece of gear. It comes with no effects, and is usually not something you can impress somebody with. But for those who are serious about clean, unaltered sound, then a quality DI is very much in demand.

    The Pro DI goes beyond quality, both in sound and construction. These things may literally be bullet-proof! Short of repeated drops from the top of a building onto pavement, one would be hard-pressed to damage the internal components. Also, with the outer "jacket" being slightly larger than the main body, a direct impact to the jacks due to a drop is nearly impossible. Being indestructible, however, means nothing if the sound is bad, but this DI sounds great! They are crystal clear, allowing only the true sound of the instrument pass through.

    I replaced three budget DI boxes in my church with three Pro DI units, and the difference was immedeate and drastic. As other reviewers have mentioned, the Jensen-equipped units are probably even better (if that's possible), but for the modest sound system at my church, these are as good as it gets.

    Do not hesitate to shell out a few extra dollars on this DI. High dollar instruments and accessories can only sound their best if the DI isn't junk. The Pro DI, however, is aptly named, because it truly is a professional piece of equipment. Highly recommended!

  • from Massillon, OH September 5, 2010Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Rock Solid

    We are using six at church and are ordering more because they are great!

  • from Cincinnati, OH USA February 25, 2009Music Background:
    Recording and Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician

    Awesome DI

    I've used direct boxes before, both in live and studio applications. Usually it's been bass or acoustic guitar. I recently had the need to put a DI on my pedal board since my newest electric guitar has a piezo bridge in it. All I can say is I don't need to take an acoustic guitar with me to gigs any more.

    The ProDI is built like a TANK, too! The housing is 14 gauge press-broken steel. Run over it with your car, I dare you. You can't hurt it!

    Easily the VERY BEST DI under $100. Possibly the best DI under $200

  • from SC January 12, 2008Music Background:
    live sound engineer

    awesome!!!

    Thanks to the wonderful delivery guy who left the package in front of my garage door, it got ran over...and it held up and still worked perfect. How's that for durability? Oh yeah, it sounds awesome!!!

  • from Knoxville, TN, USA March 25, 2007Music Background:
    Religious Live sound Engineer

    You definetely get what you pay for

    I used to use a Behringer DI100 as in some other stores, its got a good reviews. But recently I had to buy another DI box for an active bass guitar, and then i realized how bad was the performance of the DI100. You can get cheaper DI's in the market. But I have learned that it is wise to spend a little bit more money and get better products like this one.
    It is a very simple DI box, with no fancy stuff like the Radial JDI. But it will definitely do its job with an amazing quality, without having to break the bank.
    It is very easy to use, and your musicians will love it.
    You will not get disappointed.

  • from Phillips March 4, 2017Music Background:
    Total Hack

    Radial PRO DI

    I bought two of these to use in conjunction with a new Mackie board I had to eliminate miced amps in the small recording area I had, in favor of a feedback free direct signal. I know, using a mic is usually considered "the best" way to go, but I needed something else.

    These quite simply have everything you need, nothing you don't. They are inexpensive, built to withstand even the worst mistreatment and do exactly what they are supposed to do, with no fidgety tweaking or adjustments required. They really are "plug and play."

    Electronic hum and ground noise went from a bit annoying to zero the second I plugged in, and the signal to the board is clean, full and works great for recording. Using older guitars without shielded cavities? This will fix any interference problems that might cause, with no modification to the instrument.

    Admittedly, I have not owned them long, but the way they are built I'm not too concerned about durability, and if you read pervious reviews, you won't find any complaints in that area.

    I highly recommend these, even just for the casual musician who wants a dead clean/clear signal to their amp or board. Try it; you will like it. You really have nothing to lose as Sweetwater has a fantastic return policy on anything that does not meet your expectations, though this little tool will measure up.

  • from Idaho August 5, 2015

    Radial Pro DI Box

    We recently purchased 3 Radial Pro DI boxes and replaced our older less expensive D boxes. Wow, what a difference in sound quality with our guitars and keyboards. As usual, great products, great prices and great support!

  • from July 14, 2015

    Radial Pro DI

    Needed a DI box to take out hum noise through a sound system where I work and this was recommended. Worked great so I purchased this one for my personaluse with my acoustic electric and it works great.

  • from Massachusetts March 12, 2015Music Background:
    drummer, recording

    works well for roland v-drums

    this seems like a fine product. i am using it to connect my roland v-drums (TD-10) to an audio interface (for recording) as well as to a keyboard amp (for hearing the drums). the drums have stereo out so i bought two (rather than the pro-d2) in case i later want to re-purpose these, and because i can send one wire left and another wire right. by using the "thru" out to the amp there is never any latency when recording. and the xlr out mates with the audio interface's xlr-in. i am not an expert so maybe there is a better way but this works. also, by using xlr to the interface i can set a good record level, whereas going 1/4 inch from drums to interface would bypass the interface's preamps (my signal level was too low when trying it this way). as others have said, the box seems very strong, i bet you could drive a car over it without damaging the circuits. the sound quality seems fine too, i am using the "lift" button so i guess that interferes with any ground loop that might be going on. perhaps cheaper ones would work but i am happy with these, seems like a good company with some good products.

  • from Michigan December 29, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    It actually IS a better passive DI

    For a passive DI, I have always thought they were basically the same. I heard so much about the Radial difference, I took the plunge. In a direct A-B comparison at home running into a Roland AC-60 amp up against a trusty Whirlwind IMP 2 (which itself is a very good DI and has all the same basic features), the Radial Pro DI gave a cleaner, louder and "thicker" sound.

    At a gig, to specifically test this DI in a real life situation, I used my acoustic guitar with a Fishman Rare Earth Blend PU -- which I normally run through an active Baggs Para DI -- run straight into the board via the Pro DI . (This gig at a multi-act benefit concert did not allow time for a sound check.) I had no hands-on at the sound board --I expect the Radial used a little more gain at the board than an active DI would have. But the sound was warm, full and rich, all with no fuss.

    No regrets on this purchase. I expect to be using this more often, especially on those occasions, such as festivals or guest spots, where I need to just plug in and go. I give it a 4.5 instead of 5 only because I wish it were less than 100 bucks!

  • from Saratoga Springs, NY USA July 14, 2011Music Background:
    Enthusiastic Hobbyist Musician

    Exactly What We Needed

    The combo amp that the bass player in our church worship band uses as a monitor lacks a "line out" to connect to the sound system. With the Radial Pro DI he simply plugs his bass into the input, sending a signal to his monitor via the "Thru" jack, and a balanced signal to the church sound system through the XLR output. Problem solved.

  • from Huntsville, AL February 2, 2009Music Background:
    Amateur

    A wonderful brick

    It is a very nice unit. The construction sensibilities impressed me down to the components and PC board used. They are designed to survive considerable abuse and they really do sound good. Lesser units color the signal. Yes, it isn't the Jensen transformer. It sure looks like they sure were inspired by one. It does nice things to keys and is a great improvement over cheap active DI's on things like Pods or electric acoustic outputs.

  • from Columbus Ga. March 21, 2016Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Pro Musician

    This product works like a charm. This direct box makes the
    Keyboard clearer and full sounding.

  • from July 23, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Sound

    Reliable Clean

    Worth the money.

  • from Atlanta, GA USA July 26, 2011Music Background:
    Church Music Director

    Great DI

    I bought this to replace another passive direct box that says IMP on it, because I suspected a Radial DI would to a better job. And I was right. The entire band noticed when I put the Radial PRO DI on the keyboard. The guitarist said it was like someone took a blanket off the sound.

    I am very pleased with the Radial PRO DI. It sounds great, it's built like a tank, and is affordable. I'm saving up for another one!

  • from Ferndale, Washington September 5, 2012Music Background:
    Lay audio expert/installer, worship leader & Senior Pastor

    Just as I expected

    Ok...I would have given it 5 points but not the "blown away" part. I chose Radial because I know I will get bullet proof excellence. I'm done buying cheap DI boxes!

Questions about the Radial ProDI 1-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway