0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Radial ProD2 2-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box Reviews

4.5 stars based on 32 customer reviews
Questions about the Radial ProD2 2-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box?

Questions about the Radial ProD2 2-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Cristian Good

    The Radial ProD2 is one of the most durable DI boxes I've ever used. I've had mine for many years, and I've never had to worry about it failing. It's also sounds great, ensuring that there's no noticeable coloration in the transformer. I'll never get rid of my ProD2.

  • from May 6, 2017Music Background:
    music teacher

    Good sound, built tough

    I was going to give a 5, but the description of a 5 is "Blown Away" which we should probably reserve for special occasions:) It is as the reviews say. I previously owned a DI which colored the sound, but the PROD2 is clean sounding. It really is built like a tank, too. The Ground Lift does drastically reduce hum, and the two INs/OUTs means I can hook up two synths to it. A good value

  • from Worthington, OH March 30, 2017

    DIs are not created equal

    Good DIs are 100% worth the money—don't buy great gear and compromise it by playing through a cheap one! Sounds like we took a blanket off our digital piano compared to the off-brand we had before. Sturdy and noise-free.

  • from Grays Creek NorthCarolina September 12, 2016

    Radial ProD2

    Probably the best passive DI out there.

  • from Tennessee August 24, 2016

    Extremely Versatile

    What a great piece of gear that can be used for multiple needs! I use this mostly for guitar directly out of my pedal board. All of my post-preamp effects are stereo and I run my board through a TwoNotes amp/cabinet simulator either to my DAW for recording or to the board for live performance when a real guitar amp is too loud for small venues. Both applications sound beautiful through this. It can be used as two mono DIs or one stereo. It can even be run "in reverse" from low-impedance to high impedance for use as a re-amping device. And it's very sturdy - no worries about damage from normal use. Great buy.

  • from Boston June 22, 2016Music Background:
    Berklee, guitar + piano + synthesizers 40 + yrs.

    Radial Pro D2

    This is the first review I've done for any gear, or any business. But the folks at Sweetwater are so cool, professional, and they are not hard sell guys either. I was in sales for many many years, and I've been guilty of using hard sell. It generally dosn't work. But I've been talking to my sales engineer, probably for 3 years or more, and he's given me good advice. OK, on with the show; we all know what DI's are, and if you are recording, you need 'em.I play both acoustic and electric guitar, and I have 5 synths. I got the D2 so that when I want to track a stereo synth I'm good
    d. But I've used it on guitar, why not? Just like it says, built like a tank, the machining, fit and finish, the silk screening, jacks and buttons all top quality. They work, they are indestructable, and they look great. I'm going to be getting more of these. You can't go wrong. Hope this is helpful.

  • from Columbia, MO July 13, 2015Music Background:
    Keyboardist, singer, songwriter

    DI To the Rescue!

    This is my 3rd Pro D2 box and I have to say if you're a keyboard player you better be using one of these boxes, they are the best for keyboards! Hands down. I now have 1 for each keyboard. Easy to set up, one box for stereo, not like the cheap ones you get and have to have 1 for each side, and are built tough and sturdy! You'll be glad you chose this direct box.

  • from St. Louis, Mo. June 26, 2015

    Great DI.

    This is the my first time using a DI.
    Very easy to use. I use it in my studio.
    It doesn't use batteries. You just connect it and
    forget it.

  • from May 4, 2015Music Background:
    Sound Tech/Engineer

    Solid Quality

    We bought them used on stereo keys and DJ mixers with 1/4 outputs. We been happy with them as we feel they provide a quality sound for EDM music.

  • from April 2, 2015

    ProD2

    Always reliable.

  • from Buffalo, NY United States March 10, 2015Music Background:
    working musician

    FANTASTIC DI!!!!

    As a keyboard player I've had my share of DI's over the years. This Radial ProD2 blows me away. It's passive - no battery or phantom power required - and it sounds SO much better than the less expensive DI's I've used. My sound man asked me what I changed because my keys are so much warmer and have much better detail than before. Built like a tank (I saw a sound guy use one of these to prop up a wedge last week: no lie), this thing is fantastic.

  • from Chico, CA November 11, 2014Music Background:
    Part time professional in a working band.

    Made the difference!

    I own a Yamaha Motif XF which are known for having hum issues when running directly into the main board.
    I had tried the cheaper rand active DI but could not predict the outcome at any given venue.
    Finally out of frustration, I did some research and decided to try the ProD2.
    My keyboard has never sounded better! The signal was clean and free of hum, and it just sounded richer.
    Our drummer who is a picky son-of-a-gun said "your keyboard sounds REALLY good!"
    That was a first time for that!
    Sure, it's not the $300 radial DI, and it's more expensive than many, but it does a great job. I'll buy another soon for my other board!
    Highly recommended!

  • from LOS ANGELES November 4, 2014Music Background:
    AUDIO PROFESSIONAL (COMPOSER, MUSICIAN, ENGINEER)

    A good solid unit

    This passive box is very clean and warm sounding. The build is excellent. I should get many years of good use out of it.

  • from Ann Arbor, Michigan October 2, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician / Recording Engineer

    Pro D2

    It did exactly what I needed it to do! Great DI box

  • from South Windsor, CT August 26, 2014Music Background:
    Worship band musician, recording hobbyist

    Solid and Flexible

    Perfect DI box for running your keys to FOH in stereo. This baby is solid; you can feel the quality. Box has the date on it so you know about when it was made. The thru jacks are great for running your own monitoring for the keys so you can hear yourself clearly above the general monitor mix on stage.

  • from Sanford Florida July 17, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Perfect Direct Box for Keyboards

    The Pro D2 has met all my needs and cut my set up time by 30%. The product is everything of come to expect from Radial. Keep up the good and consistent work.

  • from York, Pa June 25, 2014Music Background:
    Sound guy for the local band

    Solved alot of problems

    Now we're able to run the key board and drums thru the mixer with no issues, We had no problems with the key board except when I ran it thru the mixer, always sounded like the reverb was on when it wasn't. With the Pro D2 the key board has great sound even when running thru the mixer

  • from Indianapolis, IN May 5, 2014Music Background:
    Church A/V Leader

    Rock solid DI

    Perfect for getting 2 DI's in a small space. This is my second, and I don't have to worry about them at all!

  • from St. Louis, MO. USA February 27, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend wariour.

    Works great ,built like a tank

    I have other Radial DI's I got this one to use with my Stereo Trance audio amulet in my Gibson SJ
    This DI brings the signal pure and strong to the board. Works great when tracking or playing live ,Radial ProD2 a name you can depend on to to the job.

  • from Philadelphia November 8, 2013

    Rugged and dependable

    Purchased for live and studio use with keys and synths. Works well and have had no issues with dependability. Construction appears to be of high quality and I'm not worried about it getting beaten up at a gig.

  • from Peoria, AZ June 13, 2013Music Background:
    Pro......Christian Praise and Worship.....

    Don't SET UP without THIS!!!

    Going for the five big stars for this one! Solves all the equipment connection issues, and gets YOU up and running on your instruments ( a MUST HAVE for Keyboards)...sound tech can stay back in his or her booth....puts you in control of your connections,...this is clear, sound advice...call Aaron Cieslikowski, and order yours today. Don't settle for just one line out of your keyboard! Capture, and convey, the awesome full dimension of what your keys really sound like, with the Radial Pro D2 !

  • from Peoria, AZ June 10, 2013Music Background:
    Pro.....Christian Worship.....

    MUST HAVE !!!

    Solve all the sound connection issues, when you set up your gear, Especially keyboards!!! Used it for the first time in house of worship...fast, simple...2x 1/4" out of keyboard into Pro D2, 2x XLR's out of Pro D2 into snake...it's that simple...sound people don't even have to budge...and you can get on with what you're there for, provide clear and brilliant music. Call Aaron Cieslikowski, and get yours ordered TODAY !!!

  • from North Carolina May 13, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Great

    This box really cleans up the signals to my DAW. I've used it on Bass and Guitar effect outputs and was quite satisfied. The most dramatic improvement was with Digital Piano.

    This DI is a nice throwback to the days when products were solid, heavy, simple and reliable. If you think you might want one, you probably do.

  • from March 4, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician, keyboards player and producer

    An absolute must-have

    Just got it, and it's no less than amazing. The sound is crystal clear, crysp and the unit is built like a tank.
    What can I say...already planning to get a second ProD2 to hook other keyboards as well.

  • from Alabama January 17, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbist /Praise and Worship Leader

    A "Must Have"

    Great piece of gear and a "must have" for the digital instrumentalist especially. Humms........ they are a problem and most of the time the PROD2 can fix that . . . at the very least it will reduce the noise level to where it can be easily covered in a live performance. A little on the expensive side? Yea, but it does the job and I have about six of these and would not hesitate to purchase more if I needed them. These guys are rugged, simple to use and well worth the money.

  • from Chicago January 1, 2013Music Background:
    Music Director, Performer, Musician, Recording Hobbyist

    great box for reducing stage clutter

    This is my 2nd Pro D2 purchase. Radial DIs have a great reputation for quality sound & build but I actually like these stereo DIs best because they help me keep our stage a little tidier & trip-free:

    I've got one box receiving separate signals from a Korg M-50 & Roland Gaia 2-tier keyboard station. Then a second box to receive the stereo-split click/cues & loops from our D/A-and-MacBook setup.

  • from Michigan December 13, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician and recording artist

    Not going anywhere....

    Very simple device, but does its job wonderfully and, based on the solid construction, probably will for years to come.

  • from hawaii July 29, 2012Music Background:
    serious hoppyist.

    right on

    can't ask for more. Its build solid and sound great....i guess when buzzing sound is gone when appling the two ground lift is a good thing. Great "tool" to have if you care about sound. Worth the prize why? i guess when you realized you been wasting money on cheap Di that don't always do the job, you wish you just went ahead and get these radial DI. do youselve a favor and don't save some money and get guality DI like these ProD2 for your keys..or tool box.

  • from hawaii July 27, 2012Music Background:
    serious hoppyist.

    wow!

    exactly what i hoped for. got rid of ground loop in/out. Worth the price.

  • from Pennsauken, NJ June 17, 2012Music Background:
    Choir leader, home studio owner, worship leader

    Absolutely love them!

    Very, very please.

  • from Lansing, MI May 29, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Hobbyist

    Radial Pro D2

    Haven't had it long enough to give it a 5.0. Went to the recording studio and took it in case there were not enough 1/4" inputs. The engineer immediately took it and hooked it up to my keyboard. When the recording was done, it sounded great. He felt that it had a much better sound than going direct through guitar cables. This is a good clean, tough and reliable unit. After a few uses of it, I may upgrade this to a 5.0. Thanks.

  • from Toronto January 15, 2012Music Background:
    Composer

    Industry standard

    After spending time in a number of studios, I'm beginning to suspect these DI's are as common (and sturdy) as SM58s. For good reason, too - they're reliable, sound great, and serve a host of functions. I use one at home now to clean up my bass and guitar signals before tracking, and it kills the electrical hum of my keyboard. It will become a key component of your set-up, for sure.

  • from Tacoma, WA USA January 1, 2009Music Background:
    Amateur guitarist, live sound engineer, and electronics hobbyist

    Best value for my stereo rig

    I've used this on a variety of mono & stereo sources -- acoustic & electric guitars, bass, keyboards, even computers. It sounds pure & natural and has solved a lot of problems. When I first bought it, my brother commented on the tone of my acoustic guitar after I playing it at my church. He said it sounded more open & detailed, and sat better in the mix...but I hadn't even told him about my new purchase! When I did, he was surprised that the big improvement in tone was due to the one part of the signal chain that's supposed to be transparent. And at $75 per channel, it's the best value for those who want a pair of great DIs without spending $400.

Questions about the Radial ProD2 2-channel Passive Instrument Direct Box?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway