0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Motion Sound Pro-3X - 45W Rotary Horn Speaker Reviews

4.5 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Motion Sound Pro-3X - 45W Rotary Horn Speaker?

Questions about the Motion Sound Pro-3X - 45W Rotary Horn Speaker?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from February 27, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Definitely awesome

    Unfortunately this is my first leslie, so it might not mean much for comparison.. But damn, it's an AMAZING, light, low priced rotary, sounds incredibly awesome with a reasonable quality bass speaker.

    I use it with a Tokai (Ventura) TX5 brazilian clone, and a cheap guitar amp simulator stomp unit behringer GDI-21 to try to sound Jon Lordish, and pretty satisfied with it.

    Recommended to buy!

  • from oragon April 1, 2012Music Background:
    keyboard player

    Good sound

    I have had 4 leslies in my 45yre of playing and the pro 3x sounds just as good. Use a good low simulater amp and you will be satisfide

  • from Houston TX January 28, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Band Leader

    Move air, not bits

    First, I should say I've never played thru any kind of Leslie or "spinning speaker thingie" before. Up to now, it's been all sims. So I can't say this is just like a real Leslie, better than this model or not as good as that one. But for those of you wondering, it *is* better to move air than to move bits. I played it with my band for the first time last Saturday, and they really dug it, including the guy we were trying out on guitar (who we've asked to join us based on his performance that day). It was really cool, and even the recordings picked up the effect bouncing around the room (I record every jam with a stereo pair so we can listen back to what we did as well as find undiscovered gems instead of losing them to the ether).

    The Pro-3X was enough to fill our small "studio" room against the drummer, bass, and guitar player. The way my amp is set up, the Pro-3X is about at ear level when I'm sitting down. My right ear gets the brunt of it, which I do have to be careful about. It can be piercing!

    Providing the organ tone was my Roland VK-7. What was nice was that when you Bypass the rotary sim built-in the VK-7, you also bypass the amp model in the VK-7 as well (this only works if the amp model is Type I or Type II). This allows you to use the V-FET circuit in the Pro-3X to provide the overdrive. Combined with an expression pedal plugged into the VK-7, I was able to nicely control volume that went into overdrive as I pushed into the full range of the pedal and get some nice biting organ tones when I needed them.

    So far, so good. I am very happy with it.

    I should mention that I did have a weird glitch setting it up and moving it around shortly after it arrived. I had set it up in one location, and decided to move it to another. When I did that, I plugged the cable for the low end into Mix instead of Sim accidentally. For those that don't know, Sim gives just the low end rotor sim, while Mix gives you a controllable mix of low end and the miced real upper rotor. This can be used to send the complete signal to a PA or house mix, for example. So I moved the plug from Mix to Sim, and got nothing out of it, no static, not intermittent, nothing except hum. I played around with it, switching the plug back and forth between the two jacks, trying another cable (the cable I was using was brand new), running the output through my mixer instead of directly to one of my amp channels, etc. Suddenly, plugging back into Sim, it worked. A bit more playing with it and it came and went, but then it worked and has continued to work since. At this point, I'm happy to say it is working, and speaking with the guys at Motion Sound, they did not know what the issue was, as there is no switch or contact like that in the jack nor any setting that would disable the Sim output. I will call them while it is happening if it happens again.

    In summary, if you are using a sim built into your clone, or are considering moving air for any reason, you owe it to yourself to check this or something like it out. Just remember that some boards may have the Leslie effect in the samples themselves, and in that case, you'd be running the Leslie effect through the rotary speaker, which you probably don't want to do. But, if you can bypass the rotary effect, then you will find there is nothing like using a real rotary.

  • from Southern California May 7, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Pro-3x Sound Enhancement

    I wrote 2 reviews already on this great rotary speaker, but I just found another way to maximize the overall quality of the sound on the recommendation of a techie friend of mine. Run cords from the left and right outputs of your keys/organ, DIRECTLY to your main AMP, instead of your left output running to the Pro-3x as the owners manual suggests. What this does is send the full maximized left & right channel signals to your MAIN amp. Then run a cord from your keys/organ HEADPHONE output, DIRECTLY to your Pro-3x, then a chord from the Sim output of the Pro-3x to a separate channel on the MAIN amp. Now you have 3 sources of sound from your keys/organ going to your main amp. That increases the quality and volume of the sound coming from both amps at least 30%-50%! Enjoy!!!

  • from Springfield,Mo. December 22, 2006Music Background:
    Been playing in Rock Bands for over 40 years.

    Excellent Leslie Simulator !!!!!

    The Motion Sound Pro3X is a great addition to your Organ sound. I have only had mine for a week and still trying to get the settings right for the sounds I want, but it has blown me away. I used to have 2 Leslie 122s with a B-3 and this is the closest simulator I have seen since.I am using a E-MU B3 sound module. I believe a good quality low rotor sim amp is the key for getting that clear beautiful low end sound along with the crisp highs from the Horn.You would not be sorry for purchasing one of these Pro3X horns. Have a Great Day and ROCK ON !!!!!

  • from U.S.A. October 11, 2006Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Musician

    Leslie in a box.....SWEEEEEET!

    From the second that I turned this unit on it kicked out nothing but rotary sweetness! After about an hour of playing my xk-2 through this unit I was completely blown away....the fullness of the sound will certainly fool the most extreme B3 player...The lows are full and bold and the highs sparkle like the rotor on a 147....I did an experiment with a mic on the rotor as well as using the mix out...an AWESOME stereo-type effect....and if you get the mic in the right position, you get that wonderful mechanical sound. Five stars from this player. BRAVO Motion-Sound....PERFECTION!!

  • from Atlanta, GA USA July 1, 2008Music Background:
    Pro musician, recording engineer, live sound engineer

    Great unit....even records well in a live environment!

    I love motion sound products, and have the tube version of the Pro-3X. I have played this version, too, and really like it. Great tone, and very good control over the overall sound. The tubes in the Pro-3t are hard to replace (you need to disassemble the unit to get to the tube), so this version is more convenient.

    If you really want a great tone, run your organ/clone through a speakeasy vintage tube preamp before running the input to the motion sound. Oh - and you can ignore all of the posts here that talk about running your keyboard outputs direct into your amp and the headphone output to the motion sound. If your main amp is a good one, you won't want to blend a crappy direct sound with the motion sound - at least not for organ sounds. The only way that makes sense is to run an A/B switch box and blend a direct/stereo sound with the motion sound .... for RHODES patches.

    If you leave the motion sound speed on slow, and blend with the direct/stereo Rhodes sound, you end up with a killer overall Rhodes tone. You don't need to do this with a real Rhodes, though...

  • from Bloomington, IN May 22, 2008Music Background:
    45 years of rock, funk, R&B, and all the rest.

    Nice sound, beats lugging a 122

    I've used lots of Leslie effects and for a while toted a 710 Leslie around. For many years I osed the in-board effect on my Roland VK-7, but when I got my Nord C-1, I wasn't happy with the built-in, so I got a 3X. GREAT sound, love the ability to send the mixed signal to the board. The wind up and wind down are terrific, the real Doppler of the horn makes a terrific difference. Would I have a 122 if I had a roadie? No, I'd have 2 of them. But for the small rooms I'm playing now and my advanced age, this is a GREAT box. Highly recommended, really rocks.

  • from Southern California April 13, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Pro-3X location

    One important thing I forget to share in my review, is that you get a fuller, better sound and stereo effect, if you separate the Pro-3X from your amp by at least 5 ft. You can hear the frequencies below 800 HZ through your amp speakers as well as through the Pro-3X speakers. I'm not sure how it's done electronically, but when the Pro-3x is hooked-up to your amp, you can get the full organ sound out of both units simultaneously.

  • from Southern California April 13, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    The Pro-3X - A Welcome Addition

    I recently purchased a Pro-3X from Jeff and Shane - just on their recommendation without ever hearing it before. I did not know what to expect - I already had heard the Pro-145 and liked that amp very much. But I already had the Roland KC-500 and just wanted to add a real spinning rotor to authenticate the Leslie sound for use with my Hammond XM-2 module (also purchased from Jeff and Shane). The amp sound is very close to that of the Leslie 145 and 122. With the proper tweaking, you can get it to sound exactly like those Leslies. The Pro-3X only has one input for a 1/4" line running from your keyboard output channel. Then you run a line from the Pro-3x SIM output to your amplifier channel. Since most keyboards have a pair of output channels, I found that also running a line from the second keyboard channel directly to a separate channel on my amplifier (my KC-500), gives me a fatter organ sound when mixed with the channel the Pro-3X is connected to. Since my XM-2 already has a fabulous digital leslie simulation onboard, you then have the option of kicking in this leslie in addition to the Pro-3Xs leslie sound. You can have interesting effects by turning on the slow speed rotor on the Pro-3X, and then adding the fast rotor on you keyboard to the sound. There are lots of possible combinations - the sky is the limit! The price and the low weight of this unit, makes it superior to having to lug a real Leslie around to your next gig. I'm very pleased with this amp.

  • from AZ October 4, 2016

    Great Sound

    First of all I come from the old school of organist, B3, M3, leslie 122, 145, 147, and Hammond 2101. I now have a Hammond XK3c Proline system with Motion Sound Pro 3x. The low end sim is handled by a Roland 550 18 inch speaker at 180 watts, and I don't miss those other units. It's perfectly adequate for my gigs sounds the same or better. The organ is tweaked to sound like a 1958 B3 courtesy of Jim Alfredson and the Pro 3x does it supreme justice! The 2101 had more parameters to adjust and was deeper, but the Motion Sound holds up just as good if not better. Do yourself a favor buy a Motion Sound Rotary Speaker, you won't be sorry!!!!!

  • from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada July 3, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby

    Motion Sound Pro-3X

    It took me a bit of time to dial in. Mainly because it requires another amp working with the Pro 3X to amplify the bottom simulated rotor. If organ is your main instrument or sound, then moving air like a Leslie is the only way to go. The Pro 3X is an easy way to do it. Compact and light.

    Observation:
    I removed the cover on the Pro 3X to adjust the horn RPM, which is a bit of a pain. Certainly not much inside, might be a bit overpriced in my opinion. It would be nice to have access to the adjustments without having to remove the cover.
    One problem I had, and it may be related to my gear. I run a mix and the lower drum to my amp. There was a lot of unwanted noise (hum and buzz) introduced into my setup. Fortunately, my amp has an effects loop so I added a Boss NS 2 Supressor pedal to quiet it down. The pedal worked great, no more noise.

  • from United States July 13, 2013Music Background:
    Player, producer, recording engineer and songwriter

    motion sound pro3x

    This little 45 watt system really cooks. I had trouble with seperation from the sim amp, but did some math and came up with a 12" stand. It sounds awesome. I was surprised at the perforomance.

  • from diamond bar ca June 12, 2016

    excellent sound but not so reliable and not quite as good as a tube sounding leslie

    excellent sound but not so reliable and not quite as good as a tube sounding leslie

    If I had a stronger back id go for a real leslie due to the fact that its a tube amp and gona distort much more pleasantly than a digital or analog one like this.but for being small this is the right choice. i have another full motion sound system top and bottom and it failed on me twice,first time the decel adjustment was broken internally so it was stuck on super slow decel which was lame, and second thing was the speaker was distorting , so they need better customer service and people who know how to work on em since its basically impossible to get a hold of anyone but luckily they do have schematics for it so its not the end of the world. if these dudes would put a tube preamp in here coupled with a solid state power amp it would be even better than the real thing I think.these are however a realistic solution to live gigging as lelies are beasts!shoot me an email

Questions about the Motion Sound Pro-3X - 45W Rotary Horn Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway