0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Audio-Technica Pro 37 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Audio-Technica Pro 37?

Questions about the Audio-Technica Pro 37?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Adam Chesi

    These little guys are amazing! Great on kit overheads, high-hat, acoustic guitar, and even the right vocalist. For the price, you won't find anything better than the Audio-Technica Pro 37!

  • Jon Gillespie

    I LOVE the Po 37! For a smooth, even, and accurate sound on a very reasonable budget, these are my go-to mics for cymbals... I especially love the "ping" that it captures on ride cymbals! Every studio that records acoustic drums should keep a handful of these in their mic closet!

  • from Salt Lake City, UT December 7, 2012Music Background:
    Home Recording Enthusiast

    Wonderful on Hats and Ride

    Got a pair of these to add to my drum mic set, and all i can say is that this little guy is just incredible. Really love the sound i get out of my Hi-hats and my ride cymbal. I have also used this on acoustic guitar and got a very great sound. Would highly recommend a pair of these in every studio.

  • from Strong, Maine July 13, 2012Music Background:
    Home recording enthusiast

    Long love affair

    I bought one of these in 1992 and use it for acoustic guitar. I thought they must be long out of production, but was surprised to see them here for $130 and still going strong. 'Great mic. I love the thing! It takes a licking and keeps on kicking.

  • from Indiana January 1, 2007Music Background:
    digital recording since win 95 was out

    excellent piccolo snare mic

    excellent for snare, as well as high hats too.I have also used it with remo roto toms, which are difficult to mic, and was very pleased with the result, incredible sound, note, so hot sometimes, I use a band pass software to edit out other stuff(or gate it)

  • from Staunton, Va February 15, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Pastor, Musician, Singer

    A Great Value

    This mic was a great addition to our mic closet at church. I originally purchased these to mic our choir. They worked great - much better than the vocal dynamic mics I had before. I've also used it to mic a flute This past week I used it as a lecturn mic for a special service and was blown away, especially by the gain before feedback. I'd love to try a pair the next time we use an acoustic piano in the room. It is a great building block as we continue to upgrade our system.

  • from Charlotte, NC USA November 25, 2009Music Background:
    Musician (Bluegrass, old-time, contradances), live sound engineer

    A "Swiss Army" microphone

    I've used this mic for guitars (great), fiddle (also great) and vocals (very, very good). Two of them, in an X-Y configuration, are my absolute favorite "single-mic" setup -- beats the h*** out of large-cap condensers for this rather specialized use.

  • from New City, NY October 2, 2008Music Background:
    Songwriter / Engineer

    Love these on acoustic guitar

    These are my favorite in a stereo pair on acoustic guitar. One at the 12th fret, the other over the shoulder pointing at the bridge parallel with the body. Also great in a stereo pair for micing the soundboard of an upright piano, also when micing above, pointing into open top. I get a nice clear warm tone with these mics. For the price, these things are a steal. I must add though, that I do not like them on acoustic guitar using only one mic. For mono micing, I much prefer an LDC like the AT4033.

  • from San Antonio, TX March 14, 2014Music Background:
    Audio Production

    Great condenser mic

    Superb pickup of acoustic guitar. Also used with the Pro-37 I got in my audio kit for audio production classes as a pair configured in Glynn Johns method of picking up drums and cymbals. Still experimenting with it for other recording venues. Nice and compact.

  • from Houston, TX August 30, 2013Music Background:
    Sound guy and amp builder

    Perfect for recording live drum overheads

    I was looking for a pair of SD condensers, inexpensive enough to be part of live recording rig, and still good enough to get outstanding individual tracks to mix for a live CD. With a bit of attention to placement, these Pro 37s really delivered. A lot of bang for the buck!

  • from Orlando, FL, USA December 21, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer, FOH, and Musician

    Great sound and convertible

    I really like these for the high end reproduction, like overheads and those nice acoustic guitar overtones. I was in a jam and needed an Omni so I used electricians tape to cover the ports...pretty decent omni!

  • from Stone Lake, WI July 1, 2005

    Pro 37 - bluegrass bass

    I've used these on stand-up basses playing bluegrass with great results. Just pop it in a stand and aim at the f-hole. Has good reach.

Reviews

  • Adam Chesi
    9-24-2012

    When I first got my Audio Technica Pro37 my first thought was, "How is something this small supposed to be so useful?!" I had read review after review of these, from Steve Albini claiming these were among the best mics you could get in the sub-$200 range, to my professor's glowing endorsement, but none of them quite prepared me for exactly how tiny these mics are. I mean, these things are small, even for a pencil condenser. Of course, the first thing I did was try them out.

    First thing I applied this to in a real world setting was an orchestral recording. I used it as a spot mic on classical harp and found that it was perfectly present upon the setting. Just enough highs to not be overly harsh, while maintaining the clarity required for a harp. After this, I went from one source to the next, trying to find something that was poorly represented through these. Using it on snare drum gave a great sound, until the drummer started playing too loud and it started to distort. After that, I tried them as overheads and as a high-hat mic, where it excelled at both, and even has its place alongside a dark ribbon on guitar cabs.

    The next thing that I had to do was try them on a source that is a little less conventional for a small diaphragm condenser, the female voice. After hearing it on a classically trained vocalist, I was floored. These little things surpassed all my expectations for any small diaphragm condenser, especially at the price point.

    These mics are wonderful little workhorses that can be applicable in nearly every situation. From live orchestral, to rock band studio, these guys will capture it all.

Questions about the Audio-Technica Pro 37?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway