0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Tomorrow

Rupert Neve Designs Portico II MBP Reviews

5.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Rupert Neve Designs Portico II MBP?

Questions about the Rupert Neve Designs Portico II MBP?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Hollywood, CA September 10, 2016Music Background:
    Semi retired TV/Film Composer and musician

    Oh how Sweet it is!

    Got this because when I had a director over he asked me if I could redo another composers bad 6 cues in a feature film. I ordered this from Sweetwater 2nd day air. Nick Church set it all up with cables and nice rack.
    It came, I needed to pull off a miracle. See the music was with a live Orchestra and some synth. So I had to MATCH the real players with all the other stuff i bought from Sweetwater. Vienna, Omnisphere, EastWest, Komplete etc. The Director came back over in 4 days to hear the re-written cues and final mix. Holy crap so little time to do this. So I ran my final mix through Neve's 5043, 5012 then Portico II MBP at the very end of the chain like a finalizer. The Director was blown away. I was like "Yea Good old Rupert Neve" he never lets you down! Sounds with SILK BLUE and RED. Just a little bit of fuzz for that big recording sound.
    This allowed me to pull the brass into the mix position i wanted on stereo image. It took off all that DIGITAL Brittleness and sharp edges giving back the real sound of real players. SFE to COMP is awesome. Got rid off all those unwanted transients that like to move in your mix property!
    Smother out the levels perfect. You have to TWEAK it! The sound sonically is so full spectrum and warm, smooth as SILK and above all the director took the mix on a jump drive. I GOT PAID! This unit paid for itself within the first week!! can't say that happens very often in my life. If you are a pro, and want to make your studio sound better then the best, then this unit is for you. If you are a struggling starving musician..this unit is for you!. Your mixes and masters will foot to the top of the pile. Thank you Rupert for 30 years of the BEST sounding equipment. If I ever had a dream it would be to own your 5060 with a 5059, and a Portico II Channel. That would allow me to never leave my home, and deliver a master to Directors and Producers!! This is the most amazing fixer. It brings truth to the Hollywood phrase "So good you can put **it in and gold platinum comes out the other end" Awesome top notch. BUY THIS!
    You will never regret it. Oh never sell this! as Neve stuff triples in price. Thank You Sweetwater for caring Neve products. If you can't afford this pick up a Neve 5012 or 5043. I have a saying. "end to end Neve,...one will never grieve!!" This is what the best use!

    Cheers

  • from Wa. September 9, 2016Music Background:
    Musician/ producer

    Portico 2

    I don't give 5 unless it really does blow me away. It's the final touch to my studio.

  • from Oklahoma City, OK July 15, 2016Music Background:
    lots o' stuff

    MY FAVORITE OUTBOARD GEAR

    WOW. This alone with the stereo field processing is worth it. First off, you have the most unique compressor that you'll find out there. Blend, Texture, and of course Attack, Ratio, Release, gain, etc., so many options I don't know where to begin but rest assured, your recordings will improve 20 fold at the least if you get this compressor. I find I like to adjust the Stereo Field Processing by making it very wide on one guitar, then the other guitar is very narrow almost mono. And the two blend together just perfectly. Just take a look at the comp's they have out today. There's nothing like the MBP. Its revolutionizing my session quality. Its adding character and depth that I thought would only be possible with an audio engineering degree and a REAL studio. Not so. This baby packs a punch and it ain't cheap but think about it. Desert Island comp. The ole desert island allegory. Yup this is a desert island comp the only one you will EVER need. Nothing comes close. And don't worry about the "mastering" part. I use it with my mixbus all the time and its great. No problem. I wouldn't use it tracking nor would I use any outboard gear via tracking. Mastering is something I well....haven't mastered yet so right now I'm just getting my feet wet. But I can tell you the MBP is the best compressor that exists out there and there is a reason why it costs $4000.00. Just my two cents but compare this to an LA2A or an 1176 you have two knobs. Thats it. Now that may show my ignorance about compressors but you get so much more with the MBP. Just don't spend chump change on a piece of junk. Save on, get a job, beg,borrow but don't steal....and get this right away you won't regret it!

  • from SF, Bay Area February 26, 2016Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Artist

    Neve Quality

    "Let's run it through the Neve," has become the most highly repeated phrase in my studio. The Neve. I don't really need to say much more.

    At first, I was kind of baffled. I was turning all of the knobs and pressing all of the buttons, and I was wondering why I wasn't changing the sound. And then I realized, holy crap, I am not changing the sound. I am achieving 12-15 db of gain reduction without chopping off any transients. My mixes are being returned to my DAW at - 5 db RMS without a lick of distortion and with a roundness and tightness in the low end that I have never before achieved ITB. I am retaining punch and clarity with absolutely zero added artifacts.

    I wanted a device in which I could manipulate multiple parameters and I have found it. No matter what knob I turn, I seem to add to the integrity of the mix. The silk Red is extremely audible. Turning the knob all the way to the right is tempting, but is a bit much, as I have come to realize. the Silk Blue adds harmonic warmth that my EQs just can't boost.

    Other MEs use different limiters, but I will just comp my mix bus, print it, and send it right back through the limiter for mastering. This is a major musical weapon and if you can afford it, what are you waiting for? Buy it.

    The newer version has the highpass sidechain set at 125 Hz unlike what is pictured, which is a relief, because that is much more useful than the original 250 Hz design.

    My music has drastically improved with this in my arsenal. All of my clients are asking me to bus their music through the Neve, which to me, means it's paying for itself.

  • from February 12, 2016Music Background:
    Singer, Piano Player, Sound Engineer

    Smoothness, Punch, Detailed sound all in one!!!

    I've recently purchased this devise and I have found no draw back and complain about it specially the new "Bypass All" button in newer models is very handy, thanks rupert neve designs, It is way more practical compared to "Shadow hills Mastering Compressor" and more versatile compared to "Dangerous Music Compressor" specially with SFE and Mid-Sid section ..... after testing it in just 2 weeks I have to say my dream come true, you can see my test in my youtube channel
    regards

  • from Pennsylvania December 2, 2015Music Background:
    Music Producer / Recording Artist

    The Sound of Euphoria

    I've been reading reviews for years on Sweetwater, and it's time I contributed. First off, I want to give a shout out to my rep Robby Resnick. I've been working with him for years. He's smart, straightforward, patient, and will listen to your recording aspirations and help you get there.

    Now onto the MBP. I run this primarily via my summing amp on insert. I'm an all-around producer/musician, and a serious artist and composer. Since there are plenty of tech terms and specs that you can find on this piece of gear, so I'd like to speak as an artist.

    Think of what high fashion does to the appearance of a model. If my music is the model, the MBP cloaks her with an ecstatic glow. Warm, open, gorgeous audio. Modern Neve tone. Compelling…the depth it adds allows you to listen more "into" the track. If you're work is already off the ground, this will take it to the moon. The comp has everything you need: side chain filter, blend knob, feed forward or back style, etc. The limiter is sweet and smooth. Silk modes are subtle at first impression, but after awhile you'll find it goes a long way and is more than enough at max. Give the stereo field editor some time and it's super useful when dialed in with taste. Mid/side option is stellar.

    We live in a time when owning a couple of great pieces of gear make independent careers for artists and producers not only possible but competitive. You have the benefit of Mr. Neve's life's work in this piece.

  • from San Tan Valley, AZ November 4, 2015Music Background:
    Electronic Music Producer, Mix Engineer

    Worth the wait

    I waited almost 2 months for this to become available and boy was it worth the wait. I was able to remove two plugins from my mastering chain because of this one unit. The MBP has given my masters more life and more punch. If you are looking for something to add that final glaze to your master, this is the unit for sure. The only drawback is that i wish i would have gotten it long-ago so i could have processed all my masters with it. Rupert Neve Designs did a bang-up job as always. Thank you Jared (my sweetwater mega sales rep) and RND.

  • from Dallas, Texas November 3, 2015Music Background:
    Recording and Mastering Engineer @ Nomad Recording Studio

    The missing link

    After a ton of research and recommendations I chose the Neve product. Right out of the box this unit performed beyond my expectations. The Neve Portico MBII takes my mastering, mixing and tracking to another level. The missing link has been filled by this fantastic piece of hardware.

  • from CT February 3, 2015

    Worthy of Anyone's Mastering Chain

    This thing has all the braun and polish I could conceive to ask for. I'll save the dissertation, and just say it does its job incredibly well. Run your mix through this and it just gives a radio-ready polish and bold strength to the sound that I've not encountered elsewhere, and I've owned several nice compressors, including a Shadow Hills Dual Vandy. This is my favorite to date - it sounds completely natural, even when pushed decently - it is a huge enhancer without making its own presence known to the listener, IMO.

    The one-knob limiter is intuitive and works very well, and the stereo imaging section is a cool toy. Depending on your style, it may be of significant use or not much at all, and I'm sure there are forum threads in existence where that is a hot point of debate. I've been messing with it and found that it's easy to over-use, but useful when used with restraint.

  • from Miami, FL November 26, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Producer, Recording Engineer, 25 years of experience

    Amazing!!!

    This unit is AMAZING!! You can't go wrong with this piece of gear. Anything that you dial with this device sounds like a record.
    It's unbelievable what Rupert Neve achieved with this unit. It's an expensive equipment, but when you put your hands on it, you are going to feel that you paid nothing for it.

  • from Chicago, IL November 20, 2013

    A Modern Day Studio Classic Is What This Is!

    I'm really holding myself back from going on a super long rant about how great this piece of gear is, so I'll try to keep it short and sweet.

    1. It's built like a tank! Solid! Knobs (all step) and buttons feel sturdy and reliable. The unit has some weight to it!
    2. It sounds great! Super clean and transparent compression and with the Silk (Red/Blue) options, you really get 3 total tonal sounds in 1 unit to fit whatever source you're running through it. That in and of itself to me justifies the price point.
    3. The SFE (Stereo Field Editor) is an amazing, thoughtful, and invaluable addition to the unit. Once engaged, with no gain, you can hear the signal open up or gain depth. Add gain to taste and voila!

    Plus there's the Side-Chain, Parallel Comp Mix, ability to feed the SFE into the Compressors....I mean with all these additional features I'm surprised the unit doesn't sell for more. This is a Mastering Grade compressor with a lot of additional features and functionality. Trust me this is great investment! The MBP now lives on my 2-Bus and I absolutely love what it does in adding analogue mojo!

  • from Chicago IL September 13, 2013Music Background:
    Recording and Mixing Engineer, Pro Musician

    Very Nice

    When I received this box I was a little intimidated because of all the versatility it had. I really didn't know where to begin but after running some tracks through it drums vocal guitars bass really has become my go to compressor on everything it really is a awesome piece of gear if you get a chance to try it out or hear it in action before you buy it I would advise you do so you truly have to experience it to know what I'm talking about., in all my years of dealing with compressors this one has a remarkable clarity. For the compressor alone it is very well worth it. But It is much more than just a compressor.

  • from GSP South Carolina March 20, 2013Music Background:
    Certified Pro Engineer, Artist, A&R

    John Frye Mixed w/ Bernie Grundman

    This box will take away jobs from most of mastering & mix engineers! Anyone hip hop or R&B label should invest in this unit and streamline your workflow. If they would have included the tape emulator, this box would be unstoppable. Manley, TubeTech, & all others kick rocks!

  • from January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician,producer,programmer & arranger

    Mind blowing sound and unlimited warmth and power

    This thing is a monster. Clear winner I pass all my tracks through this mbp before mixing in box and the way it makes the sound fuller and full of presence is unthinkable. So warm and powerfull. Also the slik is just amazing. Stereo field editor is just awesome . Even passing a mix track for fine tuning gives great results . Brilliant brilliant gear to have.

  • from Arizona December 29, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, studio owner, engineer, musician

    MBP is a MUST HAVE!!!!!

    When I received this unit my hands were shaking with anticipation!! I had read about what it could do but hearing it on the first few mixes was just amazing!!! The compression and limiting is unbelievably transparent, I have seen up to 12db of reduction with no artifacts!!The stereo field editor is jaw dropping, the silk mode(s) are...Neve silky!!!! Speaking o the silk modes, if you want to add color these are awesome. I have had excellent results using the silk + mode on electronic music to smooth out harshness and add warmth. Let's just say that to purchase a bus processor and also get the option to add the famous color of a Neve console is the bargain of the century. On top of that the plethora of features include some awesome shelving EQ'S. This unit could take the place of three separate units and as a result is a true time saver. I can get phenomenal results in extremely short periods of time. Don't get me wrong, this thing is full featured and it takes some time to understand it's capabilities and uses but once you get the hang of it you will wonder how you mixed and/or mastered without it. in my opinion this is a MUST HAVE and an instant classic!!

Questions about the Rupert Neve Designs Portico II MBP?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway