0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Rupert Neve Designs Portico II Channel Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Rupert Neve Designs Portico II Channel?

Questions about the Rupert Neve Designs Portico II Channel?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Bart Good

    The legend continues with the Rupert Neve Designs Portico II. I've used this channel strip and have always been impressed with what it does. It can sculpt the dynamics, tone, and overal vibe of everything from vocals to drums. If you'e interested in getting a highly versatile and powerful channel strip, this is a very good choice.

  • from Bridgeport, CT March 30, 2017Music Background:
    Pianist/Engineer/Teacher

    A Great Channel

    As has been been said in other reviews here, I want another! What it does with vocal recordings is pure bliss. Not much to do once you've tweaked the desired sound coming from the mic. A must have!

  • from December 26, 2015Music Background:
    Artist, producer, recording engineer

    Wow...the punch, warmth and clarity

    I've just listed my 737sp on eBay after I got my Neve and tested it out. I want another one.
    ...and the 737's are nice! But this Neve, it just has this mojo I can't describe. The best word that comes to mind is polished! (assuming you know what you're doing and pair it with a great mic)

  • from November 17, 2015Music Background:
    singer songwriter / producer

    I love the warm perfect sound

    Everything sounds better using this wonderful Rubert Neve Portico 2 channel strip
    I´ve recorded straight through and also put prerecorded sounds through the chain afterwards
    I bought one to begin with, early june 2015 and two weeks later one more to use as a stereo pair
    couldnt be happyer

  • from Northern California November 6, 2015

    Have one, about to buy another

    I received the first Portico 2 about a month ago and it is superior to any other, actually there is not anything quite like it. The mid's and mid-highs are breathtakingly smooth on the eq section. The transparency is silky and accurate. The mid-lows are basically better off just sending through this box and not even adjusting.

    The compressors are as accurate to an original Neve console that I have heard.

    Will be purchasing another soon to deal with my master mixes.

    Thanks!

  • from Browns Mills New Jersey October 17, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Recording/Mixing Engineer

    A leader in professional sound

    The name says it all. The Neve portico II channel is beyond words. Its so versatile, and sonically amazing. Its not cheap, but man is it worth the money. As soon as you use it, you'll clearly see it justifies the cost.
    Everything just sounds so professional and you still can maneuver in a vast professional realm of sound. It has everything you want in a single unit. If your looking to upgrade, get this piece. Its all you need. The downside to this is, you'll want to redo the 30-40 songs in your catalog using this Neve Portico II channel.

  • from Yuma, AZ June 29, 2014Music Background:
    Broadcast Hobbyist

    Swiss-Army knife of preamps

    This Channel and it's layout provides an array of simple one-step buttons to activate/deactivate individual features, or complete sections for quick A/B comparisons. Other nice touches include an integrated De-esser within the EQ section, and a Wet/Dry Blend control within the Compressor. The channel also provides the option to change the order of the EQ whereby it follows the compressor.

    Finally, the Portico II incorporates a specialized feature known as Silk. It offers a flavor of the old school 1064 and 1073 preamps with on/off selections and a blend function.

    When you tally up all of these features that are ergonomically grouped by well-spaced knobs, it's a true pleasure to use with near endless adjustability. This would be especially true for those that have a collection of different microphones.

    Sweetwater handled my transaction smoothly with excellent customer support. About the only issue I ever have is that occasionally they run out of inventory of the things I typically purchase and that can be a bit frustrating.

  • from CT February 17, 2014

    King of the Heap!

    Man, this was a tough and seemingly risky choice, but I went and sold enough other rack gear to buy a pair of these having never actually used them before.

    Ho. Lee. Crap.

    If I had to describe the sounds of this box in two words, they would be "seemless" and "beautiful", both with lots of emphasis. All the components just SOUND like they are meant to be paired together - and for obvious reason I suppose. The preamp is stellar - detailed, articulate, and SMOOTH, will color nicely when pushed.

    The EQ is phenominal - very musical curves and it affords lots of excellent options, such as peak/shelving selection on HF and LF and ample Q control... everything you need, and absolutely nothing you won't end up using.

    But the COMPRESSOR is what is really blowing me away. As tricky as dynamic acoustic guitar can be to control without sounding manupulated, this compressor evens it out, and it just sounds natural, even when yellowing the meter and on the brink of redlining - not audible "squash" when pushed, I almost can't believe my ears - you know how a professional athlete just makes the most difficult moves look deceptively easy? YEAH, just like that!!! What a SWEET sounding compressor. I am ITCHING to get the second unit in so I can link the comps, use the line input, and run my master bus through them. The Silk control is just so handy and is the perfect easy icing on the cake, giving wonderfully simple control to the soft harmonics as a "tweak" once you've worked your way from left to right across the strip.

    This unit is a complete home run, everything sounds just right, and it is quite forgiving, as well - the irony is how nervous I was to sacrifice so much other gear to buy these, yet now I'll probably end up selling even more that wouldn't get used now that I have these! Worth the price and then some, I am just so impressed with this unit. Thank you, Mr. Rupert Neve!

  • from Nashville January 31, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, producer, mixing engineer

    Amazing! A 5088 in a rack

    Got a couple of these, for kick/snare when tracking and for vocal overdubs. They sound SUPER. You start with the tantalizing aroma of those big transformers warming up for the first time. Then you discover how clean the audio is and remember what is was like to work on a Neve console. Balanced in and out, low noise, plenty of gain in the preamps. EQ, compressors, and silk are the real deal. Knobs feel great, push/push switches feel a little cheesy. Unit over all is big (deep) and feels rock solid. Biggest improvement to sound since I started my project studio five years ago.

  • from New York, NY April 22, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Extremely Versatile Channel Strip

    After looking at a few channel strips all around the 3K range, I decided to go with the Portico II. I looked at the STT-1 Orgin, the 6176, GML 2032 and the Avalon 737/747s. I wanted a channel strip that served it's purpose on vocals, but would also allow me to use it on various other applications. Seeing as I already owned 2 5012s I was just itching to see what Rupert Neve and his Team added to what was already an amazing preamp and product line-up.
    Simply put, I was blown away by the end of the first session using it.

    On vocals, it can handle any singer, and the De-Esser is great because it is separate from the compressor (on the Millenia STT-1 Orgin you couldn't use the De-Esser and Compressor at the same time and the other strips didn't have a de-esser). Another great function was being able to move the EQ post compressor. Can't forget the Silk+ mode and texture knob! Really added a nice robust low end on the blue setting to the singers voice. Very very good paired with a Tube Mic.

    The next session I had was with a band and I paired it with the RNR1 from Se on a guitar cabinet. Immediately I saw a great opportunity to play with the Texture knob and WOW was I completely blown away. I could literally color the Signal to my preference. The red Silk setting was great. The EQ was of great help again and was very transparent.

    Next, I plugged a bass in, and I knew I wanted Blue Silk for a nice detailed bottom end. After some fiddling (not much) we had a beautiful bass sound that we were all happy with. The "blend" knob on the compressor was great and just let me dial in the perfect amount of compression, and the FeedForward and FeedBack modes and RMS/Peak selection made the compressor just that much more versatile.

    All in all, if you are looking for a WORKHORSE in your studio, I highly recommend this channel strip! It can handle ANYTHING you throw at it.
    It can color signal any way you want to, or keep your signal transparent. It has a ton of headroom. Can't wait for a second one!

  • from Iquique Chile October 21, 2011Music Background:
    Owner Recording Studio, drummer.

    It's a diamond

    I just have this baby for 2 weeks , and just blow my mind away.... just buy this. nothing more

  • from Santiago, Chile December 16, 2010Music Background:
    Profesional Producer, Recording Engineer, Composser and Pro Musician

    1073???... Why if you can get this Baby?!

    What can I say?..... This baby is awesome!!!..... everything that you need in one box!

    I have a pair of this bad boys and I'm using them on everything... Today I was in a Drum recording session and everyone were impressed with the sound of the Kick and the Snare where we used them... Punchy, Thight, focused, BIG and silk.

    In vocals is such a great unit!... all the vocals are silk when they run through the pre amp, the EQ section and the compressor are beautiful... so musical!

    The +/- 36V Rails it's an amazing design improve v/s the small portico units.... this are like "the Poor man 5088 Console".

    If you need a clean Sound you can get it.... if you need a more foward kind of distortion in your sound.... like an API pre amp, you can get it..... And if you want / need that Classic Neve sound, you can get it too... that's the job of the 2 modes silk button plus the Texture control.

    It's expensive, but you get a lot for your bucks.... so if you need a great pre amp, a very musical EQ and a really amazing compressor... this is the unit for you!!!

    Why you should pay 2,000 dollars more for a 1073 if you can get this baby?!!!!..... I don't get it!!!.... This is the new 1073, period!

Questions about the Rupert Neve Designs Portico II Channel?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway