0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Way Huge Pork Loin Soft Clipping Overdrive Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Way Huge Pork Loin Soft Clipping Overdrive Pedal?

Questions about the Way Huge Pork Loin Soft Clipping Overdrive Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from July 8, 2016

    Mmmmmmm Pork Loin

    If youíre like me, youíve had a love/hate relationship with overdrives. I hate 90% of them. Love 10%. I tend to like low-gain style ODís and thereís just not that many of them on the market. But this pedal is pretty much perfect. You can really dial in your low-gain tones to perfection. You can make the breakup really dark and mix in your dry signal to get the brightness back, but without the harshness you get with most ODís. This also works well to fatten up your delays, especially slap. Great for indie, country, blues, pop, etc.

  • from KY, USA April 20, 2016

    The king pig!

    I've had the Pork Loin on my board for a few months now. I play a Tele into a Dr Z Maz Jr. This pedal is my tone! I can not recommend it enough. It does so much. With the volume way up and the overdrive down, it hits so hard. So good! With the volume a little above unity and the overdrive up, it has a great classic rock crunch. The thing about this pedal is the way it combines the clean signal with overdrive. It is so transparent with so much of your amps spank to it. It is my Dr Z but just so much more of it. I've played my Pork Loin into a Mesa 50w Single Rectifier and it's the same thing. It hit so hard! It was just more of that classic Recto sound. I have the Green Rhino too, which is the best tubescreamer out there but this pedal is THE best boost, light overdive pedal in the Sweetwater catalog. There is not a bad sound in this thing. If you are looking for a clean boost, overdrive, or boost for another drive pedal or drive channel on an amp.......this is it.

  • from Raleigh, NC March 13, 2012Music Background:
    hobby musician (church and a band), home recorder

    Way Huge Pork Loin

    I was looking for an overdrive which could be set for a very mild distortion for strumming full chords for rhythm. This does exactly what I want! The internal adjustment for the Clean control makes it very easy to fine-tune the sound for a balance of clean to overdrive levels.

    The pedal is very versatile. It can be adjusted for mild overdrive layered over a clean-channel sound, or it can be a very strong overdrive with a huge amount of boost. With the Tone and Drive controls can even be taken into distortion territory. So nice!

  • from massachusetts December 17, 2011Music Background:
    student

    a very good buy

    I love this monster pedal, so clean and powerful,

  • from Southern California May 6, 2015Music Background:
    I play out.

    There is a learning curve to this pedal because there are so many parameters of what it can do for your sound. I was about to think it was not going to happen but kept adjusting inside and out till it fell into place. This is a blues players dream pedal. No fuzzy distortion overdrive. You can get a little of that but if you like just a clean guitar and an amp on steroids with some bite and sustain you can find it here. My settings are about like the one reviewers here. As for internal I have no idea where factory was. But my drive inside is almost full. I play a Standard Strat and use a couple Fender amps. Blues Jr, and Pro Jr. This pedal makes both of the amps sound WAY HUGE and still natural. It will give you a signature sound. I leave it one most of the time now. Don't be afraid to mess with all the internal settings.

  • from Sayvill, NY October 21, 2014Music Background:
    I am just starting to fill out my guitar learning

    Whipped Cream

    This pedal is excellent at adding that melow creamy mid range that I wanted to add to my rig ( Eric Clapton artist guitar and Blues Junior amp).
    I spoke with Adam at Sweetwater and he recommended this pedal and he was right on in his reccomendation.

  • from Seattle, WA July 25, 2013Music Background:
    Gig 5-6 nights per month

    I may grab another one

    I grabbed one of these about 18 months ago, and it has never left my pedal board. For blues/soul/funk gigs, this is the only pedal I really need to bring if I'm keeping it simple. My gigging amp is a 1986-ish Carvin x100B, for frame of reference. I was playing a one-off blues gig last week as a fill in, and when I was warming up (Am. Tele to Pork Loin to HI Lead Channel), the bass player said "Oh yeah - that sounds nice and nasty."

    I basically use this pedal as a not quite clean boost, and it just thickens everything up and easily puts the guitar out in front.
    My set up:
    Volume: 11 o'clock
    Tone: full clockwise(out of the circuit)
    OD: 10-11 O'clock
    clean blend: just past noon
    curve: full clockwise

    I've never touched the internal trim pots because I like the sound I'm getting from the factory settings.

    For more rock tones, I just goose the OD and play with the volume. I have a tube screamer clone in front of this to add some color at times, but I was thinking I would just get another Pork Loin and set it differently to have variation and to have the two P.L.s compliment each other.

  • from Espanola, NM USA April 3, 2013Music Background:
    20 + years guitar non professional

    Way Huge Pork Loin

    I purchased the Way Huge Pork Loin purely for tone reinforcement. I play Fender Stratocasters and needed just a bit of girth for my tone, not gain and not volume but width. The Way Huge Pork Loin got me what I felt was lacking. The Pork Loin has 5 knobs to dial in the tone enhancement. The knobs all have a definite purpose and effect on tone, as with almost anything, you can overdo the overdrive and attack, but the Pork Loin also allows subtle inputs to your guitar tone. I found the Way Huge Pork Loin to be exactly what I was looking for and although I like to keep my signal as simple and pure as possible, I find myself playing thru the Pork Loin 90% of the time.

  • from Houston, TX March 7, 2011Music Background:
    Lead Guitarist

    Not lean, just tough to get to know

    The pork loin can be your friend, or your enemy. It has gentle drive that works best with your amp than alone, and dialing in the clean brings back a bluesy definition that sounds fantastic. The curve control has several behaviors... it takes time to find what will work best with you. I have the Pork Loin, Fat Sandwich, and Swollen Pickle out of this line, and they all take a lot of tweaking. If you like a pedal that sounds good with your rig at any setting, these are NOT for you. If you want one that will probably sound AWESOME after hours of tweaking, any of these are great, the pork loin no exception.

  • from Chapel Hill, NC June 29, 2010Music Background:
    guitarist, recording engineer, producer

    pork lean

    This pedal is ok but not great in my opinion. It is difficult to dial in a sound that doesn't render your guitar tone robbed of depth. So it is a little cloaked and thin sounding. If you keep the distortion low and the clean knob high or full than it can provide a nice boost. However, do not expect much usable overdrive. If you mostly want a volume boost with a little bit of edge than this pedal may be just fine for you. And if you gotta have it, get a power supply because it eats batteries.

Questions about the Way Huge Pork Loin Soft Clipping Overdrive Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway