0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Happening Now

WindTech PopGard 2000 Reviews

3.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the WindTech PopGard 2000?

Questions about the WindTech PopGard 2000?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Kirk
    from Utah, USA January 9, 2014

    Works Great!

    I love my WindTech. It's great not having the pop filter in the way while I'm recording audiobooks. Works just like it should too!

  • Ed Brand
    from Los Angeles October 17, 2012Music Background:
    Voice-Over Pro & 30-Year Network Broadcast Veteran

    Perfection!

    Brilliant filter that works as promised, blocking plosives without blocking highs - or my view of the voiceover script! Clean and transparent, a voice actor's delight in every way! Sweetwater sales & service are exemplary.

  • Lisa G
    from Portland, ME May 18, 2012Music Background:
    Voice Over Artist, Radio DJ

    No more big screens!

    I was anxiously anticipating this baby as its small, compact and wont fall off my boom arm. It came today. Easily fit over my mic in the shock mount and sounds GREAT! Not muffled like a smaller mic 'poof' as I worried it could be. Put away the old windscreen and get this...a MUST!!

  • Paul Strikwerda
    from Easton, PA, USA January 10, 2012Music Background:
    Voice Over Professional

    Small, light and effective

    I've never liked the more traditional pop filters. The clamp and gooseneck were usually too heavy and the screen too big. As a professional voice-over, I read my copy from the monitor in front of me, and my pop filter was always in the way... until the PopGard 2000 came along.

    It's super light and it does not block my vision. It does block my plosives while it protects the microphone from 'mouth moisture'. Try it out and I think you'll never go back to your old popper-stopper!

  • Eddie O
    from California November 6, 2011Music Background:
    Serious amateur rocker; sound engineer; video producton.

    These are great

    These are just about perfect. I've used other pop guards before - you know, the ones which the goose necks that are not quite long enough / too stiff so the guard is not positioned exactly where you want it, etc.?

    Well, these clip onto my side address mics (TF M16II, AK47, AT 4050, Rode NT2) perfectlyl They stay put when the talent moves the mic around, are acoustically transparent, but block "pops", keep lips from getting just too close to the mic, etc.

  • Keith Dipetri
    from Los Angeles, CA October 27, 2016

    Essential microphone popscreen

    Wow,
    Great pop-screen for my U-47 and other vintage mic's. The real deal here with this design.

  • CHET BENNETT
    from DIVIDE, COLORADO September 11, 2012Music Background:
    PRODUCER/ENGINEER MASTERING ENGEER

    WORTH EVERY PENNY

    THIS IS MY 50TH YR IN THIS BIZZ .FORMERLY A MASTERING ENGINEER FOR COLUMBIA / EPIC RECORDS . I TESTED THE POPGARD 2000 ON ONE OF MY U 47 NEUMANN MICS AT MY MOUNTAIN STUDIO . THE MIC RECENTLY TUNED UP IN GERMANY LAST YR AND MATCHED INTO A 476B NEUMANN MIC PRE. THE TALENT MOVED THE FILTER ACROSS THE MIC TILL IT WAS CLEAR OF THE MIC AND THEN BACK TO THE MIC ,THEN FINALALLY MOUNTED ON THE MIC . I DIDNT HEAR ANY LOSS OF HIGHS . THE TEST WAS MONITORED THREW 3 SETS OF MONITORS ,UREI 839 ,JBL 4312 AND TANNOY REDS.IM GLAD THAT THESE ARE ON THE MARKET AGAIN [CIRCA 1960'S] .ILL CERTAINLY WILL BUY A FEW MORE .

  • Ken
    from Boston, MA November 9, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Composer

    Cool product

    Nice pop filter idea...I like how you don't use goosneck mount. Probably pick up some for my good mikes...T-Funk's, etc.

  • Charles E. Rowe, Jr.
    from USA November 13, 2014Music Background:
    Production Producer

    WindTech PopGard 2000PopGard 2000

    Works fine... !

  • Ed Canton
    from Boston, Ma October 23, 2013Music Background:
    Rercording Engineer, Producer

    Works great

    Nice product, I ordered one to check it out after the reviews and this thing really is a nice alternative to the "Stedman" style goosenecks...It actually does reduce the plosives nicely. Double mesh would be nice.

  • Matt
    from Tampa FL March 18, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Audio Engineer, Musician

    where have you been all of my life?!

    Why did it take 20 years of recording before I found one of these? unlike most goosenecks and big screens, this is ridiculously light, which is a big plus if you already have a lot of weight on your boom stand. It is very low profile, so its never impeding the singers view of their lyrics or other people in the studio. The fact that it wraps around the sides is nice for when you have multiple people singing up close into the mic or simply have a hyperactive singer who is getting a little too into things...

    I like the wire mesh interior screen - not only does it help reduce plosives but I feel like these types of screens have the ability to slightly reduces sibilance as well (very slightly, but every little bit helps).

    The screen stops a surprising amount of air, yet doesn't seem to color the sound.

    All in all it looks cheap, feels cheap, is cheap... but I love it and its very effective and affordable both.

  • Mike A.
    from LasVegas, NV December 18, 2011Music Background:
    Sound reinforcement and recording semi-pro.

    All right

    Nore messing around with these anoying goose necks, this finally make sesnse. Works well too.

  • Bob Manfredo
    from Fresno, CA February 29, 2012Music Background:
    Voice Over

    Doesn't work for me

    I read the reviews, everything looked really positive and everyone was pretty much in agreement. So I purchased one, but was very disappointed at how "muddy" it made my voice sound. I do voice over work and have a medium register voice. I was using this on a ribbon microphone which sounds fabulous with the traditional stocking style filter. There's just something about the Wintech metal-type mesh that takes away from the "highs"........at least on my voice. Sorry!

  • Billy Peiffer
    from Illinois January 8, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer, Performer

    Wanted to Like it!

    I really like that it is small and really a great concept! But it stops there. This simply does not work. I don't know why anyone would think it does. And yes I am experienced. This product while being a great idea just doesn't cut it. I saw another review that suggested that the manufacturer should double up the screen and I agree!

  • Dave Finkelstein
    from Rochester, NY October 22, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer, Musician, Singer/Songwriter

    Useless

    I have no clue what all the other reviews are hearing but this simply does not work. I bought it based on the reviews here and when I got it, it offered no change in the plosives whatsoever. I did an A/B test, recording the output and the exact same pops are there. I'd send it back but it'll cost over 10 bucks just to send it back when it costed 30 to begin with. AVOID and get a double pop filter, they are the only ones that actually work.

  • Dave
    from Rochester, NY August 13, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Singer, Musician.

    I don't know what everyone else is hearing

    I have no clue what all of these other reviews are talking about. This thing makes basically no difference with a sensitive microphone. I have used a bunch of different pop filters over the years. The best ones are the double nylon ones but I was looking for something washable that worked better than the metal ones. This one doesn't work at all. I did an A/B comparison with and without it on 2 different mics and the plosives were exactly the same. To the manufacturer: put 2 layers of the mesh and make it possible to mount further away from the microphone diaphragm.

Questions about the WindTech PopGard 2000?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close