0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

TC Electronic PolyTune Poly-Chromatic Tune Reviews

4.5 stars based on 30 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Chris Leonard

    Tuning all six strings at once saves you time, and gets you straight to playing. I use the TC Electronic PolyTune at all times. Less tuning, more rock!

  • Ryan Murphy

    Why hasn't anyone thought of this before? This was made to quickly tune your guitar on stage by displaying all six strings at once.

  • from Central Florida, USA July 30, 2013Music Background:
    Intermediate Guitarist

    Quick and Easy

    I really like this tuner. The polytune function gets me close enough so that most of the time I don't even bother tuning one string at a time, and then when I do, it's still more responsive so that one string tuning is fast and very accurate. This also applies to drop-d, capo'd, and alternate tunings as well. The display is bright enough for any lighting condition and this tuner will likely be the last one I ever buy. I can go from standard to drop-d to you-name-it up to the 6th fret capo'd in less time than it used to take just to get to drop-d.

  • from NJ, USA July 29, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    PolyTune Excellent

    As a player of 45+ years, I have used a lot of tuners from pitch pipes to tuning forks.
    When the Boss TU12 came out it became a mainstay for many players but, usually not inline. It was used in the dressing rooms then sometimes kept onstage. Many players flocked to the Boss TU2 tuner when it arrived. Again though due to itís altering of the sound when inline, I relegated mine usually to a tuner-out/mute box. And it stayed like that for many years and seemed to become a bit of the standard for the working player.
    TO THE POINT Ė The NEW Standard:
    TC Electronic has long been known in the business and I have used many of their products in the past with great success. When the Polytune came out I was quite curious. It is true bypass so I liked that, it muted the signal when you tuned, another big plus.
    It appeared to be very well made as most TC gear is. But until you actually use it, it canít be completely appreciated.
    Besides a great mute pedal for changing guitars mid set, the ability to be able to strum and instantly see what strings are ok and what needs tuning is a God send. Especially when your G took a dive on that last blues bend! ...and you can instantly go right to that G and the tuner automatically shifts to super accurate chromatic mode to dial it in perfectly.
    Any worries about visually being able to see it just set aside, at 61 I can see it absolutely fine.
    For me this is my new standard and can never go back to anything else. I do not miss the less-then stellar buffers in my old tuner, though with passive pickups I can still recommend a high quality buffer at the front of your signal chain.
    Hands Down, unless you enjoy playing with complicated gadgets while the drummer is about to count off the song this is a quite a handy tool. And I must note here that Sweetwater is, in my humble opinion the absolute best online sealer.

  • from July 10, 2013Music Background:
    Student.

    Just a Great Tuner.

    It is simple, works just perfect.
    The display is bright, the tuner is precise, the response is quick.
    And there's the advantage of the power suply for one extrta pedal.

  • from Palm Beach Florida June 11, 2013Music Background:
    Life long musician

    Best tuner I've ever used

    This is essential for a quick tune on stage. Large, briight display and "not too overly" sensitive range is a boon. Being able to see all the strings and get it tuned in seconds... But, this is what I expect from TC Electronics...and Sweetwater!

  • from United States April 13, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Unbelievably Easy

    I never thought a tuner could get me excited until I used this one. So easy to use. T C Electronics makes one the most mundane pieces of gear incredibly cool. Plug it in, strum all 6 strings and boom. In tune!! I only wish I would have bought it sooner!

  • from Hesperia, CA November 27, 2012Music Background:
    Professional musician

    The perfect pedalboard tuner!

    I was skeptical before I purchased this tuner, that it would be everything they claimed it to be but I think it actually is! It works great and I love how fast I am able to tune now. To be able to see at a glance which string, if any, needs tweaking is amazing.

  • from September 20, 2012

    Polytune

    Blows away the tracking time on my tu2 tuner
    Read the manual to figure out how to switch tuner note and standard or drop tuning I have a feeling that might be why people complain about the pedal. Built like a tank and 1000 times easier and faster tracking then my boss tu2

  • from Golden Valley, AZ September 14, 2012Music Background:
    Play and performed since 4, later produced, now a retired old hack in the desert,

    Does everyting they say it will

    With exception of occasional open tuning or drop D, it's 440 normal tuning for me most all the time. The Polytune goes beyond intuitive, so easy, accurate and fast to operate, and all in a compact package that is far below the typical boutique price category. Relatively small footprint. Can't ask for more. Oh, did I mention fast? Not only fast in response, but fast to switch automatically between modes. I haven't had time to try to figure it out, all I know is it does what I need it to do on the fly.

    I use the linear display, as these old eyes have no trouble recognizing what string and whether sharp or flat, chromatically or with a simple open strum. And this while a rhythm track is playing through the same amp. THAT blew me away! Seems to me no interference. It is, however, subject to to power disturbance, such as fans, computers, possibly even cell phones, but I've found it to be only a minor issue. Click off the pedals, and be aware the if your a/c is running, there may be funny swirling sound in the background. It turns down with your volume and lack of effects. That, and the fact that the plastic visor popped off when I first took it out of the box, held on by some tacky stuff. It's worked fine after I pressed it back in place.

    First time doing business with Sweetwater, that I recall, it's it's a bit like Christmas =candy in the package?!! I just bought a Tele, and would liked to have worked with Sweetwater on it. I purchase from a well known online vendor and after the typical set up time and favored string change, I am satisfied. But I intend to do more biz with Sweetwater in the future. I like their style so far.

  • from August 30, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Poly Tune

    Buy it!!! Make sure to read the manual about how to enter and exit Standard and drop D tuning and make sure the pedal is set in the correct tune mode for your guitar or bass. I tried it on a 6 string guitar and a 5 string bass and it works flawlessly. Im selling my Boss 2 now :-)

  • from Washington State, USA February 13, 2012Music Background:
    Amature guitarist for 30+ years. Rock, blues, acoustic, etc.

    Fantastic Tuner for the Price!

    This is the best tuner I have ever owned. I have used several different tuners in the past, including a stobe style tuner double the price of the Polytune, and I can tell you the the Polytune gives you extremely accurate tuning results and without all the time and frustration of tuning with a strobe. I used my Polytune first, then tested it against my $200 strobe tuner. The results? Dead on. Same accuracy. Don't get me wrong, I still like to goof around with my strobe, despite the occasional frustration. But I don't want to use a strobe and tune each string when I'm jamming and need to get into tune quickly.

    Plug it in, strum all the strings, tune up, and in less than a minute you are ready to rock! I use the larger version because it can be powered with batteries in addition to AC adaptor; but they also have a smaller version that takes up less space on your pedalboard if you want.

    Highly recommended!

  • from USA October 20, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Huge time saver for tuning strings

    All I can say is that the time I save tuning is well worth the money to buy this product. Having the ability to see the status of all my strings at one shot make it very quick to identify the string(s) that are out of tune and get them back to the correct level. This item is worth every penny.

  • from September 19, 2011

    Wow!

    coolest tuner ever

  • from Brazil August 31, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Amazingly fast and accurate tuner

    There simply isn't a better tuner out there. I didn't think it would make much of a difference, but tuning with this is a breeze, and much faster. It's as accurate as it can be.

  • from Chicago, USA July 13, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Excellent Tuner

    I've been a dedicated TU-2 user over the years because they're bullet proof and "good enough" in terms of tuning.

    The PolyTune is considerably more accurate than the TU-2 and I like the true-bypass feature (for some situations). I highly recommend it.

  • from Buford, GA October 9, 2010Music Background:
    Songwriter, Producer, Guitarist, Keyboardist

    My Guitars Have Never Sounded This Good Before

    Something about tuning all the strings together in context produces better results than the old-fashioned one string at at time tuning. I love this thing, because it helps me play in tune all the time!

  • from Brooklyn NY June 2, 2010Music Background:
    GUITAR PLAYER - Home & Live weddings etc.

    THE BEST BEST TUNER ON THE PLANET.

    i bought this tuner here on sweetwater omy its just amazing i used it at home and live on a job this think is something thats irreplaceable ....just try it out ones & boom u stay with this baby for life...rock on

  • from N.Y. July 2, 2013Music Background:
    classic rock,hard rock,metal,blues

    awesome tuner

    AwesomeTuner With Great Response..

  • from Niagara Falls, NY March 14, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist.

    tc electronic polytune

    I've had this tuner since shortly after it's debut. It's accurate and rugged and you can very quickly get your instrument in tune using this pedal. Nice lighting so darkness isn't a problem. Anyone who is playing serious music will say that they don't want to mess about getting in tune. It's got to be fast and accurate. TC Electronic makes great products and this pedal gets it done. Great product!

    Sweetwater's service is always excellent, top quality!

  • from Little Rock, AR May 14, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sweet tuner!

    Pretty sweet when you can tune all strings at once! Want to do one string at a time? Well, that can be done as well!

    Only wish the led's were a little bigger when tuning all strings at once. All my other tuners are backups now!

  • from IL January 21, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    If your guitar has whammy bar, this is the ONLY way to tune

    Guitars with whammy bars are notoriously hard to tune because, changing the tuning of one string affects the spring tension, which affects the tuning of all of the other string - sure it's slight, but it's enough to put you back out of tune. With this, you get a snapshot of all strings and can see the effect of this in real time. MUCH faster, much better in tuner when you're done.

  • from New York , NY December 2, 2011Music Background:
    band leader, composer

    Polytune excellent

    I get a kick out of the 6 string mode, and that works fine. But I find myself bowing to old habits and plucking/tuning each string individually, and for that the big display is excellent, easy to read, accurate, and stable.

  • from Chester, NJ October 17, 2011

    Easy to use

    Easy to use, works as advertised

  • from Maine/USA July 19, 2010Music Background:
    pro musician

    Roadworthy & Accurate

    First and foremost, this tuner does its job well. The polytune feature takes some getting used to, but it is very useful. The individual string tuning is accurate, fast, and easy to read.

    It is also built VERY well. One of the most roadworthy tuners on the market.

    And the bonus -- it has extremely good battery life. In fact, better than any tuner I have ever used. I use this tuner almost daily for shows and one battery lasts me 3+ MONTHS! The savings on batteries will probably pay for the tuner over its lifetime.

  • from Delaware March 14, 2010Music Background:
    Song Writer

    Beats the competition for three reasons

    First, It's true bypass. Second, You can get a quick overview of which strings need attention with a single strum. Lastly, You can dial in via 'cent' to a .5 cent accuracy, any more accurate and you are probably going to have to tune via 'stream' mode. (Which is a pain in the...)

  • from CA United States August 6, 2013Music Background:
    Live sound & broadcast engineer, touring musician, rig designer

    TC Polytune is an excellent tuner

    This is a great tuner. It's fast, accurate, and easy to see. The polyphonic mode is really only good for a quick check to see if something is majorly out. It's tolerance is a bit high for spot on accuracy. The monophonic mode, however, is excellent.
    The fact that it's true bypass is a great feature. I'm a rig designer in CA and love not having to work around certain buffered tuners that make 4-5k sound harsh and sterile. It also acts great as a mute for changing guitars.
    Anyway, it's a great tuner. Get one.

  • from Orange County, CA July 8, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Tuner

    This is a great tuner, especially for the price. I'm using a 6 string bass and the polytune feature works ok, not perfect. I mainly use it in stream mode for the single strings.

  • from MI February 7, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Great tuner in compact design

    Great tuner. The polytune feature is great for a quick check, then you can zero in on any strings that are off. I like that it's smaller than the standard Boss tuner too. A pedal like this doesn't need to take up much space on your board.

  • from KC, MO USA March 11, 2010Music Background:
    Player, Writer

    Yes, faster tuning, but ...

    Here's the proviso: the poly mode is great for a quick overview, but I find that I stlll have to isolate individual strings for finer accuracy. That's okay and still handy, though not quite the revolution I had hoped. Upside is very bright LEDs.

  • from Washington, DC March 25, 2013Music Background:
    singer/songwriter, performer, engineer/producer

    good, but popping noise a nuisance

    Works fine, though I found I don't use the polytune function much. Only drawback--and kind of a big one--the unit makes a popping noise sometimes when I engage/disengage it. So if my guitar is plugged into a loud PA, it can be quite loud for the audience. Annoying.

  • from Rochester, NY February 25, 2010Music Background:
    Engineer/Musician

    Acoustic Players be weary

    I just recieved my polytune from sweetwater and got it really quick, no suprise there, since this is sweetwater. But I had bought this to replace my boss tuner pedal for acoustic use since the boss is not true bypass. So I figured, get something that would increase tuning time on stage by doing all strings at the same time. While this tuner works as expected on my electric guitar, its a little sketchy with my acoustic. It works in polytune mode when i strum all strings which is good. But this tuner does not support drop D tunings in poly mode. Which means you must hit single strings to trigger chromatic needle mode and tune conventionally. Problem is, with my 2 taylor acoustics, when I hit the low E or A strings, it comes up with poly mode and does not allow me to tune chromatically. This basically means I'm out of luck for drop D tunings on my acoustic.

Questions about the TC Electronic PolyTune Poly-Chromatic Tune?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway