0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Line 6 POD HD Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • from May 15, 2014

    Line 6 POD HD MOst Excellent

    The sounds that come out of this thing are just amazing! Just setting up a simple file with Distortion and Reverb so cool. This thing has some of the best Heavy Metal sounds! So cool are the settings that make my guitar sound like a bass. The syfy sounds you get out of this thing are out of this world! I'm very pleased with this unit Line 6 POD HD Baby!

  • from Mystic, CT February 19, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound & hobbyist Guitar/Synth

    Great unit..when put in perspective

    What this is, is a budget solution for recording and for bundles of multiple tones and effects.. After all, at the newer discounted price ($199) it is about par with the price of two cheap pedals.. so a total bargain, and with this perspective its a solid 5 stars.

    This is not a giggable/live solution however.. you need the $199 proprietary foot controller to control the looper and scene or fx changes and so if you are looking to gig, a 300HD-500HDX is the way to go.. I suspect that even if you simply jam alone or with friends, the lack of control will eventually get to you...

    Sounds and authenticity of the amp models?.. Great for recording, after all only fellow guitarists are neurotic about the tone of what you are playing...but in absolute terms the sound are just a bit better than ok.

    Now, given one of the issues with our hearing is perception related to volume, I played this multiple ways..
    1. I have tried this with headphones (ok..but only use if the non-use will wake the baby or po the significant other),
    2. through my (quite expensive) 200wpc home stereo (loud) and it was a bit better.. still sterile and cold and I lacked any emotional connection to what I was playing (mind you, my "friends" would say that's a good thing..lol)
    3. A 500W powered 12" PA speaker. The best of the bunch. The ability to simply push air made a large difference.. the cold/sterile feeling is still there, but its useable.

    So, in summary,

    A. to get the best (aka most lifelike) from this, you need to play it through something sizeable.. dont think headphones/pc speakers/home stereo..think at a minimum some 60w+ ss amp with 12" speaker..or better, a tube based rig... If you have the rig already, great...but this isn't a substitute for one..sadly.

    B. At the price, you get a huge amount of stuff for the money, so buy it if you NEED the recording function, or WANT a large bunch of effects at a great price... There are enough amps/cabs/effects/tweaks to get a large range of tones for recording.

    C. The amp/cab modeling imo still has some large way to go to be a solid 100% substitute for the real thing.. I have tube amps by Fender and Orange, and they still get the playing time... So buy this if you WANT lots of flexible tones, but don't, please DON'T buy this thinking you are going to get true 100% valve tones of your iconic amp without actually buying said amp.

  • from Wausau, WI January 21, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist/ Recording Student

    Rivals he Axe Fx 2!!!! Buy this :) Also great for recording!

    This thing rocks!!! First off, I own an Axe Fx 2 as well, and I must say, this thing is top quality compared to it. The sounds on this thing are amazing, with the HD detail they talk about really shining through. I got this because I wanted an amp modeler smaller than the Axe Fx, since I am working on rebuilding my home studio. Just something smaller and more compact that I can sit down and jam with. This thing is the perfect size for any home studio.

    I have also used several amp modeling software like Guitar Rig 5, and Amplitube. Don't get me wrong I like those, but if you do a lot of recording like me in Pro Tools, loading a bunch of instances with the same plug ins slows down processing power. With the POD, I can simply use the HD editor on my computer and control the amps, just like the knobs can, but then I just use the included SPDIF output on this thing into the SPDIF input on my Mbox. Just as a side note, if you do use this with the SPDIF to record, make sure the POD fits whatever frequency you're working with. I use 44.1K, but this thing will also do 48K, 88.2, and 96K being the highest. But my point is, this is very nice as I get a clean, recorded guitar track into Pro Tools, that requires no amp modeling plug in since the track is already wet. It really saves on processing power. Buy this, you won't regret it :)

  • from Joliet, IL. USA July 10, 2013Music Background:
    Recording and Semi-Retired Pro Musician

    Great upgrade...

    I have owned Line 6 for years now. They are always ahead of the curve. The POD HD is no different. Awesome tones and pristine replications. I own all that POD Farm 2.5 has to offer and I must say this is a serious upgrade. The feel and response when playing is superior to any and all software I've used. Great piece for live or recording.

  • from Beaverton, OR March 12, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Composer, Producer, Former Performing Musician

    Great amp and effects modeling!

    I had a Johnson J-Station and I've used software modelers (GuitarRig and Amplitube), but the POD HD line has the best-sounding amp and effects modeling I've used. The software interface is great and I like that it has a mic input too. The only downside (and reason why I gave it 4.5 instead of 5 stars) is that the mic input doesn't have phantom power and it's a little complicated to switch inputs when recording. Still, those are small flaws compared to all the big benefits of the POD HD Desktop.

  • from Phoenix, AZ December 5, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Wow, awesome tones!

    Got this about a month ago, and am totally blown away by the tones I can get. My buddy has an Axe-FX and have been drooling over the crazy tones he can get out of it. But, I'm not in the same financial ballpark as him, so Axe-FX is out of my price range. I went and tried out all sorts of stuff before I found POD HD line of products. I was originally going to purchase Guitar Rig 5, but then I tried out POD HD 500 pedal board and was blown away by the tones. But I run a desktop rig and I didn't like the idea of reaching for the floor every time I wanted to change a setting. Now POD HD desktop was the answer. I get ridiculously awesome tones from awesome expensive amps, hundreds of effects, and overall a great experience using this product. I can't recommend this enough. Even my buddy with the Axe-FX was impressed by the sounds I could get. That alone was worth the price of admission. Highly recommended.

  • from St. Louis, MO September 24, 2011Music Background:
    Home recording

    A definite improvement

    The pod hd is a giant step forward from my previous pod (the pod xt). The amps definitely take on more of a realistic character and react like a real tube amp compared to older pods. The clean amps especially sound great as well as the effects. I also think the dual rectifier model sounds realy good. In my opinion, modelling has taken a giant step forward but I still prefer a real tube amp. I think this will be a usefull tool for some home recording and practicing at night.

    My main gripe with the pod hd is the lack of processing power. If you are running 2 amp models you can eat up processing power very quickly. Sometimes you can only add 1 or 2 effects before it runs out of power.

    Overall this is a great product that will easily replace my older pod.

  • from Texas August 20, 2011Music Background:
    Home studio owner, player, producer, engineer

    Better than plugins, great for recording or live.

    I use Pro Tools 9 and own lots of various virtual amp plugins and such and while they are nice to have, most have a colder sound (Except for Studio Devil) . I really like the sound of the HD Desktop Pod but most of the presets aren't serious rocker sounds. There are some cool odd stuff like organ and other gimicky things but I think the presets should have been geared more to various rock, metal and classic rock sounds. This has the sound, just use the HD Edit software to form your own or load sounds created by others. Line6 monkey is the software that helps keep you updated on firmware and software from line6.com. Be sure to update your firmware for the newest features and functionality. Its very nice to have in the studio and I'm enjoying this nice metal cased black bean.

  • from Great Mills, MD August 11, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Line 6 POD HD

    I got this as a birthday gift from my lady. I actually had the page marked in the Sweetwater catalog and was planning (takes me a while sometimes) on adding this to my set-up when it came in the mail. Talk about a good woman! The POD HD is perfect for me as a music hobbyist as I thoroughly enjoy using and modifying the established tones and effects, and exploring and creating new ones. The features are easy to understand and use and am extremely pleased in this product.

  • from Great Mills, MD August 11, 2011Music Background:
    Can't carry a tune in a bucket

    Thrilled!

    I purchased the Line 6 POD HD for my boyfriend for his birthday. Not only was very surprised but he was absolutely thrilled as well!!! I personally didn't know what it was capable of or really what it did....but he uses it every evening when playing his guitar and constantly praises me for buying it. I think it even impressed his friends that he jams with....I noticed some high fiving and fist bumping going on! All kidding aside....after researching this product online I did find that Sweetwater offered the best price and I am very pleased with the customer support I received when ordering it. They even called to follow up!

  • from Los Angeles June 28, 2011Music Background:
    Studio Musician

    A definite improvement

    Had the old POD XT for years, always made money with it. Got the X3 when it came out but other than being able to do 2 amps at once I didn't feel like it was an actual improvement in sound. The new POD HD finally steps up to the plate as far as more realistic sounding amp models. Not quite as good as the Avid Eleven Rack or Fractal but you do have a boatload of really good effects, which is something the Eleven lacks. (And the Fractal is 5 times more expensive.) Throw it in a bag and go make money with it, can't beat it for the price. And you can still use your old FBV short or long board and POD bag. A definite improvement in POD.

  • from RI April 12, 2011Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Close, but no cigar

    This could be cool. The sounds are decent for the price (not Fractal Audio Axe FX good, but decent) but the ability to implement this into a non-Line6 rig is severely hampered by its lack of control options. It can only be controlled, live, by a line6 FBV floor board.

    Really??? No midi???

    I guess it's useful to record with but the fact that I can't command it live with my current rig means this one's headed for craigslist sooner rather than later.

Questions about the Line 6 POD HD?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway