0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Wampler Plexi-Drive British Overdrive Pedal Reviews

5.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Wampler Plexi-Drive British Overdrive Pedal?

Questions about the Wampler Plexi-Drive British Overdrive Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Houston, TX November 16, 2015Music Background:
    15 years strumming

    definintely a wow pedal

    It's marshall in a pedal, spot on. It'll nail any tone you're after, long as you have the skill to match! ac/dc, zz top, srv, it's all in here. I play thru a fender deluxe reissue, the tones will blow you away. Stop reading reviews and buy this pedal. This is my first wampler purchase btw, definitely won't be the last.

  • from Missouri April 9, 2015Music Background:
    30 year player

    Wampler Plexi-Drive

    I play through a Tone King Falcon so I can get vintage American sounds out of it and the Plexi-Drive to get those Marshall tones, Absolutely love this pedal and keep it on more than off.

  • from Kalamazoo, MI December 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist/weekender

    A Wow.

    I have a Wampler Ace Thirty that I got to fill a need i have in my band for Tom Petty-type sounds. That's an amazing pedal that does just what it says it will. Based on the quality of that pedal I dropped the coin on a Plexi Drive. Boy was I right. I play mainly a strat through a Peavey Delta Blues with a 15 inch speaker. The Plexi Drive does exactly what it says it will. It delivers an old-school Marshall sound through my amp. It's uncanny how this pedal sounds like the Marshall sound I have in my head. With this pedal I've added anything from Hendrix to Trower to SRV to zz top to ACDC to my rig. The whole gain range is beautiful and articulate. I haven't even gotten to my humbucker guitar yet but I think I'll love that too. This one is worth the money....unless you have a vintage Marshall that can sound cranked at low volumes that is.

  • from Cabot PA September 25, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur recording artist

    Incredibly Versatile

    This pedal is certainly the best I've ever bought in the way of overdrives. It is so dynamic. You can go from a wonderful clean boost to all out JTM roar by dialing the gain knob clockwise. Plenty of gain for me, although I've heard others say it's not enough. I guess it depends on what you're shooting for. For 60's and 70's rock, anything but metal really, I'd say it has all the gain you would need. It also cleans up beautifully as you turn down your guitar volume. So responsive in this regard. Wampler really nailed the middle eq structure of the Marshall amp as well. Regardless of where you have the tone (seems to be a high cut or boost, not much effect on mids and lows), that Marshall character is always there. The bass boost is great for single coil bridge pickups in my opinion. However, when playing at gig volume I leave it off. This is truly a classic. Thank you Wampler!

  • from Toronto, Ontario, Canada September 18, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician - rocording for television, live performance

    Marshall in a BOX

    Excellent pedal - I was blown away within the first 5 seconds...and that should always be the case with tones! Running it through a Fender Blues Deluxe Reissue and what a tone. Kenny Stratton was great as usual. Very helpful. Sweetwater rocks!

  • from Las Vegas, NV August 15, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist for 25+ years

    Awesome pedal

    This pedal immediately became my primary distortion pedal. Upon hearing it, I realized that I have been wasting time and money for years trying to find the right pedal from Boss and MXR. I find that the Plexi produces a very organic tone that compliments my guitars tone. It works great with a humbucker or single coil. I'm currently using a solid state Marshall and I've never heard is sound this good. It produces a lot of thump so make sure you wear a cup if you want to have children.

    Don't waste time like I did and give it a try. Wampler kicks butt.

  • from Viera, FL July 12, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Tone, Easy Use & Quality Components

    I have been on a GAS binge of late in purchasing about 20 high end "Boutique" quality pedals. The Wampler Plexi was one in which I chose to invest. I wanted a pedal that would deliver a Marshall JTM-45/Fender Bassmen tone. First, the quality of the pedal construction and components were first rate. A small but nice thing I noticed about Wampler pedals was the inclusion of a Duracell battery. Other vendors such as Fulltone and Keeley, who compete in this market level supply cheap batteries, ie Rayovac or GI. While using Duracell batteries is a small addition to the pedal, it does indicate that Wampler is concerned about delivering quality through the product life cycle.

    On the important point of usability and tone, this pedal delivers. Dialing in Clapton, Hendrix and other early Classic Rock & Blues tones is easy. With 4 controls, the time it takes to learn the pedal is minutes. So in no time at all, you will be dialing in your favorite tones. I use the pedal with a Fender American Vintage 56 Strat and PRS Paul's Guitar running into either a 65 Fender Deluxe Reverb with Gold Celestion speaker or a Mesa Boogie 5:50 Express Plus Cab with a 2x12 Mesa Boogie Cab. Both the Humbucker and singlecoil tones sounded amazing and were everything I hoped to achieve from a classic blues amp.

  • from United States October 17, 2013Music Background:
    Studio & live engineer, guitar, vocals, songwriting.

    Awesome Distortion Pedal

    It's simple. I just love the way this pedal sounds. From barely any break-up to a good fuzz, it all sounds good. I especially like the 30-60ish% gain range. I could easily live with this as my only distortion pedal.

    I thought I'd compare it to my JCM 25/50 Silver Jubilee Marshall half stack. Using the second gain stage on the Marshall preamp set at about 3:00, and the presence/tones at 2:00, 2:00, 11:30, 2:00, I was able to dial the Plexi-Drive into nearly the exact tone. I didn't think to check sustain or feedback characteristics, but If you don't have a Marshall and want the sound of one, this pedal will do it. I was running the pedal into a Fender Deluxe Reverb.

  • from Indianapolis, IN July 24, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Outstanding Into a Clean Amp!

    I demoed this pedal at a dealer a couple years back and was very impressed. I did not purchase it right away but the memory of this great pedal stuck with me. Fast-forward to Sweetwater's Big Event 2013 and I had to pick up this pedal.
    I am using this pedal through a Mesa Dual Rec on the clean channel and I am getting fantastic, big, full tones without being overly distorted! I'm using this pedal for a Who tribute I'm working with, as well as, my normal Billy Joel tribute band gig. The Plexi-Drive delivers the tones I need to impress!

  • from Newburgh,Indiana April 26, 2013Music Background:
    Part-time Musician

    Wampler Plexi-Drive British Overdrive Pedal

    This pedal gives my Fender Deluxe Reverb a great amp-like Marshall sound when I need it. I like it better than my old Marshall Bluesbreaker 2 because it is much more touch responsive. The Plexi-Drive doesn't get as dirty as the Marshall Bluesbreaker 2 but thats not what I was looking for. I imagine the Plexistortion pedal would be great for that. I am really impressed with my Wampler pedals.

    Thanks Brent from Sweetwater!

  • from NW Ohio USA March 24, 2014Music Background:
    Ex-pro, now closet classic.

    I want another one

    I got this pedal because I wanted a clean boost with some added grit without going full-on distortion. Well, it does just that (single coil neck pickup). Just for fun I cranked up the gain full bore on both bridge humbucker and neck position single coil and was very impressed with the tube amp sound. This pedal goes great with my Wampler Pinnacle as well, stacked and alternated. I would gave gave it 5 stars but, the bass switch really needed to be more bassie, it's very subtle. I'd like to get another Plexi Drive to run at full bore for a nice rhythm crunch sound, and leave the other plexi set for a clean boost.

  • from December 5, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student, Pro Musician

    Great!

    Plexi-Drive is amazing, I'm really liking this pedal for heavier tones. A lot of dynamics, overtones, really Marshall-like tone and a lot of gain, barely unexpected for a overdrive, it's almost a distortion pedal at higher settings. It's definitely not good for chords, at least not so good as the Fulltone OCD. Not much headroom, so don't be surprised if some of your notes simply are lost during a chord. Above all, it's an overdrive with b****! On the other hand, turn down the gain knob, and almost crank up the volume knob, and you'll have a amazing treble compressed boost. The bass switch is not good for me at all, it's just unecessary for my use.

  • from North Georgia USA March 5, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great sound

    This one has a lot of different options which I love. Good punch when you want it or tone it down for a nice clean fuzz. Sometimes I just use it for the boost which still gives powerful effect. Nice pedal

Questions about the Wampler Plexi-Drive British Overdrive Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway