0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Gator Frameworks GFW-UTILITY-TBL Heavy-duty Keyboard Table Reviews

4.0 stars based on 46 customer reviews
Questions about the Gator Frameworks GFW-UTILITY-TBL Heavy-duty Keyboard Table?

Questions about the Gator Frameworks GFW-UTILITY-TBL Heavy-duty Keyboard Table?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Erin Jacobsen
    from May 18, 2017Music Background:
    recording artist, composer, musician

    I like!

    Techs are awesome with the device and knowledge. Thanks

  • Jim Gramze
    from Hastings, Michigan, USA March 26, 2017

    Solid and Adjustable

    This is a fantastic stand. Period. If you hate your keyboard bouncing around, and want a stand for one keyboard that is wonderfully adjustable in both height and width, get this. I've had many keyboard stands and this is the one for home or stage.

  • Erik
    from California November 9, 2016

    Very Nice!

    It served my purpose and I like the options to extend/raise/lower and fold up to put away. I've had other stands before but I use them at home so they look ugly and are bulky. I also had to stand up to play. I was looking for something I could put my Moog Sub 37 on and play while sitting on my chair, plus have next to my main desk. I also needed it to look nice as my room has nice dark furniture. This has fit the bill very nice. I recently extended it and made room for a DSI Tetra. Very happy with it.

  • D. Cohen
    from Nyack NY September 24, 2016Music Background:
    Performer and producer

    Great purchase

    You wouldn't think a stand could make such a difference but it has. I dont play out that much on keyboard, I use this in the studio, I can play pretty hard and I was tired of the way X-type stands, even more heavy duty ones, can kind of waver and shift as you play them. Never happens with this baby. And for me, a big plus is being able to sit down and position your pedal without the X getting in the way. It folds up neatly, though it is not particularly light. But I think the heft contributes to its solidity and stability. And it certainly is portable. If your looking for a great, reliable stand and weight is not an issue, look no further. This is the best.

  • Mike
    from Washington DC June 16, 2016Music Background:
    Sound engineer for touring bands

    Great Portable Table

    This is a strong and easy to set up table. I can stand on it (180lbs) with no flexing and it feels rock solid. It folds up to a flat package and is easy to store/transport. The main use, for me, is to hold a mixer with assorted gear (wireless transmitters, et al). I don't always have a lot of room to set up and the small foot print of this table is perfect. I am very happy with this table (I know, I need to get out more).

  • Q-Bert
    from May 18, 2016

    Well designed and built

    I assumed I'd be needing to anchor this stand to to my computer desk to make it absolutely solid, but to my surprise, my Kawai mp7 sits very firmly. I don't feel any "wiggle" in the keyboard as I'm playing!....and I have a thick carpeting and padding on the floor underneath the feet. Tip: if you need your keyboard to sit a little lower, just remove the adjustable legs (like I did). I like my keys at 29.5" from the floor. Is this stand as rock solid as the Roland? Probably not.....but it's not $240 either. That said, this stand works great for me.....and I'm a stickler for any movement in the keyboard while playing.

  • Phil
    from OKC, OK February 29, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    What a table!

    I usually don't '5' anything, but this table deserves it. It's heavy, but, man it's stout. Easy to set up. I have no doubt it will serve for many years, and if you give up on music, you can use it in your wood shop!

  • Duane
    from Ohio December 14, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer in training

    Solid!

    I'm using this to house my Roland FA-08 and that keyboard isn't small or light by any means! This stand works very well and it doesn't wobble around as bad as some of the other lower cost units I've tried. This unit is fully adjustable for height and width and locks up like a bank vault! It also folds up to a very compact size for travel or storage if that's a concern to you, and it's very easy to take down.

    I own several products from Gator and they really make some nice quality stuff for a great price, A big thanks to Gator for great products and a big thanks to Sweetwater for making them available to us!

    I'd buy one again for sure and highly recommend this stand to anyone that wants a quality stand for their keyboard for a fair price.

  • Don
    from Jefferson, Ga. December 8, 2015Music Background:
    50 years exp.

    Gator piano stand

    very well built and sturdy.

  • DW
    from California August 1, 2015

    Best Keyboard Stand features have found.

    Really good stand. Leg extensions push buttons for height adjustments are the best quality and give the best stability. Ordered a second one today so can have one for sitting and one for standing position.

  • Judi M.
    from May 20, 2015Music Background:
    Mostly piano and keyboard

    Gator Frameworks Heavy Duty Keyboard Table

    This keyboard stand is exactly what the title says "Heavy duty" keyboard table. I had been using a top of the line double X-type keyboard stand for my full size Kawai ES-6 digital piano because x-type stands were reputed to be the sturdiest, but that darn X got in the way of my legs and feet and using the pedals. Well, they have met their match with this Gator Frameworks table. I have had no wobbling or experience of instability at all. I followed the suggestion of a previous reviewer who said to just give a gentle kick out to the legs when setting it up. Folding it for moving takes only about 10 seconds; it is so easy. I have been using this stand for a few months and am totally satisfied.

  • Scott
    from Texas May 6, 2015

    The Best

    I've used probably any keyboard stand that has been made........and this is the best, and strongest one I have ever used. I gig 1-2 times a week and it has held up great over the past year.

  • Customer
    from Ohio April 18, 2015Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Simplicity and stability

    We purchased this to use with a Roland RD300-nx. It's not the heaviest or bulkiest keyboard out there, but the stand would seem support any of the standard keyboards I've used.

    The stand has been used for the past couple of weeks in a theater pit situation, dark and cramped and busy enough that a double-X stand would cause some trepidation. It has functioned exactly as hoped. It's adjustable enough. It may be "heavy-duty," but it's not heavy to carry. Slots in the panels align perfectly with the rubber feet on the keyboard. I don't believe there would be a problem otherwise, but the alignment provides an extra sense of confidence.

    In all, it's one of those minor, essential pieces of gear that we'll use for years and never notice, simply because it does its job. Very pleased.

  • jgaryt
    from Dayton OH April 10, 2015Music Background:
    misspent youth and then some...

    Solid. Great Deal!

    Don't have to worry about this stand collapsing like an "x" stand can, and yes, I have had that happen. Seeing your investment crashing to the ground will make you never trust an "x" stand again. Plus, this Gator Frameworks Keyboard Stand is very adjustable, has a built in bubble level, and is crazy solid. I have my Yamaha CP4 stage piano on it, and granted, that's not the heaviest stage piano going, but no matter how hard I play, I never have to worry about this stand. Easy setup, looks nice, and the price is great.

    Fastest delivery by Sweetwater as always.

  • Jose Prieto
    from Nanuet, NY January 10, 2015Music Background:
    Musician; Home Studio Producer

    Great Purchase

    Great stand. Beautiful. Excellent construction. Couldn't ask for a better way to set up my keyboard as I needed to. Thank you, Sweetwater!

  • Reece Bleakley
    from Chicago, IL December 11, 2014Music Background:
    Keyboard player in Church

    Better Quality that Others

    This table is great. I was not expecting it to be so well built and easy to adjust. Love that you can get it level easy. Also the padding on the top keeps my board from sliding. Glad I paid a little extra for this one.

  • Paul Britton
    from Rochester, NY October 17, 2014Music Background:
    semi-pro musician and hobbyist

    A good buy

    I don't regret paying a little more for this keyboard stand. It's really solid -- not a hint of wobble. Vastly preferable from a performing standpoint over other types of keyboard stands. Very easy to set up.

  • Alice Franceschini
    from San Francisco, CA October 11, 2014Music Background:
    hobby, semi pro

    Nice sturdy keyboard stand!

    This Heavy Duty keyboard stand is everything I was hoping it would be.
    It folds and unfolds with ease. No wobble as I play my keyboard with
    energetic flair, as I sometimes do.

  • Russ Skarsten
    from Northern California August 30, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer, live sound Engineer.

    Just what I needed

    The square tubular framework on this unit makes it about 10 times stronger than the round tubular model which means it will last much longer. One issue with this type of stand is that there can be a slight movement from left to right. To solve this, once there is weight on the stand, just give a slight pull on one set of legs, pulling it away from the other set. This spreads the legs and takes it out. This is how I took care of the wobble of the round tube model, but this eventually cracked the welds of the horizontal leg support bar on that unit. This unit, having square legs, has superior welds and will never break. And it's just all around built better.

  • Rob Bolling
    from Chicopee, Ma March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Dj/Production/Recording Engineer

    Very good for the price

    This is built like a tank. I use this to hold my DJ coffin. It is a little more then i need but then again .... better to be safe then sorry!

  • Ernest Bliss
    from Ashland, WI September 20, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Awsome!

    Great stand. Very stable and the rubber pads on top keep the keyboard from sliding around.

  • Bumpy
    from IL September 2, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Sturdy. Built to last.

    This is one of the best, if not the best keyboard stand. I love it so much, I own two. This stand can hold any size keyboard. You can mount a second-tier for an additional keyboard. It's very sturdy & you don't have to worry about the legs wobbling.

  • Keith Edwards
    from West Virgiia July 28, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Great Product

    Very sturdy, easy to set up and adjust. Well thought out product.

  • Erik Emrich
    from Los Angeles July 24, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Perfect for my Moog Voyager XL

    Very strong and adjustable for the perfect fit! Thanks AJ!

  • Keith Thomas
    from Tempe, AZ. May 24, 2013Music Background:
    Singer, Songwriter and Pianist

    Gator Frameworks Platform Style Keyboard Stand

    I have been looking for something as good as this for quite some time now. I happened to see it in the latest Sweewater catalog. It certainly exceeded my expectations.

  • Ray Remmers
    from Westminster June 21, 2017Music Background:
    Md.

    Professional keyboardist/concert organist.

    This gator heavy duty platform table is great! I also have an onstage version which is just ok. The gator stand is more sturdy, also, the legs can be adjusted by just pushing the button on the table and extending them to your height. The onstage one has a thumb screw where you have to match the holes on the stand. The gator stand is somewhat more secure also, the gator has a spring locking assembly which locks the stand in place. Actually, I liked it so much i bought another for my house for my Hammond Sk5. My other gator is at my church for my Roland VR09 organ, and I use the Onstage one for gigging, however, I am going to take the gator from my church and use it for my gig stand since it's more secure than the Onstage one. If you are going to use an 88 note board or a heavier board in general, I _strongly recommend the gator Framework heavy duty platform table hands down. Thanks for reading, and thank you Joe Copenhaver, it's always a great pleasure to work with you.

  • John R.
    from North Charleston, SC September 22, 2015

    Sturdy!

    This is a good and sturdy stand at a reasonable price, which is exactly what I wanted. I've seen stands collapse on fellow musicians during a show and I didn't want that to happen to me. I'm quite pleased with it.
    If there is anything bad to say about it, it would be that even at its lowest height setting it's a bit too tall when using a standard piano bench. For me it is, anyway. Maybe not for you. I'd feel a lot more comfortable if I could lower it another two or three inches.

  • W.C.
    from SE Missouri September 2, 2015Music Background:
    Multi-instrumental musician for past 50 years

    More Than a Keyboard Table

    I have KORG TRITON 88. It sits securely on an ULTIMATE SUPPORT keyboard stand. But a very special need arose and the GFW-UTILITY-TBL was precisely what I needed. I required a sturdy table that was height adjustable as well as expandable. But none of these features had anything at all to do with a keyboard. I had other plans. I ordered the table from Tyler (my incredibly helpful, professional and patient sales engineer and received the unit in two days. Assembly was virtually non-exsistant. Now for some modifications. I screwed-in a 2" lockable caster on the bottom of each leg, affixed a black 36" shelf to the top and I was ready. I now have a complete cockpit of SAITEK flight simulator controls on a very sturdy stand with wheels so I can roll it in front of the 32" monitor for that I use for ProTools and video editing. One cable to my computer and I'm flying. Back to music and recording, just roll it away. All-in-all, a very versatile and cool piece of unobtrusive gear that performs flawlessly. (And the Sweetwater price was far below what I had anticipated and was ready to spend).

  • Flo-Town
    from SC March 26, 2015Music Background:
    Professional

    portable

    I like it! Very adjustable in height and width. Folds up very compact and not heavy. Seems to be strong although I've not tested beyond my Korg SV1-88 key. No dancing on it or anything stupid. When I first set it up it seemed to wiggle a little, but once my keyboard is on it I don't feel the wiggle at all.

  • Matt Cellitti
    from Milwaukee, WI March 4, 2015Music Background:
    Producer, Educator

    Should've Bought It Sooner

    I messed up my posture for years thinking my X-Stand would be adequate since I already owned it. Nonsense. Better for your back, comfort, and overall ergonomics in the "everyman" studio space. Just wish it had a hook to tuck my headphones away.

  • Josie Just
    from Minneapolis, MN April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Pianist, Piano Teacher, Owner of The Music Lab

    Keyboard Stand Works Great!

    I love my new Gator Frameworks Platform-style Keyboard Stand! The only minor complaint i have is that it is a LOT heavier than i was expecting. I was kind of thinking i might be able to strap it to my keyboard for easy carrying solutions, but it's way too heavy for that. But i suppose that will also make it more sturdy. So in that sense, i'm pretty happy with it.

  • crabbydad
    from Michigan February 6, 2017

    Solid stand

    I needed a stand for my 49-key Arturia keyboard. This thing is quite sturdy and highly adjustable. Just what I needed.

  • Bob M
    from New Hampshire April 21, 2015Music Background:
    Composition, producer

    Gator Heavy Duty Keyboard Table

    Got this to support some heavy old stuff that has cluttered up the recording area, and it seems to hold well over 125 pounds handily. Has a little bit of sway, but if there was a keyboard on top, I think it would be just fine. For the bucks, it's a good deal...may order another as we expand the studio area.

  • scott thompson
    from Chicago IL September 22, 2014Music Background:
    band member playing keys

    quick set up

    Only other time I used a stand like this was under a Nord keyboard. plenty of room for my pedal board underneath and my volume pedal and can move my legs around much easier than the stands that have the cross legs underneath. Am very pleased with this stand.

  • Robert Keeney
    from Suwanee, GA September 16, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur pianist

    Sturdy, but tall

    I needed a sturdy stand for my 50lb KB with enough portability to go in the trunk of a car. This fits the bill very nicely as I really don't care for the less expensive X-style stands.
    It's very solid, goes together easily and collapses to a small footprint. My only complaint is that it won't allow my KB to sit at a standard piano height. That's not too big a deal since I have an adjustable bench, but if they made a slightly shorter one, that would ideal for me.

  • Aaron Yeager
    from WV USA February 20, 2014Music Background:
    Music Major,

    Gator Frame

    Sturdy, but does not fit the slots on my MOXF 8.

  • Paul Carraway
    from August 25, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician

    A solid stand

    Very nice, folds up easily. Only negative is that in its lowest setting the legs are still a bit long, making the keyboard a little higher than most X-braced stands I've used, so have an adjustable seat or throne to match it

  • Bob Gordon
    from Boston, USA January 10, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Not as sturdy as they claim it is.

    I bought this for a Roland PF 80 Keyboard. I read what Gator had to say about this stand, so I bought it sight unseen. My mistake. I am not a heavy player at all, but this stand is not at all what they say it is as far as being sturdy.

  • Joe Blue
    from Boston May 2, 2017

    quality (out of) control

    Bought one only to find it was a complete piece of garbage: legs and hinges all kinds of messed-up. Obviously no one had ever bothered to set the thing up. Or, if they did, they sold it anyway...
    Cheerfully and quickly replaced by Sweetwater, the second one is not going to collapse, but there is more sway than advertised. But then, it's a hundred dollar stand. I'd pay $ for a stable table this size and style that was rock solid. Those Gibralter erector sets seem a bit too complex for club date one-nighters. I'll keep the Gator but the search continues.

  • Lloyd
    from Massachusetts January 4, 2017

    Disappointing

    This stand will probably work out for you if you buy it, but we have a full 88 key Roland, a relatively heavy piano (about 47 pounds.) The table is anything but "heavy duty" as advertised. It is very light weight, not well built in terms of solidity, weight, or stability. Even when it's legs are locked in place, it is notably rickety. It has a lot of play, left to right, and readily sways. It is NOT going to fall over, and I think it would keep your key board safe, but it is not solid, and the construction is out of 1/2 inch square tubing, about 4 times smaller than it looks online or in the catelogue. It also has no spread at all with the legs, and does not have a wide base, just straight down. With a good sized 88 weight key keyboard on top, if someone in a club were to give it a good bump, I'd hate to see what would happen and am afraid it would fall right over. We are sending ours back and will be working with Sweetwater (an AWESOME company!!!) to get something much more substantial. Sweetwater, by the way, gets 5 Stars plus, and Dave M. is the BEST! Thanks Dave!

  • Customer
    from July 25, 2015

    Not that great

    I have had this rig for over a year and it's just not held up us well as I though it would. The stand was excellent in the first few months but then noticed that it began to wobble. Since then the levels have bent, making it difficult for the legs to lock in place and the wobbly stand has put me in the market to look for another. I transport it once a week and take good care of it, so it's not due to excessive wear and tear...it just hasn't lived up to expectations.

  • Jeffrey
    from Central California February 11, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A Disappointment

    This was a sad disappointment for me. I had been lusting for the more expensive, high-end stands by various makers. I finally decided, "Hey, it's only a stand, not a piece of art," and went for this one. I was swayed by all the reviews saying how steady and sturdy it was. Nope. I tried everything, with and without weight on the stand. Regardless, it jiggled and swayed. I even turned it upside down and checked all the fittings, looking for places to tighten, etc. No dice. This is no better than a similar, less expensive stand I bought for an old Yamaha 88-keyboard 20 years ago. A cute little bubble level is not enough to make this worth $100.

  • Customer
    from October 24, 2014

    Keep looking

    This is not a very stable table. I like the compactness but the instability is a concern.

  • Andrew Avery
    from Sand Lake,NY,USA April 22, 2013Music Background:
    sound engineer, muscian

    Rocky at Best

    Bought this stand as a mixer table for a band when we play small clubs, as stated the unit is rocky at best. I have found a fix for the unstable positioning of the leg locks, simply called the wall,I open the unit, and position it against the wall , works fine this way,otherwise I find a small club table and set up on it.

  • Customer
    from Washington, DC February 21, 2017

    Not great ..

    We have used this keyboard stand in a set up every time for our gig. First, the levelers on the bottom got lost the first week. Next, you have to be really careful that you don't pinch your fingers in the stand..

    Next, your keyboard will just slide over the stand unless you find some holes for it to fit in.

    I play standing up at my gig. At the end of our set.. I looked at the keyboard.. and it was off by about 20 degrees.. .Don't have time to go and measure each one of the four feet to get it exact.. and with losing the bottom leveler the first week... the holes in the tubes don't work accurately.

    This is great for a stand you don't set up and take down each week. Even if you try to lock the stand in the same position for the same keyboard.. the screws loosen during transit.. we're only going from downstairs to upstairs in a office type building.

    We're going for the double X stand now.. Less burden and finger pinching.. and not as flimsy.

    Definitely NOT happy with this purchase.

  • Customer
    from April 22, 2015

    Nope.

    Mine broke three shows into a tour, with a 41 pound keyboard.

Questions about the Gator Frameworks GFW-UTILITY-TBL Heavy-duty Keyboard Table?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway