0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Korg Pitchblack Guitar Pedal Tuner - Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 51 customer reviews
Questions about the Korg Pitchblack Guitar Pedal Tuner - Black?

Questions about the Korg Pitchblack Guitar Pedal Tuner - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Dan VanAmerongen

    A good tuner is the first thing that you should get for any pedal board. The Pitchblack is the one that I use in my rig and I have been thrilled with it. The Pitchblack is stable, easy to read from a distance, and is a slight bit smaller than your average floor pedal so it doesn't take up much space. The different tuning modes (Strobe, Half Strobe, Meter, and Mirror) are a plus and it has no trouble working with any of my instruments, from the low B on my 5-string bass to a low-output acoustic guitar. I highly recommend the Pitchblack to anyone looking for a reliable, sturdy tuner that will not break the bank.

  • from Elon, NC July 2, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good tuner!

    As the first pedal on my new board, I tried this first. Super easy to use, great display, compact footprint, true bypass. I'm beyond satisfied.

    As always, kudos to Sweetwater and my sales engineer, Nick Schenkel, for providing a quality product and stellar customer service

  • from East Greenville, PA June 23, 2016Music Background:
    trying to learn how to play guitar for 48 years....you mean there are more than 8 chords???....lol

    Awesome Tuner

    never thought i would ever say that about a tuner but what can I say? I have been using a Boss TU-12H for the past 20 some odd years...but it got old like I did....and I took a chance on this one....I LOVE IT!!!....and I can see it....hahahahaha...thats important these days.....works great and its silent tuning.....what more can ya ask for???

  • from Phoenix, AZ April 1, 2016Music Background:
    Country/Rock Bass player

    AWESOME PEDAL

    This pedal is great I'm actually going to buy another for my smaller rig. Hands down the best Tuner out there. I been playing now for 20 years and play pretty much every weekend. So just get this pedal you won't be sorry.

  • from Texas May 27, 2015

    Awesome

    Big screen. True bypass. Accurate tuning.

  • from Lafayette, TN March 8, 2014

    Korg Pitchblack Tuner

    Just the basic facts... This is a great little tuner with true bypass, so it won't color your sound. Tunes perfectly and very easy to use right out of the box. The display can be seen from a distance, on a dark stage or in sunlight. It's slightly smaller than your typical pedal so the small footprint leaves plenty of room on the pedal board... I have been using the tuner for years. It's a great tuner at a great price. Definitely need to add this to your pedalboard.

  • from Pennsylvania July 21, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Fantastic tuner pedal.

    I have been using this tuner pedal for a little over a month now and do not have a single complaint. I am quite new to the world of electric guitar, but I would recommend this pedal to anyone looking for a place to start building their effects pedal collection.

  • from TX June 18, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro

    Pitchblack is a great pedal tuner

    Small footprint, no tone decay, easy quick readings with no flutter.
    Tune a string mid-verse and be back before the chorus!
    Easy to see in even dimmest light. Perfect for me. Bought a set for my son's whole band.

  • from AZ May 10, 2013Music Background:
    Long time non pro player

    Excellent Tuner Pedal

    I needed a tuner pedal to put in front of my effects, I don't want to waste time unplugging to tune, especially if I am on a roll. This Korg does the job perfectly. Accurate tuning without any negative effect on tone when it is off. It is well made and sells at a fair price. Very happy with it.

  • from Detroit, MI April 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist with some stage playing

    Simple easy to see from afar

    My son has a different chromatic tuner that i found difficult to see with the needle, so i thought i would try this. Its dramatically easier to see if you are in tune and also easier to tune to sharps or flats, if you so desire. My only suggestion would be to buy the power source for it as you really don't know where your battery life sits.

  • from Washington DC April 4, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Rock Solid

    Did exactly what was expected, built like a tank.

  • from Ohio January 18, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Value

    It is well worth the price and looks sleek,definitely would replace it.

  • from CO,USA January 7, 2013Music Background:
    I play fast riffs

    PICK THIS ONE UP !!

    Easy to use , easy to read. Easy to set up .. you can power a few pedals and a daisy chain offa it. But what takes the cake i think is its true bypass so when you are tuning ( or changing instruments) you click this baby on and absolutely no signal goes through. Have one myself, bought one for a friend !

  • from florida November 5, 2012Music Background:
    working musician

    pitchblack tuner

    so far so good , needed an inline tuner without interfierance , really enjoy the bypass . no turning off or unplugging .

  • from Memphis, TN November 1, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur musician, recordist, mixer

    Perfect tune

    I've not seen one of these on any friends' boards, but came across it on an internet search and looked perfect for my needs. And...

    .... it is perfect for my needs! And I haven't even looked into any other display modes, which it has, I love it right out of the box. Never thought I'd be so excited about a tuner!

  • from Granville, Ohio USA October 26, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Pastor, Song Writer, Recording Producer

    Pitchblack Rave Reviews

    Everyone on our team who has used this tuner loves it.

  • from Guerneville, Ca June 19, 2012Music Background:
    Semipro Bass Player - 35 years.

    I Love It! Great visibility on stage..

    The best I have owned in thirty years. Can see it in daylight and pitch dark from a distance with "old eyes".

  • from Fort Wayne, Indiana June 14, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer, Guitar.

    Simple and effective.

    It's easy to read against the black background and it does a perfect job in tuning your guitar. Affordable and works great.

  • from Jacksonville, FL April 2, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Korg Pitchblack tuner

    What more can be said about this pedal? It's great at what it does, and the price can't be beat. The display is big and clear, most responsive tuner I've owned. Thank you for another great product, Korg!

  • from Northern N. Y. February 29, 2012

    The best I've ever used

    I have owned this pedal for a bout 2 weeks and just love it. I have used it at four gigs so far and it is east to use and very accurate. In a noisy atmosphere like a bar / lounge you can't rely on your ears to tune and this pedal is a great substitute for them. I like the different tuning modes as the lighting is always different when I play. This is my fourth Korg Tuner and I will buy this brand again.

  • from United States February 26, 2012Music Background:
    Recording, live sound, active musician, student.

    The Tuner

    This is the best tuner on the market. Hands down. I have used many different types of tuners until I landed on pitchblack. There is no comparison. I've used 2 types of TC's(Poly, and G major 2, line6, a boss tuner, and a korg rack tuner. Pitchblack destroys all of them. Especially for drop tuning.. It's hard to find a tuner that will tune an 8 string.. This one will.

  • from Boston, MA USA February 19, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Buy

    I'm an acoustic singer/songwriter and I was looking for something that was more accurate and functional than my current headstock tuning system. I tested this one and a Boss TU-3 and to be honest I liked this one better. Sturdy, extremely accurate and easy to use. The price difference is also a nice perk.

  • from Rochester Hills, MI December 12, 2011Music Background:
    Contemporary Christian Church Musician

    Best pedal tuner I've owned

    You can't beat it for accuracy, ease of reading on stage, and it's true bypass. Beats the usual Boss tuner hands down. For the price, it's well worth it.

  • from Los Angeles, CA November 29, 2011Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    WOW!!! I love this thing...

    I love this tuner as much as you can love a tuner... It works perfectly gig after gig... It's so easy to use that it's dummy proof... It's super easy to see the large screen in the sunlight and looks like a big flat sceen T.V. on a dark stage... One of the things I really love the most about this tuner is that it shows you the sharp and flat font on the screen... Unlike most other tuners that don't show the sharp or flat font... I love the esthetics of this unit... It's just the right size to fit in any gig bag or case... I just purchased a 2nd one for my home so I don't have to keep opening up my gig bag everytime I want to tune guitars in my house...

  • from Detroit, MI July 22, 2011Music Background:
    semi pro musician

    Korg Pitchblack

    Big display, easy to read, LED's fade from red into green as you get closer to pitch (not the usual twitchy display of some other brands...you know like "oh it's flat, ooops too sharp, oooops now too flat, etc). So, excellent ergonomics, Korg! Doesn't load my pedals down as my other tuner did.

  • from Highland, MI June 29, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Tuner

    This is by far the best tuner I have owned.
    Very fast , Works well with drop tunings.
    Also great on bass guitar.
    I like it better than the Korg DRT 1000
    A+++

  • from New Salem.Pa. December 26, 2010Music Background:
    semi pro studio player 40 yrs mostly rock

    korg pitchblack

    great tuner easy to use easy to see on dark stage nice to know you have precise tuning that is always ready when you are. black color is nice too. you will love this tuner .

  • from Dallas, Tx December 9, 2010Music Background:
    Student/Recording Engineer

    Fine Choice

    This pedal does everything I need it to do. The display is very easy to read and looks great on my pedal board. A great buy!

  • from Grand Rapids, MI February 8, 2010Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Song Writer, and electric/acoustic player

    Just what I needed

    I LOVE this pedal. I got it a year ago from sweetwater and it just works. It has four different modes for the strobe to show you if you're flat or sharp. It's bright enough for dark stages and works great for both acoustic and electric guitars. True bypass doesn't mess up your tone and it always reads your note quickly and doesn't get confused like other tuners do. Get it, cheaper and more accurate than the boss, and you won't regret it.

  • from Cincinnati, Ohio September 13, 2016

    Accurate, straighforward, and no nonsense

    I am an acoustic player who is pretty conservative and straightforward. I have a modest few effect pedals and a compact pedal case. Although everyone is unique, I have my own philosophies about equipment. If youíre going to the trouble to put together a big or small pedalboard to begin with, I think that youíre wise to at least consider a pedal tuner.

    There are two advantages in particular that make them especially nice for a board. Number one, they can be powered by the same source as your other pedals. Battery issues can be a thing of the past. The moment you power up your pedals, you instantly power your tuner. Itís one less thing you have to be concerned with. Second, you instantly kill the feed to the amp when you activate the tuner. You can therefore tune in silence without touching a volume knob or other setting. The feed is instantly restored when you step on it to turn it off. They may cost more than a typical headstock tuner, but are worth it if you spend any time with a board and effects anyway.

    There are some great pedal tuners on the market. I was drawn to this one however for the sheer simplicity of it. There is no switching for guitar or bass functions. There is no programming for tuning by string number when using dropped tunings or other unnecessary adjustments. In fact, the only two adjustments are for the type of readout, and for calibration. I like most people prefer the default readout and havenít changed the setting. Iíve also never had a reason to touch the calibration. Itís just nice to know itís there if you run into a discrepancy with someone elseís tuner in a group setting.

    This tuner couldnít be simpler. You plug in a guitar or bass, and then you, wait for it, turn it on!!! Itís fast and locks onto the target pitch quickly. It deals well with alternate tunings, which makes it especially nice for acoustics in my opinion. Itís very uncomplicated and the epitome of ďless is more. ď There is another name brand tuner that may be more durable. This one holds its own however, and is still plenty durable for a pro board. It has metal armor on the top and sides that has been no issue at all with me. Anything it may lack in that department compared to one in particular, it more than makes up for in performance and straightforward simplicity. I generally have enough to set up and adjust without adjusting a tuner of all things. All I need from a tuner is for it to tune, period. This one gets to the point and does that very efficiently. Iím quite happy with mine and wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • from H.B., CA October 26, 2014Music Background:
    musician

    It is what you need

    All you need in a tuner pedal. It gets the job done.

  • from Fort Myers, FL January 3, 2014Music Background:
    Broadcast engineer, serious hobbyist...ex pro musician

    Great pedal tuner

    I'd give it 5 stars but believe most things can improve... only have had this for a little while but find it extremely easy to tune my bass... has worked perfectly and the price when I bought on sale was 40 percent less then the other industry standard pedal tuner.. great value.

  • from Central Texas December 2, 2013Music Background:
    Life Long Hobbyist

    Works for me

    This is a great looking tuner, and is easy to use, and is very close to being perfectly accurate. I say close, as I have yet to find a tuner that sounds dead on the money to my ears. I always tweak a couple of strings on it just a bit to get that certain sound in my ear, even though the tuner shows it to be in tune. Could be my ears, as I have some high pitch hearing loss. It is at least very, very close. It feels solid and appears to be a quality tuner. The on\mute button works smoothly and quietly, anytime you want to check your tuning during a performance.

  • from Watertown, NY October 23, 2013Music Background:
    Old Bassman

    Lifesaver!

    This is such an improvement over the cheaper one I sent back! Love it!

  • from Asheville, N.C. August 14, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist, jam bands

    Korg Pitchblack tuner

    Very pleased, The pass through is clean with no added change in sound that I could hear. The pedal mutes the sound and lights up an indicator of the note with clear sharp / flat indicators as well. Click on, click off with a single step. The mute is nice, so audiences don't hear me tuning, and the display is really clear in light or dark conditions.

  • from Buena Park, CA usa August 7, 2013

    Korg again.

    This is the second time I bought this particular pedal. Lost the first one about 2 years ago along with some other gears. Since I was happy with the first one, I bought the same model again. My memory could be playing tricks on me, but this 2nd one looks a little different. However, it still has that Battlestar Galactica looks to it.

  • from Kansas City, MO July 26, 2013Music Background:
    Novice Engineer, Producer, Musician

    Korg Pitchblack Tuner

    Does its job, that's the most important aspect. Slightly disappointed by build quality, but not a deal breaker (obviously, I'm going to keep using it). Not made in Japan, sadly.

  • from Odessa, TX May 29, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great tuner

    Very visible. Does a great job on both bass and guitar.

  • from Florida Panhandle January 9, 2013Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musician

    Solid

    This pedal works great. Quick and easy to tune with true bypass. I've used it on several stringed instruments without any issues. The price is much lower than comparable tuners. This pedal does it's job and does it at a bargain price. It is plastic, but is solid. I expect that it will last as long as comparable tuners.

  • from United States December 19, 2012Music Background:
    Working musician.

    Great tuner, great price

    Works flawlessly, easy to see in any light. Fits easily on a board or in a guitar case. Very stable. Housing is solid and seems like it will give years of service. The switch is easier to push than most of my pedals and doesn't have the "Cachunk" that I've grown used to (but it's obvious when it's turned on or off.

  • from Central Ohio December 4, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Pastor, Song Writer, Recording Producer

    Pitchblack Tuner: Our bass players love it!

    Compact, easy to read, "hears" all of the bass notes. Mildly concerned about the strength of the box...we'll see...

  • from Ohio November 21, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar,20 plus years

    This is "knit-picking" but, could b perfect....

    Great tuner, does just what its supposed to do & very well...41/2 instead of 5 is because of two small reasons...#1: The bottom could/should be metal(aluminum or whatever)...#2: The "on & off" switch could be improved. By improved I mean, (maybe it's mine only)but there's no "click"....I prefer a very ridged stomp bottom..Maybe I'll check other ones 2 see if it's all of them....BOSS who? True Bypass is the only way 2 go....

  • from Grand Rapids, MI July 9, 2009Music Background:
    Guitar major in college, song writer, worship leader

    Great tuner

    Great tuner. Does what is says it does. True bypass, easy to read, and sharp to look at on the pedalboard.

  • from Salt Lake City, UT May 7, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A great tuner

    The Pitchblack ranks in the top investments I‚Äôve made in my guitar playing. Its four different modes are just variations on a theme ‚Äď they‚Äôre all super easy to use. The sensor locks on to any string very quickly and doesn‚Äôt waver. Its form factor is great, and its build quality looks superb. If it allowed me to store a slightly flatted E/A/B setting, it‚Äôd blow away the Peterson line.

  • from Los Angeles July 2, 2016

    The perfect stage tuner

    A bigger than usual display makes it easier to see. works perfectly. so far my favorite tuner.

  • from Lafayette, LA August 30, 2014Music Background:
    Death/tech metal bassist

    Pitchblack, easy to use.

    Bought one of these used when I decided to make the move from my rack mounted Korg tuner to a pedalboard. Decided on this because the price was right and it seemed to get great reviews.
    I also wanted a tuner that would kill my chain when I activated it. I want it to mute my bass between songs when I'm tuning. Does a great job at that.

    Our band tunes in C#, so 1-1/2" steps down from E. I thought I could do like my rack tuner and hit the option to make it go down 1-1/2 steps, but it doesn't work that way. For a while at practices I was used to looking for "EADG", but now I've got to look for C#F#BE. Call me lazy, but it was just what I was used to.
    No big deal, I adjusted.

    WARNING!: If you get this pedal and move it around your chain and find that it all of a sudden stops working, look at the patch cable you just switched it to. I did this and found that it would not work with a cable with two rings, (which I believe is a stereo cable).
    So keep that in mind

  • from Palatine, IL January 10, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Solid Performer

    It's a nice little pedal that does exactly what it claims. I'll try to give it a fair assessment. For me, the Pros easily beat the Cons.

    Pros:
    1. Small footprint.
    2. Tunes well, even for my Drop C stuff.
    3. Doesn't color tone.
    4. Easy to see
    5. Easy to configure (if you want to, otherwise it works out of the box).
    6. Powers other pedals.

    Cons:
    1. The switch does not have the "click" found on most switches. I kind of miss this.
    2. Doesn't include as many features as others in this prices range (extra bypass output, although you will probably sacrifice true bypass with any other pedals that have this feature)

  • from Virginia November 26, 2011Music Background:
    guitarist, singer/songwriter,drummer

    so far so good

    Would like to give five stars, but have only been using it for a couple of weeks. Thus far it has been performing flawlessly. Quick and quiet tuning on the fly in a sleek black box. Nice.

  • from Michigan October 6, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro/Hobbyist Studio/Stage Guitarist.

    Does the Job

    This pedal does the job, bright enough to see on stage and gets the tuning right. Built like a tank too... However, there are couple things I don't like, hence my three star rating...

    1) When switching on/off, it makes a popping noise, that is really noticable and annoying.

    2) Since it does make that noise, I'd rather just leave it on all the time. But you can't. When engaged, your signal chain broken. Wish there was an option to choose.

  • from November 17, 2015Music Background:
    40-year player

    Great display, but . . .

    I like this better than any other pedal tuner because of the clear display. I can't stand strobing displays.

    Unfortunately, the switch broke on my after less than 100 uses. Made in guess which country?

  • from Texas April 27, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist DEMONSEED

    Decent,especially for the price

    Not a bad price, but kinda flimsy. I'm concerned for its future!! Lol;) for the time being it works well, and does its job. The display is pretty nice size and it doesn't seem to affect my tone.

  • from Virginia April 25, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Korg Tuner Pedal

    The Pitchblack tuner works very well as a tuner. The only drawback to it is that is does show up well outside during the day. It's almost impossible to see the display even if you shade it. Besides that, it functions fine.

Questions about the Korg Pitchblack Guitar Pedal Tuner - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway