0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Electro-Harmonix Pitch Fork Polyphonic Pitch Shift Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 27 customer reviews
Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Pitch Fork Polyphonic Pitch Shift Pedal?

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Pitch Fork Polyphonic Pitch Shift Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from NEW MILFORD, NJ April 24, 2017Music Background:
    Boomer performer!

    Perfect Pitch

    Just plugged this baby in and wow! Turns your 6 string into a 12 or 18 string with the flick of a knob. Want to dive down into baritone territory? This box will take you there! How low can you go? All the way down to turn your 6 string guitar into a bass. I haven't even begun to play with the expression pedal but right out of the box it is a hit. You can't go wrong at this price point. If your looking for a straight up pedal that will cut through the mix and add a nice usable dimension to your sound you have found the PERFECT PITCH!

    You also can't go wrong with any purchase at Sweetwater! Their service is really that good. I'm sure that after reading so many raves about Sweetwater people may wonder if they are lacing their candy with some sort of mind control substances but NOOOOOO! They just do customer service right and in this age of wham bam-thank you mam sales it just stands head and shoulders above the pack!

    Special shout out to my sales rep, Mike Picotte! Thanks Mike!

  • from Colorado February 28, 2017

    This thing is a beast

    I just got this thing last week. It was either it or a Digitech Ricochet or a TC Sub-N-Up but I couldn't be more ecstatic about this purchase. I wanted some more atmospheric, moody tones for my bass guitar and the minute I plugged it in I was floored. It's changed the way I play. My bass has big dual humbucker active pickups and this picks up every bit of the signal and tracks awesome. Once I dialed it in, it sounds like I'm playing straight up guitar power chords but dropped into the netherworld. When I kick my fuzz or overdrive it literally sounds like the biggest, nastiest, ugliest toughest thing I've ever heard. I love, love it. I'd tell you the specifics of my rig but I'm afraid you'd want to steal my sound once you hear it so don't even think about it.

  • from Delta, CO July 5, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging pro

    Great Little Pedal

    I wanted a pedal to be able to change keys without using a capo or transposing, and also to play harmonized solos. This pedal does both very well. Very easy and intuitive to use at a reasonable price.

  • from Michigan July 4, 2016

    Electro Harmonix Pitch Fork

    Got one for my son and one for myself. Things are awesome. Endless options. Pitch Fork comes with it's own power supply but does not work with Dunlop Wha or a One Spot power supply in line to other pedals. Works fine with a Morley volume/wha and separate power supply's to each pedal.

  • from Montpelier, VT March 21, 2016

    Forking Awesome!

    The Pitch Fork is a blast! I get lost in this pedal every time I plug in my guitar. Lots of fine tunability for chunky, textural, and weird tones. My previous octave pedal seems so limited compared to the range and flexibility of this beast. So much packed in such a small package. My friend played through it and fell in love immediately. I can't wait to plug in an expression pedal. Many thanks to EH for creating such a fine product!

  • from February 1, 2016

    Wow

    Thank you EHX.It used to take an AMS or a Publison to get pitch shifting this smooth.

  • from January 15, 2016Music Background:
    4 years of electric guitar, 6 years of vocal

    Makes my life easier!

    I've been playing guitar for close to four years and always had to tune a guitar down if I wanted to play a different song. Since I started getting into performing life, I knew I would have to tune to different settings and I was fortunate enough to get the pitchfork for Christmas. Though I'm still learning the settings, I love how it sounds and found a few settings I plan to use in the future!!!

  • from January 4, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Useful Pedal

    After using this pedal for a week, I am impressed at how much use I have already gotten out of it. I play with a worship team at church and sometimes the leader wants a song in a different key than the audio files I have. The pedal enables me to shift the pitch to match the audio so I can figure out what I am going to play exactly as I will play it and not have to spend too much time thinking about transposition. Practicing has gotten much simpler and fun!
    With the blend control, pitch shift selections, latch, pitch up, down, or dual mode this pedal has a lot to offer for the ways it can be used.
    The pedal seems to track well enough for my use, and the tone coming from the pitch shift is still good. Some of the sounds can get a little silly depending on how far you are shifting but probably have a use in the right setting. I definitely want to hook an expression pedal up to it some day.

  • from CUDAHY, CA December 7, 2015Music Background:
    guitarist, audio engineer, worship team leader

    Sweet pitch shifter!

    I'm all about options and different sounds coming out of one pedal. This one gives you just that. You can blend a low octave with your original or processed signal to give you a thicker guitar sound, go 100% on the lower octave to sound like a bass or go with 50-50 blend for solos. You can even have more fun with this when combining it with a looper pedal. Great for your own sound, great for jamming out with friends. I really dig this little pedal!

  • from Eugene, OR November 10, 2015Music Background:
    Bass and other string instruments

    State of the art pitch pedal.

    I now own three of these things. One for my bass pedalboard, one for a compact "acoustic gig" bass pedalboard, and one for my guitar rig.

    I personally think this is the best octave pedal ever built (so far). It's actually polyphonic; it tracks really well, even on bass; and the textures and tones you can coax out of this thing are amazing. If you only used it as an octaver, it'd still be well worth the price.

    But: it's not just an octave pedal! Use your harmonic creativity to explore all the possibilities! The extended functionality makes this so much more valuable. EHX is, again, out in front of the pack.

    IMHO, if you hook up an expression pedal, this can compete seriously against the DT Whammy line. YMMV.

    Small caveat: since I own three of these, I notice that each behaves a little differently. But they all do what I want them to do, when I compensate for the differences.

  • from Monticello Utah June 17, 2015

    The spice rack

    I play solo most the time and now I have instant bass , new sounds at my finger tips. In conjunction with a looper pedal my one man show just took a great leap forward. Try putting a fretless bass an the #2 up position and you have the coolest slide sound. This thing is like a Marco Polo spice discovery. Kudos to the folks at E-H. And Sweetwaters wonderful shopping experience.

  • from Orange County, CA March 25, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Musician, Pop/Rock

    New to pitch shifting effects, but it's awesome!

    I had an extra spot available on my board and was wanting to try some kind of octave pedal. After looking at the micro POG, I came across the Pitch Fork and it seemed like the better option. No individual control for sub octave and high octave, but there are plenty more options to make up for that!

    I found the m2, M2, M3, etc. settings (pretty much anything besides the octaves) are really only useful to me when the blend knob is cranked all the way up (no dry signal). There is a tad bit of latency when doing this and the guitar tone changes a little, but I find the m2 in the down setting with the blend knob all the way up is a great alternative to tuning your guitar to all flats for songs with open chords in Eb major, F# major, or B major (that way you can play in E, G, or C, respectively).

    The latch switch is cool with the blend all the way up as well...you can pretty much just have the pedal jump an octave or drop an octave momentarily during a solo or something. I haven't used the expression pedal function yet, but I'll try it out soon.

    I think I will primarily use this pedal on the single octave setting, either up, down, or both, to fatten lead lines, or to use for guitar swells (plus delay and reverb).

    Overall, it's a very versatile pedal with great tracking, a great price, and a fun pedal to use in many applications!

  • from United States February 12, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur Musician

    Excellent Pitch Shifting Pedal - Watch my Unboxing and demo videos

    This is a great all-around pitch-shifting pedal that competes closely with the EHX MicroPog. It has a smaller footprint and some additional features. Some say that the EHX MicroPog has a slightly more pleasing sound than the Pitch Fork, but the difference isn't noticeable enough for my uses.

    The Pitch Fork has a momentary glissando feature that allows the user to glide up/down to the harmonized note that has been chosen.

  • from Ames, IA USA February 8, 2015Music Background:
    Experienced, recording, hobbyist

    A pedal with many wonderful options

    I waited for this pedal for a long time from another excellent vendor, then realized after a month or so that Sweetwater had them in stock. This is the kind of pedal you really know you got your money's worth out of. The 33 settings, coupled with the blend knob allow you to get virtually anywhere you want to. Plus power supply (always nice to get with any pedal purchase). When using it with other pedals, multiply the possibilities again by all of the settings. It also makes one think about the fretboard all over again in new ways. The latch setting actually makes the foot-switch act like an simple expression pedal - nice! (didn't expect that at all). I put it in the FX loop next to a final noise kill pedal to round out an entire 14-pedal setup - great~! It is a pedal that will expand my playing and give me that 'other gear' many of us have always hoped to find. EH has done it again. Thank you for the awesome foot candy Sweetwater~!

  • from New York City January 12, 2015Music Background:
    Always evolving

    Thick Sonic Mojo

    Seeking some unique other worldly sounds? I did like they suggested and put a Nano Big Muff in front, and wouldn't you just know the tones coming out of the Mesa were mind blowing. On the clean Channel I could feel the front end of the amp sweating, just dripping with rich lush harmonics. The dynamics in this little pedal will put your speaker(s) to the task. Plugged in the expression pedal and it was mind blowing. Added the Wha and got lost in the richest, thickest , sonic gumbo. If invention is you're thing this is a useful powerful tool. Easy to operate, nice small footprint. It's a keeper.

  • from United States November 14, 2014Music Background:
    Mix Engineer

    WOW!!! I can finally make great harmonies really fast!!!

    Thank you EHX for making this wonderful little yet powerful pedal.
    I have put electric guitar and vocals through it.
    It tracks very very well, and the harmonies sound great!
    Cheers.

  • from NEW YORK CITY October 23, 2014Music Background:
    LEAD GUITARIST

    WOW

    Here is the deal. I was thinking about different ideas for a solo project I might record. I wanted an effect to expand my creativity. This pedal is like dropping acid. It will take you to places musically that you would think did not exist. It will open your mind to levels that are endless. I LOVE IT>

  • from IN August 2, 2016

    Boss Killer

    This pitch shifter will not only inspire you, it will make you do great things. If you are considering a Boss PS6...dont. This pedal not only blows the Boss away, it far supercedes it I.bought a Boss and returned that glitchy shniz. This pedal tracks asesomely. Just buy it!

  • from Chicago, IL March 2, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Great alternative to more expensive pedals

    For the price this pedal is fantastic. The momentary switch makes it incredibly easy to harmonize specific areas or runs in a longer passage. as the only guitarist in my band, it's been wonderful to fatten up riffs and fill out certain areas.

  • from The Burgh February 10, 2015Music Background:
    45 years of playing (though mostly the same 4 chords) :)

    Nice!!!

    Love it! - Just need to control my use of it now. (easy on the Blend) :) Love the silent on/off & Latch feature of the switch. “Dual” mode is quite versatile for you may not always want both Up & Down. Bought an expression pedal to aid in “playing” with it. Small footprint & the sounds are highly usable (except for the 3up – though your dog may love it) Love what all EH is doing of late.

  • from East Central Ohio April 28, 2015Music Background:
    Recording, play in two bands, etc.

    Best for the bucks

    Picked up this unit because I needed to basically lower the key of my guitar to suit the singer(s) in the band who are getting older (LOL!) and are unable to reach the higher notes, so this came in handy, I have to turn the effect on 100% wet of course so only the pitch shifted guitar sounds will be heard. My only complaint, if it is that, is that I wish that the markings were indicated in half steps, i.e. - or + rather than a "perfect third, major second, etc...". Also, it would be great if there were in between stops for all the half steps in an octave, but if you examine the settings on the unit, there are some key shifts that are not available. You could use an expression pedal to manually (with your foot) adjust the settings to get those in between keys. Overall, it does a pretty good job of pitch shifting with latency that is unremarkable. The latch/unlatch feature is good too if that is what you want. Some of the sounds can get a bit silly at the EXTREME settings, but hey, there are there. The price, when compared to other units, is killer! Build quality is sturdy. I recommend this pedal and am not disappointed with it, other than what I noted, but this is common with most of these pedals.

  • from United States February 25, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Studio Engineer, Studio Owner

    Great Pitch Pedal!

    I use it specifically to tune my guitar down a half step for certain songs at a gig. I use to have to bring a 2nd guitar and do a change and then change back to avoid tuning all 6 strings and then tuning them back. This pedal makes it instant. There is a slight change in tone however. It seems a bit compressed but for live shows, not being recorded, I'm ok with it. The other issue is that there is a slight amount of latency. I noticed it when I first started using the pedal but after a few gigs It became less and less noticeable. But it is there. I've tried other pitch pedals but their latency was far worse than this pedal.
    It does all the expected pitch shifting with an expression pedal. It solved a huge problem for me so I'm very happy with the pedal and would recommend it.

  • from Chicago January 21, 2015Music Background:
    Professional

    Useful Tool for Pitch FX

    After seeing Bill Ruppert's tasty EHX video and various reviews, I endured a considerable wait for it's arrival. With a small footprint for a pedalboard, expression pedal use (if desired) & nice fine tuning features: it's a nifty tool. Using an I-Spot in a chain with a Leslie-type pedal & delay: it did well. It can get a bit metallic sounding unless you use the BLEND knob, but slight characteristics change if you run it in a loop as opposed to running it in front of an amp. But this past week it covered 12-string, baritone, tiple & 8-string bass parts convincingly when recording. It's bypass is for real too, & with a friendly expression pedal it does whammy & Slammi leaps as well.

  • from Yorktown, New York October 22, 2014

    great little pedal

    This pedal is very cool with it's polyphonic harmonization manipulation. The expression pedal is key, it basically makes this a suped up whammy. I bought the moog ep3 along with this pedal to use it much like a whammy. The only reason I gave it a 4 is because it has some trouble replicating really low notes, using this with my bass yielded some unexpected and undesired results. On the plus side, the glissando option works very well, and the ability to do mulitple octaves at the same time is pretty bad ***! Also, the detune fuction in dual mode gives a great chorus sound to the guitar and bass.

  • from Eureka, CA March 16, 2017Music Background:
    69 year old getting back into guitar....intermediate

    Fun to goof with

    The Pitch Fork is more suited to a working guitarist who would like to move up to a different key without a capo or someone advanced enough to really be able to use the two different pitches at once feature. Being a guy who never gets out of the bedroom, I'm still searching for a good reason to use it except to have a lot of fun goofing around with it. Plan on getting an expression pedal to take real advantage of the pedal (The "M Gear EX-P works great and not too expensive). Have fun!

  • from Iowa July 22, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Another Good Idea

    In the review of this product, it was advertised as no latency. But, if you have to play something fast and rhythmic, you will notice the latency immediately. In particular, my band performs the new "Shut Up and Dance" tune, and during the verse there is a rhythmic pattern that I dang near wasn't able to perform on the fly because the latency was so bad. I had to play ahead of the beat in order for the timing to be correct. Otherwise if playing something slower, not as much an issue.

    On another note, the pedal did color my guitar tone. This was a very easy process to hear. Even non-audio-files, could hear the difference. The pedal darkened the tone, but didn't necessarily sound bad either.

    Everything else in the pedal works fine though. For my uses though, these aspects were enough for me to sell the pedal off.

  • from Damascus, MD October 29, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging musician.

    Nope

    I initially ordered a Digitech Drop, however (and I have to give props to Nick for looking out for me) I was advised this pedal existed, was cheaper, and to give it a listen on the interwebs. As a result, I ordered it and was rather disappointed, as what I heard on the web was not translating at home...at all. The main issue I have, is that the pedal produces what I perceive as a very short delay/doubling effect (this is not in dual mode), and an almost metallic sounding chorus-type effect...neither of which are very musical. I should say that I tried the pedal with many different guitars, active and passive pickups, directly between the guitar and amp, in the effects loop, not in the loop, in my pedal board before the gain, after the gain, before the compressor, after the...blah blah, you get the picture. Tried it on the clean and gain channels of a 6505+ and an Engl Invader (okay, the 6505+ doesn't really HAVE a clean channel), and I had the same problem in each position. One positive is that it sounds very cool in dual mode, specifically playing Toccata and Fugue in D Minor. Just sayin'...it does.

    I returned the pedal and went for the Digitech Drop, which gets a 5 star review from me.

Questions about the Electro-Harmonix Pitch Fork Polyphonic Pitch Shift Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close