rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Korg pitchblack Pro Rackmount Tuner Reviews

4.0 stars based on 24 customer reviews
Questions about the Korg pitchblack Pro Rackmount Tuner?

Questions about the Korg pitchblack Pro Rackmount Tuner?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from November 28, 2015

    Kong Supertuner!

    I have read reviews about how it is made of plastic. I got it out of the box and started to mount the tuner in an interesting manner. As I was working on it the tuner flipped out and took a four foot dive on to a concrete floor. It bounced and flipped into the air landing on its back. I was worried it might not fair well. It was perfect and as I fired it up the thing worked perfectly! It is easy to use and very visible from a long distance. Just what I was looking for!

  • Customer
    from April 1, 2015

    korg pitchblack tuner

    Awesome tuner can see it far away in dark or light.

  • Don Knight
    from Auburn, Al. USA November 20, 2014Music Background:
    Retired and Music is all I do now..

    Korg pitchblack Pro Rackmount Tuner

    I got the tuner put it in my rack and it works great not to mention that it looks great in the rack and adds a lot of color in there which also looks great at the gigs...

  • Anthony Wright
    from Independence, MO November 4, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Korg Pitchblack Pro Rackmount Tuner

    Very accurate tuning, easy to use, cable checker is an added bonus. Great package for the price and doesn't take much room in my rack case.

  • Jerome J.
    from South Bend IN. October 5, 2014

    Accurate

    Simple, easy to use
    Very easy to see and accurate, checked it out with my Peterson strobe, spot on accurate.
    Can't beat the price and it is feather lite, won't add much weight to your rack. Or gig bag which ever you use

  • Rob
    from Rosedale, VA May 22, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer and Composer

    Pitchblack Pro - solid!

    Well the thing is certainly plastic and weighs nothing, but since I have mine in a studio environment, it's not an issue for me. I will say that metal rack ears might have been a better idea instead of plastic, but this thing won't see any gigging any time soon. The PB Pro is super accurate, the cable checker is a nice additional feature, and you can actually see what you're doing when you are trying to tune. Lastly, don't be ashamed to have this turned on with the strobe mode active when first-time clients walk into your studio. This thing looks impressive! "Whoa, what is that!?"

  • Anthony Maddux
    from Antelope, CA March 24, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    korg pitchblack pro rackmount tuner

    Great tuner! I really like the various setting for tuning. It can be set very standard to the way cool strobe. It is very light and fits perfectly in my rack. I have three different rack mount set-ups with the first having a Sabine and the next a older Peterson. I have set each of my racks exactly the same way with a power conditioner on top, next the tuner, then DBX 160A, then amp. In my third rack, I have a Furman PL Plus 11, the Pitchblack, the DBX160a and then Mesa Carbine in a SKB case. I plug my bass directly into the tuner, and from the back, it connects to the DBX then into the amp. Very simple and absolutely awesome looking and sounding! My only complaint was the two months I had to wait since it was on back order. I HIGHLY recommend this tuner.

  • Bob Farrell
    from Albuquerque, NM November 2, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Gigging Musician & Songwriter

    Korg Pitchblack Pro -

    This rackmount tuner is perfect for my use. I love the display visibility and ease of use. I mounted it to the top ceiling of my guitar vault. This way I can tune 7 instruments from the vault without moving to my pedal board - guitars (and banjo) are always in tune and ready. And with my black faux fur interior on the guitar vault with my LED light strip highlighting the seams of the vault, the Korg Pitchblack gives a spectacular visual as well (one fan commented that it looked like KIT-the Knight Rider car). The accuracy on this tuner is fantastic. If I didn't have it mounted in the place I do, my one concern would be that it is not a metal housing like it's old predecessors - it is plastic. I know me, and if it were loose or on a pedal board, I would break it easily. But mounted in a rack - THIS is the way to go!!!

  • Joe
    from VA March 14, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Amateur

    Performs as expected, little complaints

    Like others I was a little put off by the plastic construction of the tuner. Regardless of the construction it does its job as required. Easy to read with multiple options. I use input 2 on the back to take the feed from my rack wireless receiver. I like that in the case I have to go direct wired I only have to plug into input 1 on the front. The back input is automatically overridden and 1 takes over. Many options to choose tuning wise but the default works for me. Easy to see from across the room. I haven't taken it out in the sun yet. Time will tell on that. Great tuner overall.

  • Customer
    from January 22, 2016Music Background:
    National Touring Artist

    Great Tuner for Rack Application

    I bought this to replace my older Korg DTR-2000 tuner I've used live for the better part of 8 years. I have been touring with this tuner now for over a year and I absolutely love it. I was reading some of the other reviews on here:

    - many comments about the plastic molding...this allows it to be very lightweight and when properly mounted in a good rack case (which is where rack gear goes) it is well protected and very sturdy without adding unnecessary weight, which any touring musician should appreciate.
    - I read a comment about the output being on the back...this is because it was designed for rack building applications such as running in to rack mounted preamps, processors, or other outboard gear before hitting your amplifier.

    It has done a phenomenal job for me, very easy to see on dark stages waiting for the curtain to rise and incredibly accurate. I was most impressed with the ability to see it even in amphitheaters which usually kill my visual of my tune. My entire band relies on this exact tuner on every tour. We use the Peterson Strobe Rack tuner in the studio and we have seen the same accuracy from this (in a live setting) that we see in the studio with our Petersons. Great product and amazing job from Korg!

  • Rod D
    from Marion, IN. May 8, 2015Music Background:
    35 years gigging classic rock and blues

    Great tuner!!!

    This tuner works great, easy to view and is very accurate. With 3 different styles of display, it's almost like your own personal light show. It is very easy to use.

    The tuner case is constructed of plastic and is quite light, which is the only thing I don't like. If mounted in a rack, I don't see that as a problem. I used hook & loop fasteners to attach it to my amp to keep it secured in place. I also loop my instrument cable under the amp handle as a strain relief as not to put pressure on the 1/4" input jack.

    The plastic construction is the only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars, but with proper care it should last for years. I recommend getting one of these!

  • Randy
    from United States March 29, 2015Music Background:
    Composer/Musician

    Great

    Great product, does what it's designed to do. Can't complain.

  • Steve Jones
    from California August 7, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Korg pitchblack pro

    Outstanding unit. Easy to use.

  • Vic Rivera
    from Bronx, NY June 19, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter, Multi-Instrumentalist, Recording and Mix Engineer, Producer, Independent Recording Artist

    Does its job impressively, stunning to look at as well. But...

    Super accurate, easy to use, three different tuning modes to suit your fancy and visually impressive beyond any tuner I've ever used or seen. My only concern is durability...the entire thing, including the rack ears, is ultra-light plastic. Secured in my rack, the entire unit flexes slightly outward when unplugging any cables from it. Not 100 percent confidence inspiring and I really hoping this won't be an issue down the road, hence my first rating less than five stars on any product sold I've purchased here. Other than that concern, it's absolutely everything you could want in a tuner, and looks good doing its job. As always, thanks to my Sales Engineer Chris Lewis for service above and beyond any other music retailer. This thing was on back order forever and when my queue position came up, he contacted right away so I didn't miss out. Thanks Chris!

  • Customer
    from February 1, 2016

    korg tuner

    Excelent tuner-no complaints.

  • Steven McGinnis
    from kansas city, MO June 10, 2015Music Background:
    thiry year pro

    works great

    this tuner is great... its one of the few i can see in a bright environment like the display options and the rack ear stands are a nifty idea...my only knock is that the tuner is made entirely out of poly carbonate type plastic which is very fragile.. if you have it in a rack noworries but if your using it out of the rack you will need to be careful not to drop it...

  • r.k. herzog
    from SEPA February 23, 2014Music Background:
    upwardly-striving hobbyist

    Disappointing flaw for rackmount operation

    Really good as a tuner.
    As a rack-mount? Not so much...

    What I do -not- like: primary input is on the front, but the Output is on the back(!). So this pretty much gives you a rackmount tuner is useless in actual rack-mounted operation... Do you have am amp with a rear-panel input? Does anyone?

    Interestingly, the input jack for the Mute footswitch is on the front - along with a button that does the same thing.

    This seemed obvious to me in the first 10 seconds of use - were no actual musicians consulted for the panel design? Disappointing...

    3 solutions come to mind. 1) grind a cable passthrough slot in one of the rackmount ears (which are indeed plastic and don't appear that robust - but this product weight nothing...). 2) run yet another instrument input cable from the parallel out jack on my DI -- in which case the Mute function (with its useless front-mounted jack) does not function. 3) If I'm using wireless, the wireless receiver has a separate Tuner Out output. And once again the Mute function does not function...

    So - it works as a tuner. As a _rack mount_ tuner it has a fundamental flaw that could have been so easily avoided.

  • Steve
    from Florida August 8, 2014Music Background:
    Multiple instruments for 40+ years.

    Korg pitchblack Pro Rackmount Tuner

    I like it, it is a rack mount and choices were limited this works very well for the cost.

  • Glenn
    from Ohio February 3, 2017Music Background:
    Producer, Musician, Engineer

    Not bad

    I love everything about this tuner except the build quality. Regardless of the reviews here otherwise (probably Korg employees) the build quality is very poor. The whole thing is cheap plastic. Luckily mine sits in a rack in my studio, so it will likely be fine for quite some time, however I wouldn't want to take it on the road. It's not likely to take any abuse.

  • jerry scudder
    from GREENSBURG, IN October 16, 2016Music Background:
    Bass Player forever

    Korg Pitch Black Pro Tuner

    I have two of these tuners, one for stage, one in my studio. Both are near a year old. The front input jacks have intermittent connectivity. Now the rear input jacks are creating distorted sound. I use this inline with an 18 volt EQ five string bass into a Hartke K-15. Makes every note sound fuzzy

  • Gizmo
    from Sacramento October 21, 2015

    Nice tuner that does not live up to the 'Pro' Moniker

    I needed a new rack mount tuner for my live guitar rig so I purchased this unit based on my experience using my Korg DTR-2000. Maybe it was the 'Pro' label that convinced me that the Pitchblack would be the same build quality as my DTR-2000.. it is most certainly not. This unit is all plastic, even the detachable rack ears are made from plastic... say what? The Display is nice and the tuner seems to be accurate so that is a plus. I guess the upside to being all plastic is that it is 'Lightweight' and perhaps that would be a better way to describe this unit.

  • Daniel Prunier
    from Naples, FL June 26, 2014Music Background:
    Assistant to Van Beethoven

    What year is this?

    I agree with another poster here about rackmount operation, but with another twist to it that's much more important to me, and that's how little developers seem to be with their products these days.

    The power supply (plug end) is that one that drives you mad when you use either a rack mounted power station/conditioner, or even a power strip. How anyone that is supposed to be a musician, can develop a product for a rack, without thinking of that really brings their credit down to me in a very large amount. I've bought Korg equipment for decades, but never a rack mounted device. I understand it needs the components in-line somewhere (anywhere) that these low voltage devices need, but you know what? They could put it in the middle, they could still put it on the end but make the end swivel or just come out rather than block 2 or 3 outlets. No one uses wall outlets anymore, other than plugging in their rack conditioner/ups or their power strip. Seriously, Korg? I'm so disgusted I'm most likely sending it back.

    Other minor issue is it's all plastic. For the price, all plastic is fine by me, but it's shiny plastic, meaning the rack ends. To me, no big deal, but I only mention it because I've read rack complaints on such a thing. It does make my sweet rack look a little odd now, but I know only I notice it (hope anyway). Flat black is what most use so, again, why "dare to be different" when it goes against someone's overall rack, or functionality and operation. I just wonder if Korg's name has been used by someone that has no idea what racks are (the power supply issue) or if they really don't care that much?

    Operation works great for a device of this price.

  • Susan Haynes
    from Patterson, CA April 20, 2016Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/musician

    Korg hits an all time low

    I was actually excited to get this tuner. I have an older Korg rack tuner and it is rock solid and I still use it every day. As for the Pitchblack, the tuner actually does work fine. But could Korg have used any cheaper plastic to make this thing? Even when carefully putting these flimsy plastic rack ears in my rack, they split. I have been a Korg user since the late 70's and I must say this thing is junk (explitive deleted). There is no way I can take this to a gig, it will be in pieces before I even get my rig setup. I can't even imagine putting this thing in a pedal board. What is wrong with a metal case with a plastic bezel? Very sad!

  • Customer
    from November 18, 2015Music Background:
    32 year professional musician

    korgs most stunning

    im stunned it does not go to 432,... what is this government issued material ??

Questions about the Korg pitchblack Pro Rackmount Tuner?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway