0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Moog Slim Phatty Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    Pure analog Moog! If you're ready to step away from emulation and dive in to the world of real hardware, then the Moog Slim Phatty is THE piece to do it.

  • Jeff Bohan

    I'm a big fan of classic fat analog sounds, and the Moog Slim Phatty has amazing sounds! Every time I plug it in, its filters and oscillators blow me away. There are so many features I find useful - the arpeggiator, overdrive, performance mode, and so many others. When playing this synth, I always get excited about the creative sound sculpting options at my command. It's perfect for my hybrid analog/digital studio setup!

  • from Paradise, CA June 21, 2014Music Background:
    Home Studio

    I am a moog convert

    I have had many synths over the years but never a Moog. I read about so much hype and die hard fans. This little guys was pretty cheap so I thought to give it a try. Wow this thing is awesome. I am really surprised, it's becoming my favorite and I have quite a few synths in my collection. Not sure if it's that it's analog or what but it's more like a real instrument like a bass guitar it seems to always have a life and presence in the mix and I find I don't have to do a lot of messing with it to get it to sound good. it't not just good at bass either, though the quality of bass that comes out of this beats all my plug ins and other synths (the Korg MS 20 is good too) I have wondered what jumping up to the voyager would sound like but from all I've read it sound like the slim phatty is the best deal around to get the real deal moog sound and at a cheap price. The interface isn't the most awesome but it works and is fairly straight forward. I set mine up on 3 Herbies Audio Lab tenderfeet and it made a noticeable improvement in the sound.

  • from United States January 22, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Recording Engineer, Composer,

    Great sounding synth!

    This is a very fantastic synth. I have it hooked to my DAW rig through midi. Yes its a pain to have to record its audio back once you're happy- but its totally worth it! If you go online you can actually download presets, or make your own right on the device.
    One note however: You must tune it! I'm not actually sure the science behind it- but you can just put a tuner between the output of it and the input on your converter/mixer/preamp. The CA (calibration) preset works very well for getting in tune.

  • from Oregon April 8, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    phatt Indeed

    I had been putting off getting back into analog synths for quite some time as I was perfectly happy with what I had with sample based instruments and modeling synths. Back in the seventies I used the early mimimoogs and an Arp or two. I had forgotten the joy of using those lovely things. After reading all the hype and blogs on how much bottom end and meat there was to the sound of these new "real" analog synths I was getting sick of it and couldn't believe the difference between a modeled sound or sample would be that great.
    I was completely amazed at the sound and control I have with the Moog Slim Phatty!
    I still love my other keyboards and modules but my God.
    All this time the other synth geeks were right about the sound of analog, maybe I chose to forget after all these years.
    If your looking to get back into analog hardware or even for the first time, I highly recommend the Phatty as an affordable leap without busting your budget.
    It has plenty of options for synthesis but maybe not as many as a competitor but the Moog sound is what I was looking for in the end and this is it.

  • from NM, USA October 31, 2011

    Simply beautiful

    I received my new Moog Slim Phatty (and rack ears) on Saturday morning. Before opening it I let it warm up to room temperature for a few hours. The Slim Phatty enclosure is made of metal, and the build quality is absolutely wonderful.

    After powering it up I plugged in my headphones and tried all 100 presets for the entire afternoon. Trying out variations of the presets was quite fun.

    This is my first Moog analog synthesizer - so glad I purchased it. When I can afford it I'd like to get the Moog Little Phatty Stage II (Sweetwater Solar CV Edition) and connect them together.

    Thank you Sweetwater and Carson for the excellent service.

  • from Fort Atkinson, WI USA March 29, 2011Music Background:
    Synthesizer Musician and Recording Artist

    Spacey Moog

    I bought this synthesizer for the analogue sound. I use this with a
    Doepfer MAQ 16/3 sequencer and some other synths to create some alien soundworlds. I really like the colored lights. They tell you where the parameteres are at in dark situations on stage. I use an adapter for the output so I can have sounds in two channels on mixer. I also have the CP-251 control processor connected to this synth sometimes. Great sounds. Great Synthesizer!

  • from Indianapolis, Indiana June 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Composer

    Analog!

    This a great synth! Moog sound at a great price. I use this with my Moogerfoogers and it sounds great. Easy to navigate and looks awesome too. It could use a better display though.

  • from new york/ quebec corridor December 28, 2011Music Background:
    funk/beer jingles/cover band

    ALL-BEEF PHATTY!!!!!!!!!

    Dr. Bob Moog was all about fun and creativity- this incredible machine is a joy to operate. The controls are well placed and comfortable, the casing seems to be a super alloy and the sounds are transcendent! I made the jump from analog-modeling to the real deal. The tone is incredibly warm- many modeling synths sound cool, but the slim phatty has a tone purity that will cut through strongly on stage. The display is easy to read- even when spotlights, lasers and flash- photography doofuses are present at the gig. To paraphrase Lenny Leonard, this machine has features from here to Ya-Ya. Expansion options are huge. Know this- the phatty takes about twenty minutes to warm up and some tuning (not hard at all) is required if one has ensemble work. The pre-sets are not typical sounds that we have heard a bazillion times. This machine has a big learning curve. I would love it if they programmed reverb into these machines. This is the people's synthesizer.

  • from Nor Cal USA September 29, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Synth Geek

    Rad!

    Good synth. Sounds better than most new true analogers. Subs for days and gets nasty. Cranking up the O.L. distortion on the filter is great for processing all kinds of things.

  • from washington d.c. December 5, 2010Music Background:
    hobbyist, bedroom producer, guitarist, keyboardist

    Moon goes Moog

    This being my first Moog, I am pretty satisfied. Once you hear that analog ladder filter you'll know what i mean. It can get downright dirty with the growls and squelches fast. But also give you that warm filter sweep. Doesn't compare to other models but the midi/usb implementation is a plus. If this is your first synth, congrats you started out on the top of the synth chain. My sales guy is awesome, have been dealing with him for probably 2 or more years. He really pulled through when I've been demanding.

  • from Long Beach, CA July 11, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician

    Compact Moog sound, with some weaknesses

    Had the SP in a road rack for a few tours. It's a Moog, it sounds great, but folks need to know some problems. They had to shrink the Little Phatty interface to slim it down, and editing gets very clunky in the dark. The Slim Phatty has more tuning problems than any other in Moog's lineup. It admits it in the forums and manual. It requires at very least 15 minutes (sometimes more) to warm up, which isn't always afforded on festival stages or local shows. The arpeggiator is difficult to use, as it's menu-based, and my biggest frustration with the Slim is the quirky menu. It's supposedly 110-220v capable, but I've had it completely freak out on some Euro stages - I highly suggest a power conditioner. The pots also feel very wobbly (surface-mounted?) so I have to tweak softly. BUT it has instantly classic sound, and is a relatively cheap entry into the Moog sound. You also get a Moog filter you can route any audio thru.

Questions about the Moog Slim Phatty?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway