0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 4x4 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 4x4?

Questions about the Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 4x4?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from January 20, 2016Music Background:
    Writing songs and playing guitar since 1961.

    Voodoo Lab High Power Alternative To The Pedal Power 2 +

    The Pedal Power 4X4 is exactly what I was looking for. I own two Pedal Power 2's. They're excellent. Because I've purchased higher mA pedals in the last few years like those by strymon and Empress I decided to purchase a third power supply that would offer 400 mA outputs rated at 9V and 12V. I actually went directly to Voodoo Lab's website, (I'm a long time fan of their Pedal Power power supplies), and found the Pedal Power 4X4. Perfect. I then went to Sweetwater, (again a long time "go to" site), found the 4X4 in stock and placed my order. A few days later I was plugging in and powering up pedals and found everything worked perfectly. No noise or interference. Invisible. All expectations met.

  • from Killingworth, CT January 16, 2016

    Very impressed

    It does it's job, and it got rid of a little bit of noise I had. The quality is excellent, built like a tank, and made in the USA.

  • from Washington, d.c. October 31, 2015Music Background:
    I have a day job, but a dozen albums of originals, and more shows than i can remember

    True isolation for my noise prone array

    I have a lot of digital pedal on the board. Talking, several multifx, a multi overdrive, a big 3 button delay Dd500, a Sampler, Digitech JamMan.

    So i have to make a dang spreadsheet to keep all the mAs straight.

    This thing can power them all. No noise.

  • from Colorado June 8, 2015

    Clean, quiet, dependable

    This is my 5th power supply from Voodoo, powering 3 pedalboards. Everything they make is dependable and bullet proof. The 4x4 is no exception. I have 2 of these powering my big board. I won't use anything else.

  • from Twin Cities April 7, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist/Bassist/Recording Producer

    4X4 Power Brick

    Provides ample current for multiple pedals.
    4 High current (400ma) outs @ 9 or 12VDC
    Using both, and one is inverted phase.(requires special phase inverting cable from Voodoo Lab.)
    4 Medium Current (100ma) outs @ 9VDC
    I'm using all the outs within 50ma of limit,
    and device stays cool enough.
    I have it clamped to an upper and lower heat sink surface.
    for added cooling dissipation, and it's effective.
    Have not had fan engage at all yet.
    Device has actually reduced audio noise due to wall warts formerly used.

    It's WAAY quieter now!
    It's FAR cleaner as now I have ONE pwr. cable to supply my entire efx board!
    It used to be a nightmare I gotta tell yas!
    I should have bought one of these years ago, but don't think this model has been around that long.
    However, it's a damn handy device, works great, delivers all the amperage I need at two voltages and phases. I put this thing to every limit it has, and it works great every time without exception.
    Clean D.C. power is critical for high quality effects to work consistently and for many years.
    When I consider all it's attributes, I consider it a bargain!
    PURE SOLUTION!

  • from August 6, 2014

    Pedal Power 4x4 and the PedalTrain Jr...

    The Pedal Powere 4x4 fits my PedalTrain Jr…. very easy install

  • from Washington DC January 15, 2014Music Background:
    guitar player

    Voodoo Labs are the last word in power supplies - The Best!

    Power supplies are not sexy, but power failure or batteries running out of juice are REALLY unsexy, especially playing live. If you have effects pedals then you need Voodoo Labs. Their power supplies come in a variety of "flavors". This one is called 4X4 - basically 4 high output 400mA (with 9 or 12volt option) and 4 100mA outputs. This power supply is perfect for powering juice hungry digital effects like Strymon, etc...I have 6 Strymon pedals so you KNOW this baby comes in handy hahahaha! The 100mA outputs are perfect for fuzz pedals, auto wahs, dirt boxes, buffers, etc... that can run fine on 100mA or less - I have 18 pedals/buffers total in my pedal board (hopefully nearing the end) and I use Voodoo Labs power supplies exclusively. They have never let me down.

  • from March 7, 2013

    Pedal Power

    Exactly what the doctor ordered to run my Strymon Pedals and what not !!!

  • from Far, far, northern California coast February 2, 2013Music Background:
    Obsessed hobbyist. Electric guitar enthusiast.

    exceeded all expectations.

    I have been gradually putting together a pedalboard with the effects that I need and love. I have a Boss ME70 that I just love and I recently acquired a suite of (sweet) pedals from TC electronic. - the Corona chorus, the Spark Booster, the Mojomojo and the incredible Flashback X4. The effects possibilities are awesome and I can say my Tele, Strat and Gibson ES137 sound pretty cool. However, I had a big problem with hum, buzz, and popping that was really starting to concern me and was not going away - even when I put in 9 volt batteries in the smaller units and used all separate wall warts for the others. I was also using a One Spot and it was pretty darn noisy. So with some trepidation, I talked to my sales rep (Mike S, God bless him) and we agreed on this new puppy from Voodoo. New as in there were no reviews yet. It was not cheap and my wife was thinking of cutting up the credit cards. Long story short, I got it last night, tested it out on the floor with all my gear and then installed it into the Pedaltrain 2 board using their supplied hardware. The unit must be a bit thicker than the other Voodoo stuff, and so the mounting brackets had to deform a little as I screwed in the self tapping metal screws, but no problem - it is as solid as a tank. Once you install it that way you can't see the labels that tell you what voltage or amperage the outputs are, so before I installed it I used my wife's nail polish to mark the 9V 400 ma outputs red and the 100 ma ones lavender. Cute. (I have no 12 volt pedals.)
    Ok - the good part. The buzz, hum, pop and clicks are all gone. I mean gone. I do most of my playing through headphones and I can hear every nuance. This gear is quiet until I tell it to scream or cry or echo. I never expected this much of a solution to my problem and boy am I pleased. Voodoo has made a very high quality device that works better than I ever could have imagined. Congratulations to Voodoo!!

  • from Cedar Rapids, Iowa November 13, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    great buy

    Sweetwater reps helped me choose the right power supply, and this one works awesome! For the money, I don't think there is a better one out there. The nine and twelve volt DC outs work perfect, and is as quiet as a mouse- love it- Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from RI November 4, 2014

    A Solidly Built and Practical Device

    This is a well-made product that allows you to plug eight different effects pedals to AC with a single three-prong plug.

  • from MN February 11, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Lots of powering options, plenty of capacity

    I bought the VooDoo Lab 4X4 to replace a cheaper, non-isolated output power supply on my pedal board, and it works great. Initially I was hesitant to spend more money on another PS, but this unit works like a charm. The isolated outputs allow the use of voltage doubler cables to power my higher voltage effects, and the 12v outputs are great for my vintage ACA Boss pedals, as well as providing a performance upgrade for modern pedals that will accept higher than 9v (check the pedal specs first!). Also, the low profile let me mount it under my Pedaltrain board with no problem.

    I have been a musician for 25+ years and I know the value of having quality gear in your rig, and the VooDoo Labs gear is built to last. Plenty of power on tap and lots of output options, this is probably the last power supply I will ever need.

  • from Long Island NY January 28, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Awesome sauce!!!

    It worked!!! After years of noisy daisy chains I finally have clean isolated power that powers some high current pedals! I couldn't be happier with the 4x4... My ONLY critique is that it should come with a pedal board mounting bracket.

  • from Warwick, RI January 3, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Awesome supply!

    Works great and keeps my board nice and quiet. I combined this with another brand's multi plug and I power 12 pedals total off of this supply, one of which is an Eventide. I mounted it under a pedal train PT-2 and it didn't quite fit flush. The power port lines up perfectly and it sits completely underneath without poking out or anything, I just had to bend the mounting brackets a little to make it work. Now that it's in though, it's not going anywhere.

  • from Superior, WI June 9, 2015Music Background:
    Longtime Hobbyist

    It Works!

    Installed easily on the Pedaltrain-2. Really helps to clean up the setup as compared to multiple individual power supplies. Worked with all my pedals without any needed troubleshooting.

  • from Atlanta, GA. October 7, 2014Music Background:
    Former pro musician, now hobbyist!

    Great power supply!

    Great power supply unit- this makes four Voodoo Labs power supplies I now have- PP2, PP2+, ISO-5, and now 4X4.

  • from Dayton, OH USA June 20, 2014

    Everything powered from one device. Perfect!

    This device installed under my Pedaltrain 3 board very easily. It handles power to all of my high powered Strymon effects and a few low power use units as well. With still room for more. No complaints!

  • from Long Beach, CA July 12, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician

    Monster supply, top tier. Doesn't fit pedaltrain jr :(

    I needed to power several Strymons as well as a few MXRs and this did the trick. Unfortunately, it didn't fit under the Pedaltrain Jr., which was a big selling point for me, as advertised, like their Plus 2 does. It comes with mounts and is supposed to be a match made in heaven but the 4x4 is too wide and to tall to fit the Jr. board.

  • from Ft Jones August 21, 2015

    just what i needed...

    Just upgraded to a larger pedal board (PT3) and needed more power to run Strymon Timeline and Mobius and Foxrox Aquavibe , plus 12v Octavius.. plus more... so I added the Pedal Power 4x4.( i have a Pedal Power 2 also mounted under board for other 9v pedals) ...so I am set...

    No noise from either of the Voodoo power supplies...they do what they are supposed to do...

  • from WDC August 5, 2015Music Background:
    Professional

    Died after 9 months

    Died after nine months of modest use, less than helpful Voodoo Labs customer service. Much more reliable and quiet performance from Cioks Powerfactor PSU, still working great after four years without issue.

Questions about the Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 4x4?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close