0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2 PLUS Isolated Power Supply Reviews

4.5 stars based on 106 customer reviews
Questions about the Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2 PLUS Isolated Power Supply?

Questions about the Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2 PLUS Isolated Power Supply?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Charlie Davis

    This is easily one of the best additions any guitar player can add to their rig. Power your entire pedalboard from one source, and remove ground noise. Great piece!

  • from Texas June 3, 2017Music Background:
    Back Porch Picker

    Voodoo power 2 plus

    The first and only pedal power I've ever tried, I can't say it's better than anything cause idk?
    But it is so nice to not have to use a daisy chain,
    I always had the problem with the daisy chain one would hit another and metal on metal would cut the power, or click and pop,
    Don't have that problem anymore...
    Good pedal so far so good

  • from California March 30, 2017

    Power Box Plus

    This is my second VLPP2 Plus now, having owned the first for over 4 years. My pedal board started growing and I needed more power as I could not loop some pedals from the one power box. I had looked into the Strymon power boxes but found that it would be more costly to switch over, PLUS I was happy with VL and when you are happy, why switch! I'm not one to jump on a product/brand just because it's the latest fad or because everyone else around me is getting something that's new on the block. Tried and true and I look to see what the "big boys" or musicians I trust and know tend to use most often.

    I'm happy and would stick with the VLPP2 Plus again if I needed to go to another board.

  • from Clearwater, FL December 27, 2016Music Background:
    Working Bass Player

    Holy Wow!!

    Many of my friends told me it was a good idea to get one. But I was blown away with how much cleaner and tighter my bass tone is.
    Even people in the audience have come up to me and commented on how much better my tone is.
    Woo hoo!

  • from Fleetwood, PA October 2, 2016Music Background:
    Musical Gear Nut

    Perfect

    This is a well made, compact unit with a great wire kit to boot. No hum, undue heat loss or hard to read markings. Plenty of outputs. Hmmmmm, guess we need more pedals!

    Well done Voodoo Lab.

  • from Florida September 28, 2016Music Background:
    Long time (40+ years) Local Musician (Blues, Country, Rock, etc.)

    Pro-Level Power Brick!

    Great piece of gear! The "Wow" factor is that these Pedal Power 2 Plus devices are dependable as all get out! I don't every have to worry about it!
    I've got three of them!

  • from Ohio September 21, 2016

    Very Pleased

    I expected a change when upgrading from a daisy chain set up, but I honestly didn't expect it to be this drastic. Extremely clean and quiet. I only wish I'd made the switch sooner. Top shelf stuff.

  • from Champaign, IL September 17, 2016

    Best Brick Available!

    Offers clean power for my entire board—even works with my big KORG SDD-3000. It comes with several power adapter options, and a 'SAG' feature for getting creative with my FUZZ pedals, to emulate a 9v battery that has lost some charge. It doesn't run too hot either when it's fully loaded. Also there is an additional outlet built in to the back. So please forget about the One-Spots and do get this!!!!

    My Sweetwater rep Chris did a great job of helping me pick out the right power brick for my needs!

  • from Latrobe , Pa April 4, 2016

    Great product

    I needed a pedal power supply for 5 9vdc pedals and one 15vdc 400 ma pedal. The 9volt outputs took care of the 5 pedals and the extra AC outlet allowed me to attach my 15vdc transformer.

  • from Casper, WY March 8, 2016Music Background:
    Self taught musician, youtuber, guitar enthusiast, gear nut

    I've Got The Power!

    Being an abuser of Daisy chain setups for far too long, I upgraded, with the help of my Sweetwater Sales Rep Dustin, to this lovely power supply. This thing made my pedals sound great! Such a huge difference, there is no reason to waste time with Daisy chain setups anymore. Well worth the $170 as it includes all cables needed to run your pedals properly. It's also very solid and stable.

    Power up!

  • from October 20, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2 Plus

    This power supply has been amazing since I got it. I built a new board and this supply is a huge upgrade from the onespot I was using before. I definitely recommend this to anyone who is upgrading their board and wants a new power supply.

  • from Cincinnati Ohio October 15, 2015Music Background:
    Hard rock, blues, worship, country

    Awesome product

    Each pedal draws power and usuallt from the same power source (daisy chain). This gives each pedal their own isolated power which gives you better sound and a cleaner tone. The pedal also gives you another power outlet and allows you to give drag power to a few pedals of your choice, to simulate a drained DC power tone. A must have for any serious musician. This is the best way to power your board. Well worth the price!

  • from Ohio October 2, 2015Music Background:
    15 years, worship guitarist

    More than just powers your pedals

    Switched from a DC Brick from Dunlop and immediately experienced a drastic difference. You really don't know how much the hum and noise your non-isolated power supply or daisy chain is causing until it's gone. My amp sounded louder, more clear, and much better. Even at higher volumes this power supply is quiet. Properly powering your pedals is the foundation to great tone. If you're like me you might have initially thought this is a pricey way to get juice to your pedals when there are much cheaper alternatives. I'm telling you though, this is a definitely investment in your tone and you'll hear your rig the way it was meant to be heard. I was definitely blown away by the difference. Highly recommend.

  • from Minnesota September 30, 2015Music Background:
    I've been a pro musician for 50 years

    Short and sweet... do you have a board full of pedals? Eliminate all the space robbing wall warts and get this unit. Power everything from here. Simple and bulletproof. The additional 'convenience' AC outlet is a very sweet bit of icing on the cake. All aces!

  • from Granville, OH August 26, 2015

    Power on tap!

    This is my second Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2 Plus, consistent power flow! Zero issues, I guess that's why I bought a second one. Plus Alex P. is always amazing to deal with!

  • from Cameron Park, CA July 30, 2015Music Background:
    40 years as a musician (with a day job)

    pedal power 2 plus

    always can depend on these guys. this one was for my second pedaltrain II board. the only issue is really with pedal train. its the mounting screws that are too short (the ones you unscrew from the pedal board.) had to goto the hardware store and buy longer ones so that the brackets could screw into the sides of the voodoo lab. one more issue are the SAG knobs, when used with a pedaltrain II. The mounting is so close that its impossible to adjust the knobs. I don't use them but someone who needs to would be a problem. All mentioned above issues are with the pedaltrain II not the voodoo labs. I know that pedaltrain is not fixing these issues on purpose. Reason? they sell their own power supply.

  • from Atlantic HLDS, NJ July 28, 2015

    works for me

    two of the inputs have small dials to simulate a low battery, perfect for my old Big Muff.

  • from June 22, 2015

    Fantastic

    The best Pedal Power,fantastic!

  • from USA June 16, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Great

    Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2 Plus is simply great. A must have for your pedal board!

  • from Austin May 27, 2015

    Pedal Power

    Works as I hoped it would!

  • from May 13, 2015

    Awesome

    Fits right into my new Pedal Train board - (watch the videos on how to install) Powered everything up with the supplied cables. What more can you ask for!

  • from Defiance, OH April 15, 2015

    Must Have

    This power supply replaced a daisy chain gator power supply that failed recently. The difference between the two is astonishing. The ground loop buzz I previously experienced has been eliminated with this power supply not to mention the use of a standard AC power cord versus an AC Adapter. It may seem expensive at first but within five minutes I had deemed it one of the best guitar related purchases I have made in years.

  • from Beaumont, TX March 30, 2015Music Background:
    Beginner

    Pedal Power 2

    Awesome power supply...looks great, works great...I really like it

  • from Santa Clara, CA March 26, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Voodoo Power!

    Bought this to replace my other daisy chain style power supply for my pedals and it made a great difference in the amount of background noise in my pedal chain! Much quieter and a plus was the ability to run one of my overdrive pedals (Fulltone OCD), at 18V with the Voodoo 2-9V to 1 adaptor cable I bought along with the power supply.

    Great purchase, great product and as always, Sweetwater's product advice, customer service and fast shipping is awesome. Thanks again Sweetwater!

  • from March 16, 2015

    Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2 Plus

    Not my first. Had another since 1998. Great power supply-works flawless still.
    Needed a 2nd one for a now bigger board with more things needing power.

    Pros use these in the big rigs for a reason. They have a stupendously good track record and always have. No fears with this unit-need a power supply this is a no brainer here.
    Get one

    But get it from my favorite place to shop-Sweetwater. Always a joy to buy from them. No hassles, amazing service, fast shipping.

  • from United States March 14, 2015Music Background:
    Bassist, audio engineer

    Did exactly what I needed.

    I purchased this because the Onespot I was using for my pedal board was causing a squeal because of it's lack of isolated power. After the quick install on the bottom of my PT-1, this was hooked up and ready to go in minutes. My board now sounds great and looks a lot cleaner as well.

  • from Olympia, WA March 14, 2015Music Background:
    Touring Musician

    A Must Have For All Pedals

    Wouldn't use any other power supply on the road.

  • from Chicago, IL February 3, 2015Music Background:
    Working Musician, Recording Artist, Small Studio Owner

    Whisper quiet

    This thing filters so well I run my amp through it as well to keep it on the q t.

    If you have noise after putting this into your chain it's definitely somewhere else, not the power.

    Another problem solving piece of pro gear. Two thumbs up!

  • from United States November 21, 2014Music Background:
    Songwriter, band frontman, future Dave Grohl

    You Want This

    I read this in a previous review, and it is true: this is my favorite most boring piece on my board.

    It does exactly what it's meant to do: powers up to 8 pedals, and it does this cleanly, efficiently and quietly. Worth every penny in my book to not have to ever worry about your pedals dying on you.

    My favorite part is the integration with Pedal Train boards. They're a perfect match. There are several very intuitive videos on YouTube (check out Pedal Train's channel I believe) that show you how to perfectly set up your board and pair the Pedal Power 2 Plus with it, right down to drilling mods and troubleshooting. Once you have things set up where you want them, there are tons of options for hiding the cables and tying them down under the board.

    If you're serious about your pedals and your board, be serious about how you power it. Don't screw around--get the Pedal Power 2 Plus.

  • from Maryland, USA October 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Pedal Power 2 Plus

    It does everything it's supposed to. Packaged well and came with very well written instructions. Mounted to my Pedaltrain Jr. quickly and easily (the brackets were included with the pedalboard). I had to remove the top screws to align the courtesy outlet, but all in all it took about 5 minutes to mount.

    The unit is built solid, gives me noise free power, and I haven't had one problem since purchase. It's running 8 pedals at all times and I haven't noticed any tone changes even with two stomp boxes that require higher mA (because outputs 5 and 6 take care of that).

    Do note that once installed underneath a pedaltrain unit, the variable voltage knobs become very hard to adjust. I don't use them, but it would be a good idea to adjust them to your liking before installation. Turning the feature on and off is simple once installed however so just something to keep in mind.

  • from Shell Beach, CA USA October 14, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbiest

    AC outlet very helpful

    After dealing for a couple of years with batteries, power adapters, what seemed like never enough guitar cables and general pedal sprawl, I decided to put a pedal board together to end the madness.I chose the Power Pedal 2 Plus as the power supply for a number of reasons (enough isolated dc outlets and competitive price.) But the main thing was the AC outlet to power my old Sweet Sound Ultra Vibe. This pedal doesn't much like to be plugged into power strips with DC adapters on it and had hit-and-miss performance when it was. Now it works perfectly whenever fired up, which saved me from ultimately having to buy another Vibe.
    I also put to use the included DC to 9 volt battery cable on a Vox wah. Just drilled a hole in the side of the wah for the cable and it works flawlessly.

  • from Salisbury, Md USA July 14, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2 Plus

    Excellent product, very well designed and construction is very sturdy. I wanted a power supply that is versatile with different voltage outputs for the pedals that I'm using and this fit the bill perfectly. I have an old Boss CE-2 chorus that requires 12 volts and several pedals that need 9 volts and with this power supply I got that and more with an 18 volt output still available. Its very easy to setup and with several different wiring leads to choose from should fit anyones needs. I also like that its mounts to the pedaltrain series of pedal boards (a future purchase) . Highly recommended.

  • from Nashville May 23, 2014Music Background:
    Live Musician, Home Recording Engineer

    Obviously Great

    The perfect power supply. After reading the manual it's incredibly simple to operate properly. I accidentally dropped it from about 4 feet directly onto concrete the first week I got it and it's still in perfect working condition. Built like a tank. The SAG option is awesome for fuzz and overdrive, runs Line 6 and Strymon pedals, and you can daisy chain from the standard outlets. What more could you ask for?

    Also, Sweetwater is fantastic. I refuse to go through any other online vendors unless Sweetwater doesn't carry what I need, simply because of their customer service and speedy shipping.

  • from murrieta, CA April 2, 2014Music Background:
    Performing/Recording Musician

    Best Power Supply I've ever used.

    I own two of these. They play nice with my whole rig. Reliable, fit nice under my PT1. Never had a single problem. (Word of warning...if you have a Strymon pedal...you must use a specific port to power it properly...it is explained on their website.)

  • from United States March 16, 2014Music Background:
    Live amatuer musiscian; Guitar, keys, vocals, bass.

    Perfect

    Does what it's supposed to do. Perfect solution for wall-wart hell! No hums.

  • from Utah February 22, 2014Music Background:
    part time musician

    voodo lab pedal power 2 plus

    I love this! It cleaned up my pedal board, and the options of power connecting cords are great.
    especially the 9 volt battery option

  • from Dallas, TX January 4, 2014

    Waited too long

    Always seemed like an expensive proposition for a pedal board. Such a stupid assumption. Did a quick A/B before installing it - went from expensive option to essential component in about 5 minutes. Everything is so much cleaner and the noise floor that I always attributed to pickups, cables, and aging tubes is flat out gone. My amp always sounds great (Boogie Mark V) but now it really sings and my guitar and pickups have never sounded better.

    At home it sounded great but at practice it was very noticeable how quiet and clean my sound was. Cleans really were stunning and overdriven harmonics just popped out. I never kicked in my ISP Decimator even though the practice room has an annoying dimmer that usually plagues us. I don't have a ton of effects but each one is improved (even gained improvements in my Xotic BB Pre which I didn't think was possible to improve on).

    Consider me convinced that minor ground loops and less current head-room really do reduce your board's potential. I am big time happy with this purchase.

  • from Western PA December 16, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Hobbyist

    Good, Clean Power

    The change that this made to my rig is night and day. Before I was using a daisy chain supply which caused a LOT of noise. Now even with my compressors sustain turned pretty far up the noise level is very low. I run a lot of pedals, the compressors being on all the time, so this power supply is a must. It also provides a much more organized pedal board with easy to run cables. The little guy fits right on the bottom of my Pedal Train pedal board so it doesn't take up any space :)

  • from Tacoma, WA August 6, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Pedal Power 2

    Works great! Makes swapping and trying pedals a breeze. I always hated trying to find wall warts or paying alot for just one single adapter. This is like 8 adapters with one single wall cord(no wall wart) plug. i have it plugged into my rack power conditioner. All the cables necessary for hooking up pedals come included and a whole seperate back up bag. Even though I probably wont use the extra cables I was pleasantly surprised. I recommend this product .

  • from United States July 8, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician/Video Technician

    Excellant Power Supply

    Clean and quiet

  • from Pittsburgh, PA June 10, 2013

    Awesome!!

    Great power supply!! my board sounds a lot better with clean power and looks super nice underneath my PT2!! The service at Sweetwater outstanding as usual!!

  • from May 29, 2013Music Background:
    Old school engineer and new school wanna be again music guy

    Voodo Lab 2plus

    I simply called my rep, Tom Koch, and told him I needed a pedal board and power supply. He asked me a few questions and we decided upon this power supply. Tom is why I buy from Sweetwater. And this as is everything he recommends simply incredible. No hiccups with various hear. It comes with every adapter imaginable, although o ly one that fits a big miffed. But Tom knew this and told me so before I bought. Thanks Tom and thanks Sweetwater. Your customer service is the reason we come back again and again.

  • from Gloucester Va. USA May 27, 2013Music Background:
    guitarist in a music theatre house band

    Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2 Plus was the right choice

    I know it may sound odd for someone to get excited over a power supply, but after years of using batteries, wallwarts, a power supply that the outputs were not isolated, it's great to use my new (home made) petalboard that i am constantly changing pedal in & out of with no noise.
    note: fits nicely under my petalboard.

  • from Charlottesville, Va, USA April 17, 2013

    Does the job as advertized

    Had the Pedal power 2 for a while now, and everything's working great. Some of the weirder effects I'm powering include a Pigtronix Philosopher's Tone compressor and an Akai Headrush E1 delay. Smooth sailing, despite some odd power requirements there. Supply fits great under my Pedaltrain board, which I bought together with this unit. Clean, dependable, versatile power supply. Sweetwater is an excellent company to deal with.

  • from Glen, New Hampshire April 2, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A Power Supply you can depend on!

    For the basic pedal setup, this is the supply that gets the job done. If you have 18v pedals, I suggest getting a "double cable" since this only has 9v outputs. When you're playing, you don't even know its there.

  • from Akron Ohio April 2, 2013Music Background:
    Punk rock electronic musician

    Reliable Bottomline!

    Great PC of gear! Spend the money..it will save your wallet in the end trying to keep up with fresh new 9 volt batts!

  • from Detroit, MI January 26, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, recording engineer

    Absolutely worth it!

    Get rid of the daisy chain and buy this. Now.

  • from Asheville, NC December 9, 2012Music Background:
    Touring Musician

    clean power, sturdy housing

    I haven't had this long, so time will tell on how well it holds up on the road. It does what it's supposed to do, clean power to up to 8 pedals. The housing seems very sturdy and the cables are plenty long (too long even) to run to any pedals on your board.

  • from Paducah, KY November 27, 2012Music Background:
    Prog-kraut-psychedelia-improv-jam-awesomeness

    PP2

    You know how everyone everywhere says all this stuff about how awesome this thing is? They are correct. I'd still stick with cheap batteries on your fuzzes though.

  • from Hot Springs, AR November 14, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very Well Pleased

    I bought the Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2 Plus to go with my Pedaltrain Pro pedalboard. Easy to install and no more noise, unlike my other power supply. I'm very well pleased and the customer service from Sweetwater was great as usual.

  • from Knoxville, Tn September 20, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Audio Engineer, Musician, Gear Junky...

    Very nice!

    Highly recommend! Very quiet, not too big, professional grade, plenty of power...not much to say, just a great little power supply, built to last.

  • from Bethel Vt July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Radio Ad Exec., pro 'voice' for radio station, semi-pro guitarist

    Great Customer Service!

    You guys are great! I was sitting at my office, and my sales guy called just to make sure everything was going well with my purchased gear. You guys need to hold a 'Customer Service' course for other online businesses!
    But I think you have already rattled some cages in the industry. Seems everybody is very friendly lately....but never received a follow-up call from the OTHER GUYS!
    Keep up the good work.
    Jay

  • from Springfield, VA July 10, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Voodoo lab 2

    Great piece of gear, perfect for my pedal train, the people at sweetwater are the best, fast shipping and great customer service.

  • from Marshall, IL USA July 7, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Live worship band, Rock band (Good Morning Midnight), studio musician

    Awesome

    I was surprised at how many cables came with it. I love that I can now properly power my Cathedral reverb, RAT2, and other pedals all on the same brick. It's solid, it comes with mounting brackets... I won't be able to damage it anytime soon.

  • from AL March 13, 2012Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Perfect

    I have pedals that need 9 volts, 12 volts, higher current, and 18 volts. This small, low profile, easy to hide box handles all of them.

  • from Clifton, VA March 2, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist / Gigging Musician

    Powerful, quiet, feature-packed

    I got this Voodoo Lab to run with my Pedal Train Jr.Board from Sweetwater- very nice power supply. Rich in features I will probably rarely use - I just wanted a basic but powerful isolated supply and this fits the bill nicely. A little pricey but in the long run it will likely pay for itself, fits the Pedaltrain perfectly and lets face it its nice to have a quiet rig in the studio and on stage and this helps with that tremendously. Highly recommend. :)

  • from United States February 15, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great clean power

    After the one spot, this thing is pro. matched with a pedaltrain, it is the ultimate power supply. way quieter than the one spot because of the separated power channels. You need this power supply!!!! don't hesitate get one!

  • from amsterdam, ny November 25, 2011Music Background:
    pro musician

    truly compact power

    makes your pedal board power life, easy as pie.

  • from Arlington, TX USA November 18, 2011Music Background:
    recording engineer and veteran musician

    Finally! Clean power and plenty of it!

    After 12+ years of limping along on an old Signal Flex thing, this is like a breath of fresh air. Hum and buzz and insufficient power are no longer a problem. This powers everything from my Line 6 FM4 to my Hot Cake to my DD-3 to my old AC-powered Ross Phaser Distortion (hooray for the extra outlet on the back!).

    KEEPING THIS.

  • from Nashville, TN / Indianapolis, IN July 26, 2011Music Background:
    professional musician, session guitarist, guitar tech

    Scary Good!

    Absolutely blown away! I am kicking myself for putting up with the hum I thought was "just part of having several pedals." Not only did the PP2+ kill all my ground-loop hum, It gave my pedals the current they have been hungry for and improved tone!

    The difference between the PP2+ and my old power supply is so drastic that I no longer mind the price I paid for it (and I almost feel too bad to sell my old one to anyone else)!

    If you are a working musician (or even just one who enjoys jamming with friends, but is serious about your tone) you NEED this power supply! (check out the smaller Voodoo Lab 5 Spot for smaller boards)

  • from Prineville, OR July 20, 2011Music Background:
    Producer/Musician

    Does Exactly What it Promises

    I was constructing a custom pedalboard using a Gator GigBox as my starting point. I have a total of 11 pedals from Boss to ProCo to Ibanez ending with a stereo pedal. (Some pedals requiring PSA or ACA power feeds) I was using a Visual Sound One Spot that daisy chained the power grounds and had terrible hum issues. After some research I came across reviews about the Pedal Power 2 at Sweetwater.com with customers dealing with the same issues that I was dealing with. $170 vs. $20 seemed like a steep price point, but the customer reviews were all positive. I went ahead and ordered two pedal powers, and they came a week later. Installation was simple as they fit in the compartment underneath where the pedals velcro to. I learned that it was also important to make sure that your wah pedal is out from over the top of the pedal power as it causes some hum. I plugged every thing in including stereo amps and the pedals were stone silent. (not even a ground loop from running stereo amp) I was impressed. Pedal Power delivers the goods. I will recommend any guitarist needing proper power for their pedalboard to try out the Pedal Power 2.

  • from CA December 25, 2010Music Background:
    Active player

    Simple, quiet, and stable Power

    The Pedal Power 2 Plus from Voodoo Lab is the best way to power up your pedalboard or rack mounted pedal system.
    It offers many features not found on other units, or a higher quality version of similar features. I set up my PP2+ in about 5 minutes! Thats all it takes to get this outstanding product up and running!
    To clarify for someone new to power supplies, with the switches on the bottom of the unit down, you have eight 9V outlets that are all isolated and SILENT! With the switches on the unit in the ON position (Which is clearly labeled) you have four high milliamp 9V outputs, two 12.3V high milliamp outputs, and two 9V outputs than can be lowered (Via the two dials on the right) to 4V. And you can mix and match the outputs to whatever you need for your board. I have mine powering (in signal order) a Morley Bad horsie 2 wah, an ABY box, an Overdrive with Germanium transistors (I mention this because some people say the PP2+ messes with these, they sound just like they do with batteries) a BOSS DS-2, a Dunlop UniVibe, and an Electro Harmonix memory toy.
    It powers all of these with two outlets left! Nice job Voodoo Lab, I'd buy it all over again!

  • from Atlanta August 16, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2 Plus

    I was having the hardest time with excessive noise and hum with my pedalboard rig - using a cheap, multi-pedal power supply set up. Then a buddy suggest edI try his Pedal Power. After hooking it up to my pedals, I became a big believer in "you get what you pay for" - this thing made the noise just go away. I ordered my own the next day. The unit is built like a tank and I have had no issues at all with it for over a year. I love mine!

  • from Reno, NV August 10, 2010Music Background:
    weekend warrior

    Great power supply!

    This is about as good as it gets with regards to pedalboard power supplies. Good rugged build quality and top notch performance. Very easy to use and a well written manual included. No noise issues at all. I'm guessing in time this will pay for itself by no longer having to buy 9 volt batteries! It also fits nicely mounted under my pedaltrain board.

  • from Cleveland April 11, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist: home recording, guitarist, bassist, electronic music experimentation

    I guess you do get what you pay for!

    I've been an effects pedal junky for over 10 years, but never thought much of the power supply. I've seen many of my guitar hero's have these power supplies on their boards, but never understood why anyone, even a pro, would pay around $170 for a power supply. I continued to use a cheap $20 9V 200 mA wall-wart, running into a BOSS NS-2, daisy-chained to a bunch of pedals, until all the pedals I plugged in far exceeded the 200 mA output, and I was concerned about frying something. Also, my signal was riddled with ground loops, extremely noisey (especially my BOSS RE-20 Space Echo, it was so noisey, even BYPASSED, I thought of just not using it)! Finally I decided to try the Pedal Power 2 Plus... and it worked Amazingly! It cleaned up my signal exponentially.... even my RE-20! Now all my pedals actually sound how they are supposed to sound, and I understand why the pros had better sounds than I did, even when I used the exact same effects they did. I'm running 8 BOSS pedals, and my Dunlop 95Q (with it's ECB-03 adapter plugged into the Pedal Power's rear AC outlet) together, and it sounds cleaner than daisy-chaining 3 pedals together. Awesome product, one of the best purchases I have made for my guitar tone, period.

    Also, the SAG feature on Outputs 7 and 8 is pretty cool to mess with on analog distortion/overdrive pedals.

  • from Madison, WI May 18, 2009Music Background:
    Alt Jazz and Rock guitarist

    A very good investment

    This power supply has quieted down my pedalboard. I'm using it to power an MXR Script Phase 90, a Boss CE-20, and an Xotic RC Booster. The Phase 90 runs noticeably more quietly with the PP2, as compared to the 1-Spot: much less swirling noise when the effect is on. And the PP2 powers the CE-20 (off of port 5 or 6, for higher currents), whereas the 1-Spot did not. And the PP2 has an extra outlet that I can use to plug in the power supply for my Twin Tube overdrive pedal.

    Overall, I am very pleased with the drop in ambient noise after installing this power supply. I expect that it will happily power some additional pedals on my board.

  • from Phoenix May 2, 2017Music Background:
    Pro guitarist

    Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2 Plus

    Does exactly what I needed!

  • from NJ April 30, 2017

    Still Going Strong

    I've never had a lick of trouble with this little baby. It's compact, simple to set up and fits very nicely under my pedaltrain board. Let's put it this way, it's been so reliable I forget it's even there! I highly recommend the Pedal Power 2 Plus - hands down.

  • from March 27, 2017Music Background:
    Electric guitar 10+ years

    Voodoo Lab Power 2 Plus

    You definitely need to shop around and make sure you buy the right power supply based on your rig. The Voodoo Lab Power 2 Plus was the best choice for me and it does what I hoped it would. I'm currently having issues powering two of my pedals but I'm sure it's not the power supply's fault. It's a bit bulky so make sure you have the room for it. I've removed my noise suppressor from my rig because I just don't need it. I definitely recommend this product! Thanks Nate for your great customer service!

  • from Santa Barbara, CA USA February 14, 2017

    Voooo Doooo Spurrooo Doooo

    Does everything I needed it for. Wayne Davis in sale is my guy for the info and he's always there to answer my questions.

  • from January 21, 2016

    Does the Job

    Didn't get rid of all the noise but reduced it a lot! Fairly certain that it's a instrument cable making the noise at this point, but honest to god helped the power supply helped a lot. I know strymon just released a new power pedal. It would be the next level up. Check that out if you're looking for a new pedal. Strymon is amazing.

  • from Tecate, CA January 15, 2016

    Awesome piece of equipment

    My pedals are quiet now!!
    Thank you Nich Magnani for recommending it...
    Fast shipping, expert and profesional service.
    I will soon be ordering pedals to fill out the empty outputs !!!

  • from Washington State June 3, 2015Music Background:
    Amature Guitar player

    pedal power

    Works great and fits easy to the board. I will buy another when needed

  • from Atlanta April 28, 2015Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    A Winner

    If you've got a pedalboard with quality pedals on it and you're actually out performing, this is just about a necessity. I mounted this to the underside of my Pedaltrain Jr. (quite easy thanks to YouTube tutorials by Pedaltrain) and it makes for one neat, tidy setup. I've only used it on stage once, but I was impressed with how well it worked. Plenty of power cables, but I reluctantly take half a star off for not putting at least one 18 volt doubler cable in there.

    Once again, Jimmy Hart at Sweetwater made me a more than satisfied customer. Shipped quickly and carefully. First class retailer!

  • from March 18, 2015Music Background:
    30 yr hobbyist

    Voodoo bomb

    Great idea and design. Makes using a pedal board so much easier to build and use. It has plenty of power outlets for my style. Only question remaining is durability and longevity. Much better answer than worrying about battery failure during the gig.

  • from United States January 21, 2015Music Background:
    rock guitar

    Pedal Power 2

    Great product. Not the most exciting purchase to make, but takes care of all your pedal power needs, as the name implies.

  • from Ohio January 17, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar player 12 years

    Awesome

    Great product!

  • from Cincinnati, OH September 20, 2014

    Very nice!

    Excellent, quiet power supply that mounts nicely under Pedal Train Pro (and other boards). Includes the cords which is nice. Does exactly what it's supposed to do.

  • from United States March 28, 2014Music Background:
    Long time multi-instrumentalist

    One of the Best

    The Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2 Plus is a very well designed and rugged component ... for the majority of pedal board applications, it is more then adequate ... here are the most important features in my opinion:

    1) 8 isolated outputs
    2) balanced transformer for quiet operation
    3) versatility -- dip switches allow for selecting different voltages or milliamp output ... with these options, you can power just about any pedal on the market
    4) easy to mount, particularly on boards like the Pedal Train
    5) Rugged; built tough; metal casing
    6) detachable and substantial 3-prong power cord means no wall warts or external power supplies to worry with; less chance of shorting and easy to replace the cord if needed with a common cord like those used for amplifiers and desktop computers
    7) courtesy A/C jack allows for even more flexibility in powering pedals that don't take the barrel type cables
    8) Pedal power cables included; a good variety of cables are included which will meet most needs; if not, Voodoo makes a number of other types of quality cables to address special configurations; I particularly like their splitter cables that allow powering 2 pedals from a single output providing the milliamps are sufficient for what the pedals draw; these splitter cables provide a ground lift to one leg to eliminate ground loops; I am using these on my board now since I have more than 8 pedals and everything is as quiet as can be

    In summary, this is a great choice to power your pedal board. It has all the right features, all the considerations you would expect from someone who knows the real-world application and concerns when building a quality pedal board, rugged build with intelligent design to handle heavy gigging ... I am very satisfied with this product and would highly recommend it ... don't get frustrated by lower priced, cheaply made competitors ... go with Voodoo and don't look back ...

  • from Orlando, FL February 5, 2014Music Background:
    45 years pro guitarist, singer, songwriter

    Pedal Power 2 Plus rocks

    Recently purchase Pedal Power 2 Plus and am very happy with purchase! I especially like the inclusion of cables. Good variety including one that allows electrical power to pedals that run off of 9V batteries only. That one is particularly helpful. Item is not heavy, takes up a minimal amount of space and appears to be very durable. Thanks Sweetwater for prompt service and answers to questions I had.

  • from Asheville, NC November 15, 2013Music Background:
    Experienced Pro Player

    It Works!

    this unit does exactly what I expected it to do.. and perhaps someday I'll need some of the extra features it offers.. it ain't cheap but what's new? you gotta pay for quality.

  • from Westerville, OH May 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great power supply!

    Very good power supply. The pedal tone really does shine through versus using the 1spot. There is no signal hum. It is exactly as advertised and the mounting to PP2 is seamless. The only reason I gave it 4.5 instead of 5 stars is because it's so pricey.

  • from alabama March 2, 2013Music Background:
    ole hippy still rockin

    kicks butt

    hate hiss and noisy pedals.......this cured my problems and my board is much cleaner and easier to use.

  • from Warren MI January 13, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician, Hobbyist, Student, etc

    Power To Da Pedals!

    Great pwr supply!
    Interfaced perfectly with my new Pedalltrain Pro, and I was able to power up most of my pedals.
    I'd give it 5 stars if they would've provided a few more cables with it, like a couple reverse polarity and doubler cables...but I just made my own as I needed them...

  • from Rogers January 9, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician and Worship Leader

    Less Noise than the One Spot

    These things are great. They fit perfectly under my Pedaltrain PT-2. Hint* they are suppose too. TJ was great with helping me make sure it powered all the pedals on my board. Perfect

  • from Virden, IL January 7, 2013Music Background:
    Worship leader, Recording Engineer

    The POWER!

    This pedal does what I need it to do. I have a fishman aura 16, an Ability midi Controller, dd6, tuner and a tech 21 oxford. My wireless is using the 120 watt plug in the back. it is a little more cost wise than so of the lower end stuff, but this power supply is built like a tank. I would suggest this to anyone. love it. zero noise!

  • from Redding, CA USA October 9, 2012Music Background:
    Church guitarist

    Smooth

    This thing works flawlessly. I'm only using it for standard pedals, but it works great for those. Easy to install on a pedal train board.

  • from LA CA July 18, 2012Music Background:
    Electronics engineer, guitarist, constant builder

    Couldn't make it better myself!

    I bought this because my friend commissioned me to build a power supply with eight isolated outputs. I could buy a transformer with eight secondaries, but not a toroidal transformer with eight secondaries! The regulation was about as good as my design and the packaging was smaller to boot. The price was about the same, too, though Sweetwater had a sale price that made the deal too good to pass up.

    My friend was blown away by the quiet power for his effects and I was save a bit of work. I would recommend this product to any professional musician with a pedal board.

  • from fort worth, tx April 26, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician

    Great power

    great power for your pedals. easy to install on a PT-2. would give it a 5 if it had more power outlets and if it included the voltage doubler, i had to order the doubler separately. but no big deal.

  • from February 29, 2012

    Like It!

    There are a lot of new supplies on the market, but this workhorse is the right supply at the right price every time. I bought this to supply a second board, I didn't really think of the project as serious until i bought the power supply. Seems expensive when you go to buy something that doesn't make a new effect or add to your arsenal of tones, but it will act as a life preserver for all your pedals and keep you looking and sounding professional at all your gigs.

  • from seattle wa November 30, 2011

    Love it!

    Life's so much easier now with my PP2+! Always loved the idea of variable voltage for fuzz and distortion pedals and it really works as advertised -- just like batteries drained below 9 volt - creamier around 7 volts, spitty and wacky around 4 volts. The varied voltage for different pedals is great. Only thing I'd like to see improved is better on-board identification of what the dip switches do. As-is I have to refer to the manual since I don't change them up very often

  • from Barrie ,Ontario, CANADA October 31, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Smokin' Power Supply!!!

    Just a great all around unit!! Matched up with my "Pedaltrain Pro" board perfect!! Highly Recommend!!

  • from Egypt August 15, 2011Music Background:
    recording engineer, Pro musician, Composer & Arranger

    Get rid of that noise

    the best along its competitors. flexible with different kinds of pedals, great with the pedal train. Sturdy

  • from Detroit, MI July 22, 2011Music Background:
    semi-pro musician

    Pedal Power 2 plus is what you need

    All my pedals sounded better without the occasional drop outs and glitches I experienced with my old power supply. Cleaned up the wall wart situation too.

    Wish they made one with a couple more outputs for the complete pedal junkie (like me).

  • from New Brunswick, NJ July 14, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Nice gear

    Everything I read about this pedal on the positive side is true, so no need to repeat this again. One thing to watch out for is that the power supply and aux electrical jack do not line up perfectly with holes on the Pedaltrain PT/2-SC so you have to really be careful about where you drill the screw holes. Otherwise you either cannnot get a plug into the outlet or you cannot attach the power supply. A friend of mind had the same problem.

  • from April 8, 2017

    Quiet, dependable power

    It does exactly what it is advertised to do: provides clean, reliable power to a variety of pedals. The thoughtful addition of several different types of power cable allowed it to have my board up an running with no further purchases to accommodate non-center negative pedals ( JangleBox, I'm looking at you). Per usual Sweetwater over-delivers on service--I'd normally never answer a call from a number I didn't recognize, but now I get a kick out of the calls from Indiana asking how I'm doing with that box of strings I bought...

  • from California December 9, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar entertainer

    Voodoo labs PP 2 plus

    Works as advertised completely cleaned up all noise on my 10 pedal rig. The optional bracket to mount to pedal train Novo 24 was cheaply made with low tolerances and twist making install a bit of a stretch otherwise all was good. The array of connecrtikn cables was adequate to beginners.

  • from Massachusetts April 26, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar player for over 35 years

    Pedal Power 2

    What a pleasure to stop messing with batteries or individual power supplies for my pedals. This pedal does whats its supposed to, and does it very well. Highly recommended!

  • from United States March 6, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A must have for building a plug-and-play pedalboard

    It mounts perfectly on my PedalTrain 2 and is an integral part of making my set-up insanely convenient to travel with. Less noisy than other single plug power supplies that I've tried (specifically the OneSpot) but also quite costly so it's a give and take.

    I'm not giving it 5 stars because of it's cost and because I'm still having some issues with excess noise generated by pedals when in close proximity with the power supply. My Ernie Ball Wah Wah hums so badly when switched on that I had to take it off the board entirely to get rid of it.

  • from Chicago, IL September 15, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Power Unit

    I was looking for a power supply for my homemade pedal board project, and while I heard Voodoo Labs was the best, I was hoping to find a cheaper option. Out of all the reviews I've seen, the VL PP2+ is the only one that has no power drain or tone loss complaints. This unit really is perfect and worth every penny.

    3 Reasons for not giving 4 stars... 1) Power cables could be a little longer; 2) no Y-voltage converter cable included for fulltone pedals, and 3) switching ability only allows to jump to 12V of power. Going to 18V or 24V would really put this thing over the top.

    Overall though...great unit. If you're building a board....get this!!!!

  • from Angola Indiana August 4, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar teacher. Studio guitarist

    Great power supply!

    This really made my pedal board quiet down. But it wasn't just this that did the trick. I use this along with the Furman power conditioning 6 plug strip. Then WOW!!!! Total silence from the amp, pedal board, and guitar! The only reason I gave it a 4 rating is because of the cost. Dropping almost $200 on a non musical part of my rig was kind of painful. But then again, my rig has never sounded better so you do get what you pay for! But a word of advice, if you get this also get the Furman power conditioning 6 plug strip. Then you will full silence from your guitar rig.

  • from Pensacola, FL July 15, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Clean Power, just make sure their's room on your board

    The PP2 was a little more "complicated" than I anticipated with more bells and whistles than I really need. It powers everything on my board just fine and I do think my tone is cleaner since it was added. I was hoping it would fit under my Pedal Train board, but it did not and I've had to sacrifice a couple of pedals to make room. I plan to purchase a Custom District board to better accommodate the PP2. I would recommend the PP2 and have done so with the other guitar player in my band. Just make sure it fits where you want it to fit and you're good to go.

  • from San Diego,Ca March 21, 2014Music Background:
    Bass Player

    Wall of Voodoo Power

    Fantastic Unit, Came with what was needed.

  • from United States May 10, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend warrior

    Pretty good

    There is a reason why all the pros use it.

  • from AL April 14, 2012Music Background:
    hobby

    Works right

    Bolted into pedaltrain 2 after some drilling - nice fit.

    Wish is came with some more y-cables for more pedals

  • from Frederick, MD United States July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Long-time part-time musician

    So Far, So Good

    Just got this power supply for my new Pedaltrain PT-2 pedalboard. As far as I can tell, it's very quiet... unlike my Furman pedalboard with the built-in power supply, which became quite noisy early on. The only thing I wish thos had was just 2 more 9V outputs... oh well.

  • from North Carolina August 7, 2016Music Background:
    42 years of guitar experience

    Be Careful and carry a spare!!!

    Well I should have listened when my Sweetwater Sales Engineer suggested I keep a spare Pedal 2 PLus..relating that a buddy of his had a failure during a major gig. Mine died after about 10 moths in service at the end of set one tonight at an important first gig with a new band. DOUBLE PLUS UNGOOD.
    Made it through with my Marshall and trusty strat and 40 years of sneaky dog tricks...but WOW, not fun.

    Just remember the power system is a NASTY single point failure in any rig...I will be looking for something with higher MTBF numbers and carrying dissimilar spares.

    BE careful if you are a pro...this critter really made my day,

Questions about the Voodoo Lab Pedal Power 2 PLUS Isolated Power Supply?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway