0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

M-Audio SP-2 Sustain Pedal Reviews

3.5 stars based on 48 customer reviews
Questions about the M-Audio SP-2 Sustain Pedal?

Questions about the M-Audio SP-2 Sustain Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Carroll
    from Raleigh, NC January 1, 2017Music Background:
    R&B Hip Hop

    Great product

    This thing works with my Push 2, my 88 key Casio and my 61 key Yamaha Montage.... so I think it will probably work with anything. I use it mostly with my 88 key Casio to control keyscape and other plugs. As far as build quality I just it will hold up..... but I don't stomp on it or travel with it.
    Oh and it has a button underneath that you can use to make it work with different keyboards and midi controllers

  • Customer
    from December 30, 2016

    Very Happy!

    Perfect general replacement. Very reasonable $$; durable, polarity switchable - love it!

  • Kallen
    from Montana October 24, 2016

    I'm in love!

    I was shocked by how good it was! It got here in perfect condition! And It got here earlier then I thought it was!!!

  • Robert Jay
    from Gypsum, CO May 2, 2016

    Durable pedal

    This is the beefiest pedal I've ever seen.

  • Customer
    from April 2, 2016

    Worth the price

    Very well built

  • Phyllis Lynch
    from Greenwood, IN August 20, 2015

    M-Audio SP-2 Sustain Pedal

    It's great. It doesn't slide around. and has a switch for + and - polarity.

  • Steve
    from Houston July 2, 2015

    Best Value

    Once again, my rep, Ed Nystrom made a good recommendation. Great value at a fraction of the price of the new Yamaha pedal!

  • B.Burke
    from NY June 26, 2015Music Background:
    Keys mostly

    Over 10 years and going strong

    Best pedal for the money IMHO. I have NEVER had a problem with it, it has been soaked with water, used and abused and works like it was new

  • Rick Vezie
    from Southern Oregon February 20, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Another great Sweetwater value!

    The quality and performance of this sustain pedal is incredible for the price!

  • Clint McLain
    from Morriston Florida February 18, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician and home studio recording

    Great Purchase .

    Very Sturdy built pedal and works with any keyboard and the price is what sold me that and my Sales engineer Wayne Davis whose the best always helping me decide what will work with my gear setup . I highly recommend this product .This even uses the half damper effect for pianos.

  • Miles
    from Montana USA November 10, 2013Music Background:
    Multi-instrumentalist, Bedroom producer, Performance musician

    Great Product

    Works great for what I need it for. It's got a great heavy duty build quality which gives is a nice feel and a great look. I would buy it all over again.

  • Tom
    from Lumberport, WV June 13, 2013Music Background:
    sound painter and luthier

    solid, dependable

    it feels heavy and solid and does exactly what I want it to do.

  • Wade B Powell
    from Melbourne, Florida May 18, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    If it's heavy...it must be expensive!

    Short and sweet. I've owned or used sustain pedals that cost twice as much that felt light and cheesy. I spent most of my time chasing it around the floor. More duct tape! If it's heavy...it must be expensive! Right?It's not, but it feels that way. Anyway, this baby is stout and accurate. I think it weighs more than my keyboard! Nothing cheap about this pedal so far. I have a sneaky suspicion it may last way longer than any of it's competitors.

  • Brian F. Burke Jr.
    from Rochester, NY October 4, 2012Music Background:
    KJeys, Tenor Sax, Singing, Writing, Recording ,Producing...

    A little add-On

    I noticed a few people had problems with them. That sucks. It sounds like an easily fixable thing though, being into electronics. I hope Sweetwater tok care of yuo guys. They are without a doubt THE BEST IN THE BUSINESS when it comes to those sorts of things. M-Audio probably hs mad a million of these things...sometimes things go wrong. I am not trying to make any excuse but rather urging you to give another one a try...talk with your Sales Engineer. They will work with you. Good luck.

  • Brian F. Burke Jr.
    from Rochester, NY October 4, 2012Music Background:
    Keyboard Player as well as othe instruments, song writer, Etc.

    Why buy anything else?

    I have owned one of these for almost 8 years o think. It has been soaked; used; abused; chewed on by the dog...well you get the idea. It still woorks flawlessly. It stays put. It has a natural feel. The haalk pedaling is a bit touchym, maybe it is not supposed to have it and if you just back off a bit then step right back on it you retain some sustain. It is switchable making it versitile. Not only that but it is a heavy duty well made piece of professional equipment for the price of a toy. Whatels could you ask for? The price is the same as when I bought it years ago. I also have a Korg that I paid quite a bit more for and although it is a good pedal it has no noticable advantages. except maybe it matches the lable on my M3. It comes with a heavy plastic cover attached to the Chrome Pedal. I took some course sand paper and scuffed the plastic and it acts like a nonslip cover. Stays on like it was meant for it. I don't know if they still ship with them, but they are worth keeping. Even though it is a small poece of equipment it is essential and must be reliable. This pedal is that and all for a song. You will not be dissapointed. Lastly, the cable is nice and heavy and is long enough at 6 ft. to reach from the top board on a stack to where you need it! Enjoy it...I have.

  • Eric Heukeshoven
    from Winona, MN May 31, 2012Music Background:
    Gigging Keyboardist

    Stays put!

    I've used Yamaha and Kurzweil sustain pedals for years. They've always worked fine but both had a tendency to "wander" away from my foot. This pedal has a terrific rubber backing and stays right where I need it during the gig. And it's priced right too.

  • RICHARD ALOIZ
    from GREENFIELD, INDIANA March 4, 2012Music Background:
    HOBBYIST MUSICIAN/ MUSIC WRITER

    M-AUDIO SP-2 SUSTAIN PEDAL

    THE PEDAL MIMICS A REAL PIANO PEDAL, AND IS WEIGHTED , PREVENTING THE PEDAL FROM MOVING AROUND. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH MY EXPERIENCE WITH THE SWEETWATER MUCIC COMPANY. THANKS!

  • Bruce Capoferri
    from Berlin, NJ February 22, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro singer/songwriter and home studio producer

    Well made and affordable quality

    The M-Audio SP-2 Sustain Pedal is worth the price. It is the right size, the cable is adequate, it is built to withstand studio or stage use, and the non-slip bottom keeps it in place even if someone gets a little agressive with their foot. It is 100% responsive and does the job it is designed to do and -oh yes- it has a professional appearance as well. Do I like it? Yes. And I also recommend it.

  • Kent
    from MN April 6, 2016Music Background:
    Professional

    excellent pedal

    I've used lots of pedals over many years. These (I bought 2) seem to be very well made. I like the slightly larger 'footprint' and, so far, all is good. Only time will tell if durability is an issue. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that, hey, it's a pedal. Nothing to be 'blown away' about here.

  • Customer
    from California October 13, 2015Music Background:
    Musician/Producer

    Excellent Deal

    This is a solid choice of you're looking for a piano style sustain pedal. I'll be honest when I first picked us up I wasn't expecting much--the pictures can be slightly misleading--it looks plastic and cheap. It is sort of plastic, I think, but it still has a solid feel to it. So if you're looking for a well-built sustain pedal and can't afford one of the more expensive ones, this is a good buy! I think it does just as well as the FC4 I used to have.

  • S. A.
    from Buffalo March 14, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    M-Audio SP2

    This is a great, solid, piano-style pedal...but it stopped working for me after a few days of use. Why? Because a wire was being PINCHED every time the pedal was pressed. If I had not taken it apart and realized(and fixed it), I would certainly be upset.

    + Solid pedal.
    - Poor wiring design.

  • JL
    from USA July 10, 2014Music Background:
    musician, live sound and studio engineer

    Really Solid Pedal

    Picked this up for a student friend of mine to go with his keyboard and was very impressed by the quality and ruggedness of the pedal. The function was very smooth. The pedal is also packaged very well and the chrome pedal came with a plastic cover on it. I'm sure that is to protect it during shipping, but I told my friend he should consider leaving it on if it didn't effect his playing to keep it newer longer.

  • Keith Edwards
    from West Virgiia August 23, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Well Made!

    This pedal has a really firm feel to it, and so far has held up really well, but it does squeak every now and then, but not bad enough to dismantle it. Great buy.

  • Steve R.
    from Great Barrington, MA December 3, 2012Music Background:
    Multimedia Production

    M-Audio SP-2 Sustain Pedal

    Works great! A really nice sustain pedal. Good weight and stays in place.

  • Randy
    from New Hampshire July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    M-Audio SP-2 Sustain Pedal

    This is a nice high quality sustain pedal. It has a handsome finish and feels like it will last a long time. The pedal is heavy, and the rubberized bottom makes it stay in place. The price was reasonable too. For a few dollars more than the cheap pedals you can have a quality pedal. I would defiantely recommend this pedal.

  • C.Duncan
    from October 28, 2016Music Background:
    Professional music maker.

    Much better than my old one.

    It sustains notes when pressed down and stops when I let go. Everything you'd want and expect from a sustain pedal.

  • Dave
    from Chicago IL September 27, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Keyboardist

    Nice, but doesn't work as talkback switch

    Bought this as a talkback footswitch for a Presonus Central Station. I had tested it with a Roland pedal, which worked fine except the polarity was wrong (talkback always on until pedal is depressed). So I bought this one with a switchable polarity. But, for some reason it doesn't play nice with the Central station, it only activates the "Dim".

    The switches inside are pretty cheesy, and I ended up modifying the pedal by changing the switch, and now it works great.

    Since talkback wasn't the intended use for this pedal in the first place, I really can't give a bad rating. It's built well (except maybe the switches), feels great, and doesn't slide around, plus it's cheap.

    Overall it's a good pedal for keyboard, just don't buy it for talkback on a Central Station!

  • Doc B
    from PA, USA November 21, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Church Musician

    Excellent, Durable, Affordable

    This is a great pedal. Mine has lasted for four years. Recently, the lip of the pedal began to dig into the plastic underneath and only sustain when I pushed down pretty hard. If you try not to push down too hard, it should last you a long time. No half damper, but at this price, the SP-2 is an excellent pedal that's affordable and lasts. I'm buying another to replace my current one.

  • Sheri
    from Fargo, ND January 26, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Producer

    Good Pedal

    It's a pedal what can you say. Works good and not as clunky like older pedals. Can't go wrong at this price!

  • Kidpr3
    from Pasadena, CA USA November 28, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Worked well for over 3 years

    I've used the SP-2 for over 3 years. I play two to three gosple services a week. Had no problems until just recently. I feel it was a good investment. I plan to buy two more so that I will have a back up. Great value!!

  • Johnathan
    from Michigan, USA July 12, 2011Music Background:
    Musician (worship leader), Hobbyist

    Great upgrade from a stock sustain pedal

    If you're still using a flimsy plastic sustain pedal that came with your keyboard that runs away on you when you're using it, why? This pedal has a switch that allows it to work with Roland and Yamaha style keyboards, as well as Korg and Casio keyboards (they have different switching polarities - some expect the switch to be normally open, and some expect it to be normally closed).

    This pedal has a great feel if you're used to a normal piano pedal, but it feels a little spongy when you press it down all the way. I was going to get a Roland SP-10, but thankfully my sales engineer clued me into the different polarities and I got this one instead.

    My only real complaint is that I got the pedal to replace a plastic one that came with my Casio PX-130 because that pedal kept running away from me while I played (I'd end up with one foot reaching underneath and behind the stand). This one doesn't move nearly as much, but it is still guilty of moving around a bit too. I guess that's gonna happen with many pedals, but just be aware. It doesn't move around that much, and the pedal is long enough (about 10 inches) that I can set it against some parts of my keyboard stand to make sure it stays put, just, FYI, buyer beware, etc...

  • Customer
    from MI, USA April 19, 2014Music Background:
    Piano player of 15+ years

    Great feel and action, but doesn't last long if you have a lead foot

    This pedal is a must if you are using the stock plasticy thing that comes width your keyboard, but you will spend all gig chasing it around if you play standing.

    It lasted me about three years (as many other reviewers also reported), now when pushing it down all the way the switch will revert to its off state.

    Overall, it was a good pedal, but I'm off to find a better one.

  • Dustin
    from Washington, D.C. May 12, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Not Bad for the Price

    I seem to go through these for whatever reason. Maybe it's just bad luck. Every now and then the sustain will not work for hours at a time. I turn of the keyboard turn it back on and sometimes it will kick in again, and sometimes it won't. I keep buying them because they're heavy duty and cheap.

  • Thomas Blackheart
    from May 20, 2015Music Background:
    Musicain/Songwriter/Stage Performer

    Good product for the price

    This pedal serves it's purpose well. I've used them before. The only negatives I would give is that the solder joints are weak. I had one break from normal use, and the pedal stopped working. It went out as I was playing. It was a quick fix, but still, a negative. The second is that I think the spring is too tight, when pressing down. For the price, it is a still a good pedal that works well. If you get a break in a solder joint, just open it up and re-solder it, or replace the pedal. It's still a good deal.

  • BlackGnosis
    from My studio September 6, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyest, noise maker, live performances,

    it works

    On the reccomendation of my sales rep I gave this a shot and found it catered better to my needs then the product I had in focus, its robust, heavy and isnt a flimsy cheap little pile I often find sustainers to be. Long cable insures that even the boards on top on my tiers get patched with this.

  • Josh Lyon
    from Shreveport, LA February 6, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Works... For a while...

    This pedal worked just as it should for about 3 months, the I started experiencing issues. The sustain would only last for about 1 second and then it would release on its own. After about 2 days of this it stopped working all together. Now I'll admit I step on it pretty hard most the time, but I expected more durability from M-Audio...

  • SF
    from January 19, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur keys - 10 years horns - A/V engineer

    You Get What You Pay for I Guess

    I got about a year of use out of this. I play about 10-20 hours per week (sometimes more). There's a membrane switch inside that I think is going out on it. I opened it up and adjusted the metal plate that depresses the switch, so it would push a little harder, but that didn't help. I think the switch is just cheap, which isn't surprising at $20.

    I'm not upset, since ... it was twenty bucks ... but my next one will have a better build quality.

  • Patrick Davies
    from Whitefish Bay, WI September 4, 2016

    Lasted less than a year. 2nd one to fail.

    I had my first SP-2 for about 2 years before it became sporadic and then just quit. I blamed myself. I replaced it a little less than a year ago. This one quit working this week. The pedal has a nice feel and seems well-made, but... well, I need it to send a signal to my keyboard. I opened this one up to look for a disconnected wire, but everything seemed to be connected. There is something inherently wrong with the design of this pedal. I am a gigging musician, so yes, the pedal is jostling around in a bag with cords, etc. However, I have never had any of my 15-year-old Roland pedals fail due to being transported or used.

  • Russell Gates
    from Michigan July 28, 2016

    Eh....

    I would not recommend this. Plastic contacts. Also, the slightest lift off, and you lose sustain, unlike a real sustain pedal. I've had a Kurzweil pedal for a decade and never had a sustain problem. M-Audio, I have 2 of these pedals, and do not recommend for sustain pedal. As a swtich or program change, fine. Not sustain.

  • Dave Rains
    from Adrian, MI March 10, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Had two of these break in the past year

    I really liked the construction and the ability to switch polarity, so I bought and additional one as a backup. In the past year they have both broken (the plastic on the inside, so the entire bottom goes down when you depress the pedal and no connection is made) making the pedals useless. If this is just for simple stay-at-home use, it's probably fine. But if you're a gigging musician - buyer beware!

  • Jon
    from United States December 9, 2013Music Background:
    24 years of Piano

    Worked well, failed fast

    I had this pedal for a year and used it for playing and leading in praise team. It works very well and is very heavy so it doesn't move much... however, after 1 year it fell apart from the inside out and just stopped working.

  • Larry Herbstritt
    from June 20, 2011Music Background:
    Music industry professional musician for more than 30 years.

    M-Audio SP Sustain Pedal sudden quit working

    This started out to be a great sustain pedal. It worked perfectly for about five months and then suddenly the sustain held for just a few seconds and then dropped. When I flipped the polarity switch the sustain was holding indefinitely. I tried switching it back, hoping it would again work as well as it had with the polarity reversed but again it dropped off after a few seconds. The price is nice for this pedal but if it doesn't sustain it's rather worthless even if it was free.

  • Angry
    from Gentleman June 27, 2016Music Background:
    20 years playing multiple instruments.

    M-Audio should be ashamed

    I'd rate it zero if I could. I have purchased 2 of these in the last few years. I have never gone more than three practices without having to unscrew the thing and tighten the screws that hold the metal pedal in place so that it can actually make contact with the pad.
    literally every 3 days for the last 5 years I've had to take the thing apart, I've swapped parts from other pedals, turned my new one into a Frankenstein when it broke in the same way after having it for months. yeah I use it every day, but shouldn't something that isn't a complete piece of S*** be able to be used everyday with breaking the **** out of itself?????
    if I ever see this pedal on a gig, in a practice room, on stage, in a garage band garage, in a studio, sitting on a shelf in a store, I will pick it up and smash the ever loving **** out of it because that is the immediate end game. you might as well set 20-35 dollars on fire and smoke the ashes seeing as that would be a better value for the price.

  • Josh Drew
    from Dallas, TX March 30, 2016Music Background:
    Professional

    Affordable but...

    I bought 5 of the SP-2 units for the keyboards we use in our building. 3 out of the 5 malfunctioned within 2 months. The sustain switch became more difficult to activate over that short amount of time until it stopped activating all together. It's affordable and one of the few polarity changing units so I'm sad it didn't work out. Sweetwater was extremely helpful in processing my return. Thanks guys!

  • Sia
    from San Francisco March 23, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Piece of Crap

    I'm sorry. I know there are lots of good reviews but maybe I had the short end of the stick here. I first bought one and it eventually stopped working. Luckily my bandmate had a spare and gave me another one of the exact same model. Guess what after a few months it also failed. That is two units in about a years worth of time. These are fairly simple products. If M-Audio is messing them up then they must be cutting some serious corners. I will NOT purchase another and would not recommend this product to anyone.

  • Andy Sandel
    from Cedar Grove ,NJ August 20, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician/teacher

    M-Audio SP-2 Sustain Pedal = horrible

    I had this pedal for two months … The pedal started squeaking and now the chrome part of the pedal shifts from side to side …… in my 54 years of playing I never came across such a piece of c**p … if you are serious about your music STAY AWAY from this pedal … I would have given it a 0 but 0 is not on the pull down menu

  • Customer
    from September 3, 2014

    TERRIBLE!!!!

    I gave this a 1 bc I couldn't select a ZERO! Had terrible problems with it switching polarity (just on its own...right in the middle of playing a brand new Yamaha board. Have returned 2 already. There won't be a third.

  • Kyle Smith
    from Phoenix,AZ April 13, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Terrible product

    Bought this pedal not even three months ago. The first one I got in the mail didn't even work. The amazing Sweet water team helped me out and replaced it, but now two months after that this one has already stopped working. I know it is only $20 and there is a a warranty, but I would have paid plenty more if I would have known how much of a hassle this would be. I won't be purchasing anymore M-audio equipment.

Questions about the M-Audio SP-2 Sustain Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway