0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Vox Pathfinder Bass 10 2x5" 10-Watt Bass Combo Reviews

4.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Vox Pathfinder Bass 10 2x5" 10-Watt Bass Combo?

Questions about the Vox Pathfinder Bass 10 2x5" 10-Watt Bass Combo?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Alex
    from Berkeley, CA May 10, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great practice amp

    This amp is perfect for the beginner or anyone who needs something small and convenient that gets you a great bass tone. It's super lightweight which makes it perfect for taking to jam sessions and it's small enough to tuck away somewhere when you're not using it. It also sounds awesome and gets surprisingly loud for its size. The tone-shaping is simple but effective, and the drive sounds really nice. It also works great as a guitar amp. It sounds great with headphones (there's some really nice cabinet simulation that really helps) so you can keep laying down the grooves even when people are sleeping! It also looks really nice with that classic Vox look while also being super durable. It's an absolute steal for the quality and it is a great amp overall for when you don't need tons of power.

  • Timothy Volk
    from Seattle, WA July 5, 2014Music Background:
    A punk in the 70s and hair metal in the 80s.

    Still sounds like a bass amp at 3 am

    For apartment living volumes, this amp is perfect for me. A practice bass amp that sounds great at barely audible volumes. It's very responsive and plugging in a compressor tames it nicely. Fast toppy attack with full treble, and warm round tone with the treble cut. Takes modulation fx really well. I play a Carvin SB4000 with ash body and maple neck.

  • Customer
    from January 6, 2012

    Perfect

    Love this amp! Love the retro look and works great. Exactly what we were looking for.

  • Mel MacKaron
    from Albuquerque, NM, USA December 12, 2011Music Background:
    recording artist and composer--been at it for over 40 years

    Excellent "small" amp

    For what you pay on the Vox Pathfinder 10 Bass amp, it's a really good buy.

    First, it is simple. [Why do they even include an instructions sheet with it?] This is what more electronics should be--straightforward and providing everything you wanted without having to wade through a lot of technical stuff.

    Second, for its small size and specifications (i.e., a 10 watt "practice" amp), it actually is suitable for playing small rooms. The sound is clean, and I enjoy using it with my Hofner 500/1. Tweak the knobs in the right direction, and it gives you the sounds you wanted.

  • Scooter420
    from Cincinnati March 19, 2011Music Background:
    Beer drinking band

    Fun Little Amp!

    I got this for guy bass practice, and because it's really cute. It's pretty good for bass, but a bass clobbers the input so hard if the guitar volume is up too high that it clips. With some adjustments you can get some good stuff, tho. The tone is toppy, and the bottom isn't too bad for a pair of 5-inchers.

    Then I plugged a PRS with soapbars into it and let it rip. OMG! This thing's a weapon! It tore my head off with only 10 watts! Typical of the Pathfinder series, this amp is really loud for the rating, and it sounds tremendous with a guitar ... really VOXy!

    And it really IS cute. Get one! You'll love it!

  • Dhenia LH
    from Binghamton, NY November 4, 2015Music Background:
    Bass hobbyist

    Classy little amp!

    I just got this vox today from sweetwater, and as always they sent it with good and safe packaging, they even added some candies inside, what a nice surprise!
    This vox amp is perfect for my need, it looks really classy, small and light so I can carry it easily around. The sound is big but not too loud which is good because I live in an apartment. When you turn up the drive all the way up, it will distort the sound nicely. I love how it has 2 speakers. The only thing that's missing is an aux jack input. It's too bad it doesn't have it or it would've been perfect for practice with a song.

  • Tony Fusco
    from May 1, 2013

    Vox Practice Amp

    Very good amp to practice with

  • Neal
    from Tampa, FL May 3, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    For what it is...

    It's great for what it is. But that's it.
    Use it to record with the line out (that's what I got it for) or to mess around by yourself at a moderate volume. If you do those things, it's a fantastic amp - especially for the money. Expect much else, and not so much.

  • Merlyn Motors
    from Los Angeles October 24, 2015Music Background:
    Everything but opera..........

    Bass amp ????

    This is absolutely NOT a bass amp ! What were they thinking ? Totally mis-branded. Open back - extremely poor bass response. This is a modified Pathfinder 10 guitar amp that distorts raggedly and horribly and cannot produce a remotely clean or soldibass tone. Just farts along......
    sort of OK for guitar. Great for harmonica (ask Roger Daltrey)
    Complete crap for bass.

  • Jeff Thornton
    from San Francisco, USA May 1, 2011Music Background:
    Recording engineer, live sound, pro musician

    Bass amp ?

    Bought 2 of these GREAT looking little amps, but when i plugged in a Fender P-Bass was astounded at how bad this amp sounds for bass. The input distorts no matter what you do, and it is virtually impossible to get a clean bass tone out of it at any volume or input strength. Have tried Rickenbacker, Danelectro, Burns, J-Bass - all sounding like a bad fuzz-tone. Also- the open back seems to be a big mistake for bass??????? A real dog. Get something else.
    ps The Pathfinder 10 guitar version is great for guitar !

Questions about the Vox Pathfinder Bass 10 2x5" 10-Watt Bass Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway