0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Nektar Panorama P1 Control Surface Reviews

4.5 stars based on 14 customer reviews
Questions about the Nektar Panorama P1 Control Surface?

Questions about the Nektar Panorama P1 Control Surface?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from April 17, 2017Music Background:
    Guitar 30 years, music theorist and composer for 30 years, project studio recording and production for 15 years

    Perfect with Reaper

    After installing the proper driver/template (easy to do), the P1 worked seemlessly with Reaper. Reaper integration is deep, as advertised. I love the super clear TFTdisplay. The components are plasticy, but at this price I don't care. The unit feels solid and well-built nonetheless. And since it can access up to 64 tracks, there's no need for a giant, room-filling mixer.

    If you have Reaper, I highly recommend the P1.

  • from October 31, 2015

    Logic Pro + P1 + iX61 = Perfect

    I purchased this controller about 6 months ago, and later added their iX61 keyboard.(nice) I went this route , separate keyboard and separate controller, as it is more in line with my workflow ... which is more post production. And as of Sept/2015 .... this setup is a godsend with their release of 'full' Logic Pro X integration.. No one has done a tighter/deeper integration with Logic than these lads. And it is all natively tied together. No VST wrapper. No AutoMap! No middleware. It is VERY tight. - It's stupid simple to use. Well designed. Looks great on my work table. Layout is very intuitive.

    I must also give Nektar high praise for it's excellent and personal support. Funny, smart, dedicated. A top notch team.

    If I was allowed one complaint ..... it's the glossy black finish. We all know why glossy black should never be on something you need to touch all the time. --- And .... No ... 'flesh tone' is not the answer.

    Buy 1 ... and make some music ..... without the same droning 4/4 drum beat ... please. Thank you.

  • from Oakley, CA May 10, 2015

    Amazing product, awesome company!

    Their support is stellar! They are very responsive, the owner of the company contacted me personally to answer my questions. Works AMAZING with Cubase 8 Pro and almost every one of my VSTi plugins, the ones it didn't support out of the box were fairly simple to create a profile for. I love it.

  • from March 31, 2015Music Background:
    Composer, Producer and Music Supervisor

    Excellent Controller!

    I had read great reviews of the P1 and Panorama series, and decided to give the P1 a try to move beyond more basic fader/pad controllers I've used in the past. Without a doubt this is one of the best, if not the best programmable desktop fader, transport, knob controllers. My first P1 had a defective LCD that failed in the first week, but Sweetwater support replaced it quickly and was great to work with. Nektar support has also been excellent (thanks to both companies for the great service!). Second unit is working perfectly. The ability to program Internal mode to QWERTY commands (or CC, note, etc) is a huge plus for this unit. It is deep in capabilities and works very well with Cubase/Nuendo. Faders and knobs are smooth. The unit is well designed and build. The fader caps are a bit loose compared to Akai faders, but that is rather trivial by comparison. The LCD is clear and programming really is easy - it just takes a few minutes to learn the layout and screen options. All in all this is an excellent controller.

  • from January 12, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Great Controller!!

    This is a really solid midi controller, and the best integrated one with Cubase. Its very easy and intuitive to use in practice, and the experience feels close to actually using hardware.

    MIDI controllers are typically either the type where you map controls manually, or those that include some sort of automatic mapping feature. In my experience, the software used with the controllers that map parameters automatically usually gets in the way. But this is not the case with the Panorama controlling Cubase, and the user experience is very smooth.

    It also has the ability to manually map parameters in the internal mode, which is more like the type found in simpler controllers. This also works with applications that do not have any internal auto mapping.

    It obviously makes more sense to buy this if you use one of the integrated daws, which now includes bitwig and logic, besides cubase and reason. I recently tried the bitwig integration and its pretty good (the step sequencer is my favourite feature), though the integration is not yet as extensive as the one for cubase.

  • from Northern California April 25, 2014Music Background:
    Music Producer, Recording Engineer, and Home Studio Owner.

    Sweet As Nektar!

    The Panorama P1 is simply brilliant in my opinion! It does everything you could ask in one control surface. No more messing around with the mouse or keyboard. The P1 can handle it all! Transport controls, Virtual instrument parameters, Insert plugins, and any other midi parameter you can throw at it. The Macro Editor is incredible! Key commands can be matched and programmed accordingly to your D.A.W. of choice.(Real Cool). And if you're wondering? Yes, it does work flawlessly with Logic Pro. I use Logic Pro 9 and I had no problems setting the P1 up in a few minutes after registering it. I'm loving everything about the P1. From its sturdy build and professional looks, to it's seemless integration and streamlined workflow enhancement. It makes music production so much more hands on, and fun! I can't wait to see if it works with Presonus Studio One 2 like they say it does. Overall, the Neckar P1 is a great controler and I would definitely recommend it without a doubt! Great job Nektar!

  • from Midwest May 6, 2017Music Background:
    Guitar and electronic, Eclectic

    Reason Controller

    Really the only thing I can say negative about this is the lack of documentation. There could be a whole course explaining this item. I was able to control Reason fairly consistently. But I needed videos and books on how to use it and how it is setup with Reason.

    I like the controls. Very light weight. Sturdy. The LCD is very good.

    I use this thing as a novice. A pro would be able to edit and store info and effects just with the interface.

  • from Florida December 19, 2016Music Background:
    Rock, Electronica, Ambient, Sound Designing

    Panorama P1 Perfection

    Excellent integration with Reason 8. Smaller form factor works on my rig or at my production station.

    Now to get it to work the Behringer XR-18!

    Solid construction, smooth fader action, very responsive and clean layout.

  • from December 22, 2015

    Reason 8 and the P1

    The P1 is really nice. A couple of issues. 1. There are virtually no instructions for this thing. 2. It works best if you use the builtin USB ports on your computer rather than one on a powered hub. At least that has been the case with a Mac.

    Without instructions, I have watched a couple of online demos. I can adjust things in Reason 8 pretty well with the P1. I use the transport controls all the time and switching and tweaking patches in Reason. I just wish there were more instructions. I looked to Nectar and found some instructions but they are pretty thin. That is the only thing I don't like about it.

  • from Waukesha, WI June 23, 2013Music Background:
    Composer/Musician

    Solid Midi Controller

    This is a nice little controller.

    Once I pulled it out of the box I realized the build quality was really good. Most controllers have a very cheap feel. This is nice and solid and feels like it could take a bit of a beating.

    I am using this as a VST controller and an interface to Cubase. The integration with Cubase seems pretty tight. They have gone through the mixer/transport controls with pretty good detail.

    The screen is a great feature. I was able to create a template setup for the VSL libraries within a few minutes. It was easy to navigate and figure out (because who really wants to read the manual anyway. :) )

    This is a great controller for those who still want to be able to feel the controls and have some tactile feedback.

  • from July 9, 2016

    Great DAW controller.

    The Nektar D.A.W. controller really lets me get into all the parameters within Cubase. No more mouse!

  • from Walnut Creek, CA March 27, 2015

    Works Well, Looks Great, but Hard to Keep That Way!

    This unit works well, and looks great. I have two minor complaints:

    1. The gloss black finish is beautiful out of the box, but shows every oil print from resting your hand on the unit (you have to do this while mixing). Also, it shows every speck of dust! Takes a lot of work to keep it looking as good as when it came out of the plastic wrapper.

    2. The unit would be much more functional if the top control surface were slanted, or there were "feet" like a keyboard to raise the unit on an angle. I used a couple strips of foam rubber from some old speaker packaging to angle the unit, and it helps a lot.

    Otherwise, very much as advertised, and the Logic preset works like a breeze.

  • from Philadelphia, PA USA May 16, 2014Music Background:
    Project studio owner/engineer, musician, producer

    Panorama P1

    This is definitely a must have if you work in Reason 6.5/7+. Every instrument, track, and mixer feature are all controlled from the P1. I really how they integrated the SSL mixer with P1...there is not 1 stone unturned where where you need the mouse for something the P1 can't it do for you...I highly recommend this controller.

  • from miami,fl November 6, 2013Music Background:
    composer/student/beats

    Nektar Panorama P1 Control Surface

    logic is not apart of this toy this cant be life i would have brought it if it was compatible with my daw but i guess it wasnt meant be

Questions about the Nektar Panorama P1 Control Surface?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway