0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Korg padKONTROL Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Chicago, IL August 28, 2016

    Excellent Pad Controller for Reason

    I have been looking long and hard for a high-quality pad controller that I could use with Reason, Pro Tools and other DAW's. I don't need a full MPC. The Native Instruments stuff is killer, but way overkill for what I needed.

    I have purchased some other Korg pad controllers, including the Nano, and I wasn't very impressed with them. Every time I saw padKONTROL, I skipped it because of my past experience. I attend Berklee and asked one of their famous instructors what I should get. He immediately recommended padKONTROL. I told him about my experience, and he said he and many others really like the pads. I was, in fact, looking at the Akai controllers at the time. When I mentioned that to my instructor he said he owns several Akai's and hates the pads. He even had an aftermarket mod done to one of his Akai's and still hated the pad response.

    Suffice of to say, I went with the Korg padKCONTROL. That was a very wise choice. The pads on this thing are awesome. It is a simple straightforward controller that works perfectly with Reason. Reason even natively supports it out of the box. No external drivers or anything else needed. Reason programs Scene 16 automatically and it works perfectly. I have used this controller with Reason 8, reason 8 and ProTools 12.51. It works perfectly. The only other option would be for Ableton users. Their pad controller is awesome when you use their software, but 99% of the features do not work outside of Ableton.

  • from South Carolina September 11, 2015Music Background:
    Producer

    My experience

    I just purchased the Korg PadKontrol from Sweetwater, I haven't got a chance to mess around with it but I had to write a review about the customer service. This is the second item I have bought via Sweetwater (also got the Korg Taktile 25) which is great for the price, and easily syncs to my DAW (logic pro x) I must say they have some of the best customer service! Not only do they call you to notify you that you're order has been received and shipped, they also tell you thanks and if there is any questions to call them. There shipping is beyond fast. Both times I have received my item in 2 days. I have bought stuff from other musician stores like guitar center and they are awful. Glad I will never have to go there again. I never write reviews but I guess when you realize what great customer service is you have to give them credit!

  • from June 18, 2014Music Background:
    Live sound engineer, Pro Musician

    amazing! An asset to our Church!

    its an amazing unit! i use this to trigger sounds from my MPC or Roland spd20 and other sound modules and its just what i wanted! pads have an amazing sensitivity, as a matter of fact its got the most sensitive pad from all the drum machine ive had. Its a really good midi controller. its a key gear to our drummer in our church.
    BUT DO NOTE THERE ARE ONLY TWO ASSIGNABLE CONTROL KNOBS ON TOP.

    And as usual i received my product in perfect condition from sweet water!

    Thanks guys!

  • from Victoria, BC September 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    AMAZING

    I bought this second hand and I am SO impressed by it. I've mostly used pads on an MPK25 which are pretty notorious for being bad so the change was incredible. I've also used an M-Audio Trigger Finger and to be honest the padKONTROL is in my opinion miles ahead. The pads have great sensitivity, and the ease of editing is impressive. I didn't think editing settings could feel this elegant with only a 3 number LED screen. The flam and roll touch pad is really fun and the knobs also feel really smooth. Overall GREAT buy for any live drumming or studio sequencing.

  • from United States February 18, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Six years running and still works

    Best combination of control surfaces for the price. I've been using this live for 6 years, for hundreds and hundreds of shows in about fifteen different countries, and it's still running!

  • from Fort Wayne, Indiana February 13, 2013Music Background:
    Artist, Producer, Recording Engineer

    Best pad controller on the market!

    I use this with Reason 6.5 (Kong and Redrum) and it does everything i need it to do right out the box. If you are looking for a pad controller this is the one. You dont have to worry about pad modifications or issues with responsiveness and sensitivity like with the akai models. This unit just works. Flam and Roll is so much better that note repeat because I have real world control over everything with the XY pad. I don't know why I waited so long to get this but I'm loving the fact that I got it now!

    I dare say that the pads are better than any Mpc I have ever used and they as good if not better than Maschines as well so if you're not in need of the other two, get this and get to work!

  • from PA March 29, 2011Music Background:
    Professional sound design

    Pad Heaven

    One of the best pad controllers I have ever used and it looks cool too. The pads are very responsive (even to the lightest touch) and feel great. The XY pad is great for controlling synth parameters like filter and rez. I use this controller with NI Battery software and it works great for triggering all kinds of samples. This one is a keeper and you cannot beat the price.

  • from Rock Island, IL USA January 24, 2014Music Background:
    Turntablist, Producer, Student.

    A wonderful controller

    If your looking for an MPC style controller for Reason, Ableton, Fruity Loops, etc. You need one of these. I have previously used MPC's for production, and I have to say these pads have the closest feel so far. Really responsive, zero latency so far, fully midi assignable, and the X-Y pad works great. For the price, this thing is a beast. If you want an MPC feel to your midi controller for DAW's but can't afford the 600 dollars, you can't pass this one up!

  • from September 19, 2013Music Background:
    Pro musician, producer

    Decent

    There are some snafus that drove me crazy while runnong this with ableton 9, but there are workarounds. The presets that korg programmed really don't make sense for use with drum racks, which is what your most likely to use them for. Pad sensitivity is cool, though i haven't managed to get the x/y pad working in any useful way. The 2 knobs also seem worthless. But if you just want responsive pads tp jam on, then this is a good controller for the dough. iI wish it had the repeat feature of the mpcs and useful knobs though. Should be better,. Korg should update its software.

Questions about the Korg padKONTROL?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway