0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Casio Privia PX-3 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • christian Jansen
    from Singapore April 9, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    AMAZING VALUE !

    CASIO from Japan has just as good Digital Pianos as Yamaha..what stands out is the Price. The Sounds don't sound thin or washed with effects..its very well Sampled in this age , Pianos are very detail...can't complain..of course we don't compare them to a real Grand Piano.... The MIDI IN/OUT plus USB is icing on the cake..Yummy !
    TRS outputs will nicely serve in studio or live. I use it Primarily as my MIDI controller with my DAW. 88 HOT keys. I will use the onboard sounds as audio tracks into my DAW.... the Keys don't feel too Heavy..which is nice while fully weighted( Ivory Touch,MInd You ). The other reviewers has said most of what I would have said. ... go and audition it. It may be a Casio..but its a winner... The Sampled Piano sounds has better flavor over my E-mu Systems ,Emulator IV K 16MB piano samples ! The E4K was from the mid 90's though... Grab the PX-3..its a limited edition release .

  • Dharm Khalsa
    from Santa Fe, NM March 29, 2012Music Background:
    Musician and Producer

    Great Action, light weight

    I just got back from touring in Russia.. this keyboards amazingly low weight allowed me to check the keyboard in its fight case (Gator) in at the airline weighing in right at 50 lbs and not pay extra. This keyboard is incredibly playable... the action is awesome... first class all the way... really as playable as the other various weighted keyboards I have, and at like half the weight it just makes it so much more portable. My only complaint are the internal sounds... they are ok.... passable... but not good enough for what I wanted. So I run midi out from the keyboard, through an interface and into Mainstage on my Mac laptop. The the Mainstange sounds are awesome and I love Mainstange for performing anyway. I dont love having to connect another thing though. The Previa actually has a USB out, which would conceivabley allow you to run right into the computer without needing an interface. I did not try that out yet, but it would allow travel without one more piece of equipment... the interface. SO.... all in all I am totally thrilled with this because it does what I needed perfectly... I needed great playing action plus light weight... and THAT is so great to have!

  • bern hayward
    from new york, ny November 9, 2010Music Background:
    pro musician, songwriter, producer

    Awesome keyboard. Awesome price.

    For my money, this is the only stage piano anyone should buy unless you have an unlimited budget. I looked at used RD-700's and other new Rolands and Yamahas and NOTHING can touch this for the price or the piano sound.

    The B3 organs do not let you use a volume pedal, but that is the only thing wrong with this keyboard. It is HALF THE PRICE of some of the other keyboards I looked at which also weighed many times more. IMHO, the electric pianos are excellent and as good as anything out there. And it's got a great feel. I play four and five hour gigs and my hands don't hurt after the gig as they do on my Yamaha P140.

    It is extremely light. 23.6 pounds. Unbelievable. It's lighter than my flight case for my Yamaha. I haven't toured with it, but it feels sturdy and I'm not worried. Will update if there's a problem. Totally recommended so far.

  • Ryan D
    from Boston, MA January 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist Recording Engineer/Musician

    Lovely, functional and reliable board.

    I bought the PX-3 to console myself when parting with the old upright piano in my house. Piano has been an integral part in keeping my head on straight during the stressful times of the year, and I knew I wouldn't last long without one.

    I also greatly enjoy messing around with plugins, layers, pads, synthesizers and the like through MIDI. Basically, I wanted a keyboard with a true piano feel but the power to do even more hidden beneath the keys.

    My experience with the PX-3 has been great. It's incredibly lightweight, the lack of built-in speakers was a great design choice. It sounds good, the keys both feel and respond good, and the board has a ton of features and customization that I haven't even brushed upon yet. You can make a ridiculous number of custom presets which are easily accessible with two button presses, a big bonus for the gigging keyboard player.

    I think the traveling pianist, gigging musician and studio hermit will all find something to love in this great-sounding, lightweight powerhouse of a package. Remember, if you don't like the onboard piano sounds, there's a whole market of fantastic Steinway sample libraries to choose from that you can easily access through MIDI. What's most important is how the piano feels on your fingers, and this one feels very, very right.

  • fernando alejandro cabrera
    from United States October 9, 2012Music Background:
    music student at citrus

    it might be light if u have the right gig bag

    this keyboard is top knotch, i have no complains about it except it isnt as light weight as they say it is. im actually thinking on getting a juno cause i get so tired lugging the previa around.

  • Gary Jaskowiak
    from Portland, OR March 14, 2012Music Background:
    Old Rocker/Gigging for Fun now!!

    Privia PX-3sBK

    This is the piano I have been looking for!! Thank for your help, TJ! The feel of the keys is awesome. The sounds are wonderful. The electric pianos are great. I have been searching for a great sounding piano that is lightweight and at about 20 lbs, I've found it. Gigging now with 20 lb piano and 15 lb Hammond. What more could a person ask for!!

  • Peter Previte
    from North Chelmsford, MA USA July 1, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    The Privia PX-3 Is A Winner!

    My PX-3 arrived from Sweetwater yesterday in perfect condition. I spent a significant amount of time last evening auditioning the new sounds. I'd like to share with you my impressions:

    1. The acoustic pianos are every bit as good as those in the PX-330.
    2. The electric pianos are a vast improvement.
    3. There's a larger selection of Clavs now.
    4. The organs are also a vast improvement over what was offered in the 330 and the fully tweakable rotary DSP is very good.
    5. I'm enjoying the "ivory" touch key bed more than I anticipated. Really sweet!
    6. The PX-3 is nearly 3 lbs lighter than the PX-330 (which wasn't that bad to begin with)
    7. Panel graphics are more legible now.
    8. The LCD display is nicer and is a lot more user friendly in being able to adjust settings on the fly.
    9. The power supply is now seperate from the plug and has a 2-conductor AC line (which can be replaced with a longer one if desired). Studying the new power supply made me realize that this feature was also offered in the wall wart of the PX-330. There's a removeable plug module that allows one to use a 2-cond AC line instead of the plug if desired. I wish I knew that when I gigged with the PX-330.

    I would have rated the piano at 5 STARS but was dissappointed that one can custom label the (8) Registration Banks but not the individual Registrations themselves.

    Bottom line... The Privia PX-3 is a worthy successor to the 330 (which was pretty awesome to begin with).

    Peter Previte

  • fernando alejandro cabrera
    from United States July 20, 2012Music Background:
    pro musician

    good but not as light weight as advertised

    its a great piano but after a while lugging it around makes u wish you had gotten a juno. not that the pianos sounds are awsome but they can get alitle bassy. when playing shows the bass makes it hard to make out anything else.

  • AA
    from Santa Fe, NM December 24, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great gigging keyboard

    I picked this up after head-to-head comparison to the Yamaha CP-33. The Yamaha has a better grand piano sound, hands down, and if classical or even high-end jazz is your thing, the PX-3 will not make you happy. The pianos are indeed thin. Ditto for most of the organ patches. However, what sold me, in addition to "good enough" tones, were other features--flexible splits & layers, easy to navigate menus, decent action, fairly large sound set, greater polyphony, and lower weight, all at a lower price point. I've gigged it several times in a rockabilly/blues band and it holds its own in the mix with Rock/Bright/Mono pianos, EPs, organs, clavs, and all of the above split with bass (I had people asking me where the bass player was after one gig. They were shocked to find that "thumping bass" was from a Casio). I highly recommend this 'board for most gigging situations.

  • Edward
    from NY November 21, 2011Music Background:
    Pro

    Great Piano

    I needed a great piano sound with other sounds that would get me through a pop song when needed. This keyboard fit the bill. I originally bought another brand and returned it - sounded great but too heavy! For excellent sounds and feel, cheap price, AND lightweight no one can touch this keyboard.

  • Fly by Light
    from Atlanta, GA March 22, 2012Music Background:
    Busy gigging musician with a day job

    Think About Why You're Buying It

    Some of the sounds on this work really well - the clavinet is a standout for me. Electric piano is pretty good, and so are some the organs. HOWEVER, the acoustic piano is dull and muted. One of my groups is "unplugged" and we have one of these in the practice room. Being unplugged, acoustic piano is important. The group always speaks longingly of my personal rig (Yamaha S90 ES) when I play the Privia. Probably not a fair comparison, but the difference is pretty stark. In groups, the dullness is also a problem because it gets lost in a mix. I will say that the acoustic piano is superior to the grainy Juno Di, but at least the Juno can be heard live. Think hard about why you're buying this - is acoustic piano sound important to you? If so, try before you buy.

  • Customer
    from San Francisco Bay Area August 4, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    three out of five ain't bad but it ain't great either.

    I wanted the PX-3 for five reasons: Lightweight; 88 keys; weighted action; non-piano sounds (orchestral etc.); and finally,
    o.k. piano sound; It delivers great on the first four, but the piano sound is underwhelming. It was reviewed (elsewhere) as being pretty good but it sounds very "thin" . When compared to my Yamaha P-80 (not a very expensive board) it is blown out of the water. The sound lacks depth and fullness. I EQ'd the heck out of it and tried various dsp improvements but no dice. The EP and clav also falls similarly short but the rest of the patches are just fine. For the excellent price should I complain? Well,
    I would have gladly paid another $100. for a few more layers on those piano patches.

Reviews

  • Dr. Christopher Rutkowski
    2-21-2011

    The Holy Grail of stage pianos is the ideal combination of a great-sounding acoustic piano, a full weighted keyboard, and a unit light enough for one person to carry and set up. These last two have tended to be mutually exclusive, until now. The Casio Privia PX-3 is a strong contender in the race to resolve these conflicting demands. When one factors in the extremely affordable price tag, the PX-3 is almost a no-brainer.

    The Privia PX-3's touch feels quite comfortable for those used to playing an acoustic piano. More specifically, touch is intimately linked to the sound one gets when engaging the keys in various ways. If you're getting the appropriate dynamic and timbral response, the piano will feel good, and this is what will allow a portable keyboard to satisfy the acoustic pianist. The keys are full sized and comfortably weighted. There are two classic acoustic piano presets, which are very realistic and well balanced across the range. They have a clarity that works well in an amplified environment. The electric pianos are excellent, with 11 very usable patches. The organs are also excellent, as are the Clavs and the vibes.

    For those with virtual or hardware instruments, the PX-3 presents another capability: an 88-key weighted-action MIDI controller. And with its USB port, you can effortlessly connect to a computer and run whatever software you like, such as Synthogy's Ivory or Vienna Symphonic Library's Vienna Imperial Bsendorfer.

    But the most compelling feature of the PX-3 may be its weight. This 88-key unit is very light - an astonishing 23.6 pounds! Combined with the price tag and huge list of features, this stage piano/MIDI controller is too good to pass up!

  • Josh Estock
    7-26-2010

    Throughout my life I have been surrounded by the piano. Both my mother and grandmother graduated from Northwestern with degrees in piano performance. For me, after a few years of piano lessons it was apparent that I had not received the "piano gene." I was stricken with the inability to use my hands independently of each other so, in turn, I picked up the guitar and never looked back.

    When I first pulled the Casio Privia PX-3 from the box I was instantly doubtful of the stage piano. Due to its light weight I assumed there was no way this board's feel could resemble a real piano. I have never been so wrong! At 23 pounds, this piano is awesome! After loading it onto my stand I immediately pressed the keys. I was pleasantly surprised. Casio's "Ivory Touch" keys felt just like the baby grand in my family's den.

    I immediately plugged in headphones to evaluate the tonal options the stage piano offered. Once again, I was pleasantly surprised by the rich, warm grand piano tones the board offered. After scrolling through all of the tones I found myself partial the clavichord tone. With tons of great sounds pre-programmed in the PX-3 it is hard to beat. It even has MIDI ins and outs, so if you want to replicate some of you favorite synths from your DAW you can do so without any issues.

    Overall, I found this keyboard extremely enjoyable. I am by no means a keys player, but I managed to feel really good after spending two days with this great board. This board made me want to pick up piano again after 17 years. At a price tag well under $1,000 this board simply can't be beaten.

Questions about the Casio Privia PX-3?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close