0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Behringer Ultrapatch Pro PX3000 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Behringer Ultrapatch Pro PX3000?

Questions about the Behringer Ultrapatch Pro PX3000?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Melbourne FL May 12, 2017Music Background:
    pro musician and engineer

    14 of these and counting

    I've been using these Behringer patch bays for a long time and I now have 14 of them in use in our recording studio.

    I've owned patch bays by Neutrik, Switchcraft, DBX, Samson, ProCo, Tascam and Fostex. I've had big piles of TT patch bays that took forever to wire and you'd never want to change anything because soldering or punching down more connections is such a bummer, also insanely expensive.

    The secret to reliable operation with the PX3000 is to support the snakes behind the patch bays, don't let the weight of snake cables hang on these connectors. I build my own racks and include support bars for the cabling. I've never had a single failure.

    I love how easy it is to expand or modify my patch bay layout. With over 1400 patch points active there are plenty of options to screw up but the PX3000 has never let me down. I've had problems with ALL THE OTHER PATCH BAYS I'VE TRIED.

    It seems strange that something this inexpensive could work so well but it's where I've ended up after 50+ years of having a studio. In our current studio we have an X32 with 112 inputs, a 40-channel Soundcraft mixer from Sweetwater and a Neve 8816/8804. There's a wall of compressor limiters and DSP for old school mixing style that I favor. All of this stuff is connected through these Behringer PX3000 patch bays which really makes the system extremely versatile.

    Reliable and inexpensive. A win-win.

    Good music to all!

  • from Grand Blanc, MI March 13, 2017Music Background:
    Recording engineer, working musician

    Great value

    Great PB that works as expected. I now have 5 or 6 of these in my control room. I've never had a single issue with any of them, so I keep buying them as my gear inventory expands. Very reliable and competively priced.

  • from Mooresville, NC February 1, 2017Music Background:
    Musician, Producer

    Simple & Solid

    I have several of these balanced patchbays for my ever growing collection of outboard gear. It's solid and easily changeable via the switch on top (no soldering or removing modules!) Highly recommended!

  • from Florida Space Coast March 21, 2016Music Background:
    Pro musician and engineer

    EXCELLENT LOW COST PATH TO CONNECTIVITY

    Before I started using these in 2008 I had owned similar patch bays by Proco, Neutrik and some UK vendors. I've built large installations using TT-style patch bays, these took hours and hours of time to hand solder or use punch-down blocks to connect all the wires.

    Finally I gave these Behringer patch bays a try and I'm glad I did. All the other 1/4" TRS patch bays I've used had a similar problem, they went intermittent after a while. Nothing is worse for creativity than to be forced to do trouble shooting while you're in the midst of a studio session. Either switches or the normalizing contacts would become oxidized and problematic in time, it always happened.

    These Behringer patch bays have been fantastic, I've never received a bad unit out of the 30+ I've purchased. Currently my main mixing rig is connected to all my outboard using 10 of these and I may need to add a couple more before too long. I run everything to these patch bays so I can connect things together in the best way when it's time to mix a track.

    A key to reliable function from these patch bays and the snake cables used to connect them is to support the cable so the weight of the wire is not pulling on any of the connectors, the fan end should be fluffy and loose with none of the individual wires pulled or stretched tight. If you take the time to support all your cables so the weight is off the connectors you'll have a reliable trouble-free system with these patch bays.

    I love the versatility of the little 3-position switch on these patch bays, this lets you instantly reconfigure any one of the 24 signal paths without unwiring or disassembly. I leave a blank space between each patch bay so I can reach the switches if I need to reconfigure.

    I bought some Proco patch bays back in the early 90's which utilized a similar scheme of a little three position switch per signal path, these cost three-times the price of the Behringer models, the Proco units developed intermittent connections that always led back to the little switches they used when I fully analyzed the failure. This kept me from considering the Behringers for a long time because I figured the little switches could never be reliable and would always be problematic on a low cost patch bay.

    I was a Neutrik dealer for many years and tried some of their expensive TT-patch solutions. These are so awkward because they are really not standard connectors in pro audio, they are a throw back to the era when telephone hardware defined pro audio interconnections. Fortunately I had an opportunity to sell off my $2000 of TT-patch bays (for a small profit even) and then I switched to these TRS models by Behringer.

    When you think about it a TRS patch bay really makes a lot of sense for a modern audio system. It's easy to connect and in my experience can be very reliable, easily as reliable as any TRS connection to any piece of electronic equipment.

    My current studio system has over 2000 audio connections made up using TRS plugs. Mostly I make my own cables and I do all my own wiring in the studio. I never have any problems with connections going bad.

    One last tip, I use Cramolin R5 Deoxit on the plugs before I insert them into these Behringer patch bays. Clean plugs are cheap insurance for reliable connections.

    Good luck and good music to all!

  • from November 1, 2015

    Great patch for what you pay

    Got this last week and got it all connected quickly and easily. Everything is working perfectly. The reason I am dropping stars of is due the the build quality of the actual jacks on the back of the unit. Some of the cables go in nice and tight, as you would expect. But others feel really loose when you plug the cable in. Also, some of the normalling switches seem recessed into the case a bit and thus are a little difficult to switch. Like I said, everything still works, I just foresee connections failing in the future. However, given those two issues, it's still a nice unit for $80 and I would still buy it again. The connections on the front are nice and solid, and the quality of the front faceplate is really good.

  • from cedar lake, IN October 21, 2014Music Background:
    play for fun

    Behringer Ultrapatch Pro PX3000

    It does what its suppose to do.....its a patchbay......good enough for me

  • from Minneapolis,MN October 13, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist writer, performer, guitarist, recordist

    Does the job for me

    I got this patch bay to simplify my project studio setup (a couple of motu audio interfaces with up to 18 analog inputs, a couple of 2-channel mic pres, some mics), and therefore make it more efficient to re-route things and focus more on recording/music making rather than messing with cables. It works fine for me. It won't see a lot of frequent re-routing so I expect it to hold up ok.
    The half star off is just because the whole board seems to wiggle in the housing when you plug or unplug a cable. Maybe this is part of the design and normal, but it doesn't inspire confidence. The mode switches on top are really convenient and make it real easy to change modes (unless you mount it in a rack with no clearance above, in which case you won't be able to access the switches). Not an issue for me though as I intend to have a dedicated setup that doesn't require me to change the modes.
    I would say that for applications similar to mine, get this and don't pay more for something else as it does the job just fine.

  • from Kent, OH October 7, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Almost Perfect

    I have an older Ultrapatch PX1000 that I bought quite a few years ago, but now that I've upgraded to the PX3000 it just sits in a side rack holding cables. What a night and day difference it was switching to this. Absolutely silent when patching things around, very high quality build, and just a joy to work with. The switches on the top of the unit that let you switch between modes could be a little higher quality, but as they don't get moved much that's not really a problem. The PX3000 just goes to show that you don't have to spend a ton of money on a patch bay.

    I have this integrated in my rack for some outboard gear and even after a few weeks I've had zero issues.

    You might be thinking to yourself, "eh, this might be too cheap to work well in the long run," but guess what, I thought the same thing and was completely wrong. Buy it and be happy. Oh and make sure to get some labeling tape.

  • from Pomona, CA USA March 22, 2014Music Background:
    I`ve been working and living in sound studios for 30 years.

    Workhorse

    It is as good as ever , I sold one with my old Tascam MX2424 that I had used for years with no problems . This new one is just as solid . It is a great value !

  • from Seattle, Wa USA April 5, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician/Engineer/Producer

    Excellent Patch Bay, worth the purchase.

    It's solid, straight forward, versatile and affordable. It's a great unit for studio enthusiasts of all types. Switching is easy via top mounted switches so configuring routing is easy as pie. I don't know what else to say about the unit other than... If you need a patch bay you can't go wrong with this one.

  • from Willmar, MN August 27, 2012Music Background:
    teacher, pro musician

    Ultrapatch is Ultraflexible and works

    The 1/4" jacks hold the plugs firmly and the switches click solidly in position - works great. This is one of four patch bays in my rack and this one is by far the most flexible. I have to break out a soldering iron to connect jumpers to switch from half-normal to normal on my other bays, on the Ultrapatch I flick a switch.

  • from Dallas, Texas September 14, 2011Music Background:
    Certified Audio Engineer, Producer, Artist

    Excellent Patch Bay!

    Meets all my patching needs to a "T." A+++++

Questions about the Behringer Ultrapatch Pro PX3000?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway