0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

D'Addario Planet Waves 50mm Planet Lock Guitar Strap - Black Reviews

3.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the D'Addario Planet Waves 50mm Planet Lock Guitar Strap - Black?

Questions about the D'Addario Planet Waves 50mm Planet Lock Guitar Strap - Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Mike
    from Florida March 14, 2017Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    Great strap, stable lock system

    Very sturdy locking strap. I use it for LTD and Schecter guitars - no complaints. Very fast shipping through Sweetwater with excellent customer service.

  • Matthew Young
    from Fort Wayne, IN June 24, 2015

    I love My Planet waves strap :)

    I love the look of it and I like the locking feature :)

  • "L.A. Bud" Allen
    from Chicago, IL November 30, 2011Music Background:
    RF Design Engineer & Musician

    Nice design

    I bought this strap to hold my Traveler Guitar at the right position for practice on the road. It's easily adjustable and the locking mechanism fits nicely on the strap nuts. It's comfortable and is very secure. I'm not sure that it would work as well for a heavy guitar or bass due to the plastic hardware, but for my purposes, it's outstanding.

  • Matthew
    from Ft. Bragg, NC September 10, 2010Music Background:
    Rookie Bassist

    If you want to keep your Bass or Guitar OFF the floor while you play it ...

    ... you should get this strap!! I have a Squire (it's a rookie's Fender) Bass. The kit came with a fabric strap what had leather ends. I can't count how many times I almost dropped my Bass because of the poor design that went into making that old school strap!!

    At first I was skeptical about about how a "locking" strap would work. It's kinda hard to explain, but it works REALLY good!! I would recommend this to strap to ANY & EVERY Bassist / Guitarist!!

  • Duane Matthes
    from Columbiana, OH December 27, 2016Music Background:
    Assistant Engineer Wall of Shadows Studio and Session Bass Player.

    Great strap but not for every body style.

    This strap is well made. I have several of them on a variety of instruments. The hold up well and the lock mechanism is sturdy and reliable. However you should know that the locking ends are large and are rigid.

    As such they aren't very forgiving if your strap studs are in a spot on the body of your instrument that are even the slightest bit recessed. Or if the body shape is unconventional. This strap works best on a Strat or Less Paul (or similar) body styles. Not so much on something like the ESP LTD F-415FM, ESP E-II FRX FM, or most acoustic guitars that I've tried it on.

    Using this strap on the "Not so much" instruments I listed above or similar will likely result in difficulty installing the strap and difficulty engaging/disengaging the locking mechanism. Poor fit to the instrument can also result in binding of the lock end against the body which can lead to damage of the finish on the instrument.

    However if you have a instrument that this strap will fit on properly, it's one of the best, most secure, and most cost effective straps on the market. It's a great alternative to strap locks if your not handy with tools and don't want to work on your own instrument.

    I've since moved on to high end straps and real strap locks but still would buy these straps as a back up in a pinch.

    All in all I still gave this strap 4.5 stars because when it fits right, it works well and is a quality piece for a good price.

  • Don Lessnau
    from Redford, MI January 18, 2017

    Not for Trapeze tailpieces

    Very good strap. Will work well on my semi-hollow and electric but will not
    on my archtop electric hollowbody. Not enough clearance for the locking
    mechanism at bottom due to interference with the tailpiece assembly. Great
    otherwise though.

  • Customer
    from February 7, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist

    A workable locking strap

    I bought the Planet Waves Planet Lock to use on my Stratocaster. I liked the idea of not having to install any special gizmos on my guitar that would be proprietary to a particular brand. The locking mechanism works adequately, but I found it a little cumbersome to operate and had some trouble adapting to it. The hard plastic end pieces, which are generally leather on a conventional strap, rubbed on the body of the guitar while I was playing. This is not something I can tolerate, so I plan to gift this strap to someone else and install a Strap Lok.

  • Ron Ullrich
    from Beulah, Co. April 30, 2015

    Not For Acoustic

    Bought this for a Martin X1-DE and there is no way it will work. First because of the rigid locking end it will not form correctly to fit the heel button and won't even fit over the end button. So if you are looking for a strap for your acoustic keep looking. The idea is good,I just wish I had a guitar it would work on. Guess I will give it to a friend that plays electric.

  • Benjamin Eddy
    from Burlington, WA January 26, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-Professional Musician

    Plastic Clips Break

    Don't go the cheap route to strap-lok's with this wannabe.
    The plastic ratcheting ends simply don't hold up.
    When they inevitably slip, the larger hole is worse than a traditional strap.

  • Customer
    from May 14, 2011

    Buckles breat

    There are cheap plastic buckles on this strap. I caught my $1000 Les Paul just before it hit the ground. The buckle literally cracked and fell apart.

Questions about the D'Addario Planet Waves 50mm Planet Lock Guitar Strap - Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway