0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Peavey PVx 12 800W 12" Passive Speaker Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Peavey PVx 12 800W 12" Passive Speaker?

Questions about the Peavey PVx 12 800W 12" Passive Speaker?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Hollis, NY January 14, 2015Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Excellent Product

    Excellent product!

  • from MUSKEGON MICHIGAN USA March 3, 2014Music Background:
    LEAD SINGER AND BASS PLAYER

    PVx 12

    THIS SPEAKER SYSTEM IS SO AWESOME AND LESS THAN HALF THE WEIGHT OF WHAT WE USE TO CARRY

  • from Nj June 18, 2013Music Background:
    Pro DJ

    My little giants.

    Use them for the first time this weekend and they rocked the house.A lot better than I though. Never mind the bad reports about them just watch the highs , don't over play them they are loud.

  • from adrian, MI January 25, 2013Music Background:
    play all kinds of music in clubs etc.

    bailey

    bought along with a set of pvx15s. These things are just what I needed. They are lightweight (throw them in the back of my truck), plus they sound excellent. I can use them as mains or monitors, depending on the size of the room I'm playing. Love 'em...

  • from Escanaba , Michigan January 1, 2013Music Background:
    Vocalist , drummer , soloist, plays with 2 bands. Been in the show biz for over 30 years.

    I trust Peavey

    I'm not new in the business. I used these speakers last night at a New Years party and I tested the potential of these speakers. I did the same Gig last year using the Peavey sp-2's with 1200 watts of power. Using the same Amp , I cranked these babies and they didn't disappoint.The bottoms are tight with no rattles and the highs are at it's usual best. I was going to purchase a set of JBLs for 800.00 a pair and I'm glad I didn't pay for the brand.

  • from duluth ga October 15, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist, plays acoustic guitar

    awesome

    I have no clue what is a Peavey Speaker sounds, since I am used to Bose and JBL speakers. I tried the Peavey PVX 12, just curious how it sounds and also the Sales Engineer of Sweet Water Robert Johnson recommend this speaker to me. The good thing about this speaker is that , considering the wt it is only 37 lbs compared to yamaha and jbl which is very heavy speaker, And Peavey PVX 12 is only a fraction of the price of yamaha and JBL. I got a yamaha EMX512 SC mixer amplifier 500 watts, in which I used to powered this speaker. I was blown away with the sound of this speaker.With its price and wt, this is a good buy.

  • from October 17, 2014Music Background:
    Sound Engineer / Musician

    An absolute bargain for the money

    I bought a pair of these speakers about a year ago for the practice room in my studio. Other speakers at this price (including my previous PA speakers) have Peizo tweeters which sound really shrill and harsh, especially at high volumes. I chose the Peaveys because they have Titanium Compression drivers which are much smoother and more natural sounding.

    Since I bought them I have used them in all sorts of situations - playing gentle background music one day and thrashing them at full volume during rehearsals the next. They sound sweet and balanced at all volume levels.

    I have removed half a star only because to get the best out of these speakers you ideally need to run them through some sort of equalization. When connected directly to a music source they tend to sound a bit too loud in the midrange area, so I usually add a bit more bass and treble to even the sound out.

  • from Perry, MI November 17, 2012

    Great Speakers

    We are using these speakers in a small Church. They replaced the old 1970s style stereo speakers. We mounted them on the side walls toward the front of the Church. The sound is great, and all were impressed with the new "highs" that were forever missing. We are driving these guys with a 250W amp that is up around 30%.
    Bottom line, great sound for the price. Would recommend!!

  • from June 30, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Audio Engineer, Musician

    Decent Speaker, Cheaply Made Tweeters

    I have used these speakers in both FOH and monitor applications. Like many of the other reviews mentioned, they put out a good quality sound and are lightweight to move.

    My only negative comment about them is the cheap/poor design of the tweeters. Use extreme caution while ringing out the room. The safety light/bypass system advertised in the specs doesn't seem to engage to draw off power before the tweeter overloads and blows. Fortunately, better after market tweeters are available at a relatively cheap price point.

  • from Minneapolis, MN June 8, 2013Music Background:
    Rock

    Nice Cabinet Cheap Tweeters

    I am giving it a 3 because I like the cabinet it is strong the wedge shape is cool. The woofers are great. but .. the tweeters suck. These cabinets are loaded with cheap RX-14 compression drivers that these cabinets are loaded with are rated at 25w RMS and keep blowing. Actually they don't blow from over heating (frying) the way most things blow. They just open up (circuit opens) for no reason at all because they are so poorly made. I have jumped through Peavey's warranty hoops twice now and again after one use I have a blown tweeter. You can't get diaphragm kit for the RX-14 (unless you buy aftermarket)

    But there is a solution thank goodness that these horn drivers have 1" threaded universal mount so they can easily be replace with something stronger like:PRV Audio D280Ti-S 1" Titanium Horn Driver 8 Ohm 1-3/8"-18 TPI OR even better: Selenium (JBL) D220Ti 1" Titanium Horn Driver 8 Ohm 1-3/8"-18

    Anyway be warned you will need to throw another $40-50/cabinet to get decent compression drivers

Questions about the Peavey PVx 12 800W 12" Passive Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway