0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Peavey PV115D 400W 15" Powered Speaker Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Peavey PV115D 400W 15" Powered Speaker?

Questions about the Peavey PV115D 400W 15" Powered Speaker?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Menahga MN August 2, 2016Music Background:
    music enthuisist , bass and guitar hobbyist

    CLEAR SOUND

    at low volume level , these are fantastic , smooth full body rich sound , for mid range gear , I am 100% satisfied !

  • from Missoula, MT March 8, 2016Music Background:
    musician and sound technician

    PA and recording gear

    I have been involved with music performance and production for over 40 years and I have never been treated better than at Sweetwater. I have purchased a number of things from them over the last couple of years and its all worked great or they replaced it fast as in the case of a Peavey PV115D speaker. They have the best professional sales and technical staff I have ever been involved with. I plan to do business with them for many years to come.

  • from ColumbusGA September 29, 2015Music Background:
    DJ and FOH sound guy

    Versatile Speaker

    I still can't believe these speakers are only $299 a piece. I use 2 with 2 non powered pv 118 subs hooked the the internal, which supplies 400 watts to the subs, and wow!!! They match up perfectly. I also use the link out to pass sound through to an additional powered pv 118d. I ran sound for a band this weekend and didn't have time to run everything though my DBX speaker management, so I ran the sound straight to these 15's and feed the subs off of them and got immaculate sound with no feedback or phasing issues!

  • from March 20, 2013Music Background:
    Live and studio engineer, guitarist, drummer

    Great speaker!

    Purchased one of these and a Yamaha MG102c to be used as a PA system just for vocals for my death metal band. We are a 4 piece (drums/vocals, two guitars, and bass) and though we don't turn up enough to destroy things we do get a bit loud. This speaker keeps up with us so far and I am extremely happy with it. And I really enjoy not having to mess around with a separate amp. If you have the money and/or you are a really loud band, I would recommend getting two of them so you don't have to push just one so much. I couldn't imagine something less powerful than this making the cut for us (it's right on the edge but it works!).

    On a different note, the audio quality is fantastic. I played some CDs through it was really pleased with how even everything sounded! And the vocals sound full and rich through it, definitely a great buy!

  • from Charleston, SC March 15, 2013Music Background:
    Percussionist

    Very Universal PA Speaker

    I am just getting back into playing the drums having not played since the late 80's. I went down to the local music shop and tried out a few kits and went with a Roland V-Drum tour kit. Plays real well and is quiet which put in hours of practice and not drive all of the nieghbors crazy. A good friend of mine wanted to get together and jam so this is when I hit the delema of having to put out some sound with volume. Being new to the electronic drum world I didnt know what kind of amp system to purchase. Through research on the web I came up with either a PA system or Keyboard AMP. Electric drum amps were way,way over priced.

    It was recommended by a DJ buddy of mine that I use an active PA speaker. It will cover the full range. I researched and found that the most bang for the buck was the Peavey PV115d. You Tube had a great show and tell on it as well.

    As a shot in the dark not being able to confirm if this was going to work with my kit I ordered it from Sweetwater. It showed up within 3 days. I hooked it up to my kit and it is AMAZING! great sound and volume. I am here to confirm for all of you out there that this is a great purchase to use with an electric drum kit.

    Just a side note for electric drum kit owners: I found that you need to plug into the 1/4" headphone jack in order to get the full volume range from your module. The left mono out did not work as well.

    Highly recommend it for the money. Check out the NAMM video on You Tube to check it out. Thats what convinced me.

  • from Bellevue NE February 22, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    What Can I say !!!!!!

    Completely satisfied with these cabinets. Waited months on the list for them to be delivered and was disappointed because the first pair did not work at all. Not a sound or hiss. Chris, my sweetwater rep handled the situation immediately and offered a pair of comparable speakers while I awaited the the replacements. Much love goes out to the Sweetwater and ther staff for their personal attetion and swift actions.

    I received the second set and was amazed at the complete sound. The first gig, Smooth Jazz R&B, I ran the bass through the system along with two keyboards, drums, lead and background mics and saxophone. What can say, for the money you they cannot be beat. We also, at times, use the additional outputs two run the lounges system which consisted of an additional 15" JBLpowered driver, and 18" powered sub. Wow were we amazed of the clarity of sound and power handling capabilities. I highly recommend these cabinets to anyone on a budget looking to have a professional sounding system. With the dual amps and outs the size of your system, on a budget is endless. I plan to add the unpowered sub to my system in the near future with a larger mixer. These are a definite buy .......... Sweetwater/Peavey are winners in my book!!!!!!!

  • from Pa March 14, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician Guitar player

    WOW!!!

    These speakers are incredible for the price
    .I was drawn to them because of the specs, 46Hz-21kHz, The response is as smooth as it gets from bottom to top for a two way system. I was looking for a 15 minute setup and teardown for a power duo type venue. We use backing tracks and were heavy on the drum kit and bass line in the mix. I was on the fence about Peavey until I heard these cabs. WOW !
    These suckers bark!! Most important to me (THEY RUN COOL)
    I forgot and left them on all night. They were luke warm the next morning. I was thinking about subs for outside venues, But the bass response on these things is amazing for a 15. I am actually giving tjhought to just getting 2 more of these for projection because the base is there and its CLEAN and PUNCHY, no mud. 4 of these would knock the walls out of a cliub and cover any medium size outside gig!
    Mids and highs are sweet and controlable! I credit a lot of this to my new Soundcraft EFX8 That I bought with my speakers! I am over the top Thrilled with my $1.000.00 P.a. system. I cant say enough about the EFX8 either.
    I bought this system sight unseen because Sweetwater was able to answer every tech question I had without batting an eye Its been a long time since I did not have to dumb down a tech question to get the answers I was looking for. Although my go-too-guy is Jason Koons, I have talked to them all and they all rock! Shipping was fast and they called the day it was scheduled to do a follow up. and then called again a few days later to make sure I was satisfied
    5-stars for the equiptment, and 5 for Sweetwater
    Thank you Sweetwater

  • from hazleton pa March 5, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician,

    WOW!!!! These things BARK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I was looking for a small punchie system. 10 minute setup, and tear down. Needed something just to handle a power duo venue. We do our own backing tracks and run the drums and bass tracks hot. I ordered these things unseen or heard because of the specs and i knew jason from sweetwater had my back if they didnt work out.
    Needles to say Peavey has blown me away. (never thought Id ever say that). In all my years of playing runnnig sound, or recording I have never heard a 15 and a horn throw the low end this cabnet does. The mids and highs are as over the top smooth as it gets for a 2 way system!. They will also power a passive sub or monitor system so expanding to a bigger venue is not only inexpensive it will keep my wife from killing me in my sleep.
    I bought 2 and a Soundcraft EFX8. What a monster P.A. system for $999.00
    Sweetwater ROCKS, Im 52 years old and no stranger to the technoligy
    of this industry old or new. Although Jason Coones is my go to guy, there is not one rep Ive ever talked to at Sweetwater that couldnt answer a technical question. They also babysat my order from the time it left the warehouse till fed ex dropped it off at my door then did a followup call to make sure I was satisified. If you can get your hands on a pair of these speakers do it. (Oh ya, Id get them from Sweetwater)
    You wont be sorry.

  • from Colorado August 23, 2012Music Background:
    Ex full time road warrior , now gigging PT musician 35+ years

    Best speaker for the money

    OK, you can spend a lot more money on powered speakers, but these things absolutely rock for the price. They sound great live! The exernal link and powered extrenal speaker jacks are great features. It allows me to power two additional passive speakers...

    Great low end response, great sound, plenty of power, and built to last.

    As always, my experience with my sales rep Chris McCown and Sweetwater was fantastic!

  • from Detroit, MI August 28, 2013Music Background:
    Recording, Electronic and Rock

    Meets expectations

    There is a need for the subs. But these things kick and sound great for a rehearsal spot.

  • from Los Angeles March 21, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Not enough bass

    Based on reviews I decided to give these PA speakers a try. After all, they are really inexpensive. However, these 15inch speakers do NOT produce enough bass. I like everything else about them but I am really bummed out that I am going to definitely have to buy subs to get decent sound.

  • from Delta, Co August 11, 2013Music Background:
    payed muscian with a good paying day job

    not so powerful

    I will have to use as monitor, 2/3 less power than my old mackie450

Questions about the Peavey PV115D 400W 15" Powered Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close