0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

Avid Mbox 3 Mini with Pro Tools Express Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
  • from Winston Salem, NC USA April 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazing!

    These are awesome products!! Great for simple audio productions! Couldn't ask for a better product!

  • from AR USA March 1, 2013Music Background:
    Music Production Student, Pro Musician

    iPad 4

    My MBox Mini 3 works great with my iPad 4th gen. All you need to make it work is a powered USB hub and Apples iPad Camera Kit. (The one with the USB plug).

  • from Michigan January 24, 2013Music Background:
    Musician and Gospel Guitar Player

    Mbox Mini with Pro Tools Express

    The Mbox interface is built rugged and is seamless in action. Pro Tools Express is amazing. I am still learning, but after reading and taking the time to watch some tutorials I am already making tracks, mixing them down and using them in the music program at my church. You couldn't ask for more in a home studio environment.

  • from Saint Augustine, FL December 6, 2013

    Home studio dream team

    I was intimidated because of several internet reviews I'd seen from people having install problems, but I took the chance on this. I'm glad I did, I had it setup and recording in two hours, no issues with the iLok or downloading or licensing or drivers or anything! The mbox is solidly built, feels much heavier than it looks, dials are smooth turning, buttons have very positive engagement. Pre amp is very quiet and clean. The mix dial which mixes your playback of what you have recorded with what you're currently recording is so useful, I don't have to use a mouse for that, good feature. I mixed the Direct out from my Spider guitar amp and a miced track and the sound is incredible! The included soft synths in the ProTools Express, which are BOOM for drums and Xpand2 for instruments have a ton of sounds which it lets you process and tweak and layer. If you're unable to make good music with this setup, the gear isn't your problem! Worth every penny. Only reason for no 5-star rating is that converting the mixed project to mp3 is not included in PT Express. I would have paid an extra $25 for that.

  • from Washington, DC December 21, 2012Music Background:
    Composer/Musician

    Mbox Mini

    Love the mini! Great, solid, portable. I do A LOT of short film scoring for festivals and competitions and the mini has allowed my MacBook Pro to be portable so I don't have to carry a ton of gear around. I really enjoy having it and the great software that came with it.

  • from Los Angeles July 28, 2012Music Background:
    Voice Over actor.

    To Mini or Not to Mini??

    Well, let's not get excited here. . it's just a basic piece of equipment, but it does what it does quite well. And that's really all you can ask. I use it exclusively to record dry, voice-over tracks, so my needs are extremely simple and therefore the MBox works great. The ProTools Express is also all I need to get the job done and the bundling of these two for such a reasonable price is perfect. The only problem I have with this package is that I'm told that the mp3 plug-in option to bounce to mp3 not only isn't included, but also isn't even accommodated by the Express software. Seems to me like it should be a basic inclusion. Digidesign hasn't done me any favors, here. Bouncing through iTunes, for example, is simple, sure, but an annoying extra step.

  • from Muscat, Oman November 29, 2013Music Background:
    Audiobook Narrator

    Great Value

    I use the M-Box Mini purely as an A/D interface to listen to recorded audio in my home studio.
    It is presently connected to a set of Yamaha MSP-7 and M-Audio BX5a monitors.
    The sound is great. The only gripe I had was an irritating crackle from the main output knob when turned, which never went away despite many attempted fixes. This issue is now no more, since I have it routed through a monitor control station and don't have to touch the Avid output anymore.
    It's worth every cent of its price-tag. I just hoe Avid can sort out the noisy pot!

  • from usa August 12, 2013Music Background:
    recording engineer

    Mbox pro 's dsp is esily broken

    I got an Mbox pro one year ago, the dsp reverb worked rather well. But after I update the driver, the onboard dsp reverb stopped working. My friend got the same case as mine. The support service of avid is not good at all. You have to buy avid code (around 30 bucks) to get support. Without dsp, Mbox pro is my pain, b/c I bought it just for its' built-in dsp.

Questions about the Avid Mbox 3 Mini with Pro Tools Express?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway