0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Avid Pro Tools Custom Keyboard Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Avid Pro Tools Custom Keyboard?

Questions about the Avid Pro Tools Custom Keyboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Washington DC September 18, 2012Music Background:
    Composer, performer, educator

    Great little add on.

    I use this in a school lab and it's perfect a) because it is really well built, sturdy, and virtually indestructible, and b) because students can figure out for themselves which shortcuts will enhance their workflow. It does not come with a manual, but hardly needs one.

  • from Seattle April 25, 2012Music Background:
    Bass/Guitar/Engineer

    Pro tools Keyboad

    I had one of these for Adobe Premeire and this one for pro tools will help get me running in the right direction fast on short cuts

  • from Nashville March 26, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician/ Singer Songwriter

    Good Quality and price!

    This Keyboard has a very sleek look and is built to last. It is comfortable to use and I really like the built in USB hubs! A must have in my book!

  • from December 8, 2011

    keyboard

    great keyboard and easy to use

  • from Honolulu, HI USA June 3, 2010Music Background:
    Guitarist, songwriter, live sound engineer, home studio owner

    A Must Have for PT Users

    I was tired of doing so much mousing around and so I bought this product. When I had my first session using the Pro Tools custom keyboard I could not believe what a time saver it was! The musicians at the session even commented on how quickly we were able to record. I was able to rehearse and arm my tracks without using the mouse. I could toggle loop playback, pull up my memory locations, and do much more with the touch of one button. The labeling is clear - there is no need to look at the manual. All you need to do is turn on the keyboard focus feature inside of pro tools (one mouse click).

    Editing is also much easier. Horizontal and vertical zoom can be done with the touch of one button. You can also type in you IN and OUT points to select and edit, you can use one button to fade out (very handy), and the list goes on and on.

    I would say this has cut my mouse activity down about 70%. If you own Pro Tools - you need to get one of these!

  • from Ingleside, TX October 31, 2008Music Background:
    Musician/Audio Engineer

    A Must Have!

    Well, this custom Protools Keyboard is a must for any Protools user. I've been an Audio Engineer for almost 3 years now, running Protools Le at my house and work. In College we used these in our Labs and was always told learn your quick keys cause when your up late recording in the studio you don't want to stay up all night, cause sleep is good. Plus, you can get paid well as a quick Protools operator in recording studios. Time is Money to large client studios and the faster a session gets done, the more clients they can book. So I highly recommend this product! Its worth every penny!

  • from Thomson, GA October 8, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Musician

    Avid Pro Tools Custom Keyboard

    I bought this keyboard for the obvious advantage of having my Pro Tools shortcuts labeled right on the keyboard. What really surprised me was the total quality of the keyboard's construction. The chassis is metal. The keys are so well made it took me a little while to get used to the feel of them. The only disadvantage to this keyboard is oddly enough also it's main advantage. The shortcut labeling on the keys makes them so busy it can be a little hard at first to see where the letters are. Plus I can't say enough about the shipping department at Sweetwater. They overpack everything. I never expect to have an issue with a product from them caused by faulty packing. I love my new keyboard and I love the service I get from Sweetwater.

  • from Christiansburg VA August 28, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Hobbyist, Live Sound Engineer, Student .. etc

    Pro Tools Keyboard

    This is a great tool if you're running PT. This is the second one I've gotten. Essentially its a hard wire version of those old computer game templates (thin cardboard) that used to fit over your keyboard to let you know where all the shortcut functions were. Huge time saver. Laid out well and very functional.

  • from Dayton, OH May 22, 2013

    Excellent keyboard!

    A great buy for beginners or intermediate users of ProTools, lets you learn the shortcuts and navigate the controls quickly.

  • from United States February 1, 2013Music Background:
    Post Sound Editor

    Protools keyboard

    Solid build. Good tactile response. All the shortcut keys are clearly laid out.

  • from NW suburbs of Chicago February 15, 2012Music Background:
    Serious amateur, bass, drums, keys, and guitar

    great keyboard!

    The catalog and web-site show two different Pro Tools keyboards;; one for Mac and one for Windows. When I got the one that I ordered, at first I thought they had gotten my order wrong. The keyboard looked like the Mac keyboard, but......it had a Windows key! Apparently the manufacturer now builds the Windows kekyboard the same way as the Mac keyboard. This is good! I built a brand new machine for Pro Tools 10, and needed a keyboard for it. This new keyboard is not only great because it has the ProTools color-coded shortcuts on the keys, but becasue it is also just a fine keyboard, ProTools keys or not! I would have been okay with just a run-of-the-mill Windows USB keyboard with ProTools color-coded keys on it, but this keyboard is even better! Oh yes, does it make ProTools easier? you bet! But I use the computer for other things as well, and am a touch-typist who appreciates the feel of a good keyboard. Again, I am very pleased!

  • from cleveland, ohio May 5, 2014

    pro tools custom keyboard

    It was not as useful as I thought because it only covers the single stroke functions and not the more obscure but useful ones like bringing up tracks but it was a good addition. Very pricey for what it is.

  • from New York December 7, 2015Music Background:
    Over 10 years of experience with guitar, bass, keyboards/synths, and drum machines/grooveboxes.

    Waste of money?

    I think it's a superb idea and saves quite a bit of time as opposed to searching on the internet or in Pro Tools itself to find all of the hotkeys you need but since it's a standard, cheaply made plastic membrane keyboard with a cord that would be difficult to maneuver around especially if you have a piano keyboard on your desk as I do.
    But with that said, it's just as easy to do what I've done and purchase $7.00 sticker paper for a printer and a $20.00 wireless keyboard and do it that way. It's worked fine for me so far and I saved that $150 to buy a real mechanical keyboard to use as a primary keyboard and save the wireless one with stickers for when you use Pro Tools.
    Absolutely great for a serious artist who makes a living using Pro Tools, but not something just any regular joe with a DAW would see as a necessity.

Questions about the Avid Pro Tools Custom Keyboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway