0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

Avid Pro Tools 11 for Students (boxed) Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
  • from Southern California July 27, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Worship Leader, Student

    ProTools 11

    ProTools 11 is amazing! For the purpose of using it as a recording DAW, it is extremely efficient. It has a nice layout, looks great, creates an easy workflow, and is rather intuitive (at least I thought so). I would highly recommend it to anyone who's looking for their next DAW! The only two things I disliked, was the amount of time it took for installation, and the fact that PTs will not run on a PC without an interface (but that's more of a computer issue)... luckily I am a Mac user so didn't have any issues.

    -Two side notes, if you're running aggregate I/O and first session opens and gives you some random issue pop-up box, try changing your i/o settings to aggregate i/o {Mac}. Also, take the ProTools 101 course. Buying the software is awesome, but the course will make everything clear and simple.

  • from May 24, 2014Music Background:
    By now students.

    Avid Pro Tools 11 for Students (boxed)

    Running at 100% the program is tremendous to be 64 bit super fast platform cool graphs.

  • from United States May 21, 2014Music Background:
    live sound engineer and Recording Engineer

    pro tools 11

    This is a great product I use this with my Zed Allen and heath mixer and it was easy to setup. But I must admit I had so much trouble getting it to load load because it always says unable to find hardware. I had to install a third party software to get it to load.

  • from Los Angeles, CA April 18, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Amazing

    I originally bought this for Pro Tools 11, but quickly realized it was a bundled deal that also included Pro Tools 10. I ended up using 10 as most of the plugins my school had were in the RTAS format (which 11 does not support).

    I came from using Ableton Live 8 and Reaper, so the whole idea of an iLock was new to me. I work on both a laptop and a desktop so it was easy using one license on both computers. The only issue I have with the iLock is the possibility of it breaking, which would definitely hinder any progress.

    All in all Pro tools is great. Sweetwater definitely did a great job getting the product to me and helping me out with any questions.

    BUY IT!

  • from FL United States March 17, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Student, Bassist

    I can't believe I waited

    I've been recording at home for several years now. The first interface I ever bought came with Cubase and I just stuck with that software because it was familiar and I figured I was staying out of the mainstream by not using Pro Tools. Once I started back to school as an audio engineer, Pro Tools the software we are working with in class. After getting into it, I wonder why I waited so long. The workflow is better, tools are much easier to use and can be as complex as you need it to be. Katie was a huge help in choosing the right version of the software and even called me after I'd received it to make sure the install went well.

  • from 11010 August 7, 2013Music Background:
    Zappa is my dude

    Wild and Crazy Kids

    Unreal. Went from sonar to PT. 11 is just brilliant, sound quality is wild. Without having any pt knowledge prior to this purchase, It's laid out in such a way that I picked it up quite quickly.

    And as far as the sales reps at sweetwater go; lets just say they've gained a lifelong customer.

  • from Nacogdoches Tx, USA May 1, 2014Music Background:
    Student, Employed as an Recording and Live Sound Engineer.

    Pro Tools 11

    There are still a few glitches Avid needs to work out with 11, but all in all great. Setting it up was easy as well; all I had to do was enter in my .edu email and confirm it. I thought I'd have to scan my school ID and wait a few days.

  • from USA November 23, 2013Music Background:
    Music tech student, Been recording for 5 years

    Boosh pro tools for cheap

    As most of the world uses pro tools there has to be a reason right ? We'll there is . ProTools prides itself on its workflow and engine at least In my opinion this means on my single core 1.3 ghz laptop with 4 fb ram pro tools runs great and is fast. So many key commands and tasks you can accomplish extremely fast. For recording and audio for video this daw is great. For electronic music I'd use it for mixing but not creating . It is a great software especially for this discount plus most of us need it anyways. I wAs blown away by how we'll it's engine is and how many things I could do at once to make mixing editing creating easier. The biggest pain is if you switch audio drivers or open audio drivers control panel pro tools will have to close and be reopened. It also cannont run off of your windows CPU driver you have to have an interface or use asio for all which is picky on some systems. However , this is a great daw especially for students at this price I recommend it.

  • from Chicago October 29, 2014Music Background:
    Student of Audio, Arts and Acoustics

    Protools 11 is A cool products

    Overall, I think Pro tools is cool products despite the difficulties with not being able to use AU or VST. i have found away around that using Metaplugin. The functionality is great and getting use to using it again is a task but its not a crack version cause I paid for it. I am starting to get use to the AAX format. I am going to columbia college Chicago for it, and it is good to know how to work with the studio standard software and become and master of it. I do wish that come out with more stock plugins for the Pro Tools. All overall I give 4 stars.

  • from Brooklyn, NY March 26, 2014Music Background:
    Rapper

    Great Product/Great Service

    Of course you know Pro Tools is industry standard and great software. It's hard to say anything bad about it. The one setback is really that you won't be able to use a lot of your old plug-ins from previous versions as they're no longer compatible. Other than that it's a great product.
    Also, the service was extraordinary. I ordered the boxed version and got it within 2 or 3 days (plus candy lol) and the staff at sweetwater made sure to contact me to check on the order before and after the shipping. I would definitely recommend.

  • from Collge grove, TN USA September 26, 2013Music Background:
    Composer and Recording grad student

    Good DAW

    Well it's Pro Tools. But more importantly, Dweetwater got it to me on time at a great price :) outstanding coups timer service too!

Questions about the Avid Pro Tools 11 for Students (boxed)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway