0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Avid Pro Tools 11 (download) Reviews

  • Bob Comtois
    from Boston, Ma. September 16, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Protools !0

    I upgraded to this full blown version of Protools and the new features and efficiency are a joy to work with.

  • ricardo bullemore
    from December 16, 2013Music Background:
    One man band hobbyist and architect

    Pro Tools 11, you don't need nothing else (apart of some talent)

    I have pro tools 24 mix, for more than a decade, with the 888/24 interface (great interface by the way) I wanted to have an extra system to record out of the studio so I bought a mac retina, a LaCie external hard disc and Pro tools 11, (I use the Eleven Rack as interface) I recorded acoustic and electric guitars, bass, amps, drums (everything via microphone). The only thing I recorded in my old system (because of the great converters of the 888/24) was the vocals. So far what I expected. Then… here comes the sun… I decided to mix in Pro Tools 11, I put eq., compressors in every track, the system usage was in less than 3%, I add revers, delays etc. I was use to do a lot of bouncing in my old system because of the system usage barrier, well, not any more, you gain your freedom for less than $ 700.
    Go for the trial version, but a word of advice, you won’t be able to go back, once you try it, you have to have it.

  • Sam Adler
    from Vienna, VA November 5, 2013Music Background:
    Beginner/Student

    Great Program

    First off, I am very new to recording, so for anyone looking for a legitimately helpful review this might not be it. Either way, I absolutely love this program. I'm running a really simple setup with a 2013 iMac 16GB RAM, 1TB Hard drive, Intel core i7 processor, a Scarlett 2i2 interface, Akai MPK25 MIDI Controller, pair of M-Audio BX5 monitors, a Bluespark $200 Condenser Mic, SM57 mic, Line-6 amp, Epiphone Les Paul Ultra-III, and Hofner 6-String Acoustic guitar. Obviously, not a very proffesional setup. Personally, i like making electronic music mixed with acoustic instruments. Take Avicci's music for example. That's basically what im aiming for. The base plug-ins and setup for this program are really great for all that. It's extremely simple to use, and the help center is very helpful in any aid and can answer any question that you could possibly have, even if it is very unusual or obscure. The only connotation that I find is that it is not yet configured for the 10.8.5 software (Mac users only), so there's no guarantee that everything will work perfectly, but for me, i've explored this program quite deeply and everything works fine for me. So, really, not really a complaint. And they are planning to configure Pro Tools 11 for this software by the winter holidays this year so once again, not a big deal. Overall, i think this program is fantastic for beginners and professionals alike (not that i'd know what a professional needs) and i would definitely suggest buying from sweetwater, as they have the best customer service over other big market names.

  • Rodney Philigence
    from fl usa October 17, 2013Music Background:
    producer,recording and mixing

    They did it this time

    I tried the 30 days free trial when they first launched protools 11 and it blew me away . I never wanted to upgrade because of the plugins manufacture was not moving fast enough for me to buy a daw with out any access to AAX plugins. Anyway I decided to make the purchase rite after wave announce the AAX shell and I was still blown anyway on how much of my resources protools actually uses. Don't get me wrong I have a i7 930 with 24 g ram with prottols 9 and 10 for 2 years now and I just was not impress at all, but now am happy.

  • Brian Vickio
    from United States October 15, 2013Music Background:
    Mixing Engineer, Live Sound, Musician, Studio Owner/Operator

    It's PT11 !!!!

    Absolutely awesome DAW!!!!! Be sure it's compatible with your computer! This isn't power point or word. The native plug-ins sound amazing. Loving it!

  • Joshua Metzger
    from United States September 20, 2013Music Background:
    engineer , sound design , producer , artist

    DEF DOPE!

    DEF . DOPE FOR A CLEAN PRODUCTION ! Made simple and effective.

  • Peter Donk
    from Wayland, NY USA August 5, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, home studio owner/operator...

    Substantial Performance Improvement...

    I purchased a crossgrade from 8 LE to 11 mostly because I wanted to be able to use a more versatile third party interface instead of being limited by my MBox2. I suspected going in that once installed I'd find my old PC to be inadequate as it barely meets the minimum requirements that Avid recommends for Pro Tools 11 (I have a 2.6Ghz processor and only 4GB RAM). After installation I ran Pro Tools for the first time and proceeded to start testing how my PC would handle it. With 8 LE and the MBox2 I'd start having issues with sluggishness or errors with about 15 audio tracks and lots of plugins running and typical mix routing. To test the upgrade I recorded 32 tracks of audio (8 tracks at a time with a new Fast Track Ultra 8R interface) then loaded all the tracks with plugins to simulate a heavy mixing workload as well as a few submixes and whatnot. It was at that point that it became obvious that the changes Avid made that they claim improve performance and processor/memory useage actually do just that. The old version I had would have gagged on that many plugins and tracks and at 32 tracks (which most likely excedes most project track counts I will run into in my home studio) Pro tools 11 just kept right on running nicely with no glitching or errors or anything. When the performance improvement is combined with what already feels like a more friendly and useable on screen user interface my initial experience has been great. It looks like I can delay a costly PC upgrade for quite a while yet and I have much more versatility and mixing power than I ever had before. Real world recording and mixing situations will tell the real story but so far I'm glad I stepped up to 11 and everything is all thumbs up...

  • Volker R Waltinger
    from August 2, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Songwriter, Arranger

    Big step and really worth the money

    Just can say that itīs a big, cool next step and definitely worth the money IMO! Though we have to wait for a lot of plugs to be converted to AAX itīs worth the wait actually as it definitely works better, feels better and IMO sounds just better than version 10 (after having compared a number of identical projects, but thatīs only my personal impression ;-)-opinions vary on that of course) . I have never looked back so far (PT user since version 7).. A big thank you to Sweetwater too as the purchase worked perfectly. Thanks to Andy Miller too for his really kind, friendly, professional and accommodating support!

  • Donnie Brown
    from ava mo USa July 12, 2013Music Background:
    Christian rapper

    AWESOME SOFTWARE!!!!!

    This is the best software ever!!! Does everything I want and more great stuff!!!!

  • Gadden
    from October 27, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Enginner & Pro Musician

    PT 11 HD Upgrade

    I've been recording with Pro Tools for over 10 years. The software itself is incredible, but the upgrade didn't go as smoothly as I would have liked, hence 4 stars. I ran into an issue with iLok licensing that took about 5 days to resolve. But the great part is Sweetwater tech support was there to work with Avid and help to resolve the issue. John and Wes did an awesome job of pushing to get through the problem. The rest of the upgrade went well. Only advice is plan on a day of reading about transitioning your system from a 32-bit to 64-bit DAW to make the change-over smoother.

  • Dnei Siqueira
    from August 6, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Great DAW

    Great sound and architecture...Few aax plugins!!!

Questions about the Avid Pro Tools 11 (download)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close