0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Avid Pro Tools 11 - Upgrade from Pro Tools 9 (download) Reviews

  • Nicholas Sevilla
    from Northridge November 20, 2014Music Background:
    Mix Engineer

    Pro Tools 11 - the best version yet

    I cannot believe how good this update is.
    I am using this with my Apple Macbook Pro (dual core 2.0GHz) and it is just smoking fast.
    It also already works with Yosemite, the latest Mac OSX update.
    This is making my vocal editing in the mornings while sipping coffee in my kitchen, go a lot faster and better. I love the playlists feature on the track view. It makes my day.

  • Sam Adler
    from Vienna, VA November 5, 2013Music Background:
    Beginner/Student

    Great Program

    First off, I am very new to recording, so for anyone looking for a legitimately helpful review this might not be it. Either way, I absolutely love this program. I'm running a really simple setup with a 2013 iMac 16GB RAM, 1TB Hard drive, Intel core i7 processor, a Scarlett 2i2 interface, Akai MPK25 MIDI Controller, pair of M-Audio BX5 monitors, a Bluespark $200 Condenser Mic, SM57 mic, Line-6 amp, Epiphone Les Paul Ultra-III, and Hofner 6-String Acoustic guitar. Obviously, not a very proffesional setup. Personally, i like making electronic music mixed with acoustic instruments. Take Avicci's music for example. That's basically what im aiming for. The base plug-ins and setup for this program are really great for all that. It's extremely simple to use, and the help center is very helpful in any aid and can answer any question that you could possibly have, even if it is very unusual or obscure. The only connotation that I find is that it is not yet configured for the 10.8.5 software (Mac users only), so there's no guarantee that everything will work perfectly, but for me, i've explored this program quite deeply and everything works fine for me. So, really, not really a complaint. And they are planning to configure Pro Tools 11 for this software by the winter holidays this year so once again, not a big deal. Overall, i think this program is fantastic for beginners and professionals alike (not that i'd know what a professional needs) and i would definitely suggest buying from sweetwater, as they have the best customer service over other big market names.

  • Rodney Philigence
    from fl usa October 17, 2013Music Background:
    producer,recording and mixing

    They did it this time

    I tried the 30 days free trial when they first launched protools 11 and it blew me away . I never wanted to upgrade because of the plugins manufacture was not moving fast enough for me to buy a daw with out any access to AAX plugins. Anyway I decided to make the purchase rite after wave announce the AAX shell and I was still blown anyway on how much of my resources protools actually uses. Don't get me wrong I have a i7 930 with 24 g ram with prottols 9 and 10 for 2 years now and I just was not impress at all, but now am happy.

  • Brian Vickio
    from United States October 15, 2013Music Background:
    Mixing Engineer, Live Sound, Musician, Studio Owner/Operator

    It's PT11 !!!!

    Absolutely awesome DAW!!!!! Be sure it's compatible with your computer! This isn't power point or word. The native plug-ins sound amazing. Loving it!

  • Bobby Winkelman
    from Carson City, Nevada October 2, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Singer, song writer, bassist, guitarist, drummer, & audio studio sound producer

    Protools 10 delivered with version 11, as well.

    I am currently using version 10 to re-write, & studio record many of my
    earlier written songs.

    As well as my new ones now being recorded in PT 11.
    Its' 64 bit, higher recording capacity is now bringing new feelings of stark, realism to my music.
    And, I love it!
    Love; Bobby Winkelman

  • Joshua Metzger
    from United States September 20, 2013Music Background:
    engineer , sound design , producer , artist

    DEF DOPE!

    DEF . DOPE FOR A CLEAN PRODUCTION ! Made simple and effective.

  • Peter Donk
    from Wayland, NY USA August 5, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, home studio owner/operator...

    Substantial Performance Improvement...

    I purchased a crossgrade from 8 LE to 11 mostly because I wanted to be able to use a more versatile third party interface instead of being limited by my MBox2. I suspected going in that once installed I'd find my old PC to be inadequate as it barely meets the minimum requirements that Avid recommends for Pro Tools 11 (I have a 2.6Ghz processor and only 4GB RAM). After installation I ran Pro Tools for the first time and proceeded to start testing how my PC would handle it. With 8 LE and the MBox2 I'd start having issues with sluggishness or errors with about 15 audio tracks and lots of plugins running and typical mix routing. To test the upgrade I recorded 32 tracks of audio (8 tracks at a time with a new Fast Track Ultra 8R interface) then loaded all the tracks with plugins to simulate a heavy mixing workload as well as a few submixes and whatnot. It was at that point that it became obvious that the changes Avid made that they claim improve performance and processor/memory useage actually do just that. The old version I had would have gagged on that many plugins and tracks and at 32 tracks (which most likely excedes most project track counts I will run into in my home studio) Pro tools 11 just kept right on running nicely with no glitching or errors or anything. When the performance improvement is combined with what already feels like a more friendly and useable on screen user interface my initial experience has been great. It looks like I can delay a costly PC upgrade for quite a while yet and I have much more versatility and mixing power than I ever had before. Real world recording and mixing situations will tell the real story but so far I'm glad I stepped up to 11 and everything is all thumbs up...

  • Volker R Waltinger
    from August 2, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Songwriter, Arranger

    Big step and really worth the money

    Just can say that itīs a big, cool next step and definitely worth the money IMO! Though we have to wait for a lot of plugs to be converted to AAX itīs worth the wait actually as it definitely works better, feels better and IMO sounds just better than version 10 (after having compared a number of identical projects, but thatīs only my personal impression ;-)-opinions vary on that of course) . I have never looked back so far (PT user since version 7).. A big thank you to Sweetwater too as the purchase worked perfectly. Thanks to Andy Miller too for his really kind, friendly, professional and accommodating support!

  • Donnie Brown
    from ava mo USa July 12, 2013Music Background:
    Christian rapper

    AWESOME SOFTWARE!!!!!

    This is the best software ever!!! Does everything I want and more great stuff!!!!

  • Martin Welling
    from New York March 23, 2014Music Background:
    Once and Future Pro Musician

    Upgrade to Pro Tools 11

    In general, things went well. I tried to plan the process in advance listing the various steps and figuring out what order made the most sense (e.g. upgrading from BFD2 to BFD3, upgrading my iLok to iLok2, upgrading my Mac OS to Mountain Lion, etc.). There were a few bumps in the Pro Tools upgrade process, but in general it went fairly smoothly. I'm still getting used to some of the new features included Pro Tools 11 and there is still a small (related) problem that I am troubleshooting relating to my Stealth Pedal, but overall I think I'm in good shape.

  • sean
    from Grapevine, TX December 26, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician 30+ years

    Buggy with Yosemite

    Love Pro Tools, but until they update to work with Yosemite, I can only give it 2.5 stars. It works in Yosemite, but is buggy, and sometimes I need to restart my Mac to get the app to open.

  • Rory O'Donoghue
    from November 18, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Pro Composer.

    Pro Tools 11 with Yosemite

    The software is good and there are many excellent improvements but it doesn't run well on the new Mac Yosemite OS. Even running a small number of tracks will generate error messages advising to "unplug Native Instruments" etc. Merely bouncing 4 tracks to disk caused Pro Tools to crash 4 times. Hopefully there will be an upgrade soon and things will run smoothly.

  • Customer
    from March 26, 2014

    Buyer Beware.

    Alright, here's the thing. Pro Tools 11 has advancements that my previous DAW (PT9) did not, but that being said. I was put in a position where I had to upgrade my DAW and I was okay with that, at first.

    The initial thing with PT11 is you can offline bounce (which rules, by the way), saves you having to real time bounce. It's awesome. Few other perks but to the casual user of the program, the offline bounce is the biggest thing you'll notice as a change.

    My problem with PT11 is that Avid got this wild hair that had them thinking that AAX 64-bit plugins are the route to go and it is single handedly the most frustrating thing I've had to endure working on sessions now. Because now all my plugins are basically useless. I'm left with PT11's default plugins, which mind you I can get some work done with them, but they're not as great as say the waves package, or McDsp, or T-racks.

    If I could go back in time and not purchase this program and move to another DAW for my work, I probably wouldn't, they make great stuff. Avid has become the "industry standard" for audio production and they know this and abuse it with restricting the types of plugins I can use.


    1.5 out of 5. Would not recommend.

Questions about the Avid Pro Tools 11 - Upgrade from Pro Tools 9 (download)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway