0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

Avid Pro Tools 11 - Upgrade from Pro Tools 10 (download) Reviews

4.0 stars based on 28 customer reviews
  • Gene Holdway
    from Greer, Sc January 3, 2015

    Protools 11 upgrade from 10

    I held off on this upgrade way too long. I am really glad I bit the bullet and moved up. I own 3 DAWs, Studio One and Cubase in addition to Protools. PT has become my favorite over time. 11 is a winner. The offline bounce is worth the upgrade price. The system usage is amazingly low. No memory or CPU issues at all. In fact, just the opposite. It just works. Now, I've read all the complaints about only being able to use AAX plugins.. That's true, but Avid was very clear about that direction and why. Unlike several others, I use 90% stock plugs with no problem and good results. Just wish I'd done this sooner.

  • ROOSEVELT
    from Cleveland, Ohio USA November 30, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Producer

    Always on top

    I brought this when it first came out and I think I forgot to comment on it. You want lose with pro tools 11. This is a new built pro tools from the ground up. Its really powerful cause its 64-bits now. LOL My mac pro feels new again. But long story short buy it you will never lose. As always Thank you Tony Dayton And Sweetwater for everything.

  • James Saunders
    from June 11, 2014Music Background:
    Post Production Sound Designer

    Pro Tools 11 (Upgrade)

    Upgraded from PT 10 to 11, courtesy of our friends at Sweetwater.
    It's a no fuss upgrade, although you might, like me, need to update your OS. Pro Tools 11 is as good as you'd expect it to be, as the worlds most used DAW (350,000 users and counting). Software is rock solid (I have yet to experience a crash of any sort). Numerous improvements have been made since version 10 to make the process of recording and designing sound quicker and more efficient, PT 11 continues this move forward.
    Yes, I had to say goodbye to a few of my old plugs that aren't now supported - do check the Avid website as some do have upgrades (my X-form for example) - but the positives far outweighed the negatives. Highly recommended.

  • Oleg
    from June 5, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Avid Pro Tools 11 - Upgrade from Pro Tools 10

    I like to shop on your site, as well as support and attention that you provide to their customers. Be sure I will contact you again. Thank you!

  • Rik doulos
    from New York April 12, 2014Music Background:
    Everything

    Protools 11

    This software is great same computer I used with 10 and am using soooo much less of my CPU power!!! EXCELLENT AUDIO ENGINE THE BEST

  • Marcos Nogueira
    from January 30, 2014Music Background:
    Professor, Department of Music Composition

    Satisfaction

    The product is excellent and admittedly got better in 64 bit version. But I must note here the competent and quick service of Sweetwater.
    Thanks once again.

  • Matt Edwards
    from Seattle, WA December 30, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sounds even better!

    The audio engine sounds even better, as if that were possible! :-) I switched to PT 10 a couple years ago because to my ears the audio engine sounds more analog and less cold and digital when compared to other popular DAW software (my setup: Lavry Blue 4496 into RME AES-32 card). The added features and enhanced horse-power in PT 11 made the upgrade a foregone conclusion. Given that they redesigned the audio engine from the ground up, I will admit I was a little hesitant to upgrade, for fear that it might not sound as good as PT 10. Imagine my surprise when I hear bass with more thump and clearer, sweeter highs. They out-did themselves. Truly. So far PT 11 has operated with complete stability on my system and consumes less resources using the same plugins. Also, I got a chance to use the free support case included with the upgrade (issue with settings on RME card) and am happy to report that the phone support was quite excellent and resolved the issue quickly.

  • Sam Adler
    from Vienna, VA November 5, 2013Music Background:
    Beginner/Student

    Great Program

    First off, I am very new to recording, so for anyone looking for a legitimately helpful review this might not be it. Either way, I absolutely love this program. I'm running a really simple setup with a 2013 iMac 16GB RAM, 1TB Hard drive, Intel core i7 processor, a Scarlett 2i2 interface, Akai MPK25 MIDI Controller, pair of M-Audio BX5 monitors, a Bluespark $200 Condenser Mic, SM57 mic, Line-6 amp, Epiphone Les Paul Ultra-III, and Hofner 6-String Acoustic guitar. Obviously, not a very proffesional setup. Personally, i like making electronic music mixed with acoustic instruments. Take Avicci's music for example. That's basically what im aiming for. The base plug-ins and setup for this program are really great for all that. It's extremely simple to use, and the help center is very helpful in any aid and can answer any question that you could possibly have, even if it is very unusual or obscure. The only connotation that I find is that it is not yet configured for the 10.8.5 software (Mac users only), so there's no guarantee that everything will work perfectly, but for me, i've explored this program quite deeply and everything works fine for me. So, really, not really a complaint. And they are planning to configure Pro Tools 11 for this software by the winter holidays this year so once again, not a big deal. Overall, i think this program is fantastic for beginners and professionals alike (not that i'd know what a professional needs) and i would definitely suggest buying from sweetwater, as they have the best customer service over other big market names.

  • Rodney Philigence
    from fl usa October 17, 2013Music Background:
    producer,recording and mixing

    They did it this time

    I tried the 30 days free trial when they first launched protools 11 and it blew me away . I never wanted to upgrade because of the plugins manufacture was not moving fast enough for me to buy a daw with out any access to AAX plugins. Anyway I decided to make the purchase rite after wave announce the AAX shell and I was still blown anyway on how much of my resources protools actually uses. Don't get me wrong I have a i7 930 with 24 g ram with prottols 9 and 10 for 2 years now and I just was not impress at all, but now am happy.

  • Brian Vickio
    from United States October 15, 2013Music Background:
    Mixing Engineer, Live Sound, Musician, Studio Owner/Operator

    It's PT11 !!!!

    Absolutely awesome DAW!!!!! Be sure it's compatible with your computer! This isn't power point or word. The native plug-ins sound amazing. Loving it!

  • Joshua Metzger
    from United States September 20, 2013Music Background:
    engineer , sound design , producer , artist

    DEF DOPE!

    DEF . DOPE FOR A CLEAN PRODUCTION ! Made simple and effective.

  • Peter Donk
    from Wayland, NY USA August 5, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, home studio owner/operator...

    Substantial Performance Improvement...

    I purchased a crossgrade from 8 LE to 11 mostly because I wanted to be able to use a more versatile third party interface instead of being limited by my MBox2. I suspected going in that once installed I'd find my old PC to be inadequate as it barely meets the minimum requirements that Avid recommends for Pro Tools 11 (I have a 2.6Ghz processor and only 4GB RAM). After installation I ran Pro Tools for the first time and proceeded to start testing how my PC would handle it. With 8 LE and the MBox2 I'd start having issues with sluggishness or errors with about 15 audio tracks and lots of plugins running and typical mix routing. To test the upgrade I recorded 32 tracks of audio (8 tracks at a time with a new Fast Track Ultra 8R interface) then loaded all the tracks with plugins to simulate a heavy mixing workload as well as a few submixes and whatnot. It was at that point that it became obvious that the changes Avid made that they claim improve performance and processor/memory useage actually do just that. The old version I had would have gagged on that many plugins and tracks and at 32 tracks (which most likely excedes most project track counts I will run into in my home studio) Pro tools 11 just kept right on running nicely with no glitching or errors or anything. When the performance improvement is combined with what already feels like a more friendly and useable on screen user interface my initial experience has been great. It looks like I can delay a costly PC upgrade for quite a while yet and I have much more versatility and mixing power than I ever had before. Real world recording and mixing situations will tell the real story but so far I'm glad I stepped up to 11 and everything is all thumbs up...

  • Volker R Waltinger
    from August 2, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Songwriter, Arranger

    Big step and really worth the money

    Just can say that itīs a big, cool next step and definitely worth the money IMO! Though we have to wait for a lot of plugs to be converted to AAX itīs worth the wait actually as it definitely works better, feels better and IMO sounds just better than version 10 (after having compared a number of identical projects, but thatīs only my personal impression ;-)-opinions vary on that of course) . I have never looked back so far (PT user since version 7).. A big thank you to Sweetwater too as the purchase worked perfectly. Thanks to Andy Miller too for his really kind, friendly, professional and accommodating support!

  • Brian
    from Austin, Tx July 22, 2013Music Background:
    Audio Production Student / Electronic Music Producer & DJ

    Moving to Protools 11

    Its a little complicated to install but this makes Pro Tool comparable to every other daw with 64 bit and ofline bounce as long as also having a ton of useful features(like gain reduction within the mix window and expanded send channels).

  • Donnie Brown
    from ava mo USa July 12, 2013Music Background:
    Christian rapper

    AWESOME SOFTWARE!!!!!

    This is the best software ever!!! Does everything I want and more great stuff!!!!

  • Miguel Perez
    from Nashville (Spring Hill), TN December 9, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Session player, teacher

    Much NEEDED upgrade!

    Offline Bounce alone is worth this upgrade! The smoother UI is sleek and cool and does make the workflow a bit more practical. Just make sure you upgrade your plug ins bundles BEFORE you install this; that's why I waited before the upgrade, to have all my plugins up to speed. EUCON runs smoother with this version too.

  • Peter Roos
    from July 8, 2014Music Background:
    Bass player, composer, producer

    Great improvement

    I compared Pro Tools 10 and 11 and I found that version 11 (which has nothing really to do with PT 10, coz itīs a totally new written program - at least that`s what the guys at AVID say;-) is much less CPU hungry and the CPU-value didnīt change much at all from 32 to 1024 ms latency (M Box 2 Pro). On one of my projects Pro Tools 10 showed about 17-24 % on the CPU counter and Pro Tools 11 showed about 8-12 %. Great!
    The only downside is that all my plugs arenīt 64 bit yet, but Superior Drummer and Izotope Ozone works. But you can have Pro Tools 10 and 11 (or any other DAW) one the same computer.
    Plus you can do off-line bouncing, finally.

  • Ted Lange
    from Ridgeville Corners, OH USA March 12, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Engineer, Producer

    Much Faster….

    Works great for what I need… and this version is much faster for me than version 10… The faster bounce option (offline) singlehandedly made this upgrade worth it to me.

  • John
    from Cincinnati February 21, 2014Music Background:
    Former pro musician, recording hobbyist

    Pro Tools 11

    I am running PT 11 on a custom PC with Asus Sabertooth X79 mobo, Intel I7 4930k, 32 gb RAM, Asus Geforce GTX 760 video card, system and playback drives are all Sata 3 SSDs. OS is Win 7 Pro. I have a Digi 003 Console interface.

    I have owned PT 6, 8, 10 and now 11. The best thing about 11 is the efficiency of the 64 bit architecture. I can finally use all of my computers power. I created a small session in PT 11 consisting of just an instrument track (VI drum track) and several audio tracks that used 2-3% of my machines processor. When I loaded that same session up in PT 10, it was using 29-30%. That, for me, made it worth the upgrade. Even very large sessions run without lag or CPU errors. The offline bounce feature is also a big improvement. It will bounce most mixes in about 1/10 of the time.

    There are a few things about PT 11 I am not crazy about though. It is less stable than 10. While not horrible, I have had a few issues with 11 not shutting down properly, and a couple of times it has shut down unexpectedly, forcing me to reboot. This is despite configuring all recommended settings in Win 7 pro and my Bios. This is offset by the complete absence of CPU errors that I would sometimes get with 10 (again 11 uses my computers power far more efficiently). I was surprised by not being able to set the number of cores and CPU usage limit in 11, but it seems unnecessary. Other than the sporadic instability issues it runs very well. The only other downside is the plugin compatibility issues, but that's becoming less and less of an issue as plugins are ported to AAX64.

    Overall, I am happy that I upgraded. Mostly for the superior efficiency.

    I also want to mention the excellent CS I have had from Sweetwater. All questions I have had about 11 have been answered quickly and accurately.

  • iFLOSS
    from New York, NY December 2, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Awesome

    I'm loving ProTools 11 so far but as with any new software there are downfalls. One of the biggest turn offs to ProTools 11 is the lack of compatibility with ProTools 10 plugins forcing you to repurchase your plugins (I say this because none of my plugins updated to PT 11)

    The interface is swift, smooth, the new mix window is beautiful with the inclusion of the new meters so I love that as well. Just remember you're going to have to reconfigure everything to work as it did with ProTools 10 but the speed increase over PT 10 is pretty apparent

    Offline bounce works great as well!

  • Jim Merk
    from Birmingham, AL September 16, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, producer, writer, mixer

    Your CPU will thank you!

    I just opened a session that, when working in PT10, was crashing left and right with CPU usage and buffer errors. I had checked the CPU usage in PT10 and the average was around 87%. On the same machine in PT11, the same session averages around 37% usage! Even with high-latency mastering plugins like Waves L316, usage averaged 55%. Room to spare on a complex session. Love it.

    Hasn't hiccuped yet. Plugins are much more responsive. Meters seems more natural and visible. I love that PT11 can now take advantage of my 16GB of RAM. And it seems to be tapping into all 8 processor cores efficiently. I'm using a 2010 iMac 2.7Ghz 8-core i7.

    So far, the latest AAX 64-bit plugins from (Waves, McDSP) work well, but I'm still waiting on SoundToys and URS to release AAX. Of course, waiting on URS is like watching concrete erode.

    I'm beginning to understand Avid's decision to avoid being backward compatible with older plugin designs. This stuff works. And I'll be happy to retire a few ancient plugins to gain the stability and power afforded by 64-bit AAX.

    No fifth star because I still think Pro Tools could learn a few things from Studio One—and make quicker incremental changes without scaring their long-term users away.

  • Diogo Felipe
    from July 21, 2013Music Background:
    Music producer for ads, Pro musician

    Good, but not today.

    It looks good! Is too comfortable to work with. But the plugins AAX is not for now. The manufacturers have to make them compatible with PT11. Without external plugins, the PT11 is almost the same PT10 with another face, except the Off-line bounce. Is the best thing that I saw until now.

  • Henry
    from Saginaw, MI USA January 7, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Artist, Songwriter, Record Producer

    Pro Tools 11.3 on Mavericks 10.9.5 Rocks!

    You must understand that Pro Tools is not a actually full DAW. Avid created Pro Tools to be the center of our production needs like recording, editing, mixing and bouncing down our audio and midi tracks with superior sound. Pro Tools allow us to use our own plugins and effects for us to customize our sound the way we want it too. A plus to me was the RAM capability, the native version actually uses all of your processors :) ...So your section will run smoother and no need to keep turning down your buffer for recording and up for mixing because it won't charge the RAM for when the effects isn't applied.
    I use AIR Ignite to help with my Songwriting process, like creating a beats, piano chords and bouncing out the .WAV stems for me to mix and bounce in Pro Tools... Pro Tools is Awesome for any simple user who just wants to record, edit, and mixing basic audio and midi files. However if your looking for something more flexible then Cubase should be your first choice of DAW... I work with Pro Tools simply cause I deal with other professionals in the music industry.

  • Jbiscuit
    from New York, NY August 10, 2013Music Background:
    studio engineer for 20 years, pro musician

    OK. It finally does what Cubase has for a long time.

    Avid....so slow to make things happen....At least PT11 finally joins the party and you can choose your DAW for flow and layout alone. Many of these new features were present on other powerful platforms already...and implemented very well. As for me and many other pros in the same boat, we have multiple DAWs on our computers. A myopic PT-only viewpoint just doesn't work. Digi/Avid have always been full of swagger, but they had to be dragged kicking and screaming into 2013. Check out Cubase 7, Logic X, StudioOne, and even Reaper. It's not the meat...it's the motion

  • ORAN R JOHNSON
    from South Bend, Indiana July 20, 2013Music Background:
    Former Arista Artist, still making music for life.....

    PROTOOLS 11

    NOT MUCH TO REPORT SINCE MY PRIMARY PLUGINS, UA AND
    WAVES DO NOT WORK WITH THIS VERSION....HAVE USED
    IVORY II AND FUNCTIONS AS ADVERTISED....BFD2 DRUMS DO
    NOT WORK EITHER....STICK WITH PT 10.3.6 UNTIL THE REST OF THE MARKET GOES TO AAX64BIT....FOR MUSIC PRODUCTIVITY
    PT 11 NOT READY FOR PRIME TIME......YET !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Paul Bent
    from sunrise, Florida USA January 3, 2015Music Background:
    Record Producer, Sound Engineer

    Pro Tools 11 my Thoughts

    I have a symphony interface running on thunderbolt to my mac pro with OSX 10.8.5, I have both Pro Tools 10 and just got Pro tools 11. Now on PT 10 i can run a session from a clients USB 3 external drive without having to transfer their session to my internal audio drive with ease. But on PT 11 the same drive with the same session hangs, asking for more resources to complete the same mission. I guess that this new PT 11 system needs more work done to it since its in its infancy stage. The only thing that i like at the moment is the offline bounce.

  • Shawn Wellman
    from Iowa January 12, 2014Music Background:
    Playing guitar 20 years, trying to record for 3

    Nice but…

    I had everything working in version 10 and once I installed 11 my plugins didn't work anymore, all my drummer software had to be installed and didn't want t work without updates. In general I think the software is good but expect to have to mess with everything. I am a little bothered that there is no interface window for the eleven rack anymore with Pro Tools 11. The software seems to be more stable though.

  • Stuart Rau
    from Los Angeles November 21, 2014Music Background:
    Composer, Producer

    Are you kidding me? Last Straw with Avid..

    I've been using PT since version 5 - they just lost me for good

    - Video engine now takes a full 2 minutes to even load?!!?

    - Still getting the same old tired "Pro Tools critically low on memory" error
    (I'm on a 12-core with 32gigs of ram)

    - Trying to load old sessions and work with them in PT 10 is now a nightmare

    - When EVERYONE around me said - LOGIC for writing - PT for tracking ONLY - I said "no I can work around with Vienna Ensemble Pro"….. WRONG

    - I'm a working composer - that means everyday, full time. This is not a hobby it is my livelihood - and PT is is now jeopardizing it…THANKS

    - Sweetwater - post this.. Your customers need to know what they're getting.

Questions about the Avid Pro Tools 11 - Upgrade from Pro Tools 10 (download)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway