0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Avid Pro Tools 11 - Upgrade from Pro Tools Express (download) Reviews

  • Ed Ryan
    from Barnet, Vermont 05821 February 2, 2015Music Background:
    pro musician, songwriter, home studio owner and engineer

    pro Tools 11

    Haven't used it enough yet to give a complete eval, but it looks like the latest, greatest version of the industry standard

  • Customer
    from United States December 20, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Musician

    Absolutely worth the upgrade

    Ive used just about every DAW out there and loved Logic until my mac got fried. So I bought the mbox with Pro tools express to try it out. I really liked the features and workflow of PT exp but i could barely handle a few tracks and plug-ins without stopping play and getting cpu overload errors. So i upgraded to PT 11, and WOW.......i can run about 5x as much as before without even a hiccup. The PT 11 engine makes a huge difference and will allow you to free your mind and create, and not worry about freezing up and ruining your flow. Bottom line, you are not using "Pro Tools" without PT 11, GET IT!

  • Kris Hopkins
    from December 7, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar player, current OIART student, music enthusiast

    Sweetwater Customer Service

    Absolutely excellent customer service from sweetwater. They contacted me during problems and helped me figure it out in a simple and easy manner. Polite fine service with great products to boot. A highly suggested site in my opinion.

  • Matt
    from Columbus, OH January 25, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro Hobbyist

    Love Protools

    Moving from Logic Pro 9, this was a huge upgrade. Better resolution and colors visually, better workflow particularly for editing, and settings that seem simpler and more intuitive. Setting up mix templates with advance audio routing (parallel compression busses, fx sends, etc.) seems much easier and intuitive as well. Not sure how PT 11 compares to previous versions of Avid software - but coming from Logic Pro 9 I am very impressed and thrilled with the decision. Seems to use virtually no resources as well - I had over 30 tracks some with stock plugins running on my mac air laptop, and there wasn't hardly even a measurable use in cpu or disk performance on the meters....

  • Marc
    from Rhode Island, United States December 17, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Audio Restoration

    Incredible tool!

    After using other DAW's over the years, I had gotten a copy of PT Express with a midi keyboard. Once I started trying it out on smaller projects I cam e to appreciate the workflow and logic (no pun intended!) with Avid's approach. I had to buy the full version and really appreciate that PT10 is included so I can continue to work with my existing 32 bit plugins while I build my arsenal of 64bit AAX versions. When that happens, the other two DAW's on my system will be deleted! Very happy now that I am in the Pro Tools Camp. Hats off to Geoff Allen at Sweetwater for helping me with this purchase

  • Sam Adler
    from Vienna, VA November 5, 2013Music Background:
    Beginner/Student

    Great Program

    First off, I am very new to recording, so for anyone looking for a legitimately helpful review this might not be it. Either way, I absolutely love this program. I'm running a really simple setup with a 2013 iMac 16GB RAM, 1TB Hard drive, Intel core i7 processor, a Scarlett 2i2 interface, Akai MPK25 MIDI Controller, pair of M-Audio BX5 monitors, a Bluespark $200 Condenser Mic, SM57 mic, Line-6 amp, Epiphone Les Paul Ultra-III, and Hofner 6-String Acoustic guitar. Obviously, not a very proffesional setup. Personally, i like making electronic music mixed with acoustic instruments. Take Avicci's music for example. That's basically what im aiming for. The base plug-ins and setup for this program are really great for all that. It's extremely simple to use, and the help center is very helpful in any aid and can answer any question that you could possibly have, even if it is very unusual or obscure. The only connotation that I find is that it is not yet configured for the 10.8.5 software (Mac users only), so there's no guarantee that everything will work perfectly, but for me, i've explored this program quite deeply and everything works fine for me. So, really, not really a complaint. And they are planning to configure Pro Tools 11 for this software by the winter holidays this year so once again, not a big deal. Overall, i think this program is fantastic for beginners and professionals alike (not that i'd know what a professional needs) and i would definitely suggest buying from sweetwater, as they have the best customer service over other big market names.

  • Rodney Philigence
    from fl usa October 17, 2013Music Background:
    producer,recording and mixing

    They did it this time

    I tried the 30 days free trial when they first launched protools 11 and it blew me away . I never wanted to upgrade because of the plugins manufacture was not moving fast enough for me to buy a daw with out any access to AAX plugins. Anyway I decided to make the purchase rite after wave announce the AAX shell and I was still blown anyway on how much of my resources protools actually uses. Don't get me wrong I have a i7 930 with 24 g ram with prottols 9 and 10 for 2 years now and I just was not impress at all, but now am happy.

  • Brian Vickio
    from United States October 15, 2013Music Background:
    Mixing Engineer, Live Sound, Musician, Studio Owner/Operator

    It's PT11 !!!!

    Absolutely awesome DAW!!!!! Be sure it's compatible with your computer! This isn't power point or word. The native plug-ins sound amazing. Loving it!

  • Joshua Metzger
    from United States September 20, 2013Music Background:
    engineer , sound design , producer , artist

    DEF DOPE!

    DEF . DOPE FOR A CLEAN PRODUCTION ! Made simple and effective.

  • Peter Donk
    from Wayland, NY USA August 5, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, home studio owner/operator...

    Substantial Performance Improvement...

    I purchased a crossgrade from 8 LE to 11 mostly because I wanted to be able to use a more versatile third party interface instead of being limited by my MBox2. I suspected going in that once installed I'd find my old PC to be inadequate as it barely meets the minimum requirements that Avid recommends for Pro Tools 11 (I have a 2.6Ghz processor and only 4GB RAM). After installation I ran Pro Tools for the first time and proceeded to start testing how my PC would handle it. With 8 LE and the MBox2 I'd start having issues with sluggishness or errors with about 15 audio tracks and lots of plugins running and typical mix routing. To test the upgrade I recorded 32 tracks of audio (8 tracks at a time with a new Fast Track Ultra 8R interface) then loaded all the tracks with plugins to simulate a heavy mixing workload as well as a few submixes and whatnot. It was at that point that it became obvious that the changes Avid made that they claim improve performance and processor/memory useage actually do just that. The old version I had would have gagged on that many plugins and tracks and at 32 tracks (which most likely excedes most project track counts I will run into in my home studio) Pro tools 11 just kept right on running nicely with no glitching or errors or anything. When the performance improvement is combined with what already feels like a more friendly and useable on screen user interface my initial experience has been great. It looks like I can delay a costly PC upgrade for quite a while yet and I have much more versatility and mixing power than I ever had before. Real world recording and mixing situations will tell the real story but so far I'm glad I stepped up to 11 and everything is all thumbs up...

  • Volker R Waltinger
    from August 2, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Songwriter, Arranger

    Big step and really worth the money

    Just can say that itīs a big, cool next step and definitely worth the money IMO! Though we have to wait for a lot of plugs to be converted to AAX itīs worth the wait actually as it definitely works better, feels better and IMO sounds just better than version 10 (after having compared a number of identical projects, but thatīs only my personal impression ;-)-opinions vary on that of course) . I have never looked back so far (PT user since version 7).. A big thank you to Sweetwater too as the purchase worked perfectly. Thanks to Andy Miller too for his really kind, friendly, professional and accommodating support!

  • Donnie Brown
    from ava mo USa July 12, 2013Music Background:
    Christian rapper

    AWESOME SOFTWARE!!!!!

    This is the best software ever!!! Does everything I want and more great stuff!!!!

  • Rick
    from Missouri January 8, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, Hime Engineer.

    Best DAW I have ever used!

    Even though I was, and still am to a large degree, a newcomer to the use of professional DAW's, I truly love the quality and expertise that went in to the development of Pro Tools 11. My first experience with digital audio was with Adobe Audition, the Cakewalk Sonar X3, then Presonus Studio One, all of which were demo versions. Each one had their own plusses and minuses. When I tried the demo of Pro Tools I was hooked! I Purchased a MBox 3 interface which came with Pro Tools Express then quickly upgraded to the full version of Pro Tools 11. I have relatively few complaints, but I will list them. I don't like the way you cannot use VST plugins right out of the box. If you want to use them you will need either the DDMF MetaPlugin, or Blue Cat Audio's Patchworks. Both are patch bays that allow you to use VST plugins. They cost $50.00 and $75.00 respectively. My other complaint is that Avid is waaaaay over priced on ALL of their products. I just have a small home studio without much gear to speak of, and most of Avid's products and services are way out of my budget. Having said that, I haven't looked back since I purchased my system. Still leaning and still making music all thanks to Pro Tools. Love IT!!!

  • riley
    from January 27, 2015Music Background:
    engineer, producer, musician

    took me a while....

    It took me a while to get pro tools, I've been recording for 15 years, and I've used pretty much everything else.
    I really love it. there are frustrating things that Avid does, like features that are only in the HD version for no reason. but really the program is just awesome. I work from my home studio for a living, and as far as program to use all day, and not be frustrated with.. it's my favorite. I've tried every program for recording I could get my hands on, and it is just the most stable/best compromise between power + usability for me.

    There was a while when I was going between a few programs for different projects to see what I really liked, and I just kept preferring Pro Tools.

Questions about the Avid Pro Tools 11 - Upgrade from Pro Tools Express (download)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway