0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Avid Pro Tools 10 for Students - Full Version - Boxed Reviews

4.5 stars based on 26 customer reviews
  • from OKC, OK May 30, 2013Music Background:
    who cares

    BEST DAW OTHERS DON'T HOLD A CANDLE TO PT

    Face it. Pro Tools is the industry standard and is used in almost every professional studio. Even Logic doesn't hold a candle to PT. All the other DAW's are for amateurs and such. The only way you can master music production is to learn, experiment and use PT. I am amazed that people rave about some unamed DAW's as they are simply aweful. The main reason why there is a backlash again PT I think is due to the fact that it requires a lot of now-how and experience. All other DAW's are for kids. If you want to be a pro ....GET PRO TOOLS!

  • from Berkeley, CA May 4, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer, Artist

    Best DAW

    Pro tools is the best DAW very stable and straightforward. Studio in your computer what more can you ask for, if you are a student get this software to learn your craft and make your songs. Pro tools 10 is the best yet I'm sure future updates will be even better. I use pro tools over any DAW tried them all it just works. This is a great deal through Sweetwater especially if you break it up into 3 months, easily paid for even the brokest student.

  • from Houston, Tx USA April 30, 2013Music Background:
    Producer and artist

    Just started and it is the best for a reason

    I have been Leary on get pro tools because of having to learn a new DAW. But it was totally worth it. ProTools has taken my mixing and mastering to the next level. It is a little hard to learn at first, but with the complementary 30 day Grooves videos Sweetwater provided I learned a lot. Now I believe ProTools is a must-have recording software.

  • from Prince George Virginia April 11, 2013Music Background:
    Retired musician

    Pro Tools

    Sweetwater was a huge help. I had problems getting my old USB interface to work just after installation of the program but Sweetwater logged on to my computer and got everything working.

    They actually acted like they enjoyed doing it for me which was a different experience.

  • from Spokane, WA USA April 9, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Recording Engineer, Musician, Worship Lead, Songwriter

    The Daw I love

    Pro Tools 10 is the most solid daw I've used! It's super fast, sounds great, and the clip gain editor saves you so much time! It comes stock ready with all the plugins and virtual instruments you need to get started making music right away! The automatic delay compensation can save you lots of CPU power which comes extremely helpful when you're not working on a Mac Pro. I just recorded my last full length CD in PTs 10 and it was an absolutely fantastic experience! I would definitely recommend Pro Tools 10 for anyone who wants to make wonderful and professional sounding music.

  • from January 12, 2013Music Background:
    Producer/engineer/artist

    A must have

    Compared to PT9, 10 is a vast improvement. Well optimized, fantastic editions, streamlined. Definitely recommended.

  • from San Antonio, TX, USA January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Student, Aspiring Artist

    Avid Pro Tools 10 For Students

    I'm really happy that Sweetwater provided this product! It is a big part of my life, and Pro Tools 10 has been amazing so far. Thanks for all the support that Sweetwater has offered me too! Getting personally contacted has been a really huge part of my learning. This product is a lot more than I expected, and performed no less than what I expected it to do! Greatly recommended for the beginning and professional musician!

  • from Florida January 1, 2013Music Background:
    Saxophone player

    Pro tools 10 for student up grade

    This is the best investment I have done. I went form 8 to 10.0.3 it is grate & the Sweetwater staff is very friendly and help.
    thank you Sweetwater

  • from San Antonio, TX December 17, 2012Music Background:
    Student/Hobbyist/Muscian

    There can only be one!

    Pro Tools 10 is the best DAW one can have. I recently purchased this and was totally floored. I use a 3rd gen Mbox pro with it and my possibilities are as endless as the raging seas. When I am not studying or writing music, I am locked into PT for hours and hours smiling with pride as my projects come to life. Only Pro Tools can offer this experience -the true DAW experience. Step up or get off because there is no substitute.

  • from November 21, 2012

    excellent work

    reasonable price, great service and customer care

  • from Long Beach, CA USA November 20, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Pro Tools 10

    I really like the product. I've been using it for a few weeks now and I've haven't had any problems yet. Also the shipping was nice and simple.

  • from california October 26, 2012Music Background:
    professional

    protools 10

    Very impressed with this version! Runs better with windows OS than any previous version I've used. Student discount is a plus as well! Sweetwater has never left me hanging when I have a question about products - always get an answer right away! If you want the all-in-one recording software, I highly suggest this.

  • from Colorado, United States September 21, 2012Music Background:
    bassist, live sound, producer

    Professional tools for us students

    I'm a computer science student working on PhD. My thesis is based on tools for the blind, and I'm using PT10 to develop multimedia production in demos for both games and seeing color thru sound.
    PT10 is better suited for assembly like recording than say, Logic Pro, and I've used it for my band with a Tascam US2000 for getting in up to 14 tracks at once at an old ADAT studio, where the patch bays offered all the sources and returns we needed for recording and monitoring and mixing — we even used a few outboard effects, like real 1176s and Alesis Q-verbs.
    And having used Avid's Sibelius prior was nice for creating a score.
    The drawback is its MIDI limitations— PT is a audio recorder; not a sequencer, and implementation is somewhat restrictive for totally electronic compositions. It will create an accurate score though from the "instrument" and MIDI tracks.

    PS-- it uses the processors heavily, so don't expect to read e-mails, play games and run cold fusion simulations while recording and especially when mixing.

  • from Irvington, NJ, USA. July 13, 2012Music Background:
    I'm a full time singer,songwriter and producer with with multi flavors.

    I'm in love with pro told 10

    Thanks to sweetwater, for advised us to purchase pro tools 10, after using logic pro 9 for several years, we didn't want to risk our studio reputation with any other software thanks to sweet water we aded pro tools 10 to our production specially for mixing. This is a must have software of all time.

  • from Florida June 14, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Studio & Live Drummer, Pro Tools student

    Pro Tools IS the standard

    I am in currently in school learning this program, so I may be a little bias. The program is not the easiest to understand right away, but once you get the hang of the flow - it is unmatched. I do recommend buying the Pro Tools Ignite book as a tutorial though.

    As always the support at Sweetwater is fantastic. I did have a problem with some settings on my mac communicating with Pro Tools, so I called in and in 20 min. they had me up and running. Thanks SW

  • from Winter Park, FL May 1, 2012Music Background:
    Current Full Sail University Student.

    Pro Tools 10 student version

    Best service!
    I really do not like buying my products online, but the service that Sweetwater gave me was exceptionally good that changed my opining. The experience was great, and I wound not but from any other website.

  • from Spokane, WA April 30, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician, Student

    Pro tools 10

    To make this quick, it's the industry standard software for Most Music and video production.

    HOW CAN YOU NOT BE STOKED.

  • from the portable bathroom in some abandon mental institute April 7, 2012Music Background:
    i love punk, goth, industrial, funk, reggae, metal, and grunge. I play guitar in a band called sound detour and i am a professional audio engineer.

    the deamons are free

    I have to say, i use to hate digital software. Im more into analog but im actually loving pro tools. Im joining the digital recording band wagon. The major plus about it, you dont have to use an mbox like older protools rigs, unless your going hd or hdx then your gonna need avid interfaces. This is definatly a must have, especially if you want to have a serious job in the audio production/recording world. After all this is the #1 standard program so i recomend getting to know this software even if you dont plan on using it 100% of the time

  • from Mt. Airy, MD April 7, 2012Music Background:
    Recorind Engineer college student and drummer/guitarist

    Pro Tools 10 Student

    GREAT deal!!! and Sweetwater was VERY good about everything got tome and was set up! very professional and down to earth! It wasnice to have ACTUAL people to work with that knew what they were talking about. AMAZING!

  • from Fort Campbell, KY April 5, 2012Music Background:
    Music Producer

    SONAR to Pro Tools...Yes, do it!

    I've work with Cakewalk/Sonar for years. But Pro Tools does have a little more to offer in Music Production Software.

  • from phila, pa February 17, 2012Music Background:
    from brass section in the school band, to rapper, to producer....

    sweetwater is the best!!

    I'm running pro tools 10 like the pro's for 3 easy payments of 100 bucks....enough said

  • from Hartville, OH USA January 27, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer and Student

    Pro Tools 10

    This software is great, if your serious about audio recording the industry standard is the only way to go. More importantly than that are the awesome people at Sweetwater. I got my shipment 4 days earlier than promised, and the free tech support is awesome. I had one small tech problem and it was solved in one phone call in about 10 mins. I'll buy from Sweetwater just for that. Overall its a great product with a great buying experience, cheers!

  • from Logan, UT June 20, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Recording Arts Student.

    The "industry standard" just got more industry standarder

    Pro Tools is an awesome DAW when you're running hardware that it likes to work with. It feels like it's built for Mac and was ported to PC. I'm running a PC with a Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, and there are a few issues with PT communicating with the drivers of my i/o. I have to have the buffer rate at a value divisible by 3ms. If not, I get persistent buzzing and errors when I try to play or record anything. Other than that, it is a highly functioning DAW that I think everyone should learn but not limit themselves to.

  • from Allen, TX January 24, 2012Music Background:
    Professional

    Pro Tools 10

    Great program although v10 is causing numerous issues with MacBook Pro...Apple says Lion & Pro Tools don't do well together until Avid can get updates out. When it does run GREAT program

  • from Michigan April 3, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    More speeeeed....!

    Getting licensed from disc is a pain. Boght the disc but Avid had to download the files because the disc has issues. I like the sound of Protools and always have. Biggest bummer is only 96k recording. I am a firm beliver of high sample rates and to only offer it on Protools HD is a mistake. Many other DAW software allow 192k recording. I could only give it a mild rating due to my experience.

  • from Texas November 13, 2012Music Background:
    Studio Owner, Writer

    READ THIS BEFORE PURCHASE

    Ok, to begin this is top of the line recording software and for a professional studio doing daily workflow I can see why. It is perfect for that situation. If you own a full blown commercial studio and make a living recording bands go for!

    But, and this is a big one, if you are recording your own band, your a singer song writer, or eve if you have a small studio I would suggest a different approach. The hassle of the ilok alone makes me crazy, seems like every time i need to get some tracks laid down I have to find the key to unlock it...drives me crazy. Not to mention authorizing it takes a degree in software engineering and major patients.

    Now that I purchased a iPad i have found my creativeness back in full swing with garage band. There are touring bands that have completed their records with garage band and you can not tell the difference between it and a protools album. Its cheap, easy, and ready to go with the touch of a finger. Song writers I urge you to stay away, its just to much and you spend your time playing with everything and not capturing your ideas. Simplicity my friends makes for great music.

    Now get an ipad and record a hit!

    I opened my studio to the public in 1998 and have recording many albums over the years. Most of my work was done on D8B, Alesis M20, and for editing in the computer I used MOTU DP. I loved the set up and only recently switched to Protools, should have stuck with the DP set up it was much better.

Questions about the Avid Pro Tools 10 for Students - Full Version - Boxed?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway